BirdieS~, Parrots, Budgies, Canaries, Lovebirds...
Juztiny
Jun 15 2008, 11:09 PM
QUOTE(nautilus @ Jun 15 2008, 10:26 PM) y dont u add some vitamins or calcium to their food...blue rumped parrot is a local parrot is it? Yup...blue rumped parrot is a local parrot. What sort of vitamins? Where can I get it? Now I give them pellets and other types of seeds. Only very little bit of sunflower seeds. They don't eat much yesterday, but today started to eat whatever is provided. This post has been edited by Juztiny: Jun 15 2008, 11:11 PM Attached thumbnail(s)
Juztiny
Jun 16 2008, 10:22 AM
QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Jun 15 2008, 11:37 PM) Not good condition? Wasted loh. Are they tame? I think you have to lace the drinking water with vitamin supplements. Sera carries vitamins for birds. It's hard to change a bird from seed eating to fresh food eating. My tiels were on a main diet of kuaci at the petshop. It took them some time to get used to a complete seed diet for cockatiels with pellets. Now.... at least they are not in poor condition. How's your baby tiel? What did they eat today? My baby tiel is doing great! Very good appetite, very easy to handfeed as compared to my previous lovebird chicks. How is yours? Right now I put birds vitamin supplements into the drinks. I'm feeding them millets, canary seeds and pellets. Also put some sprout beans, bread and veg on another small bowl. But none of them wanted to try the fresh food in the small bowl. I dared not totally remove the seeds food, afraid they will stave to death. Added on June 16, 2008, 10:35 amQUOTE(24hrs @ Jun 16 2008, 06:27 AM) How much is this local parrot? Can it talk? Blue Rumped Parrot cannot talk, only can whistle. Price range around RM50-60 each. This post has been edited by Juztiny: Jun 16 2008, 10:35 AM
Juztiny
Jun 16 2008, 07:34 PM
QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Jun 16 2008, 06:01 PM) Mine can stand upright already. Crazy little fella, eat every 3 hours now. I'm so scared that it would dehydrate, then online websites kept advising to use Pedialyte but we don't have so I'm using Gatorade. I bend a metal spoon to feed. Was thinking of syringe but then when it ate nicely with the spoon, then no need lah hahaha. Later 7pm another feeding. A bit mah fan coz have to make sure the food is not too thick and not too watery, then it has to be about 40C. Anyway, my mom adores the baby. I think you try leaving sprouted beans in with a bit of millet and seeds. Maybe it would encourage them to try. My bro uses soya beans, mung beans and another kinda of bean. We only feed 2-3 times a day. It can really eat until very full, then it would cry of hunger after 6 hours. We just feed Heinz baby food and dog food. Mixed them until the texture like porridge. Usually feed 2 spoons food and then 1 spoon water. I tried using Heinz babyfood and nestum, the chick will be hungry after 2 hours. Very tiring to feed every 2-3 hours, whereas feeding dog food can last till 4-6 hours, much easier.
Juztiny
Jun 17 2008, 01:09 PM
QUOTE(nautilus @ Jun 15 2008, 11:23 PM) u said u know some one who breeds gouldian? Ya..he lived in Kepong. He keeps other finches as well ie. zebra, strawberry etc. 2 weeks ago he had some Gouldian finches for sale, below is the pricing:- Normal- rm75 per bird, 140 a pair. Dilute- rm 90. Yellow body rm100 per bird, rm190 per pair. This post has been edited by Juztiny: Jun 17 2008, 01:13 PM
Juztiny
Jun 17 2008, 09:42 PM
QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Jun 17 2008, 09:19 PM) Oh, I have to feed every 3 hours.... digest so fast. I make the mixture as thick as KFC gravy only. I scared cannot digest properly LOL. I feed Heinz powdered mixed cereal with powdered dogfood..... I pun in blender lah. Each morning I add half a teaspoon of applesauce into the mix. Dunno is this good enough or not but it will have an empty crop after 3 hours. I add a small pinch of calcium powder and vionate vitamin powder every 2 days.  I think I over worry too much. Weigh it everyday also hahahah. What sort of calcium powder you used? Your tiel must be very healthy from the way you feed it. I didn't blend the food using any blender, just soaked and stir with spoon only, the texture still there, and very tick and sticky. That is why I feed another spoon of water every 2 spoon to wash down it's throat.
