8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Credit Cards Maybankard 2 Gold & Platinum Cards V9, Pls read post 1-3 & use Search Topic 1st

cybpsych
post Mar 12 2014, 01:43 PM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Mar 12 2014, 01:33 PM)
Well, my monthly spending are same as you. But I still get 2 cards.
But after I have 2 cards. The amount of money I give to my parents are lesser as I help paying their utilities bill and groceries.
yeah, for me, i wanted to pay my parent's utility bills too but my father prefer to get bill first before paying. We had many times tnb/syabas double-charged us becaue they didnt capture previous month's payment and automatically assume we didnt pay at all. Many times we've gone to the offices just to dispute the bills vmad.gif
cybpsych
post Mar 14 2014, 06:23 PM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(goliath @ Mar 14 2014, 05:28 PM)
cool smile.gif

i just LOL with the campaign name: “It’s Raining Money Campaign” doh.gif

Flyer: http://www.maybank2u.com.my/WebBank/RainMoney130314.pdf

T&C: http://www.maybank2u.com.my/WebBank/RainMoney130314-tnc.pdf

Promo page: http://www.maybank2u.com.my/mbb_info/m2u/p.../PRO-Promotions

This post has been edited by cybpsych: Mar 14 2014, 06:24 PM
cybpsych
post Mar 17 2014, 08:42 AM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(eternity4av @ Mar 17 2014, 08:33 AM)
yeah, I've used the automated fuel dispenser. Is it only applicable to only Petron or all other petrol stations as well? I wonder how long that the system will credit back the remaining unused balance from the RM200?
it doesnt actually charged to your card.

it just pre-allocate a certain amount from your card (cuz using card, it's use-first-pay-later). once transaction is completed, the RM200 will be released/canceled immediately and actual transacted amount will be charged instead.

yesterday i tried to preset a certain value prior authorizing card. sweat.gif i still gotten SMS notification of RM200, but actually charge is only the preset amount.

no worries, most of us aware of this. If this is some kind of scam/system loophole, banks & petrol operators already gotten more complaints liao thumbup.gif
cybpsych
post Mar 17 2014, 04:22 PM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(amazinggrace @ Mar 17 2014, 04:15 PM)
5% rebate for everything on weekend?
yup, anything and everything...

as long as transaction on weekends with AMEX = qualify for 5% cashback (capped at RM50).
cybpsych
post Mar 17 2014, 06:24 PM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(amazinggrace @ Mar 17 2014, 05:40 PM)
can use to pay loan for car, house, education etc?
as far as i know, you cant pay a loan with another type of loan. the "nearest" method is credit card balance transfer, but that's between credit cards only.

education loan, no idea if it's even possible. probably check the loan issuer if you can pay off edu loan by credit cards. it doesnt make sense doing this cuz at most you can delay the inevitable (i.e. repaying credit card) for a 1 bill cycle + 20 days of payment grace period.

even if you pay a minimum amount, you're effectively owing more than the amount you began with.

some reading:

The Consequences of NOT Making Full Payment on Your Credit Card Bills
http://www.imoney.my/articles/the-conseque...edit-card-bills

Credit card debt churning out bankrupt graduates
http://www.thestar.com.my/story.aspx/?file...1423&sec=nation

the moral of the story: dont spend on credit card when you cant pay it off in the end. credit card is to lessen the burden, not eliminating it completely.
cybpsych
post Mar 17 2014, 07:13 PM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(amazinggrace @ Mar 17 2014, 06:39 PM)
I deeply understand as I have credit card myself. just want to know about the term & condition of the AMEX 5% rebate.
there's nothing special with the amex rebate. the qualifier is lower and simpler than other credit cards smile.gif

using amex is more of "where's waldo" kinda scenario. Forumers here keeps hunting, testing, harassing (?) merchants whether they accept amex thumbup.gif

what card are you having now?
cybpsych
post Mar 17 2014, 09:26 PM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(raul88 @ Mar 17 2014, 09:04 PM)
i just register paypal using my amex
it straight away charge me USD1

is this something to be concern of?
QUOTE(ytan053 @ Mar 17 2014, 09:10 PM)
Should not be a concern. They will refund the USD1 in your paypal about a week + later. The charge is for verification purpose only. smile.gif
Mine refunded after 3 days. And I even gotten cashback for it cuz the usd1 charged during weekend brows.gif cb is based in the converted USD -> MYR. forgotten how much liao.
cybpsych
post Mar 18 2014, 08:25 AM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(eternity4av @ Mar 18 2014, 08:07 AM)
wow. I didn't even get to know this before. Guess there's much for me to learn here. Is it possible for me to reload my TnG card with AMEX? Is it better to do so? Because currently, I reloaded TnG via cash consistently for every month and my monthly spending for the card is lesser than .5k. Hmm
yes, you can reload TnG with AMEX. problem is to know where.

so far, only one Petronas station accepts Amex to reload TnG. Google Map: https://maps.google.com/?ll=3.050373,101.62...002642&t=h&z=19

I whacked RM400 into TnG earlier this month (will be expecting RM20 cashback for using Amex during weekend). Do note Petronas has 1% cash surcharge if you use any credit card to reload TnG. So, if you reload RM400, surcharge is RM4 only. you'll get back RM16 in effective cashback biggrin.gif

do follow-up this topic: https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1803385/+1720
cybpsych
post Mar 18 2014, 09:05 AM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(eternity4av @ Mar 18 2014, 08:56 AM)
thanks for the uber fast reply. guess it's not worth for me to travel that far just to reload TnG unless I'm somewhere nearby during weekends.

