Ford Focus Owner/ Fan Club V2, Go Further

Dwango
post Oct 30 2014, 03:09 PM

491 posts

QUOTE(seshatri @ Oct 28 2014, 05:03 PM)
Hello Friends...good day to all. I'm new in the forum. Got my ride FOFO Sedan Titanium+ in August this year and have been enjoying the ride especially the occasional Fast & Furious ride very much....the car feels solid and glued to the tarmac even on fast cornering (Karak - LPT - Karak) and its very comfy.

There are few things I need clarification from the fellow owners.
1. Can we set Autolock such that all doors get autolocked when we first start driving. Right now I have to manually lock using the lock button in dashboard. SA says cannot do this but I see the manual has some entries on this but its not working for me.

2. When driving on uneven road (gravel / dirt) i hear tok tok sound from the abs. Is that normal? How to make it silent?

3. When I stream songs from my IPhone via BT, I don't get the song details in the screen. This problem only started recently and I'm not sure how to rectify it. Also can't use the steering wheel controls to see the playlist. I can only move forward or back to next track. Initially the details were showing in the screen. Anyone of you had this problem? Please share how to solve it.

Have a great week ahead.
The car surely feels stable and solid especially on winding roads. The faster you drive the more stable it gets. THat is one amazing trait of the Focus as it sticks to the road firmly at the bends and corners and you feel the stability of it even when pushing the car hard around the bends and corners.

With other cars, especially Japanese, you would feel like the car is going to crash or turn turtle, as you keep applying the brakes to slow the car down. With the Focus, you just feel like going faster and faster for the thrills.
Dwango
post Nov 17 2014, 03:19 PM

491 posts

QUOTE(kath24 @ Nov 17 2014, 01:50 PM)
Hye to all fofo proud owner.. I'm Planning to buy one after read yr guys reviews here n webs as well.. So much temptation.. Yet y so many of fofo owner opt for non plus version instead plus version, any comments on that other than personal preference.. Where r thr best area to buy the car from.. Prefer kl or Selangor area as I'm reading some of u getting best discounts and deals.. Thank you Bros! And sisters too smile.gif
A matter of preference between plus and non-plus version. As for best discounts and deals, best if you ask around few dealers.

If you like to drive fast, this is it. The Focus is not a sports car, but it possesses ample power and almost handles like one.
Dwango
post Nov 19 2014, 03:56 PM

491 posts

QUOTE(pull007 @ Nov 18 2014, 11:00 PM)
Hi there,

May i know does using ron97 on ford focus titanium plus give extra benefits compared to ron95?

Thank you.
More power at the top end ie. reaching top speed more effortlessly. Didn't have extensive trials with RON97 hence can't comment on the difference in fuel consumption.
Dwango
post Nov 28 2014, 08:55 AM

491 posts

QUOTE(-ahtiang- @ Nov 28 2014, 06:52 AM)
FoFo Sport+ Candy Red reporting in too... finally received my car after so long waiting period... this car hug the road very very well...
The car certainly sticks to the road incredibly well. Yours is the Sports hatchback so high speed cornering should be better than the sedan. If you like to drive fast, you will enjoy this car.
Dwango
post Dec 10 2014, 08:34 AM

491 posts

QUOTE(Luzcrifier @ Dec 10 2014, 08:22 AM)
got new spec or same like old one?
New spec should be the all new Focus model with revised mechanics on some major parts. As for the SE model wingwp mentioned, not too sure about that model but I presume it is just the metallic paint that is different and all other features remain the same.
Dwango
post Jan 8 2015, 06:13 PM

491 posts

QUOTE(F1meteor @ Jan 8 2015, 01:58 PM)
Argh! Spent 120k on a car but not as smooth as my previous city.
I was hoping for a better car.
Obviously FoFo is superior in every aspect comparing with my previous ride, just that I really don't like the un-smoothness of FoFo.