Juztiny
Jun 29 2008, 10:15 PM
QUOTE(nautilus @ Jun 28 2008, 10:59 PM) my new baby...hasnt named yet..its a sun conure...still very young..n very playful n noisy..lol..just wht i need! [attachmentid=512589][attachmentid=512592] Congrats on your new pet! You bought from Azrul? I like Sun Conure colour, bright and colourful. Added on June 29, 2008, 10:18 pmQUOTE(ospe03 @ Jun 29 2008, 04:09 PM)  a day old chick... more to come this week... so excited Congrats! Budgie chick? English? Today I also acquired another young chick Cockatiel. This time the chick has more yellow feather coming, not sure what mutation type yet, but definitely not Lutino. This post has been edited by Juztiny: Jun 29 2008, 10:18 PM
Juztiny
Jun 30 2008, 12:18 AM
[quote=nautilus,Jun 29 2008, 10:57 PM] [quote=Juztiny,Jun 29 2008, 10:15 PM] Congrats on your new pet! You bought from Azrul? I like Sun Conure colour, bright and colourful. nope..i wanted to but...i got it from a pet store in kl...hows ur tiel man? [/quote] My tiels are doing great! Growing strong, even heavier than my grown up tiel.  Here are their pictures. The younger one just brought back today. This post has been edited by Juztiny: Jun 30 2008, 03:03 PM Attached thumbnail(s)
Juztiny
Jun 30 2008, 08:27 PM
QUOTE(nautilus @ Jun 30 2008, 07:23 PM) nice birds man..i had a tiel once few years back..very playfull guy..but not loud like my conure Actually I wonder can a Conure talk and whistle/sing? Today I first time heard my male Blue Rumped Parrot sing/whistling nice melodic sound quite long. I thought it was a wild bird that came around my house compound and sing. Searching for that sound, then spotted him singing. Didn't expect this Parrot to sing, because all this while he is very quiet and timid in personality. I started to dislike lovebirds, they are nice to see but very very very noisy and super naughty...always bully other birds. I only have 1 lovebird, and it is always noisy. Today my Canary also started to sing long tune non-stop. It has been quite a while (2 months) he didn't sing. http://img532.imageshack.us/my.php?image=dscf2044iq0.flvThis post has been edited by Juztiny: Jun 30 2008, 09:58 PM
Juztiny
Jul 2 2008, 12:05 AM
QUOTE(24hrs @ Jul 1 2008, 08:14 PM) Is a blue rumped. My blue rumped allows me to touch him now.  Good! You had gained his trust... Now my Blue Rumped Parrots also calmed down, will not easily panic when we tried to change water or put in the food. Does it start to sing long melodic tune like mine? This post has been edited by Juztiny: Jul 2 2008, 12:06 AM
Juztiny
Jul 2 2008, 08:25 AM
Very sad...today my favourite Magpies both died one day after another. Some kind of contagious diseases.
Sigh....now I'm worrying for the rest of my birds.
Juztiny
Jul 2 2008, 03:55 PM
QUOTE(nautilus @ Jul 2 2008, 02:15 PM) juztiny...sorry to hear bout your magpie.. i think u should save ur other birds...keep them away from the place of your magpie..n dont used all the equipments u sed for the magpie with other birds...including the cage n food dish... Ya...I dared not buy any new birds for now. I cleaned the cages and leave the cages under the sun for 6 hours, hopefully the sun will kill the bacteria or viruses. And I will not use them for the next 2 months. Come to think of it..I have 4 birds died within 2 months, not very good sign..the virus might have already infested on other birds, it is depend on the birds' immunity condition to fight back. Actually 2 weeks ago one of the Magpie was already shown sign of illness, and I had already given him medication, after 1 week he shown sign of recovering..and started to have appetite to eat and sing. Then last few days..again he suddenly unwell again and died, and another Magpie which alway seems to be healthy and lively suddenly yesterday show sign of unwell in the evening. And this morning found it was dead.
Juztiny
Jul 5 2008, 10:15 PM
QUOTE(mann_kl @ Jul 5 2008, 10:00 PM) hi juz, i'm so sorry for your lost. 3 magpie and 1 shama right? where did u normally hang them? the same place that u hang your late shama? Today one of the Blue Rump Parrot also died... This July alone died 3 birds. Last month died 1 Cocktaiel and 1 Sharma. Flew away 3 Budgies and 1 mata puteh...great loss....  $$ gone to drain. I just learned from the bird forum, it could be due to last Friday evening DBKL jeep came and sprayed the dengue mosquitos repellent gas around my neighbourhood. I saw that jeep passed by my house front and spray while passing through. It could be due to this reason my Magpies and Blue Rump Parrot died, as they all are located at the car porch area. This post has been edited by Juztiny: Jul 5 2008, 10:31 PM
Juztiny
Jul 5 2008, 10:51 PM
QUOTE(mann_kl @ Jul 5 2008, 10:33 PM) it could be.... after they spray, did u bath all of your birds and wash all cages? nextime if let say the DBKL spraying the dengue mosquitos repellent , u have to keep all your birds indoor. They came without notice, happened to be I was at home that day spotted the jeep passed by, otherwise I would not have known the reason at all. But I never thought it could impact that much, as the jeep just past through and spray straight, my bird cages was located 25ft away from where the jeep passed by.
