Folding Bicycles v3, Foldies come in!

desastar
post Sep 19 2014, 01:04 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(cucubud @ Sep 18 2014, 01:12 PM)
Thank you christ_0205.
I am also a begineer. Don't know how to differentiate the expensive bikes with the cheaper ones.
Sometimes more expensive doesn't mean they have no problem.
If both brands also no problem, why pay more?

I am trying to get feedback from owners of both brands before I make my decision.

Thank you all for your feedbacks. thumbup.gif  notworthy.gif
Bikes are just dumb machines. In all instances, there are no problems, sometimes just minor adjustments required. Difference between cheap and expensive is that faults that can be adjusted out or tuned out in the more expensive bikes cannot be done on a cheaper bike. I'm talking bad design, cheaper rust prone parts and parts that can't be upgraded.
cucubud
post Sep 19 2014, 01:12 PM

Super Moderator
3,076 posts

QUOTE(desastar @ Sep 19 2014, 01:04 PM)
Bikes are just dumb machines. In all instances, there are no problems, sometimes just minor adjustments required.  Difference between cheap and expensive is that faults that can be adjusted out or tuned out in the more expensive bikes cannot be done on a cheaper bike.  I'm talking bad design, cheaper rust prone parts and parts that can't be upgraded.
This is true if you compare a RM4000 bike and a RM400 bike.
But now I am comparing a RM1700 bike and a RM1200 bike.
Not much difference in price.
Zelmel
post Sep 19 2014, 02:32 PM

495 posts

QUOTE(cucubud @ Sep 19 2014, 01:12 PM)
This is true if you compare a RM4000 bike and a RM400 bike.
But now I am comparing a RM1700 bike and a RM1200 bike.
Not much difference in price.
Hi cucubud. Just my humble opinion.
Between those two, really u need to try for yourself. If me i go for cheaper XDS, because i really cant feel the difference. BTW i am just using a RM500 7 speed bike.
Minor difference u might find out is
1. how nice they fold? do you like the way they fold.
2. how heavy they are? dun forget adding fender, carrier this and that actually make the bike heavier. otherwise if both naked they are same weight. I got a friend bought a RM750 foldie keep complaining why her bike heavier than my <RM500 bike, and feel unsastified but actually heavier because of disc break la, fender la, carrier la, so you need to think whether u are this kind of person or not.
3. how u like the seat to raise or lower? whether the seat post can raise high enough if you are actually tall guy. Is it hard to raise or lower?
4. how u like the handle post to raise and lower.
5. free gift that the boss give.
Ya i think those are the thing that might differ your mind to choose which one. otherwise just go for cheaper one. Even cheaper TRINX (<RM1000) can also nicer to ride sometime, it all down to your head, butt and hand. (dompet also)
wke002
post Sep 19 2014, 02:56 PM

116 posts

my priority when I bought for my kids a month ago.

1. Budget (mine was MYR1,200)
2. Most important, must have more gears (14 above)

I end up getting an XDS but its only 7-8 speed since kids love the feel and sadly cheap bike no chance to do testing. When back I tested and found the ligthest gear is THE only gear that one need to use (as good as no gear at all), so I got it exchange with a Trinx KA-2016 instead and all love it.

cucubud
post Sep 19 2014, 03:35 PM

Super Moderator
3,076 posts

QUOTE(Zelmel @ Sep 19 2014, 02:32 PM)
Hi cucubud. Just my humble opinion.
Between those two, really u need to try for yourself. If me i go for cheaper XDS, because i really cant feel the difference. BTW i am just using a RM500 7 speed bike.
Minor difference u might find out is
1. how nice they fold? do you like the way they fold.
2. how heavy they are? dun forget adding fender, carrier this and that actually make the bike heavier. otherwise if both naked they are same weight. I got a friend bought a RM750 foldie keep complaining why her bike heavier than my <RM500 bike, and feel unsastified but actually heavier because of disc break la, fender la, carrier la, so you need to think whether u are this kind of person or not.
3. how u like the seat to raise or lower? whether the seat post can raise high enough if you are actually tall guy. Is it hard to raise or lower?
4. how u like the handle post to raise and lower.
5. free gift that the boss give.
Ya i think those are the thing that might differ your mind to choose which one. otherwise just go for cheaper one. Even cheaper TRINX (<RM1000) can also nicer to ride sometime, it all down to your head, butt and hand. (dompet also)
Thank you Zelmel for your valuable input.
Points taken.

This post has been edited by cucubud: Sep 19 2014, 03:36 PM
cucubud
post Sep 19 2014, 03:37 PM

Super Moderator
3,076 posts

QUOTE(wke002 @ Sep 19 2014, 02:56 PM)
my priority when I bought for my kids a month ago.

