Closed, Closed

hayrol
post Nov 3 2015, 09:02 PM

128 posts

Oh, finally you guys comes with Clevo P870DM line-up soon. It will be interesting to see how this beast can handle with new Nvidia GTX980 for notebook series later on (especially when GPU overclock feature comes out).

*Now I can can patiently wait for it comes out**

This post has been edited by hayrol: Nov 3 2015, 09:21 PM
zonan4
post Nov 4 2015, 01:02 PM

561 posts

QUOTE(hayrol @ Nov 3 2015, 09:02 PM)

Oh, finally you guys comes with Clevo P870DM line-up soon. It will be interesting to see how this beast can handle with new Nvidia GTX980 for notebook series later on (especially when GPU overclock feature comes out).

*Now I can can patiently wait for it comes out**
wow sexy beast... rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif
BBXiong
post Nov 4 2015, 02:10 PM

CFX
6,317 posts

Hi PrinceJ, bought an S5 early this year, and i notice that my CPU temp is going higher than it used to now. It easily shots up to more than 90C now. Thinking to open up to do some dust cleaning. May I know if that wouldd void the warranty?

This post has been edited by BBXiong: Nov 4 2015, 02:16 PM
TSPrince J
post Nov 4 2015, 02:37 PM

1,272 posts

QUOTE(BBXiong @ Nov 4 2015, 02:10 PM)
Hi PrinceJ, bought an S5 early this year, and i notice that my CPU temp is going higher than it used to now. It easily shots up to more than 90C now. Thinking to open up to do some dust cleaning. May I know if that wouldd void the warranty?
Hi BBXiong,

You can try to turn off Intel Turbo Boost to get lower temperature.

As for dust cleaning, you can send it back for dust cleaning service.
TSPrince J
post Nov 4 2015, 07:14 PM

1,272 posts

Desktop CPU + Desktop GPU in a gaming laptop. The line between desktop and laptop is blurring. More information will be announced soon!

aswad1986
post Nov 4 2015, 07:29 PM

51 posts

d series can upgrade to desktop gtx980?
hayrol
post Nov 4 2015, 09:03 PM

128 posts

QUOTE(aswad1986 @ Nov 4 2015, 07:29 PM)
d series can upgrade to desktop gtx980?
How you suppose to put desktop GTX 980 to the notebook. tongue.gif

Anyway, if you mean by upgrading your current notebook GPU to GTX980 for notebook GPU series (not the GTX980M version), it probably possible since D series (CLEVO P7xxM) using MXM 3.0 form factor 180W (115x83mm).
There are some variants of MXM 3.0 for GTX 980 notebook GPU series - so far there are 5 variants of MXM GTX980 notebook GPU that been known.

More info for GTX980 notebook GPU variants and image at here.
http://forum.techinferno.com/clevo/11083-g...l-variants.html

P/s: Planning to upgrade my current GPU (GTX980M to GTX980) as well, but see how the GTX980 work & performs, especially when handling the heat and power management, which my concern.

This post has been edited by hayrol: Nov 4 2015, 09:32 PM
asn_11
post Nov 6 2015, 04:42 PM

51 posts

can the z5 960m play fallout 4? prediction? at what setting. anyone encounter tearing when playing gta v with optimized setting?
asn_11
post Nov 6 2015, 08:51 PM

51 posts

QUOTE(Skylake @ Nov 6 2015, 07:42 PM)
Look at fallout 4 graphics, if can't play you can throw that Z5 away
not exactly "cant" play the game. what i meant was higher setting with stable fps per se.
TSPrince J
post Nov 7 2015, 05:36 PM

1,272 posts

‎Intel‬ ‪Skylake‬ is much efficient than ‪‎Haswell‬.

"You might be disappointed by Skylake if you expected a noticeable (CPU) performance gain – the advantages over Haswell and Broadwell are surprisingly low, at least in this TDP range. But it would be wrong to call Intel's new micro architecture a failure because of this: Instead of increasing the performance at all costs, the manufacturer concentrated on the power efficiency in return and can show some real advancement in this respect. The practical partial load scenarios in particular benefit from even more sophisticated energy-saving features, but also the advantages of the modern 14 nm manufacturing process."
Credit to Notebookcheck

TSPrince J
post Nov 9 2015, 06:19 PM

1,272 posts

The ‪ILLEGEAR‬ ‎S5‬ delivers incredible power and speed with latest 6th generation ‪Intel‬ Core i7 Processor, ‪NVIDIA‬ ‪‎GeForce‬ ‪GTX970M‬ 3GB / ‪GTX980M‬ 8GB GDDR5 and ‪G-sync‬ display within a slim aluminium chassis. The S5 is a perfect partner for those who make no sacrifice in mobility and performance.

e_mc_square
post Nov 11 2015, 12:53 AM

768 posts

QUOTE(hayrol @ Nov 4 2015, 09:03 PM)
How you suppose to put desktop GTX 980 to the notebook. tongue.gif

Anyway, if you mean by upgrading your current notebook GPU to GTX980 for notebook GPU series (not the GTX980M version), it probably possible since D series (CLEVO P7xxM) using MXM 3.0 form factor 180W (115x83mm).
There are some variants of MXM 3.0 for GTX 980 notebook GPU series - so far there are 5 variants of MXM GTX980 notebook GPU that been known.

