16 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Bottom

Enquiries/Recommendations Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V23, Please FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!

raymondtong94
post May 3 2014, 12:19 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(sethaniel @ May 3 2014, 12:05 AM)
Thank you for the quick reply! smile.gif

Thanks for clarifying about Illegear, haven't really heard about them until I read through these forums. My only concern would be their availability and delivery waiting time (I travel back and forth from Sabah to Sarawak due to studies).

Some other questions if you don't mind:
If I have to pick something othe than the Illegear, what's the next best choice? I heard ASUS are pretty reliable when it comes to cooling efficiency.

Also, I might be travelling to Taiwan by the end of this month. Would you recomend me buying these or any other laptops there? Would there be any advantages/disadvantages at all?
they actually based on orders (due to customizations), so their availability is quite vast. delivery i think takes about 2-4 weeks, not sure about that so you need to ask the fellow representative i mentioned.

ASUS's cooler is more silent, efficiency wise still cant compete with Illegear. but i wont recommend ASUS due to poor after sales support. Illegear is better in cooling and after sales support. your next best choice is Lenovo Y510P. this is the best bang of buck laptop with good after sales support. the cooling isnt as good as ASUS but its pretty decent.

if you are traveling to there for a long term (1-3 years), its better to buy there than buy here due to warranty support. however, if im really correct ASUS is from Taiwan, so their warranty support will be better at there.
raymondtong94
post May 3 2014, 09:41 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(sethaniel @ May 3 2014, 12:56 AM)
Thanks again for the detailed reply! smile.gif

One last question (hopefully), which configuration of the Y510p should I be getting? I heard the SLI option gives better gaming performance, but has heat issues. Are these issues really that bad? If I go for the single card option, would it still be a decent option for gaming lets say, until 3 years from now?

OK, that was a lot more than one question, but I truly appreciate any help on the matter, thanks!

Was planning to wait for the Y50, but judging by its thinness it probably won't do so good in terms of cooling (just a guess though, have no idea how it'll actually perform when put to the test)... plus the extra bucks I'd have to chip in.
yes, heat issue with Y510P SLI is popular but not all laptops that run SLI/Crossfire have bad heat dissipation. you might want to read the review of Lenovo Y510P SLI. one of the most popular issue with SLI is software utilization. not so many games and softwares are capable to utilize SLI to the max so i dont think its worth to get the SLI version.

if you wanna get a single card option, i would recommend to take Illegear. could last 3 years i'd say/.
i just heard that Lenovo Y50 was released at USA, but not many news about it.
raymondtong94
post May 3 2014, 12:05 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(wizoxt @ May 3 2014, 12:00 PM)
Hi guys need advice here

1. Preferred Brand : ANY
2. Budget : 4k-4.5k (400 for ssd)
3. Usage : heavy gaming, video edit, animation work and graphic design work
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: 17.3

So currently im eye-ing on ge70 2pe, is there any other recommendations? how about gigabyte laptops when compare to ge70? Currently in dilemma on which to choose, need opinions, thanks
Gigabyte laptops are new to Malaysia's market. not sure how well can they perform. but i'd more prefer if you can go for customizable laptops :

Illegear
RE-17, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GTX860M + (1920x1080)@RM3899[3.2kg][Onkyo, SoundBlaster Cinema], 8GB, 500GB(Hybrid), FreeDOS, [CPU Options: i5-4200M - i7-4900MQ]

you have plenty of budget left for SSD upgrade and getting a Windows. not to mention, it has dual hard drive bays for you to install a standard SSD, while keeping your default 500GB hybrid drive for storage. biggrin.gif
raymondtong94
post May 3 2014, 12:10 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(Red91 @ May 2 2014, 04:31 PM)
1. Preferred Brand: ANY
2. Budget: less than 2500
3. Usage: moderate gaming, surfing, office, hq movie
4. Preferred laptop/screen size:15" (atleast)
should be enough for you smile.gif

Lenovo
Z510, i5-4200M + Nvidia GT740M@RM2399[2.2kg], 4GB, 1TB, backlit, W8; 2 yrs, color: white

