126 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 > » Bottom

-+♠+-LYN Proton Persona Owners Club V51-+♠+-, New / Naive members, pls read first post

TSFubar20
post Apr 17 2014, 02:14 PM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(kokleong725 @ Apr 17 2014, 02:12 PM)
performance brake pad from italy.. cant remember the brand name..
sleep.gif No name brand from Kepong is it? Waste of money bro.
Where u buy it from? shakehead.gif
kokleong725
post Apr 17 2014, 02:16 PM

116 posts

QUOTE(TDUEnthusiast @ Apr 17 2014, 02:12 PM)
Skimming price RM90? Better add on money to get a brand new set of front rotors. It's not worth skimming.

Water leaking into car cabin? Which part?
brand new set of front rotors, how nuch?

last time is both rear door, then both front door and now left driver side door..
kokleong725
post Apr 17 2014, 02:17 PM

116 posts

QUOTE(Fubar20 @ Apr 17 2014, 02:14 PM)
sleep.gif No name brand from Kepong is it? Waste of money bro.
Where u buy it from?  shakehead.gif
the mechanic intro to me.. i just ask for price only.. haven't change yet.
TSFubar20
post Apr 17 2014, 02:21 PM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(kokleong725 @ Apr 17 2014, 02:17 PM)
the mechanic intro to me.. i just ask for price only.. haven't change yet.
Better get other brand like FBK or Trestor. Cheap cheap sub RM100 pads
kokleong725
post Apr 17 2014, 02:23 PM

116 posts

QUOTE(Fubar20 @ Apr 17 2014, 02:21 PM)
Better get other brand like FBK or Trestor. Cheap cheap sub RM100 pads
now i'm thinking whether wana give the mechanic to do or not and is there necessary need to skimming the disc rotor?
TDUEnthusiast
post Apr 17 2014, 02:23 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(kokleong725 @ Apr 17 2014, 02:16 PM)

last time is both rear door, then both front door and now left driver side door..
Bosch brake rotors are about RM150 ~ RM200 per front set. I see that the same seller (airline) also sells Bosch brake rotors for RM180 for the Persona. If muslayer is around, maybe you can contact him to get those Brembo rotors for RM140 only from his spare parts shop. I've done brake rotors skimming before for about RM70. Not really worth it as it solved the uneven surface of the rotors for a while only before it came back, plus it's thinner now.

For the leaking issue, have you checked the weather sheet for your doors? They need to be stuck onto the door well to prevent water from coming in. If they are, maybe the source is the clip's hole, which you can solve by pushing and sticking some book cover plastic or something around the hole that the door panel's clips goes through. I did that quite long ago and till this date I haven't detect any water leakage into the car, although it my be because the amount is smaller now and that they're being absorbed completely by the soundproofing material on the door's panel.
iskazulka
post Apr 17 2014, 02:24 PM

62 posts

go kepong can ask sparepart from Ken Goh laio.
TSFubar20
post Apr 17 2014, 02:28 PM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(kokleong725 @ Apr 17 2014, 02:23 PM)
now i'm thinking whether wana give the mechanic to do or not and is there necessary need to skimming the disc rotor?
Survey first and get ur options right. This mekanik just wanna cekik u only.
jasonloh7906
post Apr 17 2014, 02:34 PM

QUOTE(kokleong725 @ Apr 17 2014, 02:16 PM)

if you getting original proton set outside is around Rm200 only. and its new and thick. not worth getting it skimmed.
if your car does not come with all 4 disc brake and you have high demand on brake maybe this is the time to upgrade also.
a good brand performance rotor can be around Rm450 i suppose. Also for brake pad, price, brand, and performance are sometime not connected well.
Some high price good brand but no performance, some no brand but high price high performance, some seek a balance in between.
Rm160 should be able to get you high temperature pad of at least 550'c.
nickzkuso
post Apr 17 2014, 02:46 PM

QUOTE(TDUEnthusiast @ Apr 17 2014, 11:13 AM)
How does the sound sound like? Metal sound? Eee ek? I solved mine very recently after I found out how to remove the rear seats. I also settled the vibrating speaker board at the same time. Now no more metal sound when pressing against the rear seat, but not so sure if the board's vibrating sound is gone or not since it normally happens on a cold day.
its not the speaker board..
i have experience with the former TS, its shud be the third brake light casing hit the rear windscreen..
mine happened during cold day also...
kokleong725
post Apr 17 2014, 03:00 PM

116 posts

QUOTE(TDUEnthusiast @ Apr 17 2014, 02:23 PM)
Bosch brake rotors are about RM150 ~ RM200 per front set. I see that the same seller (airline) also sells Bosch brake rotors for RM180 for the Persona. If muslayer is around, maybe you can contact him to get those Brembo rotors for RM140 only from his spare parts shop. I've done brake rotors skimming before for about RM70. Not really worth it as it solved the uneven surface of the rotors for a while only before it came back, plus it's thinner now.

