Android TV Box

voncrane
post Jan 6 2016, 10:50 AM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(roxx @ Jan 6 2016, 10:32 AM)
Oh My God.. It works..!!!

Try using voncrane method but didn't work.. Thus I open my drive > properties > security > enabled full control > sharing > VOILA..!!!

Now I'm so happy with my box.. Time to find good repo for kodi pulak.. Wakakakaka

Currently am using stock orange unifi router which support 802.11n.. should I stick to it or replace..  hmm.gif  hmm.gif

Anyway, anybody here have apk file for changing metro layout launcher? Previously using hphtvlauncherex but after reset my box to factory setting all wiped off.. Now using stock metro launcher which is suxx bug time..  cry.gif
The method I posted works... Noticed I mentioned going into the folder's (aka drive) properties after setting up in the advanced sharing centre... Which you did.. I purposely didn't list the entire process step by step as it feels better when you discover the rest by yourself.. rclxms.gif. There'll be a noticeable difference when you change the stock router, how much, depends on the capabilities of the new router. More features = higher cost. As for launchers, there are more than a few options in the Play Store. Search for "launchers" & take your pick..
roxx
post Jan 6 2016, 10:56 AM

T O P K E K
749 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jan 6 2016, 10:39 AM)
considering the cost of a new router vs the cost of all the other equipment whose performance depend on it, best to change.

u will see improvement in stability, max speed and wifi coverage.
Was thinking to buy something like tp link powerline since I no need to pull cable from one end to the other.. Using whatever it is I still need to change the stock router for better performance.

QUOTE(voncrane @ Jan 6 2016, 10:50 AM)
The method I posted works... Noticed I mentioned going into the folder's (aka drive) properties after setting up in the advanced sharing centre... Which you did.. I purposely didn't list the entire process step by step as it feels better when you discover the rest by yourself..  rclxms.gif. There'll be a noticeable difference when you change the stock router, how much, depends on the capabilities of the new router. More features = higher cost. As for launchers, there are more than a few options in the Play Store. Search for "launchers" & take your pick..
Yeah Thanks bro.. I mean based from your guideline then I'm able to discover on how on sharing process then leads to taking full control.. Thanks a lot bro.. You did provide me good lesson.. notworthy.gif

Launcher part I did install square.home.tablet but then the screen become smaller.. Nvrmind.. still have lots of time to explore..

Thanks again all sifus for the best explanation and guidance.. notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
AVFAN
post Jan 6 2016, 10:59 AM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(roxx @ Jan 6 2016, 10:56 AM)
Was thinking to buy something like tp link powerline since I no need to pull cable from one end to the other.. Using whatever it is I still need to change the stock router for better performance.
i think the powerlines need to buy in pairs, one pair for one device, right? cost?

may be better to get a good router first, say rm500?
roxx
post Jan 6 2016, 11:18 AM

T O P K E K
749 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jan 6 2016, 10:59 AM)
i think the powerlines need to buy in pairs, one pair for one device, right? cost?

may be better to get a good router first, say rm500?
yup.. in pairs..

RM500 for router is out of my budget right now.. Maybe find some tplink router 1st just to replace stock router..

Read in KLseet on tweaking th tplink router.. Machiam syok je.. sweat.gif
AVFAN
post Jan 6 2016, 11:22 AM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(roxx @ Jan 6 2016, 11:18 AM)
RM500 for router is out of my budget right now.. Maybe find some tplink router 1st just to replace stock router..

Read in KLseet on tweaking th tplink router.. Machiam syok je..  sweat.gif
consider asus too, plenty of satisfied customers.

various models for various budgets:

RT-AC3200 - RM1629
RT-AC87U - RM1469
RT-AC68U - RM1039
RT-AC66U - RM869
RT-AC55UHP - RM569
RT-N66U - RM759
RT-N18U - RM479
RT-N14UHP - RM359
RT-N12HP - RM249
RT-N12 D1 - RM169
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2651405

roxx
post Jan 6 2016, 12:01 PM

T O P K E K
749 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jan 6 2016, 11:22 AM)
consider asus too, plenty of satisfied customers.