More info for GTX980 notebook GPU variants and image at here.
http://forum.techinferno.com/clevo/11083-g...l-variants.html

P/s: Planning to upgrade my current GPU (GTX980M to GTX980) as well, but see how the GTX980 work & performs, especially when handling the heat and power management, which my concern.
GTX 980 looks like don't have the standard size like old MXM III anymore cry.gif
hayrol
post Nov 11 2015, 11:38 AM

128 posts

Notice that new GTX 980 (MXM3.0) have extra power port on the top of the card. May require additional power supply to power the card.

The assemble for GTX980 (MXM3.0) for new Clevo P775DM1(-G) (similar design for Illegear D5 and D7 series but with different mobo). New version of D5 & D7 (Clevo P7xxDM series) may have the chance to upgrade their GPU in the future.

As the previous gen D5 & D7 (Clevo P7xxZM series) probably will be much more difficult to upgrade to GTX980 - may require additional modding to the mobo.

This post has been edited by hayrol: Nov 11 2015, 01:15 PM
TSPrince J
post Nov 12 2015, 07:02 PM

1,272 posts

‪‎Dying Light‬ max settings played on ‪‎ILLEGEAR‬ ‪S5‬ ‪‎Skylake‬.

ILLEGEAR S5 SKYLAKE

Display: 15.6" Full HD Anti-glare Display ‎LG‬ IPS sRGB 100% Color & Wide View (1920 x 1080) (G-Sync)
Processor: ‪Intel‬® Core™ i7-6700HQ (6MB Smart Cache, 2.60GHz)
Graphics Card: ‪Nvidia‬ ‪GeForce‬ ‪‎GTX 980M‬ 8GB GDDR5 with Optimus (Maxwell)
Thermal Compound: IC Diamond Thermal Compound - CPU & GPU
RAM: ‪Kingston‬ 8GB DDR4 RAM 2133MHz - 1 X 8GB
Primary Drive: 1TB 5400rpm Hard Drive
Wireless Network Card: ‪‎Killer‬™ Wireless-AC 1525 M.2 - WLAN & Bluetooth 4.1 Combo

Credit to Jeffrey (customer)
TSPrince J
post Nov 14 2015, 08:00 PM

1,272 posts

Bridge the gap between visual effects and reality with the ‎NVIDIA‬’s latest ‪Quadro‬ ‎M1000M‬, ‎M3000M‬ and ‪M5000M‬ Graphics in ‪ILLEGEAR‬ ‪D series‬. The mobile professionals bring Nvidia Quadro graphics where their work is.

hyperyouth_firepower
post Nov 17 2015, 05:19 PM

BlackBerry enthusiast
1,964 posts

QUOTE(hayrol @ Nov 11 2015, 12:38 PM)
Notice that new GTX 980 (MXM3.0) have extra power port on the top of the card. May require additional power supply to power the card.

The assemble for GTX980 (MXM3.0) for new Clevo P775DM1(-G) (similar design for Illegear D5 and D7 series but with different mobo). New version of D5 & D7 (Clevo P7xxDM series) may have the chance to upgrade their GPU in the future.

As the previous gen D5 & D7 (Clevo P7xxZM series) probably will be much more difficult to upgrade to GTX980 - may require additional modding to the mobo.

Meh, i was thinking of upgrading my GPU to this beast. :/

looks like out of luck.

(RS-15)
e_mc_square
post Nov 17 2015, 05:25 PM

768 posts

QUOTE(hyperyouth_firepower @ Nov 17 2015, 05:19 PM)
Meh, i was thinking of upgrading my GPU to this beast. :/

looks like out of luck.

(RS-15)
RS 15 can upgrade la! It using MXM graphics card interface. Just it cannot upgrade to the GTX 980 only.
hyperyouth_firepower
post Nov 17 2015, 05:26 PM

BlackBerry enthusiast
1,964 posts

QUOTE(e_mc_square @ Nov 17 2015, 06:25 PM)
RS 15 can upgrade la! It using MXM graphics card interface. Just it cannot upgrade to the GTX 980 only.
that's what i'm saying. i wanted to upgrade my GTX980M to the GTX980.

LOL

e_mc_square
post Nov 17 2015, 05:36 PM

768 posts

QUOTE(hyperyouth_firepower @ Nov 17 2015, 05:26 PM)
that's what i'm saying. i wanted to upgrade my GTX980M to the GTX980.

LOL
rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
hyperyouth_firepower
post Nov 17 2015, 05:39 PM

BlackBerry enthusiast
1,964 posts

QUOTE(e_mc_square @ Nov 17 2015, 06:36 PM)
rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
but can't!

:/

From other forums, indication is that some motherboard modification is needed (rerouting power all that bla bla bla)

add on:

and not to mention BIOS also will have to be flashed, like using Prema's.

:/

double whammy.

This post has been edited by hyperyouth_firepower: Nov 17 2015, 05:40 PM

74 Pages « < 52 53 54 55 56 > » Top

0.0333sec    0.61    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 04:53 AM