31 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Ford Focus Owner/ Fan Club V2, Go Further

SportyHandling
post May 1 2014, 02:40 PM

623 posts

I would like to check with Titanium owners in which the vehicle comes in Goodyear Assurance Fuelmax tyres. May I ask how long do these tyres last, and whether you have rotated your tyres, assuming you will be changing all 4 tyres when they are worn-out.

Currently at about 8,000km mileage clocked on the vehicle, I noticed the tread wear of the front tyres is high. I am not sure if I can wait until 10,000km before I rotate the tyres. Perhaps I will do it earlier at about 9,000km.

Has anybody managed to use these tyres up to 30,000km or more. Looking at the wear rate on these tyres I think they don't last very long, perhaps up to 40,000km or so.

Any information would be most appreicated.
SportyHandling
post May 2 2014, 08:32 AM

623 posts

QUOTE(windscf @ May 2 2014, 07:55 AM)
My focus got lot of wind noise when the speed at 100+-, and I can clearly hear the bike passed me. Anyone faced this issue before?
As I have mentioned above, the wind noise in my Focus can be heard starting from 100km/h onwards. I'm not too sure about others but it seems that you experience the same too. At about 100km/h the wind noise is just starting to come up, so the sound is not too loud, though it would be slightly disconcerting to have the wind noise come up at those speeds which seem rather low. The wind noise gets louder at higher speeds, 120km/h to 130km/h etc.

It depends on what are you comparing it with. You will hear the sound from motorbikes with any car, and it is just a matter of how loud is the sound of the revving motorbikes. The Nissan Sylphy does not have wind noise up to about 150km/h(quietness the Focus lost to Sylphy in two critical areas, wind and suspension noises), and the sound of motorbikes is more muted in the Sylphy than the Focus. Even my other car the Proton Preve Turbo, I can't hear the wind noise at speeds of up to 130km/h. Maybe that car's engine noise has masked the wind noise(the noise from the Turbo engine is loud even at cruising speeds of 110km/h).

I don't know where does the sound from the wind originates from. Maybe it is due to the thinner glass of the windscreen. Perhaps it is the thickness/quality of the rubber seal, or maybe it's just the shape of the car.

I read from an article in the Motortrade magazine last month that the new Focus offers quieter ride through the use of thicker carpets, thicker side glass and improved engine bay insulation. I have that article with me and will upload it when I have the time.

Looks like they have acknowledged the current Focus model is not very quiet (in comparison to quieter vehicles).
SportyHandling
post May 2 2014, 09:11 AM

623 posts

QUOTE(thanish @ May 2 2014, 08:39 AM)
bro... titanium here. i'm clocking about 20k now. The wear and tear do not sounds that bad as you mentioned. The tyre looks hardy although its noisy.
I rotated it at 10k. So will be rotating it soon as well.
Thanks bro. I just rotated the tyres yesterday too at about 8000km.

These are some of the images of the front bad back tyres that show the tread wear. It is difficult to describe the extent of wear without looking at the real thing.

Front tyres :-

Back tyres :-

This post has been edited by SportyHandling: May 2 2014, 09:12 AM
SportyHandling
post May 2 2014, 06:39 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(lowkl @ May 2 2014, 06:19 PM)
Hmm....IMHO the fuel consumption is nothing fantastic. I get between 9.5 liters/100km (10.5km per liter) to 11 liters/100km (9.1km per liter) doing city driving, which is higher than the purported 9.4 liters/100 km for pure urban driving the Ford website advertises.

I am comparing with my wife's Mazda6 which is also a 2.0 liter, non-forced induction car. We drive the same route at the same time, so the driving conditions are pretty identical. She gets 8.5 liters/100km (11.8 km per liter) consistently. I think a large contributor is the iStop feature, which completely turns off the engine when the car stops dead eg. at traffic lights. I feel sick every time I am stuck in idle and can see the fuel being sucked up while I get nowhere.

