10 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Bottom

BirdieS~, Parrots, Budgies, Canaries, Lovebirds...

Juztiny
post May 22 2008, 09:12 PM

1,276 posts

QUOTE(michael2wk @ May 22 2008, 07:42 PM)
cuteness la.
this hello from breeder or petshop btw?
rclxms.gif
This Hello is from breeder, the tamed one.

The Lutino is from petshop, that one I called "Morning" still cannot socialise with people yet.

cry.gif Just now my Mata Puteh escaped and flew away, again its my maid's carelessness! Luckily only cost RM20. If it is my Pekin Robin, I will sure deduct her salary.

This post has been edited by Juztiny: May 22 2008, 09:16 PM
Juztiny
post May 22 2008, 09:55 PM

1,276 posts

QUOTE(mann_kl @ May 22 2008, 09:38 PM)
today i just bought a Shan Wu and i'm keeping it in the hand made cage (used to keep my shama).
Nice bird! Does it sing? I went to many bird shops saw a few, but none of them made any sound, so didn't buy. But saw one of the bird forum video clip of this bird, it makes a lot of funny sound.

Wah, your mata puteh so expensive ah?? Can sing very well one, is it? I bought my Mata Puteh from Penang Toby.
Juztiny
post May 22 2008, 10:42 PM

1,276 posts

QUOTE(mann_kl @ May 22 2008, 10:04 PM)
i fell in love with this Shan Wu a month ago, it will mades many different sound when each time i go to that shop. and it quite tamed. so i can't TAHAN today i bought it, due to all my shamas been taken by Perhilitan  cry.gif .

my mata puteh really sing loud but ........ taken by Perhilitan too  cry.gif .

and now i'm looking for white crested laughing thrush.
Which bird shop you bought your San Wu? And how much?
Juztiny
post May 24 2008, 07:28 PM

1,276 posts

QUOTE(michael2wk @ May 24 2008, 06:28 PM)
well ppls

here is a newly born lovebirds.
damn small la, compare witg my thumb  shocking.gif
hope it will be healthy!

cheers!!!
Wow..congrats! Hope your lovebird chicks can survive, will the mother knows how to feed the chicks? If not, you will have a very tough time in hand feeding such a tiny chick. Must use syringe, and the food must be very fine only can be push through.
Juztiny
post May 25 2008, 09:41 AM

1,276 posts

QUOTE(z3alousn3ss @ May 25 2008, 09:15 AM)
anyone have a guide on bird taming? i thought of trying to tame a bird such that i can take it outside and let it fly around, but will come back to me when i call it.
I only know how to tame a Cockatiel. May be the method is more or less the same.

Not sure how young is your bird, the younger it is, the easier to train. I spent the first few days just sitting next to the cage. I took it out for the first time. I used a towel wrap around it, so it won't struggle and fly away. I pet on its head for about 3-5 minutes. And then put it back into its cage. You need to stick with this towel training until it come to realize you mean no harm to it.

It takes time to tame it down, but in order to tame a bird till it will come back to you, unless the bird was raised from a chick. The trust needs to be built over time.

The next stage is to finger training by teaching your bird to perch on a stick or your finger. Gently nudge your finger to the portion of the legs. Repeat this routine until the bird instinctively steps onto your finger.

As with teaching anything, repetition is the key.

This post has been edited by Juztiny: May 25 2008, 09:46 AM
Juztiny
post May 25 2008, 08:25 PM

1,276 posts

QUOTE(erwhey @ May 25 2008, 07:26 PM)
congrats on the eggies!

heres my big fabercastle parrot  wink.gif

they are not tame at all..the moment u go near , they will peck the cage  doh.gif
What a beautiful bird you have! How many you have? Keep in outdoor aviary?
Juztiny
post May 26 2008, 01:05 PM

1,276 posts

QUOTE(beyond @ May 26 2008, 10:43 AM)
Anyone keeping a Canary or two?
I have a white canary. Used to sing quite a lot, ever since I bought other songbirds like Magpie and Pekin Robin, now my Canary refused to sing. sad.gif
Juztiny
post May 26 2008, 02:55 PM

1,276 posts

QUOTE(ospe03 @ May 25 2008, 08:49 PM)

only seven eggs hatched the oldest is 4 days in the pic... while the youngest is two hours ago
Actually I feel geri by looking at these chicks (when they are very young without much feather).