I am satisfied with FoFo, already know all these issues before I made my purchase, but I can still whine right laugh.gif

Too much of negativity, time for some positive feedback
1. Whoever said the ford is small, it's not true. I can fetch 5 adults comfortably.
2. Very stable at high speed, tested up to 160km/h laugh.gif
3. Nice pick up speed. Well, Golf TSI is better. HAHAHA
4. No give face to Myvi 1.5 extreme anymore. Previously they always cucuk me when I'm in my City.
5. Very good FC at highway cruising. Early morning rush was terrible tongue.gif
Modified Myvi Turbo is fast and has higher top speed, but is not stable at high speed cruising. Unlike Focus which is stable even at 200km/h.

Bro, you tested up to 160km/h only? That is not really considered as "high speed". Nonetheless, even at 160km/h you can feel a certain solidity and sturdiness in the Focus.
Dwango
post Jan 23 2015, 08:42 AM

491 posts

QUOTE(rayhvs @ Jan 23 2015, 05:38 AM)
Thanks. Notice most of the owners here are having the problem with vibrating and jerking during the low speed. Is this car got paddle shift?
Minor jerking at low speed but not sure what vibration are you referring to. No vibration. This car does not have paddle shift but instead there is manual gears on the gear knob. You don't need the paddle shifters as the acceleration in D is decently powerful. There is Sports mode for a more enthusiastic drive or select driving conditions such as when driving up Genting Highlands.
Dwango
post Jan 27 2015, 04:59 PM

491 posts

QUOTE(wingwp @ Jan 23 2015, 11:56 AM)
some ppl experience shuddering at acceleration from stop.

button shift is useless & i also not fan of paddle shift, y bother to have paddle shift for these gearbox..

"S" mode is excellent, it shift very nicely
Yes, the buttons on the gear knob are useless. Didn't bother to use the buttons after testing them less than few hours.

The S mode is surely good stuff at low to moderate speed.

Dwango
post Jan 30 2015, 09:03 PM

491 posts

QUOTE(rayhvs @ Jan 30 2015, 02:33 PM)
Thanks. You really enlighten me alot  thumbup.gif

Currently, comparing it with Elantra. haih....
Korean cars tak boleh lah, not even the Kia Cerato. There was a Hyundai roadshow in Mid Valley on last weekend. Don't talk about driving experience, the interior of the Elantra looks pretty cheap. Even the new Sonata doesn't look at all good compared to Honda Accord.

I think Hyundai is going down already. Kia should be doing better but still their cars are usually considered as 2nd fiddle next to the Japanese. If compared to continental such as Ford, no contest.
Dwango
post Feb 11 2015, 12:50 PM

491 posts

QUOTE(Gorila_ @ Feb 11 2015, 11:15 AM)
Guys, wanna ask on your opinion on focus sport vs titanium. I got a pretty good discount on both models, with titanium 2k more than hatchback version.

My concern is does titanium version handles and drive as good as the hatchback version? They have red colour for the hatchback version which I don't like at all. And can anyone share about the long term reliability of this car?

Thanks in advance.
Handling of the Ford Focus Titanium is already good on its own when compared to other sedan cars. But when compared to Focus Sport, the Sport is better due to the 17" rims and tyres and the supposedly firmer suspension. You will find the Sports to be more stable along highways, and you can do a corner at a higher speed without having the feeling of the car going to "terbalik" or turn turtle.

As for long term reliability, the model is only about 3 years old. It depends on how long is long when you mentioned "long-term". I'll let you know if the car is still in once piece when it is 10 years old, only if I still drive the car at that time.
Dwango
post Feb 16 2015, 12:38 PM

491 posts

QUOTE(Gorila_ @ Feb 15 2015, 04:06 PM)
Test drove both hatchback and sedan focus today. I would say both handles well, feels well composed on the road. Brought along a rider at the back, titanium was ahead in terms of passenger comfort, hatch is very bumpy. Power-wise, during test drive not feeling out of breath but did not test high speed lar. The low speed judder couldn't be appreciated.

