7 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 >Bottom

[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V5!

mykchin8
post Apr 19 2014, 10:02 AM

301 posts

QUOTE(cle900706 @ Apr 19 2014, 09:04 AM)
ah! icic, so quiet usually low cfm. noisy high cfm.
is there any place in lowyat that i can test the fan before purchase?
yes bro, all from the price list on the web. for the os and software............ err er...... you know, we sometimes need to join the dark side  brows.gif
Ha ha yes the dark side has financial benefits but my experience shows it is not worth saving the RM220 for the hassle and instability that you will experience with the dark side.
mykchin8
post Apr 19 2014, 11:26 AM

301 posts

QUOTE(cle900706 @ Apr 19 2014, 11:19 AM)
had been joining the dark side since windows 98 till now  rclxms.gif
but but, ur avatar asked me to join the dark side  laugh.gif
Ahh ... but at the very end, the avatar went back!
mykchin8
post Apr 19 2014, 11:27 AM

301 posts

QUOTE(luke93 @ Apr 18 2014, 09:07 PM)
Hi all ! Great thread here.  rclxms.gif Here's mine:

[Budget]
3000 - 3500

[Purpose]
1. Medium to high end gaming.
2. Coding/programming.
3. Engineering drawing.
4. University stuff.

[Hardwares that will be re-used]
Wireless keyboard and mouse.

[Games & softwares that are used frequently]
1. Crysis level gaming. (High settings is good enough. Ultra is a bonus).
2. Online/LAN games like DoTa.
3. 2D/3D drawing softwares (Alibre, pSpice, engineering stuff).
4. Coding. (C++, Arduino, Android SDK)

[Personal preferences]
1. mITX sized rig. If possible, can fit in a bag and bring it to my lab for work. Also to my friend's dorm for LAN parties.  icon_idea.gif
2. Spacious enough to fit a GTX780 sized gpu. (for future upgrades)
3. Good FHD monitor.
4. Windowed case. Like to see the insides of my PC. brows.gif (Not a major want though. Just bonus)
5. 2nd hand parts also considered.

[Location]
Selangor

Lemme know if my budget is within range and which parts i can sacrifice a bit. Thanks all!  thumbup.gif
Wow, you would like to take this rig in your bag? You do know that you would also need to bring along a monitor as well, right? What is considered small enough for you to put in your bag?

Would it make more sense for you to invest in a really powerful laptop? Budget will be higher though.

This post has been edited by mykchin8: Apr 19 2014, 11:28 AM
mykchin8
post Apr 19 2014, 12:39 PM

301 posts

QUOTE(cle900706 @ Apr 19 2014, 11:37 AM)
hahaha  rclxms.gif

i guess, i gonna visit those big shops in lowyat with the things i want. ask them quote me best price. i dont know, i prefer shops over online sellers. haha~ wish me good luck! gonna discuss with finance department first  rclxm9.gif
Yes I prefer shops as well over online retailers in Malaysia. Mainly because I don't have experience with the online retailers. And I have good relationship with my favorite retailer @ LYP.

Good luck on finding the Best bang for your ringgit.

mykchin8
post Apr 19 2014, 03:55 PM

301 posts

QUOTE(Human10 @ Apr 19 2014, 03:44 PM)
Not to promote jack sparrow or what, but mah current softmoded win8.1 from my laptop PC is working extremely fine on mah desktop. brows.gif
Not sure if there is a way to "softmod" Windows 8.1 ... I had thought that "softmod" is only for consoles.

One thing about "dark side" Windows OS software, it does not update automatically from Microsoft, so if there is any security vulnerabilities, your PC will most likely not be able to patch up to the latest version and be protected. You will need to always manually do this.

As long as you are willing to spend the time and effort, and willing to take the risk of being in the dark side, then that is totally up to you.
mykchin8
post Apr 19 2014, 03:58 PM

301 posts

QUOTE(Cable707 @ Apr 19 2014, 02:58 PM)
He/She need a monitor,tho..
Seems wrong when you tried to put in a MITX mobo inside a MATX case..so,there's some refinement.. smile.gif
Yeah, I was wondering about how to get a rig with a GTX780 small enough to get into a bag when I saw this ... and saw that it is a TJ08E casing which is mATX.

