Android TV Box

plumberly
post Feb 24 2016, 12:42 PM

4,761 posts

Need help here.

While watching Bloomberg in BBTS News, I selected ChannelNewsAsia in BBTS News. The volume changed to MAX! very loud. How to solve this? Cannot find TOOLS etc in BBTS to set volume for all its channels.

plumberly
post Feb 27 2016, 06:24 PM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Feb 27 2016, 04:53 PM)
please do a full review when ready!

i will consider it when one of my older boxes fail. biggrin.gif
Sifu, how many TV boxes do you have? Since when and how many are still working?

Cheerio.
plumberly
post Feb 28 2016, 09:45 AM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Feb 27 2016, 11:37 PM)
3, all working. 2-3 yrs old.

With smart tv, can say I have 4th one. biggrin.gif
Gee, must be gadget geek! Ha.

Of the 4, which is the best one?

Just doing my homework in the event that my 1st TV box fails (hope not). Ha.

plumberly
post Feb 28 2016, 07:36 PM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Feb 28 2016, 10:39 AM)
tv boxes don't fail that easily.

the bigger issue is about memory size and some apps not working on older chipsets.

over time, there is a need to change to newer and better as tech moves along.

my 1st one is a 1/4gb nand. memory good only for small apps; slow; now used mainly for usb playback since it can play bdmv/iso and pass thru hd audio.

2nd one is 2/8gb emmc mainly used for chinese apps in another location.

3rd one is 2/16gb 4k emmc in full use.
i have not noticed anything much better than the 2/16gb 4k except for nividia shield which is netflix uhd certified, so that's the point i would like to follow.
Noted and thanks.
plumberly
post Mar 2 2016, 03:51 PM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Mar 2 2016, 03:19 PM)

I see.

Maybe that is why I am seeing slower speed and connection problems since yesterday.
plumberly
post Mar 4 2016, 12:31 PM

4,761 posts

Beside the usual watching videos, listening to music, what else can one do with a TV Box?

Possible to play games? Which program/add-on?

plumberly
post Mar 8 2016, 02:31 PM

4,761 posts

Noted something strange lately.

Having long delay when using Kodi BUT same speed as before while using apps outside Kodi.

I know there is a problem with some internet under-sea cables.

Maybe so happened that Kodi signals go through the partly damaged route while apps go through a different route (via India-Europe)?

Just wondering.

Hope the cables will be repaired soonest. Even my daily The Star web browsing is becoming a pain. Ha.
plumberly
post Apr 11 2016, 07:42 AM

4,761 posts

My 2 cents here ....

From what I read, one of the negatives of SMART TV is the constraint in OS, FW, APPS etc update. You get what they have put in and also what they are willing to update eg FW. Once they have new model coming up, then their focus on older models will be limited.

So for more flexibility, I would not go for SMART TV.

Cheerio.
plumberly
post May 18 2016, 07:42 PM

4,761 posts

I assume and hope that there will be "free channels" for the coming Olympics.

If you come across some good ones then, please share.

plumberly
post May 20 2016, 06:25 PM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ May 20 2016, 01:31 PM)
Free and good live sports.... biggrin.gif

I only know one that is reliable.

China CCTV5+ in HD. But it comes with Chinese commentary.

This channel can be found in a many apps, even Kodi, I think.

Right now, s Korea plays Indonesia in Thomas cup semi final.

Tonight 7pm, Malaysia plays Denmark in other semi final.
China is generous with their live broadcasts, no blocks, no charge. rclxms.gif
Many thanks.

Happy and satisfied with my Himedia after about 5 months of using and exploring it.

A lot of variety than the tunnel choices in ASXXX!

Will be an eye opener for us watching the Olympics with TV box!

plumberly
post Jun 23 2016, 05:40 PM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(pokchik @ Jun 23 2016, 10:35 AM)
hi guys,

i currently enjoy having kodi + youtube on my sony android tv,
and is currently looking at a way of converting my 7yr-old samsung HD LCD TV to be used on the same way (nothing much, just kodi + youtube)

i'm eyeing this android box :

HiMedia H8 Octa Core (2G RAM+16GB)

not sure if it's a bit overkill, but i'm also looking at an opportunity to upgrade to 4K TV in the future
if the LCD goes kaput.. hence the reason to be fixated on that particular android box.

anybody using one currently? how's it going anyhow - any frequent crashes/issues/etc?
My 2 cents here after using HiMedia H8 Q 16/2 since Nov last year.