My handfeed lovebirds had grown up quite a fair bit. See picture below. Now I put them into a bigger cage during day time, so that they could stretch and flap their wings and learn to stand on the stick.

Juztiny
post May 26 2008, 06:00 PM

1,276 posts

QUOTE(muchan86 @ May 26 2008, 05:46 PM)
so cute  laugh.gif
refuse to sing cuz now got 2 more bird who always compete wan to sing..
and ur canary just like princess/prince.. dun wan ppl to take the place..  laugh.gif
I think he feels inferior as compared to those Magpies. Sigh....

Birds also can get jealous too, if I put my 2 cockatiels on my shoulder, the tamed one (normal grey) will try to push the new bird (Lutino) off my shoulder. Very funny... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Juztiny: May 26 2008, 06:03 PM
Juztiny
post May 30 2008, 08:47 PM

1,276 posts

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ May 30 2008, 10:53 AM)
I think the parent birds do not know how to feed. Coz I give them seeds and pellets as they do not want to eat fresh foods. When I checked the baby tiel, it's crop and stomach was super hard, can see all the seeds! Then it pooped for the 1st time and seeds came out. I think that could be the problem, do you guys think so?

Anyway, I think they make lousy parents.... good egg sitters but they never got the hang of caring for their chicks properly. I bred them before, before this one, already twice but that was 5 years ago and all the chicks died. Sigh, I hope the mother bird learns. Right now I gotta search for handfeeding formula if there is any in the market.
Here is the website where it teaches how to handfeed 1 day old chicks. http://www.lovebirdsplus.com/day1babies.html

Added on May 30, 2008, 8:53 pm
QUOTE(beyond @ May 27 2008, 08:29 PM)
Hmm. It could be feeling 'pressed' by the Magpie singing, But Pekin  Robin should be ok ga..But hang on...U guys can still find Peking Robin? I thought ban from exporting in china? I remember 10 years back I bought Peking Robin for RM 10 only. THen they chau until RM 250 after the band.
RM150 would expensive if it is not tamed. If untamed it should be around RM 60-80 depending on the length of the tail too. I had one..Until it got curi-ed along with my other prized magpies.
The price you mentioned on Sharma around RM60-80 was how long ago? 10 years ago too? If you can get this kinda price currently, do let me know too.

I just came back from a jungle retreat trip for 4 days in Melaka Bukit Hantu. Saw many birds inside that jungle, quite a few Sharma, Magpies, Serindit, Bayan etc. Very nice experience.

This post has been edited by Juztiny: May 30 2008, 08:53 PM
Juztiny
post May 30 2008, 11:57 PM

1,276 posts

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ May 30 2008, 11:37 PM)
Thanks for the link Juztiny. I already read a few websites on handfeeding chicks from day 1, but they always say only do handfeeding if the female rejected the chick. Since the chick would get good bacteria and enzymes from the mom, I thought no need to handfeed so fast, was thinking of handfeeding when it reaches 2 weeks old.... but... sigh... too late. Today I already gotten ready with everything for day old chick, now just waiting for the next egg to hatch.
Wishing you better luck this time. Since your tiels don't know how to feed the chicks, you better take over and handfeed it, otherwise sayang lor...waited for 5 years already!

Added on June 2, 2008, 11:00 pmVery sad...don't know what to do...my Lutino Cockatiel is dying...I really have no clue why it suddenly collapsed, I checked it no injury, but it just weaken suddenly and seem very difficult to breath. Now is 10.30pm, serdang vet is close. I couldn't do much except just watch him helplessly.

This post has been edited by Juztiny: Jun 2 2008, 11:00 PM
Juztiny
post Jun 5 2008, 12:20 AM

1,276 posts

My Lutino Cockatiel died soon after I posted on the last thread. cry.gif

Yesterday I went to Macau Trading and complained to the boss, that the Lutino I bought from there only 3 weeks already died. And then I bought a Merbah Jambul back. Here is its picture. Can sing a few short note.

Juztiny
post Jun 5 2008, 01:32 PM

1,276 posts

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Jun 5 2008, 11:06 AM)
Sorry for your lost. Just 3 weeks then die, that is fast. For me, I also got loses as my female rejected her last egg.... so now I just gotta wait for the next breeding season.
How long is the Cockatiel breeding season occur, once a year? or twice a year?