I was thinking about the SG05-Lite, but that one needs SFX power supplies, and limitation is 10" graphic cards, which isn't enough for some GTX780 cards ... anyway, let's see if there will be some more clarity as to the compromises that are allowed ... maybe OP is OK with TJ08E and does not care about the size to fit the bag.

This post has been edited by mykchin8: Apr 19 2014, 03:59 PM
mykchin8
post Apr 20 2014, 10:10 AM

301 posts

QUOTE(creative zn @ Apr 19 2014, 07:29 PM)
Intel Xeon E3 1230V RM799
Asrock B85M-ITX RM289
ZOTAC GeForce GTX760 RM799
Silverstone RVZ01 RM369
SST-ST45SF-G RM359
8GB Aegis Ram RM239
1TB HDD RM189
Dell S2340L RM569

Total RM3612
But, im wondering if that PSU can really support or not. Check on google, can.  hmm.gif
This is a good build ... one thing I can suggest over this for Luke93 is to drop the hard disk drive for an SSD ... if he is going to be moving the rig back and forth, it will make more sense to have an SSD to avoid any damage to the disk drive from vibration, and then use a more rugged portable hard disk for data, like the Transcend. Also the SSD will use less power, not a lot less, but still important in this power limited build.

I think the SFX power supply is sufficient to go all the way to GTX770, and if you choose the components carefully. Silverstone sells good power supplies, and I think it is also important to get a higher efficiency SFX power supply like this 80+ Gold one, since the casing is small, and heat will be a concern.

Talking about heat, it is important to specify a GPU with good cooling, since the casing will be small, and cooling will be more limited. Also the CPU as well, though the Xeon E3-1230V3 is pretty good when it comes to heat.
mykchin8
post Apr 24 2014, 12:02 AM

301 posts

QUOTE(creative zn @ Apr 23 2014, 10:57 PM)
Over budget ady liao. doh.gif  Haha. How bout CM V750S? Price seem ok at RM390.
Based on the review showing the design of the V550S at techpowerup, looks like the V750S is a good PSU.
mykchin8
post Apr 24 2014, 10:09 PM

301 posts

QUOTE(cannavaro @ Apr 24 2014, 09:54 PM)
Quick question what's the current best price for a GT750 Ti (2GB), and which shop/seller? I checked at viewnet, it's RM599 for the Leadtek version. Thanks.
I was quoted recently for Zotac GTX750Ti 2GB for RM545 from Cycom.
mykchin8
post Apr 30 2014, 11:57 AM

301 posts

QUOTE(KuzumiTaiga @ Apr 29 2014, 11:12 AM)
Hey guys, emergency! Neighbour asked me to help him get a rig at RM600, without monitor keyboard speakers etc. anyone got any suggestions? Heading to lowyat in two hours! Strictly no more than RM600! Thanks
Oh, and only for web browsing and free DOS
This is an interesting requirement, RM600 is very little money, and I was interested to see just how cheap a base PC can be assembled, and yet be sufficient to run Windows 8. I understand the requirement is free DOS, but free DOS is not as user-friendly as Windows, or even Linux. Checking out the internet, I think this is the most balanced build right now for RM600, or actual cost is about RM655, 10% more than RM600. However, if I go get actual quotes from Cycom, I think I can get it lower than RM650.

Celeron G1620 MYR 180.00
Asrock H61M VS3 MYR 155.00
2GB DDR3 RAM MYR 70.00
Seagate 500GB MYR 155.00
PowerLogic ATX with 450W PSU MYR 95.00
Base System MYR 655.00

The Celeron is more than enough to handle basic PC tasks like web surfing, and is actually more powerful than AMD A6-5400K in most applications that are not graphics intensive.
mykchin8
post Apr 30 2014, 12:41 PM

301 posts

th3hat3r, rav3n82 has already specified the R9 290, if it is the GTX780, it will be about RM300 more.