But I fully FULLY agree the FC is fantastic on open roads.....
I guess any 2.0-litre car will not register good fuel consumption in crawling stop-go-stop-go traffic in comparison to 1.6 litre or lower capacity models, and the Ford Focus is no exception. It just gets better fuel economy compared to my previous Nissan Sylphy and current Proton Preve Turbo. When the Sylphy is stuck in traffic, you can literally see the needle on the speedometer going down. Scary.

THe Mazda6 should be a heavier car than the Focus, and yet it gets better fuel economy? That iStop feature must be something really special. Having said that, to move the car from standstill will use up quite some fuel. Interesting the Mazda6 can be frugal on this aspect and better than the Focus.

Highway drive on open roads, yes, the Focus is good in fuel economy.
SportyHandling
post May 2 2014, 06:53 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(cheongyf @ May 2 2014, 12:17 PM)
It's quite common for front tyres wear off faster than rear tyres as pair of front tyre guide the direction of the car through steering wheel. Therefore it is recommended to rotate the tyres (front to back) regularly.

Also the rate of wearing off is variable as it dependents of types of tyre, driving habits, types of cars, tyre pressure, etc.

Some tyres tends to wear off much faster than others. For those who always take cornering at a higher speed also have higher tyre wearing off. Cars with higher torque (I.e. golf GTI), loss in tyre pressure also wear off the tyre faster.

There are little things you can do to preserve your tyre by changing driving habbits or filling your tyres with nitrogen.

Current I'm using nitrogen not because of lighter air, just that the rate of temparature change in the tyre is not as great as air. Hence tyre temparature more constant. Also the rate of air loss is lower than air.

As you know not much people always check their tyre pressure and when you do, you will realise the pressure drop below 30psi when you fill in air.
Thanks for the information. Yes I am aware that the tyres will wear of faster if cornering are done at higher speeds.

Haven't really tried filling the tyres with nitrogen, though I usually pump the air into the tyres once ine very week.

I have rotated the tyres at 8,000km mileage. I read the benefits of rotating the tyres are not only to preserve or prolong the lifespan of all 4 tyres but the handling of the vehicle will be improved as well.
SportyHandling
post May 2 2014, 06:54 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(dares @ May 2 2014, 12:30 PM)
Why your front tire tread become gerigi shape already  laugh.gif
Don't know why the tread looks like that. Really weird huh? Perhaps the tyre was designed in such a way to show that pattern so as owners will change the tyres sooner than expected.
SportyHandling
post May 5 2014, 07:37 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(wishndream @ May 3 2014, 08:23 PM)
Just completed my 10k km service at Capital Intertrade, Sg Penchala yesterday. Took me 2.5 hrs for the service plus problem rectification. I complained about wobbling wiper blade & other common problems e.g. grinding noise, jerking, noise at steering/front suspension area when going slowly on uneven road. They changed the wiper blade but problem is still there. Jerking almost gone & now very smooth due to software upgrade. Grinding noise is still there but less. Steering/suspension noise still under monitoring cos they tighten up front suspension system bolts/nuts
Suspension noise I think it is something that is inherent in the vehicle? The last time I complained they mentioned the bolts and nuts are tightened, and in the end it's the same. Are you referrring to the sound from the suspension when going over bad roads or concrete ramps with grooves? On good roads there isn't any sound from the suspension of course. It's only when the vehicle goes over some of the rough surfaces the sound from the suspension comes up louder in comparison to vehicles with quieter suspensions.

Grinding noise I don't hear it too much already.

As for steering noise, is it a squeaking sound when you turn the steering? Or even when you drive up concrete ramps of shopping malls, there is a slight rattling sound from the steering? Is this the sound you are referring to when you mentioned steering noise? Regrettably I have this too even though they have changed the clock spring, a part which was suspected to be the fault of the steering noise. I wonder if they have even changed the clock spring?

