v9.0 The OFFICIAL 3G/5G Honda City 2011 thread, The new City, where to next?
Thrust
Oct 7 2020, 01:55 PM
QUOTE(Speedstar1 @ Oct 7 2020, 01:11 PM) Yup am gonna do that. Any idea how much is the labor cost tho? I normally send to my regular 1 man show old man mechanic. he charges around RM20-30 per engine mount. I will let him install 2 mounts this Saturday as I've previously already replaced the Right Hand side mount.
Thrust
Oct 7 2020, 02:11 PM
QUOTE(Speedstar1 @ Oct 7 2020, 02:06 PM) Guess this is the market rate This is cheap I noticed this happen quite frequently these days, when I shift from P to R, there's alot of resistance. Sometimes even feels like the whole GB gets unstuck. Not sure if u guys get what I mean. Probably due to the engine mounts I guess cos I don't think there's any faults with the GB I suspect most likely is the gearbox mounting lor. Feels like when it changes gear, the whole gearbox rattles a bit.
Thrust
Oct 7 2020, 06:36 PM
QUOTE(cempedaklife @ Oct 7 2020, 03:16 PM) hahaha...both you got same symptom with me. guess gonna replace lor. was thinking wait till next year do together with oil change. You also encounter gearshift judder when changing gears during driving?
Thrust
Oct 8 2020, 03:58 PM
QUOTE(pikafaded @ Oct 8 2020, 03:06 PM) Hi guys, I'm wondering which tyres y'all are using? Cuz there seems to have not much tyre selection on 185/55R16 size. Currently I'm using CC6 but I think the grip is not great although it brings comfort to the ride. Is there any tyres which bring more grip but still won't sacrifice much in comfort/noise? I am using CC6 too and my next go to tyre will be UC6.
Thrust
Oct 8 2020, 05:11 PM
QUOTE(pikafaded @ Oct 8 2020, 05:09 PM) CC6 is really comfort but the grip is bad. I think sacrificing some of the comfort to get a better grip is fine, especially it rains almost everyday in my area. The UC6 is a step up from CC6 in terms of grip. Based on the chart, the UC6 wins in every aspect compared to CC6. You try toggle and compare the chart between these 2 tyres. https://www.tyrereviews.co.uk/Tyre/Continen...Contact-UC6.htmhttps://www.tyrereviews.co.uk/Tyre/Continen...Contact-CC6.htmThis post has been edited by Thrust: Oct 8 2020, 05:12 PM
Thrust
Oct 9 2020, 12:09 PM
An update from my earlier post on intermittent hard judder gear shifting.
I've sent my car to V Mag Motorsport to replace the transmission mount and chassis mount. Seems like the old mounting still is in good shape.. Nevertheless, I've requested them to swap them out since I've already bought the replacement parts.
In addition, I've requested a throttle body servicing (Must remove the entire unit to do a thorough cleaning) and ECU reset and relearn. After doing so, the car felt a lot smoother and so far, no more intermittent gear shift juddering.
I would recommend if your car idle or gearshift is behaving weird, try to do a throttle body clean up and reset the ECU. It work wonders.
Thrust
Oct 9 2020, 01:08 PM
QUOTE(90Boyz @ Oct 9 2020, 01:06 PM) Do they clean up the intake manifold as well ? Just use a cloth to wipe with hands as deep as possible. I don't think people normally cleans the intake manifold.
Thrust
Oct 10 2020, 08:54 AM
Anyone here did replace their flywheel oil seal before?
Mine is starting to leak a bit..
Seem like this is Honda's Achilles heel.. Although my mileage is low, minor leaks still occur.
Thrust
Oct 10 2020, 11:37 AM
QUOTE(90Boyz @ Oct 10 2020, 10:08 AM) not sure where it leaks but mine certain on head gasket, or valve gasket as can see pools of engine oil on top on transmission case. If there's a pool onto of the transmission, then it is valve cover gasket leak.