1. Budget (mine was MYR1,200)
2. Most important, must have more gears (14 above)

I end up getting an XDS but its only 7-8 speed since kids love the feel and sadly cheap bike no chance to do testing. When back I tested and found the ligthest gear is THE only gear that one need to use (as good as no gear at all), so I got it exchange with a Trinx KA-2016 instead and all love it.
Thanks wke002.
where did you buy your Trinx?
andrewhtf
post Sep 19 2014, 04:34 PM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(christ_0205 @ Sep 19 2014, 10:24 AM)
I am in the same category but I learn that changing gears and knowing when to and how to is important tip
nah, i am already in my lowest gear climbing up sempah and i still cant make it. it all falls back to stamina and leg power lah... need more training
christ_0205
post Sep 19 2014, 04:48 PM

328 posts

QUOTE(andrewhtf @ Sep 19 2014, 04:34 PM)
nah, i am already in my lowest gear climbing up sempah and i still cant make it. it all falls back to stamina and leg power lah... need more training
ok then andrewhtf once my back is better we can go for some training

rclxms.gif
andrewhtf
post Sep 19 2014, 04:56 PM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(christ_0205 @ Sep 19 2014, 04:48 PM)
ok then andrewhtf once my back is better we can go for some training

rclxms.gif
sounds good. my wife been nagging me to exercise more, she wanted me to conquer sempah, lol.
basilisk
post Sep 19 2014, 05:13 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(andrewhtf @ Sep 19 2014, 04:56 PM)
sounds good. my wife been nagging me to exercise more, she wanted me to conquer sempah, lol.
hi bro, i've never been to gsempah.
Thinking of cycling up slowly , maybe can accompany u one day.
basilisk
post Sep 19 2014, 05:15 PM

30 posts

interpark ride route for this sunday..

hopefully can make it.

This post has been edited by basilisk: Sep 19 2014, 05:19 PM
numbertwo
post Sep 19 2014, 05:32 PM

1,789 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Sep 19 2014, 05:15 PM)
interpark ride route for this sunday..

hopefully can make it.

Putrajaya is such a good place to ride a bike! envy!
basilisk
post Sep 19 2014, 05:32 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(numbertwo @ Sep 19 2014, 05:32 PM)
Putrajaya is such a good place to ride a bike! envy!
envy? why?
numbertwo
post Sep 19 2014, 05:49 PM

1,789 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Sep 19 2014, 05:32 PM)
envy? why?
wish my surroundings have such a good environment to ride. 20 years ago riding on the federal roads wasn't a concern at al.. Nowadays, the amt of dust, CO2 you suck in while riding on the main road is just unbearable, let alone the dangers one might encounters on the road..
numbertwo
post Sep 19 2014, 05:50 PM

1,789 posts

btw..i saw those bicycle lane painted in blue in ara damansara, may give it a try this weekend.. hopefully i can last a round!
basilisk
post Sep 19 2014, 05:53 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(numbertwo @ Sep 19 2014, 05:49 PM)
wish my surroundings have such a good environment to ride.  20 years ago riding on the federal roads wasn't a concern at al..  Nowadays, the amt of dust, CO2 you suck in while riding on the main road is just unbearable, let alone the dangers one might encounters on the road..
oh yes, i agree, 20y ago i rode to school in kl....

now... its all highway all around.... doh.gif
blur_blue
post Sep 19 2014, 06:07 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(numbertwo @ Sep 19 2014, 05:50 PM)
btw..i saw those bicycle lane painted in blue in ara damansara, may give it a try this weekend.. hopefully i can last a round!
Let me know how is it, I wanna cycle there too! rclxms.gif
Zelmel
post Sep 19 2014, 06:15 PM

495 posts

Which part of ara Damansara?
numbertwo
post Sep 19 2014, 06:33 PM

1,789 posts

QUOTE(Zelmel @ Sep 19 2014, 06:15 PM)
i can see the blue lane soon after i enter into Ara D from Tropikana junction... I have no idea to where it ends but i think it is part of the PJ City Cycleways Network or something...
blur_blue
post Sep 19 2014, 06:46 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(Zelmel @ Sep 19 2014, 06:15 PM)
QUOTE(numbertwo @ Sep 19 2014, 06:33 PM)
i can see the blue lane soon after i enter into Ara D from Tropikana junction... I have no idea to where it ends  but i think it is part of the PJ City Cycleways Network or something...
lai lai BIRD lol rclxms.gif

182 Pages « < 144 145 146 147 148 > » Top

0.0701sec    0.40    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 05:06 AM