125 Pages « < 47 48 49 50 51 > » Bottom

ASN, ASN2, ASN3, ASG, ASB, ASW2020, ASM, ASD, AS1M, AMANAH SAHAM NASIONAL BERHAD V5

Xefron
post Apr 14 2014, 11:29 AM

2,507 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Apr 14 2014, 11:14 AM)
Why would you dump into AS1M when you have ASB2?
for different purpose.AS1M is equity and ASB2 is mixed asset.

This post has been edited by Xefron: Apr 14 2014, 11:29 AM
davinz18
post Apr 14 2014, 12:22 PM

начинаещ
7,142 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Apr 14 2014, 10:18 AM)
Wow! Thats a high interest rate.

So ull end up paying about 4.95% for an ASB loan and with the BLR expected to go up soon by 25 basis points, we would be looking at BLR 6.85 - 1.45 = 5.40%. Assuming ASB2 dividends are 7.70%, your nett profit is only 2.3%.

Darn!
yup, it's quite high. but some people say 2nd year can use the dividend money to pay the loan installment. so u still profit nod.gif
plumberly
post Apr 14 2014, 12:36 PM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(Xefron @ Apr 14 2014, 11:29 AM)
for different purpose.AS1M is equity and ASB2 is mixed asset.
Yes, that is looking from portfolio perspective.

But if you consider only the return, then ASB2 (if it performs as well as its older brother ASB) should be better than AS1M by about 1% higher from past ASB & AS1M performance.

With my non bumi eyes on, I feel that ASBX (bumi only) tend to do better than ASX (bumi and non bumi). I wonder why? Change my contact lens to see better? Ha.

Cheerio.
davinz18
post Apr 14 2014, 12:42 PM

начинаещ
7,142 posts

QUOTE(plumberly @ Apr 14 2014, 12:36 PM)
Yes, that is looking from portfolio perspective.

But if you consider only the return, then ASB2 (if it performs as well as its older brother ASB) should be better than AS1M by about 1% higher from past ASB & AS1M performance.

With my non bumi eyes on, I feel that ASBX (bumi only) tend to do better than ASX (bumi and non bumi). I wonder why? Change my contact lens to see better? Ha.

Cheerio.
The biggest mystery in malaysian investment laugh.gif
lucifah
post Apr 14 2014, 03:05 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Apr 14 2014, 10:18 AM)
Wow! Thats a high interest rate.

So ull end up paying about 4.95% for an ASB loan and with the BLR expected to go up soon by 25 basis points, we would be looking at BLR 6.85 - 1.45 = 5.40%. Assuming ASB2 dividends are 7.70%, your nett profit is only 2.3%.

Darn!
u forgot to include ASB-RTA - asb reducing term assurance

it will cost you an extra 0.3 - 0.5%
plumberly
post Apr 14 2014, 06:28 PM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(davinz18 @ Apr 14 2014, 12:42 PM)
The biggest mystery in malaysian investment  laugh.gif
Diplomatic way of saying it. Ha. icon_idea.gif

Decided to do some analysis to get a better picture for myself.

Sharing 1

With RM100,000 each in ASM, ASW2020 and ASB in 2001, ASB has delivered the highest 13 yrs later. Honestly, I thought the difference would be a lot more but it did not. So, ASM, ASW & ASB are in the same ball park in return. I know some will be coming back that I left out the bonus % in ASB. To me, ASB is worth it if one makes use of the bonus as otherwise, it is only slightly better than ASM and ASW2020.

Sharing 2

Surprised that ASM & ASW2020 have done better than ASB in some years (2001, 2002 & 2008, bonus % excluded).

Note that since 2009, with some hidden hands in the system, ASB has consistently done better than the rest by about 1%! Maybe someone up there realised the need to have a higher return for this special fund for the special people. Ha. brows.gif

Wonder whether there was a change in the top govt or PNB in 2008/2009? doh.gif

Cheerio.

This post has been edited by plumberly: Apr 14 2014, 06:30 PM
davinz18
post Apr 14 2014, 08:18 PM

начинаещ
7,142 posts

QUOTE(plumberly @ Apr 14 2014, 06:28 PM)
Diplomatic way of saying it. Ha.  icon_idea.gif

Sharing 1

With RM100,000 each in ASM, ASW2020 and ASB in 2001, ASB has delivered the highest 13 yrs later. Honestly, I thought the difference would be a lot more but it did not. So, ASM, ASW & ASB are in the same ball park in return. I know some will be coming back that I left out the bonus % in ASB. To me, ASB is worth it if one makes use of the bonus as otherwise, it is only slightly better than ASM and ASW2020.
Sharing 2

Surprised that ASM & ASW2020 have done better than ASB in some years (2001, 2002 & 2008, bonus % excluded).

