Insurance NCD transfer to new car

techno_guy
post Apr 13 2015, 03:02 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Apr 13 2015, 12:27 PM)
Can be done:
Go to your current car insurance co to refund the pro rated 30% NCD.
Get the 30% NCD release endorsement and send it to your new car insurance co for the prorated refund.

But:
You wasted a "period/time" for both insurance covers to earn the next level of NCD ie 38.33% and 25% because you do the refund in between the standard 1 year insurance coverage period and your next NCD and insurance renewal date will be due in different dates now.
So in this case u would suggest me to transfer the existing ncd to the new car onot? The existing ncd is going to increase again on august

By transfering now i need to top up rm130 to the previous car and save about rm800 for the new car insurance
Which is best to me now? Transfer or not to transfer?

aeiou228
post Apr 13 2015, 03:53 PM

5,871 posts

No harm transfer, just that the due date for insurance and NCD will be different. Leceh abit.
And you old car will have to wait 1 year from the date of transfer for the 25% NCD.

This post has been edited by aeiou228: Apr 13 2015, 04:01 PM
lch78
post Oct 24 2015, 09:18 AM

b.e.y.o.n.d.r.e.a.l.m.s
2,114 posts

Hi everybody.

I intend to transfer my old car NCD to my new car but I am not selling my old car.

How exactly should I go about this process?
dk1
post Feb 14 2016, 02:50 PM

62 posts

Hi.

Newbie here.

Planning to do a ncd transfer from my 20yo kancil to new car. Few questions on my mind.

1. Will it be more cost effective to transfer the ncd and get a new policy for the kancil?

2. The premium for the kancil is third party & very limited coverage. ..since it's old car. But planning to keep it til it 'expires'. Will this affect the coverage for new car? Transfer ncd = transfer of coverage?
Galaxy Angel
post Jul 13 2016, 11:16 AM

584 posts

Dear all sifu:

Just quickly go through from first post until last post, I have a question,

My old car will be sell and will get second hand car, I wish to transfer my old car NCD (55%) to second hand car, understood I will need to withdraw the NCD from my old car to second hand car, question is only withdraw NCD or cancel insurance?

Means old car insurance will still active just without the NCD (means let it auto expiry), or I can just cancel the old car insurance and 55% NCD will auto transfer to my second hand car? As withdraw NCD and cancel insurance is 2 difference thing. I am worry if cancel insurance, then will not entitle 55% NCD for my second hand car insurance.

Hope all sifu can share your expertise.

This post has been edited by Galaxy Angel: Jul 13 2016, 11:20 AM
kirakun
post Jul 13 2016, 11:41 AM

699 posts

I have done the transfer of the NCD from an older car of which i'm going to trade in to a newer car. All you need is to pay a visit to your insurance agent, fill up the authorization form(withdraw NCD) on the spot and pay the pro-rated balance of your car insurance. The agent then will forward u a receipt. That's it. Within half an hour or so, you will be able to transfer your 55% NCD to another car.

In this case i didn't cancel the insurance for the car yet as i plan to do so after i have done the name transfer to the dealer.
jkngo2003
post Mar 10 2017, 11:10 AM

1,151 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Apr 13 2015, 12:27 PM)
Can be done:
Go to your current car insurance co to refund the pro rated 30% NCD.
Get the 30% NCD release endorsement and send it to your new car insurance co for the prorated refund.

But:
You wasted a "period/time" for both insurance covers to earn the next level of NCD ie 38.33% and 25% because you do the refund in between the standard 1 year insurance coverage period and your next NCD and insurance renewal date will be due in different dates now.
hi,

i notice that u post this refund issue for new car.
can you advice my case.

i sold my old car in oct 2016 and i buy new car today.

i notice that the my insurance is paid by toyoya without ncd. can i transfer my 55 percent ncd and claim the refund from my full ammount of insurnce paid by toyota?

all insurance for new and old one is etiqa.

in above, u mention that waste period. what it mean?

aeiou228
post Mar 10 2017, 01:51 PM

5,871 posts

QUOTE(jkngo2003 @ Mar 10 2017, 11:10 AM)
hi,

i notice that u post this refund issue for new car.
can you advice my case.

i sold my old car in oct 2016 and i buy new car today.

i notice that the my insurance is paid by toyoya without ncd. can i transfer my 55 percent ncd and claim the refund from my full ammount of insurnce paid by toyota?

all insurance for new and old one is etiqa.

in above, u mention that waste period. what it mean?