various models for various budgets:
Thanks bro.. Now carik second hand asus N56U if got la.. flex.gif
rayzlan
post Jan 6 2016, 03:39 PM

143 posts

Hi newbie here ..any review on AC Ryan Veolo on adroid box ..I'm intend to get AC Ryan
AVFAN
post Jan 6 2016, 03:50 PM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(rayzlan @ Jan 6 2016, 03:39 PM)
Hi newbie here ..any review on AC Ryan Veolo on adroid box ..I'm intend to get AC Ryan
i like ac ryan, have 2 old media players.

the velo, if this one:
http://www.acryan.com/veolo-4k-media-player/

good specs.

ac ryan price is usually high... what is the price?
rayzlan
post Jan 6 2016, 04:01 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jan 6 2016, 03:50 PM)
i like ac ryan, have 2 old media players.

the velo, if this one:
http://www.acryan.com/veolo-4k-media-player/

good specs.

ac ryan price is usually high... what is the price?
can see at lelong RM550
AVFAN
post Jan 6 2016, 04:12 PM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(rayzlan @ Jan 6 2016, 04:01 PM)
can see at lelong RM550
quite ok for its specs.

but if u buy from lelong, it will come with std apps only.

if u know how to add more, set up the rest, tweak it, then ok.

for firmwares, i am quite sure there is a website to download - they are good with this.

but frankly, i have not come across any veolo user in this section.

so, we don't know much about this device.
stormaker
post Jan 6 2016, 04:23 PM

3,130 posts

I'm holding my horse for Himedia Q10/Q5 next gen base on Hisilicon HI3798c v200, which will be announce this week and avavilable end of Feb.
AVFAN
post Jan 6 2016, 05:04 PM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(stormaker @ Jan 6 2016, 04:23 PM)
I'm holding my horse for Himedia Q10/Q5 next gen base on Hisilicon HI3798c v200, which will be announce this week and avavilable end of Feb.
looking forward to it. 2/8gb with sata hdd bay.

Himedia Q10 Next Gen full specs

CPU: quad-core Cortex A53 (64-bit)
GPU: quad-core(?) ARM Mali-T720
RAM: 2GB DDR3
ROM: 8GB eMMC
LAN: Gigabit
Wi-fi: 802.11N
USB: 1 x USB 3.0 host, 1 x USB 3.0 slave, 2 X USB 2.0
Audio/Video: HDMI 2.0, Composite, Stereo (L/R), Optical and Coaxial outputs
So while the CPU is similar to the one used by the Amlogic S905 or Rockchip RK3368 SoC's, the connectivity options offered by HiSilicon Hi3798C V200 SoC are much better, and the Mali-T720 is like a breath of fresh air after so many Mini PC's using Mali 450.

With the HiVXE 2.0 Video decoding engine, an 1080P UI, 4K at 60 fps, H.265/HEVC 10 bit, BDMV and BD-ISO support (including 3D) and the partnership with Dolby Laboratories for the integration of the Dolby Vision VS10 (with Higher Dynamic Range (HDR) and Wider Color Gamut (WCG), Himedia Q10 NG is clearly aimed at movie fans and could potentially become the best Mini PC in 2016 for this particular niche (as Q5 quad was in 2014/2015).

I noticed that the device has the Kodi logo on the specs sheet for the device - being able to make use of the excellent HD audio support (7.1 passthrough, Dolby Atmos, DTS-HD, True HD) from Kodi would make the Himedia's Hi3798C V200 device even more attractive.

Himedia Q10 NG (Next Generation) will be available after the Chinese New Year (so in late February) for a currently undisclosed price.

Specs sheet reveal that there could be a "Pro" version in the future with 16Gb eMMC and 802.11 AC Wifi - or maybe these will be used for the new Himedia Q5 "Next Generation".