Dell
Inspiron 15R, i7-4500U + AMD HD8670M (GDDR5) @RM2399[2.32kg], 8GB, 1TB(5400rpm), Linux, 65WHr; W8SL@RM2599

prices in RRP and negotiable.
raymondtong94
post May 3 2014, 12:13 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(immessy @ May 2 2014, 07:18 PM)
1. Preferred Brand : Any
2. Budget : Around 4k
3. Usage : Gaming, Torrent
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: 15", 17"

Thanks!
MSI
GE60-2PE-096MY, i7-4700HQ + Nvidia GTX860M + (1920x1080; anti-glare) @RM4199[Dynaudio], 8GB, 1TB (7200rpm) HDD, W8.1, multi-coloured backlid
GE70-2PE-095MY, i7-4700HQ + Nvidia GTX860M + (1920x1080; anti-glare) @RM4299[Dynaudio], 8GB, 1TB (7200rpm) HDD, W8.1, multi-coloured backlid

Lenovo
Y510p, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GT755M(GDDR5) + (1920x1080)@RM3399[2.7kg], 8GB, 1TB, W8.1, red backlit, swappable ODD, 120w psu, 2 yrs

ASUS
G56JR-CN183H, i7-4700HQ + Nvidia GTX760M + (1920 x 1080) @RM4199[2.5kg], 12GB, 1TB, W8, backlit keyboard, BluRay

Illegear
RE-15, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GTX860M + (1920x1080)@RM3799[2.6kg][Onkyo, SoundBlaster Cinema], 8GB, 500GB(Hybrid), FreeDOS, [CPU Options: i5-4200M - i7-4900MQ]
RE-17, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GTX860M + (1920x1080)@RM3899[3.2kg][Onkyo, SoundBlaster Cinema], 8GB, 500GB(Hybrid), FreeDOS, [CPU Options: i5-4200M - i7-4900MQ]

Gigabyte
P27G V2, i7-4710MQ + Nvidia GTX860M + (1920x1080; anti-glare) + 1TB(7200rpm)@RM4199[3.2kg], 8GB, W8.1; backlit KB; gaming mouse, 2 years warranty

prices in RRP and negotiable. to customize and order Gigabyte or Illegear, please visit www.illegear.com.
have a good day. icon_rolleyes.gif
raymondtong94
post May 3 2014, 01:37 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(wizoxt @ May 3 2014, 01:25 PM)
If between ge70, re 17 and p27g v2, which one would you choose? And why? smile.gif
RE-17. easy maintenance access for upgrades. not to mention, there are vast amounts of customizations available if you customize via website. it also has the best cooling system among the three.

everything is written with my personal opinion. your choice is yourself to made because im not the one to decide your purchase.
raymondtong94
post May 4 2014, 10:16 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(Red91 @ May 3 2014, 04:54 PM)
thanks mate.

ive tried my friend lenovo, at keyboard area, around ur hand placement it feels hot as hell.does this model have the same prob too.

dell,current laptop studio15. love it!!but still have  few probs here and there.will consider the inspiron

whats ur take on msi?my fren recommend it.truth be told, nver heard of it before.haha.just recently research about it and hear lots of good thing about it
this model in particular, MSI CX61 2OD-078MY. is it any good?
im pretty sure the palm rest area will turn hot due to laptop ergonomics, where the hard disk is located. not sure about that though.

MSI's warranty service is kinda poor in Malaysia, as they rely mostly from their home country, that is Taiwan. quality wise, it can be the same as other brands. regarding the model you found, its good for budget.
raymondtong94
post May 4 2014, 11:55 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(z3ronim9903 @ May 4 2014, 11:13 AM)
Thanks for d advice, but my heart is choosing asus maybe bcoz of d brand, hehe

Asus is really bad on after sales service? Or warranty support?
after sales service = warranty support

yes its very poor. read more at here.
raymondtong94
post May 4 2014, 03:27 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(kanimayosalid @ May 4 2014, 01:37 PM)
HI Sifus I need new laptop, please help me choose.

