Android TV Box

ranger2020
post Jun 22 2016, 05:23 PM

214 posts

QUOTE(Maxieos @ Jun 21 2016, 12:10 AM)
Maybe ranger2020 knows since he suggested it ?
I dont know about imgo.tv but for mk.tv , it depends on IP where some ipaddress it doesn't even load and no data transfer at all.Some live channel for mk.tv is not the same as the content as the title and some live just repeat every 30 second.

Hope you can find out more about mk.tv , waiting for all the mktv live HK.T.C channel

Only some info I found but i dont understand the details on those android media player since I am new to it , just getting to learn. sad.gif

MKTV is no more free now bundle with Himedia.
ranger2020
post Jul 11 2016, 02:58 PM

214 posts

QUOTE(MOD404 @ Jul 9 2016, 09:04 AM)
Need setup advice for my mother.. All she care it having tv al hijrah and other astro oasis thing for her new house.
Care to advice?
Connection 5mbps atm
better stick to "enjoy"
ranger2020
post Jul 22 2016, 10:33 AM

214 posts

QUOTE(Daprind @ Jul 22 2016, 01:05 AM)
Hi sifu, need help here. Tried to install MKTV apk and got this message appear in my tv screen:
- Device authentication failed! Pls contact ur local dealer and provide the MAC address.
Anyone can enlighten this? Currently using Q10Pro.
It doesn't work anymore. If you really like MKTV, you need to get Himedia M6 bundled with build-in MKTV. that is the only box bundled with MKTV.
ranger2020
post Jul 22 2016, 10:40 AM

214 posts

QUOTE(knighty @ Jul 21 2016, 10:50 PM)
Hi guys, newbie to android TV box here, but familiar with flashing/network stuff.

I need to get my parents an android box to run probably Kodi and maybe netflix, what box is the most recommended right now?

Looking for something around RM500-900. Don't have 4k HD right now but always good to have in case they decide to change TV.

I see this link Best android TV box recommends a minix neo U1 but most people here don't use it?
Short answer to your query.

so far good tv box within your budget range which are common in malaysia are Himedia and Minix. If you willing to spend more you can even get a Nvidia Shield from overseas (but it may be too much for your parents).

Basically, whichever box you getting should have no less than 16g memory in order to get kodi in better working enviroment. Since you mention netflix, please bear in mind Himedia and Minix are not approved by Netflix. so you wont be able to get HD quality offered by netflix. (but you may get SD quality)

If you dun mind cheap tv box, get something like M8s or Mxq etc. now most devices are 4k ready and with minimum 8g memory.

ranger2020
post Jul 22 2016, 10:41 AM

214 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jul 22 2016, 10:04 AM)
just read the last 10 pages or so.
several people have been discussing a couple of low cost models.
there are like 100 brands and 1000 models.
u just have to choose one after reading and pondering.
just for kodi, most current specs boxes will work.
for "casual" use of kodi, it is more about your broadband speed and memory available.
only when u get into large files, 4k, h265, hd audio will higher models be required.
it will be nice if all is arranged properly.
actually this android box thread is the most complete one.
there were at least 2 others running parallel with it >2 years ago, and new ones still pop up from time to time.

the subject is very fluid, models are plenty, user requirements/budget are very varied.
apps come and go, get obsolete, get much bigger, etc... ever changing.

as to your original question, minx u1 is quite popular. if u read the thread, u will find more than a few users.
Yup. Master Voncrane is using Minix U1 rclxms.gif (including me)
ranger2020
post Jul 22 2016, 02:37 PM

214 posts

QUOTE(Daprind @ Jul 22 2016, 12:15 PM)
Couldn't agree more  rclxms.gif  Watch heavily in Kodi & stand alone apps for 5-6 hours straight, the device stays cool and no heating at all. Thanks to the aluminum case & build-in fans! I barely hear the noise too.

Yup, i have those apps running in my device. Just want to have more selection of choices. But to think of them, 2-3 reliable apps is actually good enough rather than having so many apps installed but end up restricted. Can save some storage out of it.

Currently, my fav combo for chinese contents : dianshimao + HDP. Best.
Bro,

who apk is "dianshimao"? from shafa?

ranger2020
post Jul 25 2016, 04:34 PM

214 posts

QUOTE(Beogatts @ Jul 25 2016, 04:10 PM)
can someone help me... i cant subscribe unifi due to new Taman. TM also no budget this yer to install unifi line.
therefore im using Yes 4G 28GB / mth.

can recommend me wat i shuld use?

.. your broadband speed. H+ to 4G LTE (limited 28GB quota)
.. will use ethernet or wifi? Ethernet
.. want only english or only canto or only mandarin or...? english + malay optional
.. want eng subs, chinese subs, whatever subs...? eng subs
.. want movies or tv shows or live tv, what languages... give examples. liveTV astro channels
...must have live sports incl all epl? yes especially La Liga + UCL ..but epl optional
.. can accept sd or only want hd? im using mobile data so no need HD
.. want hd audio (dtshdma, dd truehd) pass thru for yr home theater? optional
.. want legit iptv like netflix, iflix, astro on the go, hypptv everywhere? i want to terminate my astro and start using something else but getting similar to astro channels
.. want ahem iptv , i.e. aztro and the like? nah..
.. your knowledge level with androids? intermediate
.. budget - min and maximum max rm60/mth
Agreed with Sifu AVFAn. there is no way you can use broadband to stream you box in long run. If you cant get unifi, streamyx 4mpbs or 8mpbs still can do the job.
ranger2020
post Jul 25 2016, 04:34 PM