I just figured out the sound from the steering may just be the shiny metal piece on both sides of the steering wheel that is moving/grinding against the hard plastic of the steering or something. Try pushing or pressing the shiny metal piece around. Do you hear a squeaking sound? This is the same sound I get when the steering wheel is turned left or right, or when the vehicle goes over some rough or bumpy surfaces. It is still bearable at this point of time for me, though when it gets louder to the point of annoying I'll bring this up to the service centre.
SportyHandling
post May 5 2014, 07:39 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(lowkl @ May 5 2014, 11:39 AM)
Thanks for the update. I'm going in for my 20k next week with much the same issues (less the wiper blade problem). At the 10k service, I mentioned regarding the software upgrade, but was told not to do it unless there was a problem (which at 10k was very minimal). Also, I think the version at the time had some problems in itself and the service centres were not recommending it.

For me, the biggest issue is the grinding sound, which has got so bad that my mom (who is over 80 and definitely NOT a car buff) asked me what is wrong with my car... so very malu la!!! Sounded like the engine was scraping the ground or something....
The grinding sound in your vehicle must be very serious if your mum commented about it. Usually the hearing of old folks would have degraded throughout the years, and to have them complaining is a bad sign.

The grinding sound only comes up when the vehicle is moving at low speeds isn't it, say 0 to 40km/h.
SportyHandling
post May 7 2014, 08:01 AM

623 posts

QUOTE(lowkl @ May 6 2014, 09:59 AM)
Yups... usually she cranks up the TV to the point we can follow the news from downstairs... so for her to hear the grinding.... Holy embarrassment-city, Batman!!

I get bad grinding during low speed, light acceleration especially if going up an incline. However, I recently also get heavy grinding during medium acceleration after clearing a bad traffic jam. In fact, bad traffic jams completely change the driving experience; in addition to the grinding, I get shuddering, jerking... back to pre-5000km all over again.

Will keep the group informed of how the upcoming service next week fixes this problem (or not).
Do keep us informed on how it goes. My colleague who owns the Ford Focus Turbodiesel informed his car broke down last weekend right after the 3 years warranty. Bad luck for him. He pretty much does not have confidence in Ford these days with sub-par service, other than the common complaints of the car(he is equally as critical as me in the unrefined suspension of the vehicle that is noisy when going over bad surfaces). His car is now in the workshop since last Friday night and as of today, the service centre still has not figured out what exactly is the problem with the vehicle although they have looked into the problem. Guess the local lads are not very competent in troubleshooting problems.

And guess what. The car broke down on Friday night. And on Saturday the next day, he placed a booking for a brand new Mazda CX-5 2.5 CBU from Japan. He told me he had enough of the Focus. Haha.. He will still be keeping the Focus though, just passing on to his wife after the problem is fixed.

This post has been edited by SportyHandling: May 7 2014, 08:02 AM
SportyHandling
post May 10 2014, 08:29 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(xphr3ak @ May 10 2014, 07:09 PM)
went to Ford seremban today.
I tell the SA that fofi n fofo DCT really problematic.
he said, that wasn't gearbox problem but clutch.
he also said that seremban branch got many stock to solve the problem.

I don't know either it's true or not.

FYI, I don't own Ford car But interested to buy it.

thanks.
The DCT of the Focus isn't really "problematic" as some people would have suggested. As a matter of fact, I do not have issues with the transmission of the car at all now. The "problematic" comment had mainly come up due to the juddering of the vehicle at low speeds. I don't experience this anymore after the software upgrade.

For me, based on my observation there are two weaknesses in this new Focus. They are not exactly critical and will vary with expectations. Some might be absolutely fine with it while some might not be so receptive. My observations are as follows:-

1) Noise from the suspension - the suspension of the Focus is not very quiet on bad roads. There is a certain rattling sound from the suspension as if hollow plastic bottles are hitting against each other when the vehicle goes over bad roads or concrete ramps with grooves in building car parks.