The Good

* support from Nicety when you have problems and also updates on firmware/Android/Kodi/apps. He does the testing and screening for his customers. That takes the time and pain off for me in searching for new add-on and apps, and fixing my problems.
* this H8 is pretty good though it is my first TV box. So good that I cancelled my ASXX a month after getting this H8.
* reliable so far (checked with Nicety before and so far he has no H8 customer returning the box under the warranty when I asked him for the mean time between failure).

The Bad

* find the 2 GB limiting. Need some 200 MB free for it to work properly, otherwise it will hang etc. But if you are only into Kodi and Youtube (with no apps), then this 2 GB should be more than enough.
* remote control - still need a mouse for some Kodi add-ons and apps. I guess this problem applies to most other TV box.

Would I still buy this H8 if I could turn back time knowing what I know now? YES!

Worthwhile trying it out especially if this is your first TV Box. Then use this as your benchmark for future TV Box. High end users may find this H8 lacking but for entry or medium users, I think it is good enough. No voice control, so what? Ha.

All the best in your selection!

plumberly
post Jul 22 2016, 11:56 AM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(Daprind @ Jul 22 2016, 10:59 AM)
Thanks for the reply  notworthy.gif

I'm still learning to get use this android box. Noticed couple of apks are not working as well. Letv for eg. So many restriction.

Well, I've invested in the Q10Pro, can't go back for M6. The only way to make it work will be find the replacement! Will go back few more pages for more info.

Reading is knowledge  icon_rolleyes.gif
Since you have a Q10 Pro, interested to know more on the HDR and 10 bits colour.

Are the HDR and 10 bits colour only in theory or something you can easily notice on the TV screen? Hope it is the later.

I guess it also depends on the video signal. It cannot give a better picture than what was recorded. Or can it?

plumberly
post Jul 22 2016, 12:38 PM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(Daprind @ Jul 22 2016, 12:22 PM)
Ermm.. i can't give comment on both cause I only owned LG UHD TV. I'm very satisfied with this product. It really delivered the quality as per my TV & soundbar.

I know, its not up to my TV standard, even my seller recommend Minix and almost bought it. But deep down i know, this box will serve me right in future (2-3 more years).

No one will stick with 1 TV forever. So If there is a chance to upgrade, it will maximize my Q10pro function.

Sorry, could not be of help doh.gif
Ha ha. No problem. I saw a video showing the HDR and also the 8 vs 10 bits colour effects.

My guess is the effects are exaggerated to show the differences. Thus the question to you as a customer whether one can really notice the differences.

I will be trying out Q5 Pro soon. Hope to be impressed with the better picture quality! Ha.
plumberly
post Jul 22 2016, 03:28 PM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(cyrobytes @ Jul 22 2016, 01:26 PM)
I have an Q10 Pro + a HDR TV. With the Q10 Pro setting set to HDR10 mode and play the HDR coded video, the TV will automatic switch to HDR mode. You must have an HDR capable tv to see the different between HDR and SDR. i have tested Q10 Pro setting with HDR & SDR. Played Life of Pi HDR demo, can see the washed out color if SDR mode set but excellent color in HDR mode.
Noted and thanks!

Good to know that one can indeed notice the better HDR.

Looks like I may need to check my TV for HDR!

P/S Did some study on the web. HDR for TV is rather new, produced limited HDR TV in 2015. My Pana TV is about 5 yrs old now. So definitely not HDR capable! Pity! After 4K, guess HDR is the next wave for a better TV!

This post has been edited by plumberly: Jul 22 2016, 04:00 PM
plumberly
post Jul 22 2016, 03:33 PM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Jul 22 2016, 12:34 PM)
HDR... Tries to mimick the human eye, as close as possible..
10 Bit... Deeper colors.