1. Preferred Brand any
2. Budget 4-5k
3. Usage office use, programming
4. Preferred laptop/screen size light weight (around 1.5kg) long battery life (7hours+)

Please help recommend one.

Another question..Is samsung ativ book 9 available in Malaysia? I cant seems to find it anywhere. If got how much ar? I saw one got 11hours battery life wan. Thank you thank you
hi there and good day. too bad there is no news about Samsung bringing that laptop to malaysia. anyway, your options will be :

Dell
XPS13, i7-4500U + Intel HD4400 + 256GB SSD + (1920x1080; Touch)@RM4999[1.37kg], 8GB, W8.1, backlit, 55Whr

Acer
Aspire S7-392-74504G12, i7-4500U + Intel HD4400 + 128GB SSD + (1920x1080; touch)@RM3999[1.3kg], 4GB, W8.1

ASUS
UX301LA-DE017H, i5-4200U + Intel HD4400 + 128GB SSD + (2560x1440; touch)@RM4699[1.4kg], 4GB, W8.1

among these 3, the Dell has the best battery life, with 7 hours and 45 minutes tested by notebookcheck with wifi surfing. i had subjected each of them in descending order of the battery life performed.
raymondtong94
post May 4 2014, 05:51 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(kanimayosalid @ May 4 2014, 04:37 PM)
Thank you so much for the recommendations notworthy.gif . I love the ASUS one, but I saw a Asus UX301LA with intel iris 5100 is that one available? And may I know the estimate battery life for the above Asus please?

I am comparing between Asus UX301 and Macbook Air 13 may I know their key different please? the only thing I know is that Macbook air have 12hours battery with 258gb ssd but not touch screen and much lower resolution.

Thank you
another info regarding the Zenbook.
no, ASUS is not bringing in the Intel Iris graphics Zenbook variant into Malaysia. however, there is a variant that comes with GT730M graphics.

so i could say your option is either Macbook Air or Dell XPS 13. build quality wise, i strongly suggest Dell XPS 13 due to carbon fibre and aluminium construction. EDIT : gorilla glass on top of brushed aluminium lid of the ASUS UX301 is extremely beautiful but it can magnetize fingerprints, smudges, possible scratches and dropping worries.

This post has been edited by raymondtong94: May 4 2014, 05:53 PM
raymondtong94
post May 5 2014, 09:58 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(MrPixa @ May 4 2014, 11:39 PM)
1. Preferred Brand : ANY
2. Budget : 2.5-3.5k
3. Usage : heavy gaming, video edit, graphic design, video rendering
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: 15"

Im currently planning to buy lenovo y510p but maybe u guys can suggest me a more better laptop around that budget maybe.. Thanks smile.gif
your only best choice is Lenovo Y510P. if you top up your budget to 4k, you could either get :

ASUS G56JR-CN183H, i7-4700HQ + Nvidia GTX760M + (1920 x 1080) @RM4199[2.5kg], 12GB, 1TB, W8, backlit keyboard, BluRay

MSI GE60-2PE-096MY, i7-4700HQ + Nvidia GTX860M + (1920x1080; anti-glare) @RM4199[Dynaudio], 8GB, 1TB (7200rpm) HDD, W8.1, multi-coloured backlid

Illegear RE-15, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GTX860M + (1920x1080)@RM3799[2.6kg][Onkyo, SoundBlaster Cinema], 8GB, 500GB(Hybrid), FreeDOS, [CPU Options: i5-4200M - i7-4900MQ]
raymondtong94
post May 5 2014, 10:06 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(najaat96 @ May 4 2014, 11:41 PM)
hello everyone..

