122 Pages « < 52 53 54 55 56 > » Bottom

OnePlus One Official Thread, 2014 FlagShip Killer.. 64GB@USD349..

TSmydragoon
post May 27 2014, 08:34 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(layzieboy @ May 27 2014, 07:37 AM)
doesnt explain the decision to generate mass marketing on stock that is non existent. 150 invites ? seriously.. laugh.gif
at least put it on hold till production can catch up.
but if you understand the article, production can't catch up if the company can't proof market share or even the actual units people want to buy.

so, its chicken and egg.

those who can't wait (plenty of these), they just move on and grab the next best phone.

personally, i've sort of given up on this phone. the wait is too long. i can wait if i'm given some sort of time frame. but right now, can't even guarantee or confirm when MY is officially available. so, i just wait and see...

as i said before... the price is the really attractive part. but the longer they take to release, this attractiveness fades away. as i shared in the table earlier, the specs are no longer "flagship killer".
Someonesim
post May 27 2014, 08:40 AM

In my way
9,132 posts

doesnt explain the decision to generate mass marketing on stock that is non existent. 150 invites ? seriously.. laugh.gif
I still find it funny when people bashing OnePlus for not having stock ready after launch event. How many of you actually able to buy S5, One M8, Z2 immediately after official reveal event ? cool2.gif Even Apple had no immediate stock availability after official reveal.

You didnt think OnePlus only capable of selling 150 phones per month/week, do you ? While we are rest of the world, their main focus was on homeland China. There's 150 000 pre-order/booking done, but yet it was lower than expected. As @mydragoon earlier mentioned China version's hardware are slightly different than rest of the world.

If you had follow OnePlus long enough, CEO Pete Lau once said, miscalculation on stock quantity and careless warehouse management could put a company to bankruptcy. While I had no business or management knowledge on this, I do know that it's totally different than buying 10 packs of toilet paper and stuffed below staircase. Reasons that OnePlus One are even cheaper than Nexus, was due to Nexus still rely on huge warehouse, international logistic, local distribution centre etc. Only huge organization behemoth ( Apple and Samsung ) able to provide global stock availability at the same day ( but still failed to release at launch ) because they had strong financial backup for overstock.

Apple who cant manage to sell 5C as per their prediction, had little to none affected by millions of unsold 5C in warehouse ( old news, cant remember where to cite this info ). I only recall Google Nexus able to have stock ready immediately during launch, but it was due to Google doesnt care much on hyping up and celebrating launch of Nexus.

Remind me of this tasty but cheap ( last I recall it was RM1.70 per huge pack ) ice kacang near my place, I had no idea which day he will set up stall ( road side ), and if he did, will be gone before sunset because sold out. If you cant accept his pattern of selling, you could always go to franchised mamak that operate 24/7, with higher price and maybe common taste.

OnePlus offer super-affordable ( no one can beat that price point ) flagship-spec ( so far still on par with top of the line expensive flagship ) phones, all you need is patience for more stock availability and expand to more countries for official support. No hard feeling, I just express myself
APA LAGI YOU MAU biggrin.gif
TSmydragoon
post May 27 2014, 08:50 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(rcr @ May 26 2014, 06:55 PM)
they are only related bcos of parent and subsidiary nature. However, all these companies operating on a decentralized manner.

On top of that, even OPPO and Vivo also not enough chips to make their own phones.
what i read, manufacturing is contracted to OPPO. so, i'd think component-wise, they'd try to use as many similar items, in order to be able to place a bigger order (or even meet MOQ).

but honestly, i'm not insider. so not really sure. but that's what i guess should be happening.
fkinmeng
post May 27 2014, 08:53 AM

6,374 posts

the thing is, i think 1+1 management team themselves are not sure how it will go.

using words like "it will reach your country soon" and "be patient" is very vague. they create the hype, but they can't build on it, and the hype will fade away if things stay like this.
kingdomdemon
post May 27 2014, 08:54 AM

897 posts

QUOTE(Someonesim @ May 27 2014, 08:40 AM)
I still find it funny when people bashing OnePlus for not having stock ready after launch event. How many of you actually able to buy S5, One M8, Z2 immediately after official reveal event ?  cool2.gif Even Apple had no immediate stock availability after official reveal.

You didnt think OnePlus only capable of selling 150 phones per month/week, do you ? While we are rest of the world, their main focus was on homeland China. There's 150 000 pre-order/booking done, but yet it was lower than expected. As @mydragoon earlier mentioned China version's hardware are slightly different than rest of the world.