Corsair 300R comes with both windowed and non-windowed, but the prices are similar.
mykchin8
post May 1 2014, 12:04 AM

301 posts

QUOTE(cle900706 @ Apr 30 2014, 11:37 PM)
erm... the mouse is kinda old.... cant change dpi and sXXt

1st time having such big resolution screen  laugh.gif
The mouse speed setting is within Windows itself, and is independent of the mouse that is being used. It should be there.
mykchin8
post May 1 2014, 12:10 AM

301 posts

QUOTE(faridbaik @ Apr 30 2014, 11:44 PM)
Hey guys, some ques here. I'm wondering if my processor and mobo is still good? Should i change it if im gonna get good gpu(hv my eyes on 770)?

[Budget] RM2.5k - 3k

[Purpose] Gaming

[Re-use hardware]
Proc  - Intel Core I7-2600K LGA1155
Mobo - Asus p8z77-m intel z77

[Monitor resolution] 1920x1080

[Personal preferences]
PSU - Seasonic S12II 620W   rm299
GPU - 770 (idk which 1 shud i take)
RAM - should i get hyper or not?
Chasis - Corsair Carbide Spec-03  rm210

[Location] Kedah/Penang

Yes, definitely your i7-2600K is still good ... the bottleneck will be at your graphics card, especially that you are looking at a single GTX770.

RAM for the Z77 is not so critical, so I suggest you go with 8GB of normal DDR3 RAM, and save the extra cash.

On the GPU selection, I recommend the MSI Gaming series, as the cooler is quiet, and efficient in cooling the GPU, at a reasonable premium.

Here is the recommended build, I am assuming you will need RAM, and do not need budget for monitor, keyboard/mouse, OS, etc.

Intel i7-2600K
Asus P8Z77-M
8GB DDR3 MYR 229.00
MSI GTX770 Twin Frozr Gaming MYR 1,250.00
Kingston 120GB V300 SSD MYR 255.00
WD 1TB Blue MYR 180.00
Samsung DVDRW MYR 55.00
Seasonic S12II 620W MYR 299.00
Corsair Carbide Spec-03 MYR 210.00
Base System MYR 2,478.00

I just edited the above to reflect the correct price of the GTX770 card.

This post has been edited by mykchin8: May 1 2014, 01:33 AM
mykchin8
post May 1 2014, 12:26 AM

301 posts

QUOTE(cle900706 @ May 1 2014, 12:21 AM)
erm.... im using win 8.1 and i no see seetings to change dpi.... oni can change scroll speed only...
You can change the mouse pointer speed in the Windows 8.1 ... please see this video:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LuNBpmsm-3o
mykchin8
post May 1 2014, 01:22 AM

301 posts

QUOTE(faridbaik @ May 1 2014, 01:14 AM)
thanks for d feedback.
hmm i miss out that i re-use my hdd and dvd-rw.
if my processor and mobo is still good, i can get better gpu i guess  biggrin.gif
btw thanks again
Yes, if you want to use up the RM3K budget, then consider the MSI R9 290 Twin Frozr Gaming at RM1649, or Sapphire R9 290 Tri-X OC at RM1699.

The R9 290 is one of the best values for high end GPU category. The GTX780 GPU gives about the same performance for about RM250 to RM300 more.

You should also be able to re-use your RAM, instead of buying new RAM, as long as you have 8GB.
mykchin8
post May 1 2014, 02:06 AM

301 posts

QUOTE(sil3ntlif3 @ Apr 30 2014, 05:32 PM)
[cool.gif[Budget] RM3k-3.5k

[Purpose] Gaming and Renderings for 3DS MAX and photoshop and Video Editing

[Hardwares that will be re-use] N/A Mouse only?

[Monitor resolution] 1920x1080

[Games & softwares that use frequently]
3Ds Max
Photoshop
Adobe Premier
COD
Total War

[Personal preferences]
Xeon E3 1230 v3
Motherboard Asus Z87-K (for it's turbo boost)
8GB Ram or more (4x4)
CM Elite 431 (need casing to be cheaper)or Corsair Carbide SPEC-03
Internal HDD of 1TB

[Location] Sabah
This is the recommended build, including monitor, and keyboard, but no speakers.