Juztiny
Jul 6 2008, 01:33 AM
QUOTE(mann_kl @ Jul 6 2008, 01:06 AM) next time u have to inform your servant in case you are not at home. another fact, it could be your neighbour, just maybe  . coz i saw your magpie video, and i notice you place your bird close to your neighbour. that's why i'm asking did u place your magpie at the same place you place you late shama? well, past is past. we learn from our mistakes. i did mistakes too, and i lost 6 birds so far........ 2 magpie, 1 shama, 1 jambul, 1 wild red dove and 1 baby merbah kapur  . Yes..my late Sharma and Magpies placed at the same place during day time. You meant it could be my neighbour spray sheltox that caused their death? Hmm.....never thought of that...but very unlikely though. The blue rump parrot was place even inner near to my door, also died. Well...I gut feel is the DBKL sprayed 2-3 times within last 2 months. Because I remembered before last week, I did smell of those gas when I drove pass my neighbour hood (several lorong away). It must be somebody had dengue fever around my neighbourhood, so the DBKL team came several times.
Juztiny
Jul 6 2008, 05:14 PM
QUOTE(michael2wk @ Jul 6 2008, 03:47 PM) juztiny, sorry to hear bout ur losses. cheer up ok. my baby lovebird can eat on its own dy. now the parent is making love everyday la. pening. Haha..now I have decided to sell off my one and only tamed love bird away. So noisy and so naugthy, keep bullying all the birds. Luckily my male Blue Rumped Parrot which sings a lot still survived.
Juztiny
Jul 8 2008, 11:19 PM
QUOTE(24hrs @ Jul 8 2008, 04:59 PM) My blue rumped has been singing today. Congratulations! He finally settle down at your place. Sad..today again found my Pearl Cockatiel chick died..already growing up quite big and feather all nicely grown, don't know why suddenly dead. Ggrrrhhhh.....what is going on???? This chick(as shown below) is placed inside the house all the time together with the small little chick...cannot be due to the same forging case. So heartache... Attached thumbnail(s)
Juztiny
Jul 9 2008, 11:15 AM
QUOTE(mann_kl @ Jul 9 2008, 01:01 AM) i'm so sad to hear that your birds dying every day  . it doesn't make any sense. i think u should give away your birds temporary.  Ya...I must stop buying birds, looks like I'm not suitable in keeping birds. I tried to figure out how this cockatiel chick died, 2 days ago I hold it on my finger and it tried to fly and fell down onto the floor (because it is really very heavy, as heavy as my adult cockatiel), could be this fall injure it internally?
Juztiny
Jul 20 2008, 05:40 PM
QUOTE(24hrs @ Jul 14 2008, 03:57 PM) Nice blue crown on your new Blue Rump parrot. So how's your young parrot react to the new one?
Juztiny
Jul 23 2008, 12:19 PM
QUOTE(sammy1 @ Jul 23 2008, 11:13 AM) hi...sammy here...you got really nice birds....whr do you guy yr birds?Im looking for a baby cockatiel..you know any1 who breeds them?Btw,how much did u buy the serindit for?is serindit a very friendly bird?can it be tame? Hope to hear from you soon...  If you want a baby cockatiel, call David at this # zero one six nine eight two nine six three eight. He just called me yesterday that he has one baby that need hand-feeding. Perhaps it is still available.
Juztiny
Jul 29 2008, 01:47 PM
QUOTE(michael2wk @ Jul 29 2008, 12:23 PM) nice sun conure bro.  Added on July 29, 2008, 12:25 pmHi all, sorry been really busy for the past month. any update lately? my lovebird lay another 5 more eggs  donno how many fertile this times. cheers! If you want to sell your lovebird chicks, do let me know. I have a customer ready for you. Last 2 days I bought another young male Magpie, start singing...yesterday the DBKL came fogging again...luckily this time all my birds are kept inside my house these days...damn....already 4 times the DBKL fogging my housing area.... Right now I am staying in the intermediate house, and my house is in the middle, so the fogging truck round our housing access roads, my birds are safe as they are located in the kitchen area, so won't impact much on them.