2) Grinding sound - at low speed especially when going uphill, sometimes there is grinding sound (from the gearbox?). The sound is like a bunch of gears or metal plates grinding against each other.

Of course, just by reading on these complaints makes one think that the vehicle is "problematic". Nevertheless, these can be non-critical issues to most people. As picky and critical as a person I am, I can still live with these anomalies in the Focus. On good roads or highways, there is NO noise from the suspension. Absolutely quiet. As for the grinding sound, currently it doesn't come up too frequently(it only does at low speeds), and even if it does, the sound is not very loud, yet. In order to hear these noises, the stereo or sound system of the vehicle needs to be switched off. If music is playing at low to moderate volumes, you won't hear these noises anymore.

The main strength of the Focus. If you love a bit of sporty handling and driving dynamics in a practical sedan or hatchback, the Focus will deliver the goods. I have not driven many vehicles before but the Focus surely nails it when it comes to power and performance. One of my colleague who happens to own the Focus also shares the same view although he is like me, equally critical of the noise from the suspension. In most cars, the faster you drive the more unstable the vehicle gets. In the Focus, the faster you drive the more stable it gets. Somehow defies logic but that is my experience. At higher speeds, the car seems to stick onto the roads more effectively. The car feels rock solid and stable at these higher speeds and does not wobble. Somehow it just gives the driver a feeling of confidence when taking the car out for a spin, especially when the going gets tough. Around twisty roads and bends, body roll is minimal in comparison to most Japanese equivalents. You just feel in control of the vehicle if you love to drive at a bit higher than normal speeds.

The Focus is also a powerful car in its class. In the most difficult or demanding conditions the Focus rarely fails, up a steep slope along the highways or the twisty steep bends up Genting Highlands. The acceleration and instantaneous burst of power of the Focus(other than driving dynamics as mentioned above) are superb. You won't feel the power to be lacking in this vehicle.

When it comes to handling, I believe there are not many vehicles that can touch the Focus other than "fun cars", cars that are specifically tuned to be sporty in nature. Bearing in mind the Focus is a normal passenger vehicle that is practical for everyday use, it also delivers if the driver loves a bit of thrill and excitement in the drive. Fun cars that have superior handling are usually not very comfortable due to the harder suspension setup and sports seats etc. The Focus may not be as comfortable as say the Toyota Altis or Nissan Sylphy (comfort-tuned suspension, comfortable and plusher seats, more generous rear legroom for passengers at the back seat), but it presents the best of both worlds in practicality and performance.

Test-drive with confidence.

This post has been edited by SportyHandling: May 10 2014, 08:36 PM
SportyHandling
post May 11 2014, 11:42 AM

623 posts

QUOTE(xphr3ak @ May 11 2014, 06:50 AM)
how's if compare fofo with cerato?
sorry. seremban branch doesn't have test drive unit.
so,  can't tell which one to go for.

now,  seremban branch give 10k discount for fofo and 13k for kuga.

No experience with Cerato. I am not interested in Koreans anyway. Best is to view both cars in the showroom, test drive and decide which one you would like better. Too bad the Seremban branch does not have a test-drive unit. Why is that? How do they expect potential owners to buy the car without a test-drive unit?

You might be interested in this review which is mainly for the new Nissan Sylphy. Though it compares the Sylphy to the Cerato, new Altis (and Ford Focus) briefly.

http://paultan.org/2014/04/18/dnew-nissan-...t-drive-report/

SportyHandling
post May 30 2014, 10:07 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(dares @ May 29 2014, 10:29 PM)
I was reading the Taiwan car website/forum when I come across a discussion about Focus's gearbox having transmission fluid leakage problem, like the first batch of Fiestas in Malaysia.