At the same time also test driven hrv. I know its different segment but the price range is around the same after all the discounts threw in. Cons, slightly dated models compared to other cars that I test today. Tested v spec btw. City would be a better comparison but somehow not in my.consideration.

Hrv, good visual field due to the high riding position. However the engine gets caught out of power band if step hard( during higher rpm before up shifting). Breaking was decent. Body roll is acceptable for its height. Who goes round cornet in high speed for city ride anyway. Comfort level not so good, equivalent to focus sport. Interior is a big let down to be honest.

Last is mazda2 sky active. Looks as good as hrv. Latest technology is there, finishing is the best among the three. Ride is as good as focus for speed up to 90-100. Good pick up, paddle shifter is a plus point here, way better than the focus power shift. But only has 2 airbags. Something tells me its won't be as stable as focus in highway drive, as its a lightweight b segment.

All in all,
Ride: focus=mazda2, hrv
Comfort: focus, mazda2, hrv
Safety: focus, hrv, mazda2.
Design: hrv, mazda2, focus
Interior: mazda2, focus, hrv
Brand( service centre coverage): Honda, Mazda, Ford
If you want acceleration power and handling, the Ford Focus will come out tops. Mazda 2 is more comparable to Ford Fiesta.

Finishing of Mazda 2 is definitely commendable and the best out of the lot. But you can take the Honda HRV out as in terms of interior quality and handling, especially ride and handling, the HRV is at the bottom since it's an SUV while the rest are sedan. The interior quality of the HRV (and the CRV also) is bad if compared to similarly-priced equivalents.
Dwango
post Mar 3 2015, 08:26 AM

491 posts

RM400-500? I thought it's more costly than that. More like RM900 to 1000. Anyway, a call to Sime Darby will get you the answer.
Dwango
post Mar 6 2015, 09:53 AM

491 posts

QUOTE(magnifizio @ Mar 6 2015, 09:41 AM)
Does anyone experience less jerking and rattling noises after changing to ron97?
I'ved only tried pumping 2 to 3 full tank of RON97. I find the jerk to be more prominent with RON97. Rattling noises I dont' hear that too often now.

What is the mileage of your car? The jerking and rattling sound are quite obvious within the first 10,000km and but after reaching 15,000 mileage and above, they are considerably reduced. If not, you may visit the service centre to have them fix it for you.
Dwango
post Mar 6 2015, 10:03 AM

491 posts

QUOTE(magnifizio @ Mar 6 2015, 09:57 AM)
My car is now at 20,000km.
Both rattling sound and jerking has reduce significantly after using RON97.
Or maybe it could just been a coincidence that my car has passed 15,000km.
Its not a bad thing but just wondering did the same thing happen to other owners.
Okay, good to know. I am interested to know too if RON97 did really reduce the jerks and rattling sound but the economics factor in the long-run isn't that pocket-friendly, at least for me. The car drives well on RON95 to me.

I tried RON97 when my car's mileage was below 10,000km. I recalled the car to jerk more strongly with RON97, but that is only during low speed acceleration 0-40km/h.
Dwango
post Mar 9 2015, 12:41 PM

491 posts

QUOTE(-ahtiang- @ Mar 7 2015, 07:52 AM)
I've been using RON97 ever since this car was born and all is good with the car... dun feel the jerk as mentioned though.. I just did a long haul run from KL to Penang over last weekend it was just blazing fast and responsive... but I recommend to use BHP RON97 as I previously use (my other car) other brand RON97 but I feel BHP's petrol quality seems better and more responsive... no and I do not work with BHP though haha... my car mileage is approx. 8k
Ok thanks for the information. I also use BHP, though I alternate between BHP and Caltex.

The car is indeed very powerful, even if RON95. I cannot put anything on the passenger seat of the car. Usually I will put things such as bread, apples, oranges or my handphone on the passenger seat if I drive alone. But they all usually end up on the floor mat everytime. The power and speed of the Focus is surely addictive until everything ends on up the floor when I do a cornering or braking at higher speeds.