First, screw your SA for not being professional. He should know and he should kautim the transfer.
Yes you can, call etiqa asap to cancel the old policy and transfer the 55% to your new car.
The waste time part is let say you only find out this problem 2 months later after the new policy enforced, you can only get the ncb on the remaining 10months. The another problem is when your insurance expires 10 months later, the date of the next level ncb still not yet completed 1 year.
But since you already achieved the max ncb 55%, so you are not affected by the insurance expiry date and yearly ncb increment date differences.
reeve-826
post Sep 19 2017, 09:23 PM

334 posts

want to ask everyone on NCD , currently insurance policy with 0% NCD where the policy will be expired on 29 Sept 2017. If i sell the car now and transfer ownership at JPJ completed on 20th Sept 2017. However there is 9 days more to reach 1 year, i don't cancel the policy and let it til expiration date.

Will i have 2nd year NCD of 25% when i buy a new car next month?
kojack18
post Nov 17 2017, 05:54 PM

37 posts

Folks. Im new to this thread.

Noobie on this and wondering on the following:

1) my car is fully paid with ncd 55%, if i opt for 3rd party, will the ncd be cancelled or it wil be diminished at specific rate annually until i opt for comprehensive coverage? eg. 2nd care in 2 years' time (by which ncd will be 35% i think by then)

2) else, can i use ncd for 3rd party coverage if i dont intend to buy new car for the foreseeable future.

Thanks in advance for any input.
kojack18
post Nov 18 2017, 12:59 AM

37 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Mar 10 2017, 01:51 PM)
First, screw your SA for not being professional. He should know and he should kautim the transfer.
Yes you can, call etiqa asap to cancel the old policy and transfer the 55% to your new car.
The waste time part is let say you only find out this problem 2 months later after the new policy enforced, you can only get the ncb on the remaining 10months. The another problem is when your insurance expires 10 months later, the date of the next level ncb still not yet completed 1 year.
But since you already achieved the max ncb 55%, so you are not affected by the insurance expiry date and yearly ncb increment date differences.
Bro. Noob question.

1) my car is fully paid with ncd 55%, if i opt for 3rd party, will the ncd be cancelled or it wil be diminished at specific rate annually until i opt for comprehensive coverage? eg. 2nd care in 2 years' time (by which ncd will be 35% i think by then)

2) else, can i use ncd for 3rd party coverage if i dont intend to buy new car for the foreseeable future.

Ginny88
post Nov 18 2017, 08:20 AM

1,032 posts

QUOTE(kojack18 @ Nov 18 2017, 12:59 AM)
Bro. Noob question.

Your NCB will diminish every year if you don't use it. Nowadays few companies are selling only 3rd party coverage but you can try. They usually insist on putting in fire and theft insurance which bumps up the premium. You should use your NCD. At any time when you buy a new car your NCD can be transferred to your new car. You just pay full insurance for your old car for the unused time. For example if your old car's insurance still has 5 months to go, you top up for full insurance without NCD for 5 months.

aeiou228
post Nov 18 2017, 06:01 PM

5,871 posts

QUOTE(kojack18 @ Nov 18 2017, 12:59 AM)
Bro. Noob question.

Not sure about the latest rules but many years ago, I'd few car policies all 55%. When I sold one of my cars, I would still renew the 55% policy under 3rd party even though the car ownership had been transferred to the new owner. The only reason of renewing it is to keep the 55% NCB incase I want to buy a new car in the future. Those day insurance cover not linked to JPJ and 3rd party was cheap and manually issued. Now e-cover note linked to JPJ, 3rd party cover also not cheap with minimum premium, can't play this trick anymore.
Since your car is not sold, I believe the 55% will stay regardless of 3rd party cover or comprehensive cover. Only when you stop the renewal entirely, the % of NCB will reverse at the rate similar to that of you earned the NCB annually.