Although most Fiestas in Malaysia after 2011 or 2012 don't have the leaking problem anymore (solved with improved seal), I'm wondering if any Focus owners here face this problem?
Are the Focus models in Taiwan shipped from Thailand as well? What are the symptoms of transmission fluid leakage of the gearbox (in the Focus)? Severe jerking of the vehicle when the gears are changing?
SportyHandling
post May 31 2014, 10:51 AM

623 posts

QUOTE(dares @ May 31 2014, 01:06 AM)
Doesn't really matter where it was manufactured, even Fiesta models sold in Europe and the US have this problem.

The symptoms is severe clutch slippage (juddering) and if you look under the car and check the gearbox, you will see oil at the seams

That is the clutch housing, the clutch slippage is due to transmission fluid leaking into the clutch housing and contaminating the clutch pads. The fluids then leak out of the seams where the clutch housing meet the gearbox housing.

The above image have very light leakage only. In serious cases, you will see big patches of oil along the seams.
Ok, so the severe judders/jerks are the symptoms of the transmission fluid leakage of the gearbox. Currently I don't experience this in my Focus, though the 5 years warranty would have covered for this defect I presume, unless the leakage tend to come up after the warranty period.

The place where the vehicle was manufactured may matter although models in other countries show this problem. Since you mentioned the later batches of Fiestas do not exhibit this problem anymore, Ford may have improved some of the mechanism of the later batches of the Fiestas to rectify the problems that plague the earlier Fiesta models. In the case of the Focus, we won't know if the mechanical parts of the gearbox of the Focus models coming out from the Thailand factory are exactly the same as the Focus models that the Taiwanese are getting. I believe there will be differences, though not major, with car models produced from countries in different regions.
SportyHandling
post May 31 2014, 03:31 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(dares @ May 31 2014, 11:18 AM)
They have improved the seals to prevent the leakage in later batches, that's why I was surprised to read about it on the Focus in the Taiwan forum  hmm.gif Anyway, just sharing  nod.gif
Okay, thanks for the information. So, the new seals have done the trick.

SportyHandling
post Jun 1 2014, 08:11 AM

623 posts

Yesterday evening, a bad day for me as a car knocked on the rear of my Focus. A loud bang and the first thing that went in my mind is the hassle of an accident. I knew the damage was done, but was surprised at the extent of the damage on the Focus.

The front of the car that knocked on the Focus :-

The rear of the Focus :-

I am surprised there isn't any dent on the Focus just some very minor scratches on the metallic paint and slight cracking on the plastic strip at the bottom.
SportyHandling
post Jun 1 2014, 07:13 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(dares @ Jun 1 2014, 10:37 AM)
Remember to check behind the bumper if anything else such as the brackets are broken.

The damage on the Wira shows the impact was quite strong, Amazingly there is barely a scratch on the Focus  rclxms.gif
Yes, will get the brackets checked. The electronic rear sensors still working though.

Yes, barely a scratch on the Focus. When the police was attempting to take a picture of the damage with his DSLR, he was looking left and right and couldn't locate the scratches, and I have to finger-point the small little nicks to him.
SportyHandling
post Jun 15 2014, 03:25 PM

623 posts

I'm quite excited on the new Focus, although I am already driving one. No complaints on the current Focus in terms of performance so far. From one writeup, notable improvements include improved NVH(quieter car. yes!) due to the use of thicker carpets, thicker side window glass and improved engine bay insulation.

The driving dynamics is also reported to have been improved with a stiffer front end, revised suspension and retuned shock absorbers, apart from a new electronic stability programme. All these effort to best the Volkswagen Golf. Looks like it is tuned more to performance than comfort. Comfort levels may take a slight dip with increased levels of sporty performance though.

Some other notable improvements or changes include a cleaner and less complicated centre console and controls on the steering.
SportyHandling
post Jun 25 2014, 01:31 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(no-tech-know-logy @ Jun 25 2014, 12:12 PM)
Just to share my experience.

I'm the proud owner of a fofo titanium since 05/13. Clocked 30,000km already and going in for my service this week.