Next time those things will be safer in the boot.
Dwango
post Mar 9 2015, 05:29 PM

491 posts

QUOTE(ALeUNe @ Mar 9 2015, 05:03 PM)
It is my 2nd/3rd car.
Year 2009 Ford Focus 2.0.
Sold for 20K.
Bought a Nissan Teana 2.5 before GST.

The resale value is very kesian.

Just a heads up to Ford Focus owner.

Good bye Ford.  bye.gif

P/S
As compared to market price of Y2009 Toyota/Honda Altis/Civic 1.8 @ MYR60K.

The low resale value was already expected for the Focus, especially for the older model which is very different from the current Focus model in terms of shape and electronics. The transmission of your 2009 Focus is not the Powershift I presume. Resale of obsolete models especially the older Focus will be poor as the previous generation Focus model is not popular to begin with, compared to the current Focus model which is an improvement in most aspects. I wouldn't be surprised if the resale value is lower than RM50k. Did you manage to get RM45k for your 2009 Focus?

For a 5-year old model, the owner will usually lose about 50% from the price he/she paid for the new model. In the case of the previous generation Focus, it may be lower as it's not a very popular or well-received car to begin with. The lower resale when compared to Japanese models are expected due to the more costly maintenance and difficult to find spare parts of the old Focus model.
Dwango
post Mar 11 2015, 01:07 PM

491 posts

Yes, resale value of Toyota and Honda is always high. But you don't get the adrenaline rush with it, other than the high build quality and interior of the Focus vs cheaper build quality in the Japanese. In the end, there is a price to pay if one is to go with the Ford Focus.
Dwango
post Mar 15 2015, 09:52 PM

491 posts

QUOTE(sport+ @ Mar 11 2015, 06:23 PM)
Seriously recommend BHP.
Pros:
- Every gear change at 6500rpm (Caltex 5700~6000, Shell 6000~6500, Petronas 6500)
- Less engine vibration and constant power output vs time, feel like after using fuel system cleaner

Cons:
- Very few station but why bother if it is only once a week

95: Faster RPM, faster gear change with NO kick down problem. Negligible gearbox grinding.
97: Better low end torque. Slower RPM, slower gear change with kick down problem. More gearbox grinding.
Gear change at 6500rpm? That is close to red line already. I presume that only happens during hard acceleration? Because with normal acceleration, gear change is around 2500 RPM +/-.

BHP and Caltex are both good and I only pump petrol from these 2 stations. Now I solely pump Caltex as I have the Caltex card to gain points.

Dwango
post Mar 18 2015, 07:40 AM

491 posts

QUOTE(-ahtiang- @ Mar 18 2015, 07:15 AM)
Get the BHP card then you can earn points from BHP biggrin.gif
Hard acceleration does able to climb to 6500 RPM but dun think in normal acceleration though and I hated the +/- button implementation on the gear lever... absolutely rubbish to use... just put back the stick up for + and down for - or flappy at steering wheel..  rclxub.gif
Yes, hard acceleration feels great with the Focus. You can feel the power and the instant surge of the car forward. I don't play with the +/- button anymore as it's quite useless to me. D and S are enough. Sports mode when the roads are uphill and sloping - the car feels very responsive and fun to drive.
Dwango
post Mar 29 2015, 11:45 AM

491 posts

QUOTE(wee939 @ Mar 28 2015, 09:12 PM)
lol...definitely not seat belt la, not system warning sound neither. its ding ding ding, very fast one, like 10dings/sec and not very loud
Where does this "ding ding ding" sound comes from? Inside the car or outside of the car ie. from the engine area? If inside the car, likely some rattling sound somewhere in the car as the vibrations when doing hard acceleration above 5000 RPM had caused something inside the car to rattle.

Above 5000 RPM, no funny sound in the car except the sweet sounding noise from the engine coupled by the exhilarating power in acceleration when the car just shoot forward like a monster.

12 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.1155sec    0.80    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 10:40 AM