I think 3rd party premium also not cheap, the NCB is useless in 3rd party cover because there is a min premium requirement. Have you compare the premium between the 3rd party and a min sum insured comprehensive cover ?

kojack18
post Nov 19 2017, 12:11 AM

37 posts

QUOTE(Ginny88 @ Nov 18 2017, 08:20 AM)
Your NCB will diminish every year if you don't use it. Nowadays few companies are selling only 3rd party coverage but you can try. They usually insist on putting in fire and theft insurance which bumps up the premium. You should use your NCD. At any time when you buy a new car your NCD can be transferred to your new car. You just pay full insurance for your old car for the unused time. For example if your old car's insurance still has 5 months to go, you top up for full insurance without NCD for 5 months.
Thanks man. Will check with insurer if they do 3rd party or not.

This post has been edited by kojack18: Nov 19 2017, 12:12 AM
kojack18
post Nov 19 2017, 12:12 AM

37 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Nov 18 2017, 06:01 PM)
Not sure about the latest rules but many years ago, I'd few car policies all 55%. When I sold one of my cars, I would still renew the 55% policy under 3rd party even though the car ownership had been transferred to the new owner. The only reason of renewing it is to keep the 55% NCB incase I want to buy a new car in the future. Those day insurance cover not linked to JPJ and 3rd party was cheap and manually issued.  Now e-cover note linked to JPJ, 3rd party cover also not cheap with minimum premium, can't play this trick anymore.
Since your car is not sold, I believe the 55% will stay regardless of 3rd party cover or comprehensive cover. Only when you stop the renewal entirely, the % of NCB will reverse at the rate similar to that of you earned the NCB annually.

I think 3rd party premium also not cheap, the NCB is useless in 3rd party cover because there is a min premium requirement. Have you compare the premium between the 3rd party and a min sum insured comprehensive cover ?
Thanks. Ive not enquired on 3rd party as yet. Again thanks for the info.

This post has been edited by kojack18: Nov 19 2017, 12:13 AM
lancer_ajai
post Nov 23 2017, 12:44 PM

47 posts

Bros. If i sold my car. Can i refund my remaining insurance and still keep my ncd? I havent decide to buy a new car yet
clavenk
post Nov 23 2017, 05:31 PM

41 posts

QUestion:
my Car A - due 20th nov 2017. current ncd :25%, renew 30%
my car B - sold. current ncd 38.33% .

car B ncd transfer to car A for renewal insurance. now car A having 44.XX% ncd.
But what happen to my Car A 30% ncd. Because is under same car A. How i use the Car A previous 30% ncd? Can anyone advise?
Ginny88
post Nov 23 2017, 09:45 PM

1,032 posts

QUOTE(clavenk @ Nov 23 2017, 05:31 PM)
QUestion:
my Car A - due 20th nov 2017. current ncd :25%, renew 30%
my car B - sold. current ncd 38.33% .

car B ncd transfer to car A for renewal insurance. now car A having 44.XX% ncd.
But what happen to my Car A 30% ncd. Because is under same car A. How i use the Car A previous 30% ncd? Can anyone advise?
Your car A NCD is unused and after 1 year will lose % at the same rate every year that it acquired.

This post has been edited by Ginny88: Nov 23 2017, 09:48 PM
Ginny88
post Nov 23 2017, 09:47 PM

1,032 posts

QUOTE(lancer_ajai @ Nov 23 2017, 12:44 PM)
Bros. If i sold my car. Can i refund my remaining insurance and still keep my ncd? I havent decide to buy a new car yet
Yes, can refund. Your NCD will keep for 1 year and then start losing % every year that it is unused.

lancer_ajai
post Nov 24 2017, 02:05 PM

47 posts

Thnks bro

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0239sec    0.94    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 04:14 AM