Thrust
Oct 10 2020, 01:35 PM
QUOTE(Speedstar1 @ Oct 10 2020, 01:30 PM) Yes I did mine already cos it was leaking badly Some update on the mountings. I changed mine all 3 at vmag this morning. Not so good lah those cheap mountings. Feels like harder than stock mountings. Can feel more vibration at idle. Like using racing mountings Where did you get your flywheel oil seal done? Sometimes, the vibration can be cause by dirty throttle body also.. You didn't ask them to clean the TB since you're there? I was there yesterday and requested them to clean my TB and replaced 2 mounting pieces. Now my car is as smooth as silk.
Thrust
Oct 10 2020, 02:04 PM
QUOTE(Speedstar1 @ Oct 10 2020, 01:48 PM) Got mine done at VMag too some time back. They already cleaned the TB few months back so don't think that could be the case.. Suspect those michiko mounts to be the culprit but it's not serious, just a bit more vibration than stock. Cheaper by half compared to ori so can't complain lol How long they took to replace those oil seals?
Thrust
Oct 10 2020, 02:22 PM
QUOTE(Speedstar1 @ Oct 10 2020, 02:18 PM) Flywheel oil seal takes a long time cos they need to remove the gbox. Might take whole day If not serious leak just ignore first till you have more things to fix at one go. Labour quite costly due to the amount of work needed Currently only spotted minor leak so won't do it now. Just survey first in the event I might need to replace it in the future.
Thrust
Oct 11 2020, 08:53 AM
QUOTE(kumhoo @ Oct 10 2020, 10:05 PM)  Is the price okay? Just change KYB one... Expensive? Reasonable? Or cheap? Overall ok.. albeit the rear absorber normally cost below RM150 since it's a KYB. But if the workshop charges below RM200 for it, still acceptable in my opinion.
Thrust
Oct 15 2020, 03:19 PM
QUOTE(90Boyz @ Oct 15 2020, 01:04 PM) Just ordered a pair of TRW Stabilizing Link as these few days there's rattling noise when drive through uneven surface and later only found out both rubber boot on the link was broke and the grease to lubricant the joints was leak. Hoping the goods will arrive by tomorrow so can bring it to workshop and replace it . How much do these TRW links cost? I heard the brand '555' is good too as they are made in Japan. Last time I bought original stabilizer links from Hingan, RM75 a piece.
Thrust
Oct 16 2020, 09:41 PM
Not bad.. nice packaging.
Thrust
Oct 17 2020, 03:20 PM
QUOTE(90Boyz @ Oct 17 2020, 12:03 PM)  Old 555 stabilizer link Is the old 555 stabilizer link connecting point loose already? Can you spin the link's rubber boot? BTW, do you guys have any good mechanic to recommend for normal oil change maintenance? My mechanic met with an accident and he won't be working for a few months.
Thrust
Oct 17 2020, 03:33 PM
QUOTE(90Boyz @ Oct 17 2020, 03:25 PM) The rubber boot can spin freely and the ball joint inside the link filled with sands Like that means KO already.. Do you feel any difference after replacing it?
Thrust
Oct 22 2020, 07:22 AM
QUOTE(evangelion @ Oct 21 2020, 11:26 PM) Any shopee/lazada for genuine Honda oils & parts.... Appreciated any situ advise  If you really want genuine oil, it's best to buy from Honda stockist. If you are ok with other brands of oil, I suggest you to try Paulhew at Shoppee. I get my Petronas Syntium there.
Thrust
Oct 22 2020, 11:06 AM
QUOTE(90Boyz @ Oct 22 2020, 09:24 AM) so far the oil from paulhew got any issue ? So far ok.. From the Shopee feedback, 99% rated them good with many returning customers.
Thrust
Oct 23 2020, 07:56 PM
I've only been refueling BHP RON95 throughout these 10 years of owning the car. Never once switched fuel brand before. Why? Because BHP has 800 ppm of fuel additives ma.. Double the industry standard This post has been edited by Thrust: Oct 23 2020, 07:57 PM