That's like the summary of both concepts. In order to benefit from em, one requires the appropriate source file, a device capable of processing both and a compatible display set.. With these, there's definitely a difference in PQ.. So yeah, it does depend on several factors, all of which must be present for full effect. The HEVC h.265 format supports 10 bit color.
Noted and thanks.

HDR - basically brings out the hidden details in the shadow and overblown areas. For DSLR, one has to take at least 3 shots at different exposures to get a HDR shot. Wonder how do they do that for videos. 3 different sync cameras and then combine them together?

8 vs 10 bits colour - more gradual change in the colors.
plumberly
post Jul 22 2016, 04:50 PM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jul 22 2016, 04:29 PM)
q5pro has same capabilities as q10pro - processing 4k60fps, HDR, 10bit, dtsx, ddatmos.

BUT... to see or hear the diff:

.. the content you play with the device must be of those types.

.. the TV u use must be 4k, HDR.

.. the home theater must be dtsx/ddatmos capable, set up as such.
if your TV is a fullHD one, those advanced videos will not be displayed on your TV at all.

in fact, the device will not allow you to set to 2160p or HDR.

will default to 1080p once it detects the TV.

What about the 10 bits colors? Can a normal HD TV handle that? Or need UHD TV?

plumberly
post Jul 22 2016, 06:23 PM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(cyrobytes @ Jul 22 2016, 06:03 PM)
Older tv is using 8 bit panel. So, you can see the 10 bit color
Here is the some interested article to read although is in France language.
Link
Thanks for the French link. Reminds me of one French paper that I sat in uni. Not really French paper but so difficult it was like sitting for a French paper when my sister asked me on how the exam went!

Though in French, one can still read the pictures and tables. Already going for 8K?! That makes HD so small and low quality!

Off topic, so we better stop chatting on TV here. Ha.

plumberly
post Jul 24 2016, 10:31 AM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(ekestima @ Jul 24 2016, 05:20 AM)
U can try looking for nicety. He is a very good and responsive seller.
Try search in home electronic and wares under special interest category.

Update :
Here u go, the URL

minix u1
Yes, 101% agree with you. Nicety is a very good seller with very good customer service in mind.

Very impressed with his after sales service so far. If you can get a slightly cheaper product from another supplier A than Nicety, I will still recommend that you get it from nicety. His friendly and excellent after sales service is worth 1,000 times more than the RMx0 saving from other suppliers.
plumberly
post Jul 27 2016, 01:27 PM

4,761 posts

Having some problems in using sub titles now and then. Appreciate some tips from friends here.

Main problem is the out of sync between speech and text. Yes, that can be corrected by adjusting the timing. Can be tiring and annoying at times adjusting this.

Some time I can get it right in 1 go and most of the time no.

Like to know whether selecting the right sub title plays a part in my problem.

Say if I selected a HD movie, then I should look for a sub title for HD version?

I tend to select the ones with many star rating, but this does not always give me the correct sync between speech and text.

Any other tips on sub title selection are much appreciated. Thanks.
plumberly
post Jul 28 2016, 09:21 AM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Jul 27 2016, 03:57 PM)
Such behavior is quite normal.. For best results, aim for subtitles with the exact file names as the media being played or ones Kodi specifically tags "SYNC".. Example:
Media: blabla.1080p.plumberly.mkv
Sub: blabla.1080p.plumberly.srt
Sometimes, it doesn't have to be exact and still work.. This applies mostly to Blu-ray releases or a specific group's release, cuz the media timing is the same across all files, no matter how they are named. I.e blabla.720p.plumberly.srt or blaskbla.plumberly.srt.... Etc..
Don't know whether it is coincident, now the sub title seems to be in sync after switching over to q5 PRO.

QUOTE(lyc1982 @ Jul 27 2016, 04:28 PM)
alternatively..use kodi to play the movies...
kodi seldom has sync issues with subs...
Don't understand. I am using kodi to watch movies.

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jul 27 2016, 04:33 PM)
are u referring to usb playback or kodi streams?

for kodi streams, u must choose the matching subs from the subs provider(s).

for details on kodi, can ask at kodi thread - many experts there! biggrin.gif
kodi stream.

Thanks all.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0312sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 03:44 PM