If you had follow OnePlus long enough, CEO Pete Lau once said, miscalculation on stock quantity and careless warehouse management could put a company to bankruptcy. While I had no business or management knowledge on this, I do know that it's totally different than buying 10 packs of toilet paper and stuffed below staircase. Reasons that OnePlus One are even cheaper than Nexus, was due to Nexus still rely on huge warehouse, international logistic, local distribution centre etc. Only huge organization behemoth ( Apple and Samsung ) able to provide global stock availability at the same day ( but still failed to release at launch ) because they had strong financial backup for overstock.

Apple who cant manage to sell 5C as per their prediction, had little to none affected by millions of unsold 5C in warehouse ( old news, cant remember where to cite this info ). I only recall Google Nexus able to have stock ready immediately during launch, but it was due to Google doesnt care much on hyping up and celebrating launch of Nexus.

Remind me of this tasty but cheap ( last I recall it was RM1.70 per huge pack ) ice kacang near my place, I had no idea which day he will set up stall ( road side ), and if he did, will be gone before sunset because sold out. If you cant accept his pattern of selling, you could always go to franchised mamak that operate 24/7, with higher price and maybe common taste.

OnePlus offer super-affordable ( no one can beat that price point ) flagship-spec ( so far still on par with top of the line expensive flagship ) phones, all you need is patience for more stock availability and expand to more countries for official support. No hard feeling, I just express myself
APA LAGI YOU MAU  biggrin.gif
Good explanation, I shall wait then smile.gif
I am with you, but seriously the hype is no longer there
Especially when you dont know is it coming to malaysia or not,
i just scare that it will not arrived in malaysia only

This post has been edited by kingdomdemon: May 27 2014, 08:57 AM
TSmydragoon
post May 27 2014, 09:00 AM

7,044 posts

have to add disclaimer... heh heh...

we're not fanatics. we're not employees of OnePlus. biggrin.gif

i think both someonesim and myself are no longer as 'crazy' about this phone as before. maybe 1 month back, we were still with the hype and hot for this phone. but the wait is killing us.

kingdomdemon
post May 27 2014, 09:02 AM

897 posts

QUOTE(mydragoon @ May 27 2014, 09:00 AM)

i think both someonesim and myself are no longer as 'crazy' about this phone as before. maybe 1 month back, we were still with the hype and hot for this phone. but the wait is killing us.
it become worse when my phone is dying and i am still using it. Just to get enough budget to get this phone.
For you guys info, my phone already cannot use camera, online, wechat.
Only left whatsapp, call and msg for me. LOL cry.gif
TSmydragoon
post May 27 2014, 09:16 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(kingdomdemon @ May 27 2014, 09:02 AM)
it become worse when my phone is dying and i am still using it. Just to get enough budget to get this phone.
Only left whatsapp, call and msg for me. LOL  cry.gif
wow... your phone really that koyak liao...?!? hahaha...

but honestly, the wait can be quite long. plus, i calculated shipping from HK... end up, total cost will be about rm1.4k onwards. not really worth it anymore for me. my comfort zone (the price) for this phone... about rm1.3k max. after that... really need to think many, many times.
layzieboy
post May 27 2014, 09:16 AM

496 posts

I still find it funny when people bashing OnePlus for not having stock ready after launch event. How many of you actually able to buy S5, One M8, Z2 immediately after official reveal event ?  cool2.gif Even Apple had no immediate stock availability after official reveal.

lol chill bro... you fail to understand my comment.. im not bashing 1+1 for their production runs. Its their marketing strategy that I feel somewhat cheated by.
kingdomdemon
post May 27 2014, 09:17 AM

897 posts

QUOTE(mydragoon @ May 27 2014, 09:16 AM)
wow... your phone really that koyak liao...?!? hahaha...

but honestly, the wait can be quite long. plus, i calculated shipping from HK... end up, total cost will be about rm1.4k onwards. not really worth it anymore for me. my comfort zone (the price) for this phone... about rm1.3k max. after that... really need to think many, many times.
i think can shipped from us right?
us now only 3.2.
btw,suddenly read this thread, ada bug

http://forums.oneplus.net/threads/whats-th...uld-have.21247/

This post has been edited by kingdomdemon: May 27 2014, 09:18 AM
TSmydragoon
post May 27 2014, 09:24 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(kingdomdemon @ May 27 2014, 09:17 AM)
i think can shipped from us right?
us now only 3.2.
btw,suddenly read this thread, ada bug

http://forums.oneplus.net/threads/whats-th...uld-have.21247/
my biggest concern is the OS actually... a stable and really usable CyanogenMod... heh heh...