That day I saw someone wanted to sell a pair of healthy adult Lutino Cockatiel for RM380. I regretted I didn't buy, because thought that I already had my Lutino, didn't expect it to die so fast. Now have to wait for the next opportunity.

Added on June 6, 2008, 10:55 amAnyone here keep Blue Rumped Parrot (Tanau/Puling)? Someone wants to exchange with me 3 birds of Blue Rumped Parrot with a pair of lovebird.

I heard Blue Rumped Parrots sound not so noisy as compared to Lovebirds. In fact sound like singing. So quite tempted., but their colours not very colourful. Any other opinion?

This post has been edited by Juztiny: Jun 6 2008, 10:55 AM
Juztiny
post Jun 7 2008, 09:55 PM

1,276 posts

QUOTE(faizpsp89 @ Jun 7 2008, 08:47 PM)
How much is a cockatiel?
Tamed one from RM150 - RM250.

Untamed one from RM110 - RM150.
Juztiny
post Jun 8 2008, 04:00 PM

1,276 posts

QUOTE(4Rings @ Jun 8 2008, 10:03 AM)
Where to get at $110? Most places are selling $180.
Macau Pet Trading in Bandar Tasik Selatan. It stated RM120, but can nego down to RM110.
Juztiny
post Jun 9 2008, 11:03 PM

1,276 posts

QUOTE(silverwineus @ Jun 9 2008, 10:39 PM)
After 2 days of observation, the pigeon's condition has improved..I'm glad that i now have a pet burung merpati smile.gif
thumbup.gif Good to hear that. You know what to feed it, right?
Juztiny
post Jun 10 2008, 07:18 PM

1,276 posts

QUOTE(4Rings @ Jun 10 2008, 04:51 PM)
Thanks for info. Is it the shops that you turn in at Shell Station?
Yes, that's right! Over there also have tamed one for sale, but the boss not willing to sell anything lower than RM250 each.

I'm getting 2 more cockatiel chicks to babysit and handfeed soon, this time the chicks are pied and pearl. I'm actually very interested in Lutino, but very hard to find Lutino chicks to handfeed. Since the breeder I know has pied and pearl chicks, I just sapu first, then will see how they turned out, if the colour is ok to my likings then I will keep, if not then will probably try to exchange with others on Lutino or sell.

This post has been edited by Juztiny: Jun 11 2008, 09:23 AM
Juztiny
post Jun 11 2008, 10:45 PM

1,276 posts

QUOTE(michael2wk @ Jun 11 2008, 03:48 PM)
adding more birds eh juztiny?
good luck lo.
my lovebirds only 1 hatched this round.
Hehe..since my cage still have sufficient space for 3-5 birds. No harm adding more since got cockatiel chicks offer. So..wanna sell your lovebird chick to me? I can hanfeed all in one go just same effort anyway.

Now I only left one lovebird at home. I want different colour from my existing collection, that is why I swap a pair of my lovebirds for 3 Tanau (Blue Rumped Parrot).
Juztiny
post Jun 11 2008, 11:26 PM

1,276 posts

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Jun 11 2008, 10:55 PM)
Wah... more tiels. Got anymore to offer? I malas to see my pair.... now my female molting.
I sapu all this batch. You can call up David and ask him whether he has any more coming to hatch or not. I heard he supplied his tiels to Pets Wonderland.

Juztiny
post Jun 15 2008, 06:56 PM

1,276 posts

QUOTE(nautilus @ Jun 15 2008, 04:33 PM)
My gouldian pair...has anybody bred this guys before..im a purist...lol...so very concern with the blood line..bred zebra finches and waxbill before...[attachmentid=498535][attachmentid=498537][attachmentid=498540][attachmentid=498542]
Nice bird. I like this gouldian finch colours very much. I know someone who bred this gouldian finches, one day I may keep finches like gouldian and Java sparrow too. But not now...hehe...

I had exchanged a pair of my lovebird for 3 Blue Rumped Parrots, but the birds are not in tip-top condition. Took them back home only realised that their beaks are not really healthy. Quite regretted that I had exchanged my lovebirds with that guy. I was told these parrots were very picky on the food (only eat sunflower seed), that is why they are mulnutrition and caused the beaks look flacky.

I will try to see how I could improve their diet, but may be very hard to change.

This post has been edited by Juztiny: Jun 15 2008, 07:17 PM

10 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0352sec    0.27    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 02:06 AM