Like many owners, I am facing the 2 main issues with the car ie jerking and grinding. The jerking at low speed was getting quite bad so I finally gave in and updated my software in March 2014. The results was normal with jerking reduced significantly but also with the loss of power or 'kick' during pick up. Problem now is that after 3 months the jerking is back again. Will see if anything can be done when I go in for my service. Is there any new update after March 2014?

Grinding is also obvious during low speed especially when uphill or going up carpark ramp with turns. It was also reduced after update but also starting to come back but not that obvious as previously. Wanna ask other owners if grinding will be persistent if going up long uphill like Genting? So far had no chance to bring my fofo up yet.

I am a little disappointed that the jerk and grind are back and I have lost the original 'kick' during pick up. Have half a mind to ask SC if possible to downgrade back since jerk and grind are still there but I can feel the power during acceleration again (boleh factory reset kah? haha).

Anyway, I still totally love my fofo. Nothing I owned before and even test drove comes close. I guess cars are like people, no one and no car is perfect. We just choose the best fit for us and enjoy the ride with all the little imperfections.
I've driven the Focus up Genting, mostly in Sports mode. There are no grinding and jerking as the rpms are mostly above 4000 with the gear presumably in 2nd or 3rd most of the time. Though there is a prompt message when I reached the top though "Transmission Overheating, stop for 10 minutes", something like that. I guessed I pushed the car too hard and was having too much fun.

I can understand the loss of "kick" during acceleration with the software upgrade. Similarly I have updated the software and don't feel the kick anymore. It is certainly exhilarating when you feel your whole body being pushed back to the seat when the car accelerates. The strong jerks that give you the kick (not the mild transmission jerks).
SportyHandling
post Jun 25 2014, 01:38 PM

623 posts

Yes, cornering with the Focus is the best I've experienced. It is not a sports car or performance car, but as a common passenger car the handling deserves some mention. You just feel a certain stability in the car when you compare the Focus with other equivalent sedans during cornering. I stress cornering, as it is where the Focus scores when it comes to cornering capabilities. From the steering feel when you control the steering during cornering, up to the control and rock solid stability of the car when it sticks to the road like a leech with minimal body roll. The control of the Focus certainly shows. Once you've experienced this sort of control, you'll feel "less satisfied" driving something else.
SportyHandling
post Jul 8 2014, 09:10 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(AmyDazz @ Jul 7 2014, 12:05 AM)
I'm a proud owner of Ford Focus Sport + (MK3) since December 2013.

Yesterday, I just got back from KL to JB.

This was just a short "burst" to 200km/h, before reduced back to 140-160km/h. What can I say? This car was very stable at that speed.

Minimal and bearable wind noise. But, then the wind noise was well mitigated by the additional subwoofer in the trunk, Helix 10 inch, amplified by MB Quarts @ 400 RMS Watt.

In a nutshell, in deed very enjoyable ride, all cars in front of me (BMW 3,5 series, Range Rover, Audi Q7; to name a few), gave way for me.  rclxms.gif  thumbup.gif
Surprisingly you have managed to get a clear blurry-free snapshot of the speedometer at that speed. :-)

The car is surely stable at high speeds even in excess of 200km/h. Late last year, I touched 210km/h on a barely empty North-South highway early in the morning. The car feels rock solid and it's as if I'm only doing 160km/h instead of 210km/h. I think the stability of the car owes much to the suspension. Since mine is the Titanium sedan, the Sports hatchback would feel even more stable.

The Sony sound system of the Focus is already excellent on its own with a full punchy bass. With the addition of a subwoofer, the bass would be even more visceral. I can imagine the "sensation" of blasting away on the highways with some rock music playing in the background. Certainly sets the mood.

Other cars can be driven at high speeds too but they don't possess the stability and solidity of the Focus at these speeds as they wobble - up and down, left and right with all undulations/imperfections of the road. The suspension of the Focus surely works magic in soaking up all the imperfections, producing a ride that's solid and stable at any given speed.

31 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.1164sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 03:23 PM