US price is more expensive compared to HK. that's why i focus only on HK. but see how la... biggrin.gif
kingdomdemon
post May 27 2014, 09:27 AM

897 posts

1 hkr = 0.41myr
1 usd = 3.21 myr

oneplus phone price, correct me if i am wrong
hk = 3000 hkr = 1230 myr
usd = 329 usd = 1056 usd?

correct me if i am wrong biggrin.gif
DannyOP
post May 27 2014, 09:43 AM

5,220 posts

This phone has lost its appeal the longer they take to arrive, as I said before it will be overshadowed by newer phones which will be readily available by the time it hits our shores, possibly Xiaomi mi3s or mi4 depending on how many months or year it takes to arrive here officially.
fkinmeng
post May 27 2014, 09:48 AM

6,374 posts

actually, is the hype still there at their forum? wondering how other countries are feeling.
DannyOP
post May 27 2014, 09:55 AM

5,220 posts

It will be the same like us except for those countries with limited stock. Human nature.

This post has been edited by DannyOP: May 27 2014, 09:55 AM
Someonesim
post May 27 2014, 09:57 AM

In my way
9,132 posts

QUOTE(fkinmeng @ May 27 2014, 08:53 AM)
the thing is, i think 1+1 management team themselves are not sure how it will go.

using words like "it will reach your country soon" and "be patient" is very vague. they create the hype, but they can't build on it, and the hype will fade away if things stay like this.
I didnt knew they ever build up hype about global availability tongue.gif

QUOTE(kingdomdemon @ May 27 2014, 08:54 AM)
Good explanation, I shall wait then smile.gif
I am with you, but seriously the hype is no longer there
Especially when you dont know is it coming to malaysia or not,
i just scare that it will not arrived in malaysia only
According to interview with Pete/Carl ( sometime ago so I cant recall clearly rclxub.gif ), they are indeed interested on South East Asia ( did mentioned Malaysia by name ) as market not as saturated as developed countries.

QUOTE(mydragoon @ May 27 2014, 09:00 AM)

Ya, I rarely goes to OnePlus forum anymore, not much new info. While the wait and invite system are completely logic to me, the size isnt my cup of tea. If only they really done wonder by fitting 5.5" into Nexus 5 body, then I'm on the ship.

QUOTE(kingdomdemon @ May 27 2014, 09:02 AM)
Only left whatsapp, call and msg for me. LOL  cry.gif
If you got budget for OnePlus One, then it's in Nexus territory already, it's never too late to join Nexus biggrin.gif
Someonesim
post May 27 2014, 10:16 AM

In my way
9,132 posts

QUOTE(layzieboy @ May 27 2014, 09:16 AM)
lol chill bro... you fail to understand my comment.. im not bashing 1+1 for their production runs. Its their marketing strategy that I feel somewhat cheated by.
Refer back to your earlier comment, I think you misunderstand. They didnt mentioned global stock availability or massive market launch, where's the cheated ? Unless you had saw official info or insider tips on it, kindly share.

All these disappointment and rage that fans created are based on our own opinion and perceptions. Even the phone size, people called them cheater when the phone itself was quite huge, I was shock and disappointed as well. However after some other calm members pointed out, they had never promised or mentioned the dimension of it. They released a photo teasing a OnePlus One beneath Xperia Z1 ( but not the whole Z1 ). Obviously, one could argue that OnePlus was leading people in, but strictly speaking, they did nothing wrong.

TSmydragoon
post May 27 2014, 10:32 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(kingdomdemon @ May 27 2014, 09:27 AM)
1 hkr = 0.41myr
1 usd = 3.21 myr

oneplus phone price, correct me if i am wrong
hk = 3000 hkr = 1230 myr
usd = 329 usd = 1056 usd?

correct me if i am wrong biggrin.gif
yikes... never realised that. you're right.

i am kinda sure the other time i checked, HK was cheaper...

currently, google puts in at:
Hong Kong unit (HKD2999): 1239.86
US unit (USD 349): 1120.46

thanks... that's about rm100+ saved.
TSmydragoon
post May 27 2014, 10:37 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(DannyOP @ May 27 2014, 09:43 AM)
This phone has lost its appeal the longer they take to arrive,  as I said before it will be overshadowed by newer phones which will be readily available by the time it hits our shores,  possibly Xiaomi mi3s or mi4 depending on how many months or year it takes to arrive here officially.
don't forget that XiaoMi took time to officially arrive in Malaysia. i'm guessing after the 3rd version... which is Mi3.

but ya... the wait is killing everyone. can see it in their forum.

but i can wait. not in a rush. i could probably wait for OnePlus Two as well. maybe that one will come with microSD. biggrin.gif
Xirality
post May 27 2014, 10:37 AM

12,176 posts

Hype or not, I'm still getting this phone. smile.gif

122 Pages « < 52 53 54 55 56 > » Top

0.0279sec    0.59    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 09:27 PM