If you're in Las Vegas next week for CES 2016 you can visit Himedia's booth (83231 ,Level 1, Hall G, Sands Expo) for more details and a test drive of their new Mini PC. They also packed their existing product lineup (Q5 quad, H8, Q1, Q2, Q8 and the new Himedia M6).
http://www.minipcdb.com/articles/Meet-Himedia-Q10-Next-Gen

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Jan 6 2016, 05:05 PM
stormaker
post Jan 6 2016, 05:33 PM

3,130 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jan 6 2016, 05:04 PM)
looking forward to it. 2/8gb with sata hdd bay.
Hope they release the 16gb model sooner rather than later, 8gb is not acceptable for me.
AVFAN
post Jan 6 2016, 06:00 PM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(stormaker @ Jan 6 2016, 05:33 PM)
Hope they release the 16gb model sooner rather than later, 8gb is not acceptable for me.
Ya, me too.

Would be better if 24 or 32gb. laugh.gif
voncrane
post Jan 6 2016, 07:49 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

About the Himedia Q10, sure its "rectified" in the PRO version..However its 2016 and boxes shouldn't be bundled with 802.11N WiFi or 8GB eMMc ROM, especially when its paired with gigabit Ethernet... That's just pitiful.. Sure they want to target the simpler user on a tighter budget, but lets face it... Majority of such users will end up having memory insufficient issues. There's very little difference in hardware costs between the 8GB & 16GB hardware... Could also be a marketing strategy to have people cough up more for the PRO... You know, APPLE style ... biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by voncrane: Jan 6 2016, 07:49 PM
AVFAN
post Jan 6 2016, 08:40 PM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Jan 6 2016, 07:49 PM)
About the Himedia Q10, sure its "rectified" in the PRO version..However its 2016 and boxes shouldn't be bundled with 802.11N WiFi or 8GB eMMc ROM, especially when its paired with gigabit Ethernet... That's just pitiful.. Sure they want to target the simpler user on a tighter budget, but lets face it... Majority of such users will end up having memory insufficient issues. There's very little difference in hardware costs between the 8GB & 16GB hardware... Could also be a marketing strategy to have people cough up more for the PRO... You know, APPLE style ... biggrin.gif
ya, i have to agree with that!

but it is possible that from their market research, most users want great features but do not need >8gb, unlike u and me! laugh.gif

anyway, we'll see what will be the final launch product(s).
cchean
post Jan 7 2016, 08:47 AM

176 posts

Netflix is finally available in Malaysia. Has anyone tried installing on their android box? Especially Himedia. I am currently overseas, can't try
tHeRiDdLeR
post Jan 7 2016, 09:04 AM

247 posts

QUOTE(cchean @ Jan 7 2016, 08:47 AM)
Netflix is finally available in Malaysia. Has anyone tried installing on their android box? Especially Himedia. I am currently overseas, can't try
are you sure (without using any smartdns services ex -getflix/unlocator/unotelly)? source plz

This post has been edited by tHeRiDdLeR: Jan 7 2016, 09:08 AM
voncrane
post Jan 7 2016, 09:22 AM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(cchean @ Jan 7 2016, 08:47 AM)
Thanks for the heads up.

QUOTE(tHeRiDdLeR @ Jan 7 2016, 09:04 AM)
are you sure (without using any smartdns services ex -getflix/unlocator/unotelly)? source plz
Yep, it's live alright... Source... Another.. However, I'm fairly certain the available titles will be severely restrictive. We know how much those in charge like to censor stuffs.. So I'll be sticking to the USA regional content.. Besides, the ability to switch between supported regions has been available.. The recent partnership between iflix & TM sorta makes more sense now.. Well, wonder what happens to iflix now... hmm.gif . I really want them to succeed. To ISPs (looking at you TM), the handwriting is on the wall.. Cheaper, much faster & reliable bandwidth.. Nah, dreams.. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by voncrane: Jan 7 2016, 09:24 AM
ToniV
post Jan 7 2016, 10:55 AM

2,374 posts

any good media player out there? currently using WD tv live. planning to get android.
is it possible to watch sports?? i saw one on lazada.

http://www.lazada.com.my/prado2u-mxiii-4k-...ck-1364587.html

248 Pages « < 51 52 53 54 55 > » Top

0.0391sec    0.36    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 06:44 PM