Besides that, does anyone know how does EPP works with our MBB AMEX card? Especially with Harvey Norman? Recently, I've purchased with 12 months installments, with 0% interest rate. I was wondering is there any extra charges from the bank or is the bank freezing the total amount that I've purchased until I've completed the whole payment for the installments? rclxub.gif
check this old topic, relevant though https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/671053/all

not sure if amex epp treatment is the same as visa/mastercard epp. some reading at Maybank http://www.maybank2u.com.my/mbb_info/m2u/p...sonal/CRD-Cards
cybpsych
post Mar 18 2014, 10:24 AM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(~Eveready~ @ Mar 18 2014, 10:21 AM)
If I remember correctly, the 5% cashback is based on Posting Date on weekends, NOT Transaction Date, right guys?
nope. for Amex, transaction date.
cybpsych
post Mar 19 2014, 11:23 AM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(herc @ Mar 19 2014, 11:09 AM)
Spend RM100 with Maybank Visa credit cards & win tickets to 2014WorldCup. SMS "WORLDCUP<space>NRIC" send to 66628. End 30/4.Info maybank.com.my T&C apply

But I wonder how many ppl here still using their Visa?
QUOTE(chongaik82 @ Mar 19 2014, 11:14 AM)
That why they encourage us to us  biggrin.gif
But i still use Visa, unfortunately not from MBB. Else can participate this contest.
every sinced discovered my love for Amex rebate, Visa is being orphaned in my wallet tongue.gif

my mbb2card is carrying Visa+Amex. still depend on Visa if merchants doesnt accept Amex. sweat.gif

i dont carry other cards, so Visa is trusty backup nonetheless thumbup.gif
cybpsych
post Mar 20 2014, 02:08 PM

---------------------
65,264 posts

just curious: if upgrade from mbb2card gold -> platinum, can you choose either Visa or Mastercard?
cybpsych
post Mar 20 2014, 06:09 PM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Mar 20 2014, 05:05 PM)
Redeemed GST with TP; already reflected the next day. Very efficient.
one of the easiest gst "waiver" biggrin.gif no begging needed. get my cashback, also got TPs to offset GST.

QUOTE(lamode @ Mar 20 2014, 05:13 PM)
can, make sure u triple mention to the officer.
ahh ok! smile.gif thanks!
cybpsych
post Mar 22 2014, 10:09 AM

---------------------
65,264 posts

Both my mbb2cards listed as usual. Just temporary issue kot.
cybpsych
post Mar 22 2014, 05:24 PM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(xIAoGhostZ @ Mar 22 2014, 04:24 PM)
now we cannot pay the MAXIS bill using AMEX on weekend already?

or is there any steps to follow in order to pay the bill using AMEX?
read post 264
cybpsych
post Mar 22 2014, 08:46 PM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(RO Player @ Mar 22 2014, 08:27 PM)
before due or after GST have been deducted & listed in your statement..
after GST list in statement. called up mbb to waive it using TPs. 1-2 days will be reflected in m2u.
cybpsych
post Mar 22 2014, 09:18 PM

---------------------
65,264 posts

Strange. Isn't the gst redemption suppose to be credited back to the relevant card to be offset?

For me, amex card was charged and "paid" immediately. Actual gst charged to visa. Called to redeem tp, it was credited back to visa as well. This effectively offset/zerorize the gst.
cybpsych
post Mar 23 2014, 04:54 PM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(edwardccg @ Mar 23 2014, 12:14 AM)
i also have enough TP to redeem once they charged. May i know in which day it will charge you the GST?
is it the card approved date? will the approve date written on statement?
I am lazy to check back last year GST charged date  tongue.gif

Just want to ensure the GST charged date is before my statement date so that i can redeem it before statement date
QUOTE(victorywp @ Mar 23 2014, 02:19 PM)
i can't remember the exact gst timing too. anyway, it's still not too late if you call to redeem once it's charged in your statement.
just checked all my cc statements. GST charged on 15 Feb, annually. Card's anniversary month is Feb too. Bill cycle is 21st. already forgotten when was my approval date sweat.gif i was using visa before upgraded to mbb2card.

interestingly, i couldnt find any GST charged for year 2013. checked statements from jan - dec 2013, couldnt find any GST charged. i wonder why it was not listed. prior to 2013, i can see GST charged without fail.
cybpsych
post Mar 23 2014, 05:19 PM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(iamWill @ Mar 23 2014, 05:07 PM)
so if our card expiry is 07/18, does it mean the gst will be charged in july?
most likely cuz GST is charged on annual basis.

mine probably coincidence that GST charge month = anniversary month. May need others' feedback to correlate smile.gif
cybpsych
post Mar 24 2014, 03:59 PM

---------------------
65,264 posts

now my account not showing AMEX TPs liao.

it was listed on Saturday when some forumers noticed this. Guess it's going across the whole user base.

8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0559sec    0.63    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 06:14 AM