*Preferred Brand - asus, lenovo, msi
*Budget- lower than RM3500
*Usage- mostly for gaming but i will carry it often since i am using it in university (most gaming laptop are heavy is it)
*Preferred laptop/screen size- bigger than 14 inch

im looking for a month now.. most of the light-weight ones are above my budget... thanks in advance!
im not sure if 2.7kg is alright for you :

Lenovo Y510p, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GT755M(GDDR5) + (1920x1080)@RM3399[2.7kg], 8GB, 1TB, W8.1, red backlit, swappable ODD, 120w psu, 2 yrs

this is the best one that fits your budget. price in RRP and negotiable.
raymondtong94
post May 5 2014, 10:17 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

[quote=xoxokuang,May 5 2014, 09:44 PM]
15.6"
Lenovo
Z510T, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT740M + (1366x768, touch)@RM2599[2.2kg], 4GB, 1TB, backlit, W8; 2 yrs
Z510, i5-4200M + Nvidia GT740M@RM2399[2.2kg], 4GB, 1TB, backlit, W8; 2 yrs, color: white

MSI
GP60-2PEY, i5-4200H + Nvidia GT840M + (1920x1080; anti-glare) @RM2899[Dynaudio], 4GB, 750GB HDD, W8.1

*use remaining budget to upgrade to 8GB RAM icon_rolleyes.gif[QUOTE]
is GT740m/GT840M sufficient to play those games with ultra settings? fps performance? if i increase my budget to 3.3k is g56jr i5 version a better get or no need to waste that money?

[/quote]
no. even with 1366x768 resolution, your laptop will also struggle like hell. if you can top up your budget to get better ones, it is good.
raymondtong94
post May 5 2014, 11:36 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(money_rule @ May 5 2014, 10:26 PM)
hi sifu

*Preferred Brand - anything
*Budget- lower than RM2500
*Usage- no gaming, just for internet browsing and watching movies only
*Preferred laptop/screen size- 14 inch or less
prefer light weight machine

thank you
Dell
Vostro 5470, i3-4010U + Intel HD4400 + 32GB mSATA + 500GB(5400rpm) + (1366x768;touch)@RM2049, 4GB, 1TB(5400rpm), W8.1SL, 3-cell
Inspiron 14 7000, i5-4200U + Intel HD4400 + 32GB mSATA + 500GB(5400rpm)@RM2649[1.99kg], 4GB(soldered), W8.1, backlit keyboard, 58Whr, No ODD

Lenovo
Ideapad Flex 14, i5-4200U + Nvidia 820M +(1366x768; touch) + 8GB SSHD + 500GB HDD@RM2299, 4GB (soldered), W8, 2 yrs; colors: black/orange

raymondtong94
post May 5 2014, 11:39 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(joonwei23 @ May 5 2014, 10:35 PM)
Repost since I didn't get any replies.

Guys my DV6 just gave way. That laptop is actually pretty good for something of 4 years of age. Anyways I'm looking for something faster and better.

Brand : No acer, hp. (How's hp now? My dv6 heats up pretty fast).
Budget : 3k ~ 3.5k
Usage : uni work, watching show, dota 2
Screen size : at least 15.6"
I don't think I need the OS loaded. I was thinking of using my old ssd. Will just reuse the os and Microsoft office there. Thanks.
And I'll be purchasing this only in 2 months time. So if there's any newer model coming out soon, I'll be able to wait
Thanks !
HP is still doing good but not sure about the heat issue. however, their build quality is still good. your choices will be :

HP
Envy Touchsmart 15-J053TX, i7-4702MQ + Nvidia GT750M + (1920x1080;touch)@RM3499[2.56kg], 8GB, 1TB(5400rpm), W8

if you dont want limit to HP only :

Lenovo
Y510p, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GT755M(GDDR5) + (1920x1080)@RM3399[2.7kg], 8GB, 1TB, W8.1, red backlit, swappable ODD, 120w psu, 2 yrs

raymondtong94
post May 6 2014, 12:23 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(joonwei23 @ May 6 2014, 12:13 AM)
What's the difference between both of these ? I see that the HP has touch screen ?
HP :
-lower TDP quad core CPU (more battery efficient)
-4GB DDR3 VRAM (slower GPU)
-white backlit keyboard
-lighter