Note that since 2009, with some hidden hands in the system, ASB has consistently done better than the rest by about 1%! Maybe someone up there realised the need to have a higher return for this special fund for the special people. Ha.  brows.gif

Wonder whether there was a change in the top govt or PNB in 2008/2009?  doh.gif

Cheerio.
wow, u really did some analysis there notworthy.gif rclxms.gif
ASB paid quite excellent dividend few year after launch, then slowly dropped.
I donno if got any management change in PNB but what I know got some "political" change in April 2009 whistling.gif
cheahcw2003
post Apr 14 2014, 09:15 PM

5,379 posts

QUOTE(plumberly @ Apr 14 2014, 06:28 PM)
Diplomatic way of saying it. Ha.  icon_idea.gif

Sharing 1

Cheerio.
Thanks for sharing:-

1) The bonus for ASB which ranges from 1-2% is critical, and could not be ignored, as the power of compounded interest make a lot of difference for 2%p.a. in 13 years time.

2) Each funds financial year end at different month, so the performance of equity will be different as well.

3) All ASB, ASW and ASM are fixed price funds, with instant withdrawal payout thus high liquidity, many treat it as a high dividend saving account or fixed deposits.

4) Given a situation of all funds are available, and assuming one eligible to invest in all these funds, it is a no brainer decision to save in ASB first then followed by ASW, ASM. For Non Bumi, ASB is out of the consideration. There is no reasons to compare ASM and ASW since they are not available for subsription anymore.
plumberly
post Apr 14 2014, 09:20 PM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(cheahcw2003 @ Apr 14 2014, 09:15 PM)
Thanks for sharing:-

1) The bonus for ASB which ranges from 1-2% is critical, and could not be ignored, as the power of compounded interest make a lot of difference for 2%p.a. in 13 years time.

I left out the bonus as not every one with ASB is eligible to get it, if I understand it correctly from lucifah. One needs to keep it for x years, etc. So, only the die hard savers will get the bonus.

This post has been edited by plumberly: Apr 14 2014, 09:34 PM
cheahcw2003
post Apr 15 2014, 12:14 AM

5,379 posts

QUOTE(plumberly @ Apr 14 2014, 09:20 PM)
I left out the bonus as not every one with ASB is eligible to get it, if I understand it correctly from lucifah. One needs to keep it for x years, etc. So, only the die hard savers will get the bonus.
Bonus is eligible once u have invested. The formula is [( No of months invested / 120) x bonus %]
plumberly
post Apr 15 2014, 09:15 AM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(cheahcw2003 @ Apr 15 2014, 12:14 AM)
Bonus is eligible once u have invested. The formula is [( No of months invested / 120) x bonus %]
Noted and thanks.

Cheerio.
cybermaster98
post Apr 15 2014, 09:22 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(plumberly @ Apr 14 2014, 09:20 PM)
Bonus is calculated as a average over 10 years.
cybermaster98
post Apr 15 2014, 09:23 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(lucifah @ Apr 14 2014, 03:05 PM)
u forgot to include ASB-RTA - asb reducing term assurance

it will cost you an extra 0.3 - 0.5%
So the actual rates are BLR-1.45% + 0.3%?
plumberly
post Apr 15 2014, 09:25 AM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Apr 15 2014, 09:22 AM)

Based on average amount of the moving last 10 years?

Cheerio.
Xefron
post Apr 15 2014, 10:42 AM

2,507 posts

I really hope Maybank can make ASB 2 one of the option to invest through Maybank2U.

Easy.

This post has been edited by Xefron: Apr 15 2014, 10:43 AM
lucifah
post Apr 15 2014, 11:51 AM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(cheahcw2003 @ Apr 15 2014, 12:14 AM)
yes, you are eligibile once you have invested, but how much is the effective %?

the archaic formula is: LOWEST balance of the YEAR for the 10 yrs averaged x bonus %

i had a very skewed bonus vs dividend for the past years until now

my dividend may register about 6.5-7% of my total balance in ASB, but my bonus is a mere 0.1 - 0.2% of the ASB total balance rather than the announced 1.15%

this happened because of young me who stupidly decided to spend all his money laugh.gif
lucifah
post Apr 15 2014, 11:54 AM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Apr 15 2014, 09:23 AM)
So the actual rates are BLR-1.45% + 0.3%?
depends on how much your ASB-RTA will cost you

ASB RTA is an insurance product, and thus, the premium charged depends on many factors, especially your health, risk and others

the RTA will be absorbed into your ASB loan
lucifah
post Apr 15 2014, 11:55 AM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Apr 15 2014, 09:22 AM)
lowest balance of the year averaged over the past 10 yrs smile.gif
plumberly
post Apr 15 2014, 01:16 PM

4,761 posts

I have updated the comparison with the new bonus calc infor from some of you. The comparison is below.

I used the average of the moving last 10 yearly lowest balance * bonus %.

ASB performance has speeded up over the last few years.

What is very shocking and disappointing for me as a non bumi is the comparison with FD. FD is where I have been putting my spare money to grow and it seriously needs some truck-load of growth hormone in comparing with the ASX!

Cheerio.
MGM
post Apr 15 2014, 01:29 PM

18,430 posts

QUOTE(davinz18 @ Apr 14 2014, 12:42 PM)
The biggest mystery in malaysian investment  laugh.gif
Not mystery lah, it is part and parcel of the 44YO NEP, you know the tongkat. Not only higher returns but can be finance with loan.

125 Pages « < 47 48 49 50 51 > » Top

0.0305sec    0.60    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 10:54 AM