214 posts

By the way, is there a app for lowyat forum? or you guys just give input via desktop like me?
ranger2020
post Jul 27 2016, 09:43 AM

214 posts

QUOTE(biatch0 @ Jul 27 2016, 09:22 AM)
Any recommendations for a box that can run Acestream? Might pick up one of those that does 9999 TV channels from Digital Mall or something...
what is acestream bro?
ranger2020
post Jul 28 2016, 11:39 AM

214 posts

QUOTE(sivanathan04 @ Jul 27 2016, 04:19 PM)
Thank you bro for the suggestion....how much bro roughly the price and where to get it..any thread for g910..
http://www.aliexpress.com/item/G910-Wirele...1229230691.html
ranger2020
post Jul 29 2016, 10:26 AM

214 posts

QUOTE(sivanathan04 @ Jul 28 2016, 12:09 PM)
I feel my innacomm modem hang while using and having poor WiFi signal..im using streamyx 8 mbps...how about dlink performance.
Bro my house is single story..20/70 house..im using streamyx 8mbps..any modem recommendations or adding router will solved my problem..i have weak signal and sometime hang while streaming...
Thank you bro for the link but I didn't have experience buying from aliexpress actually now I'm searching for local seller first if cant find here I have no choice have to learn how to bought from aliexpress
i using TP Link Archer D2.
ranger2020
post Jul 29 2016, 04:26 PM

214 posts

QUOTE(sivanathan04 @ Jul 29 2016, 02:07 PM)
Looks interesting bro...so far the tplink performance ok for you....I will look into it..TQ 😊
so far it works well. this is one of the few cheaper router + modem for dual band wifi.

But if you intend to upgrade to unifi in the future, this modem may not suitable for you. Unifi need other compatible router
ranger2020
post Jul 30 2016, 08:25 AM

214 posts

QUOTE(sivanathan04 @ Jul 30 2016, 01:13 AM)
Its a ac modem..price also cheaper...but streamyx only support N right or the N and AC is related to modem...in network and broadband thread member suggest me Tp Link WR841HP V3 high power router...still confused which model to choose 😋...sorry guys for asking about networking in this thread wanna njoii my kodi without buffering issue actually 😝
This modem is compatible with streamyx
ranger2020
post Aug 11 2016, 03:21 PM

214 posts

QUOTE(Scissorshand @ Aug 11 2016, 06:29 AM)
Finally received the package few days back. As expected, the device is fast and smooth. Excellent WiFi connection. The remote controller is quite ok though it does feel & look cheap (what do you expect for this kinda price).

However it came or installed with Kodi 16.0 which was having problem especially when u need to skip or fast forward, so I had to reinstall with Jarvis 16.1. once that done everything else just worked like a charm
http://m.gearbest.com/tv-box-mini-pc/pp_36...CFRUeaAoduWQI9g
this is one of the cheap and good tv box
ranger2020
post Aug 11 2016, 03:28 PM

214 posts

QUOTE(arr9ow @ Aug 11 2016, 02:54 PM)
Tempted to buy Mini M8S II from GB. Can we setup hypptv on it? How about it's performance compared to stock STB from unifi (Huawei EC6108V8) ? Any pros and cons that i should take notes?
i dun have hypptv so i may be wrong. Based on what i know, hypptv cant run on android box. the stock STB if have sufficient memory and processor power, it can run basic application. But what i understood, the stock STB always come with minimal memory. so it is always recommended to get a separate tv box.
ranger2020
post Aug 26 2016, 10:02 AM

214 posts

QUOTE(blurjoey @ Aug 25 2016, 04:27 PM)
I forgot about the geoblocking thing sweat.gif  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
I dun think any sellers can overcome the geoblock issue unless they also provide dedicated paid VPN service to you. most free VPN doesnt last long.
ranger2020
post Aug 26 2016, 04:26 PM

214 posts

QUOTE(GuyM @ Aug 26 2016, 01:14 PM)
Where's the moderator??!!! whistling.gif  whistling.gif  whistling.gif
the moderator was the one interested in the new topic. drool.gif
ranger2020
post Oct 13 2016, 02:21 PM

214 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Oct 13 2016, 10:31 AM)
I can neither confirm nor deny that such videos exist...  tongue.gif  whistling.gif
hahaha that a good one. you speak like a lawyer.
ranger2020
post Oct 13 2016, 03:40 PM

214 posts

QUOTE(blurjoey @ Oct 11 2016, 05:03 PM)
I just buy them when I see what I like... I'm having fun reviewing them... Is it bad?

These are some of my orders in gearbest... I also have in aliexpress and banggood too...
[attachmentid=7739225]
wow that a lot of purchase
ranger2020
post Oct 13 2016, 04:13 PM

214 posts

QUOTE(wayne @ Oct 13 2016, 04:10 PM)
A weird question here, does anyone here tried or tested wireless broadband on the box,be it watching kodi addons or iptv? Asking because I don't subscribe to cabled broadband but exploring to get some sort of Internet connection just for a month and able to get decent connection to watch internet based content. Ignore me if oot.
you won't have enough internet quota to sustain your enjoyment

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.1267sec    1.17    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 04:45 PM