Lenovo :
-higher TDP quad core CPU (more power hungry but can be tweaked)
-2GB GDDR5 VRAM (faster GPU)
-red backlit keyboard
-heavier
-DVD Drive is swappable for extra storage or more GPU performance (SLI)
raymondtong94
post May 6 2014, 09:48 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(zkinkongz @ May 5 2014, 10:44 PM)
helping friends ask~~

Brand:none but dont wan acer
Budget:2.7k
Usage:for uni , dota 2, pso2 ,light gaming
Screen size:if can 15.6
thx
ASUS
S551LB-CJ120H, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT740M@RM2599[2.4kg], 4GB, 750GB, W8, 3-cell
K551LB-XX210H, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT740M@RM2399[2.4kg], 4GB, 750GB, W8, 4-cell

Dell
Inspiron 15R, i7-4500U + AMD HD8670M (GDDR5) @RM2399[2.32kg], 8GB, 1TB(5400rpm), Linux, 65WHr; W8SL@RM2599

Lenovo
Z510, i7-4702MQ + Nvidia GT740M@RM2799[2.2kg], 4GB, 1TB, backlit, W8; 2 yrs

MSI
GP60-2OD-259MY, i5-4200M + Nvidia GT740M + (1920x1080; anti-glare)@RM2699, 4GB, 750GB, W8, steel series KB

raymondtong94
post May 6 2014, 05:15 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(endymeon @ May 6 2014, 04:04 PM)
Seem like Y510p is more common lappy, but i do concern if Y510p has a glossy or matte screen? My office are quite bright, glossy screen will put a lot of stress to my eyes..
then you can go for MSI GE-60. it has matte screen.
raymondtong94
post May 7 2014, 10:09 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(SaltFishKiller @ May 7 2014, 04:45 AM)
1. Preferred Brand: any brand that is good in qualities,durability. no mac,sony and lenovo
2. Budget: RM2.5k max
3. Usage: uni student, smooth gaming for dota 2, bf3 sort of
4. Preferred laptop/screen size : at least 15"
5. Processor: preferably i5
6. win8, 1TB space

thank in advance
ASUS
K551LB-XX210H, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT740M@RM2399[2.4kg], 4GB, 750GB, W8, 4-cell

Dell

MSI
GP60-2OD-259MY, i5-4200M + Nvidia GT740M + (1920x1080; anti-glare)@RM2699, 4GB, 750GB, W8, steel series KB

Toshiba
Satelite L50-A107X/XW, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT740M@RM2499[Onkyo], 4GB, 1TB, W8; colors: Silver/white

raymondtong94
post May 7 2014, 10:42 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(junster @ May 7 2014, 10:05 PM)
Hey there!! My 7 y/o dell just passed away yesterday sad.gif sad.gif , and I have been out from the tech world for quite some time. And here now I would like you sifus out here recommend me some new lappie to overcome my grief. biggrin.gif

1. Preferred brand: Any
2. Budget: RM 3k or below
3. Usage: movies/music
4. Preferred screen size: 15"

Thank you!
wow, your Dell is so old. drool.gif
but its common that a technology item will die after some years. anyway :

Acer
E1-572G-54204G1Tr, i5-4200U + AMD HD8750M@RM1899[2.35kg], 4GB, 1TB, W8.1

ASUS
A550LC-X0091H/XX179H/XX180H/XX181H, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT720M@RM2099[2.3kg], 4GB, 750GB, W8; 4-cell; colors: grey/white/red/blue

Dell
Inspiron 15, i5-4200U + AMD HD8670M @RM1649[2.25kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), 6-cell, Linux; W8.1SL@RM1849

Lenovo
S510p, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT720M@RM1849[2.4kg], 4GB, 500GB, DOS
G50-70 5940-7138, i3-4010U + AMD R5-M230@RM1499 , 4GB, 500GB, FreeDOS

prices in RRP and negotiable. i would personally suggest to take the Dell, because of their good after sales service. also, with your usage, pay less for a laptop and spend the rest of your budget for RAM and/or SSD upgrade and extend the warranty to 3 years. icon_rolleyes.gif

16 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Top

0.0521sec    1.02    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 02:21 PM