I specified a mid-level GPU as I saw that the games you played are not that demanding. However, this is not a workstation-class GPU like the Nvidia Quadro series, but I believe it should be sufficient to meet your needs, it might not run 3DS MAX as well as it should, but Photoshop, and Premier should be no issues.

Intel Xeon E3 1230 V3 MYR 800.00
Asus Z87-K MYR 465.00
Kingston 16GB (2x8GB) DDR3 MYR 460.00
MSI GTX750 Ti OC MYR 615.00
WD 1TB Blue MYR 180.00
Samsung DVDRW MYR 55.00
Seasonic S12II 620W MYR 300.00
CoolerMaster Elite 311 MYR 120.00

Base System MYR 2,995.00

LG LGE-23EA53V IPS monitor MYR 545.00
Logitech K120 USB Keyboard MYR 30.00

System Total Price MYR 3,570.00

mykchin8
post May 1 2014, 11:37 AM

301 posts

Yes, a B85 board would suffice for general purposes as there's very little difference in performance, but as he mentioned, he wanted the turbo function, and the price is within his budget and usage, so that's what I specified. Also Z87 is not just about overclocking, but there's additional functions on the motherboard as well.

Yes, I agree with you if he wants to give up his requirement on the turbo function, then he should get a lower spec motherboard, and move the funds to a higher end GPU.

mykchin8
post May 2 2014, 05:28 PM

301 posts

QUOTE(rav3n82 @ May 2 2014, 04:25 PM)
Actually I am not sure why you will need specifically a Z87 board for that Turbo Boost feature. I thought that is a passive feature of the CPU itself, e.g the Xeon E3 1230 v3 has a base clock of 3.3 GHz and turbo boost of 3.7 GHz. Or are you referring to something else? tongue.gif

The Turbo Boost feature is a function of the Intel CPU, and both the B85 & Z87 chipsets support Intel's Turbo Boost feature.

The advantage that Z87 has is to overclock Intel K CPUs by changing the multiplier, and also to support multi-GPU configurations.

The Asus Z87-K has a TurboV EVO function to automatically overclock CPUs, but I think it is better to manually overclock, and it is also valid with Intel K CPUs, and the Xeon E3 is not good for overclocking, auto or manual, since it cannot change multiplier.

This post has been edited by mykchin8: May 2 2014, 05:41 PM
mykchin8
post May 3 2014, 12:57 AM

301 posts

QUOTE(sil3ntlif3 @ May 2 2014, 04:09 PM)
About the casing is there a smaller case that will fit everything and still have good air flow? I might be moving it alot smile.gif
Within the budget as well. And i will see if i can get any deals ><

I am not sure if someone responded to you on this, but there are a lot of decent smaller casings from CoolerMaster that are reasonably priced ... not as cheap as about RM100, but I would say about RM150. These cases are like CoolerMaster Elite 34x series, but you would need to buy an additional 120mm fan for the front.

I am sure some of the other members here will provide suggestions for other cases from Silverstone, BitFenix, etc.

This post has been edited by mykchin8: May 3 2014, 01:04 AM
mykchin8
post May 3 2014, 08:33 AM

301 posts

QUOTE(rav3n82 @ May 3 2014, 07:53 AM)
No, I don't think so. Even H81 boards support Intel Turbo Boost 2.0. Unless you're talking about some form of instant CPU overclocking feature "Turbo OC" or something along that line, then yes I believe only Z87 boards allow you that privilege.

http://www.asrock.com/mb/Intel/H81M-HDS/?cat=Specifications
http://www.intel.com/content/www/us/en/arc...technology.html

This is what mykchin8 mentioned earlier.
Yes, we should be aware of the possible confusion caused by all the motherboard manufacturers' marketing ... Intel's Turbo Boost feature is supported by the new chipsets, even the B85.

The motherboard manufacturers do add in their overclocking tools and this is most of the time named Turbo this or Turbo that. This is different from Intel's Turbo Boost.

7 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 >Top

0.0578sec    0.14    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 03:52 AM