For the leaking issue, have you checked the weather sheet for your doors? They need to be stuck onto the door well to prevent water from coming in. If they are, maybe the source is the clip's hole, which you can solve by pushing and sticking some book cover plastic or something around the hole that the door panel's clips goes through. I did that quite long ago and till this date I haven't detect any water leakage into the car, although it my be because the amount is smaller now and that they're being absorbed completely by the soundproofing material on the door's panel.
normally how long the disc rotor can last long? if i just change the brake pad only, anything will happen? example, the new brake pad will fast finished?

i use butyl windscreen sealant to seal it. i think i need to replace the weather sheet ady.. the original weather sheet should be got a lot oil and dust and make the butyl sealant not sticky anymore.

QUOTE(Fubar20 @ Apr 17 2014, 02:28 PM)
Survey first and get ur options right. This mekanik just wanna cekik u only.
was thinking.. my colleague ask me to just change the brake pad. for the disc rotor, my car age just almost 3 years and its not the time to skim the disc. except the disc rotor surface not good.
TDUEnthusiast
post Apr 17 2014, 03:13 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(kokleong725 @ Apr 17 2014, 03:00 PM)
normally how long the disc rotor can last long? if i just change the brake pad only, anything will happen? example, the new brake pad will fast finished?

i use butyl windscreen sealant to seal it. i think i need to replace the weather sheet ady.. the original weather sheet should be got a lot oil and dust and make the butyl sealant not sticky anymore.
was thinking.. my colleague ask me to just change the brake pad. for the disc rotor, my car age just almost 3 years and its not the time to skim the disc. except the disc rotor surface not good.
Don't know how long can it last for. I remember some writing on the internet that it should be changed after about 3 changes of brake pads or something but I'm not sure. I guess the easiest way to tell when it's time for a replacement is to get the width of the rotors measured.
Effy92
post Apr 17 2014, 03:52 PM

294 posts

QUOTE(iskazulka @ Apr 17 2014, 07:57 AM)
any car can be taxi liao. saga sudah lama jadi taxi. apa lagi amoi mau?  whistling.gif

<revised>
But why no FLX taxi? I only saw new BLM taxi with new plate.
iskazulka
post Apr 17 2014, 04:06 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(Effy92 @ Apr 17 2014, 04:52 PM)
ask the owner la y no buy..
nickzkuso
post Apr 17 2014, 04:23 PM

QUOTE(Effy92 @ Apr 17 2014, 03:52 PM)
saga sv 1.3 tak cukup hebat mau vroom vroom..
then17000
post Apr 17 2014, 06:11 PM

29 posts

hi guys,
anyone tried before drop in air filter for persona?
is there any difference? performance wise?
armadasaxon
post Apr 17 2014, 06:25 PM

488 posts

Nonit waste.money on drop in la..change lcp all kau tim
TDUEnthusiast
post Apr 17 2014, 06:48 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(armadasaxon @ Apr 17 2014, 06:25 PM)
Nonit waste.money on drop in la..change myvi xt all kau tim
dares
post Apr 17 2014, 07:46 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(kokleong725 @ Apr 17 2014, 03:00 PM)
Get a second opinion from another shop. Last time I send Myvi to do alignment at tayar shop, the tayar man tell me need to replace brake pad, very thin liao, I said no because I can tell still got quite a lot of pad left. Later I service at SC, ask the technician to inspect, he also confirm still in good condition. Those ranjiao tayar man wanna con us oni.

If your brake pedal vibrate hard during braking, then you'll have to skim or replace your discs. Otherwise no need.

QUOTE(TDUEnthusiast @ Apr 17 2014, 06:48 PM)

thumbup.gif
kokleong725
post Apr 17 2014, 08:28 PM

116 posts

just got the brand name of the brake pads that the mechanic recommend, its a TRUSTING brake pad.. made in Italy.. BMW and other Europe car using the brake pad.. not sure how good is it..

126 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 > » Top

0.0267sec    0.54    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 04:24 AM