Mechanical Keyboard Thread V20

dadudeneverabides
post Feb 6 2014, 10:00 PM

Mechanical Kuda Ping Keyboard
1,105 posts

QUOTE(justnits @ Feb 6 2014, 08:22 PM)
PBT > POM > ABS

but for this keycaps, it's a translucent keycaps coated with a layer of dunno wat tongue.gif
this starts to shine in a month. dark colour is more noticable though.
If it's just coated then I think it'll come off in a few months after use.

I really starting to feel that LEDs are nothing but a stupid gimmick biggrin.gif
dadudeneverabides
post Feb 7 2014, 09:59 AM

1,105 posts

QUOTE(hooh888 @ Feb 7 2014, 09:42 AM)
Just found out that the IKBC F104 keyboards costs only around 500 RMB on Taobao, does the LED functions make that much difference in price? (Comparing with stuff like Ducky Shine 3)

EDIT: And their stock keycaps are PBT while Ducky Shine's using ABS? (please correct me if I'm mistaken)
DS3 has better LED controls I think. Check out youtube reviews to see the patterns that you can get. IKBC I'm not really sure.

AS for the keycaps, I believe that they use transparent POM/ABS that has a sprayed on layer with laser-etched legends. THEY WILL GO SHINY IN 2-3 MONTHS TOPS. It's not even dirty habits; just sweat from fingers and things like that. Trust me, you'll be thinking of changing keycaps really soon.
dadudeneverabides
post Feb 7 2014, 01:43 PM

1,105 posts

QUOTE(eddydo @ Feb 7 2014, 01:37 PM)
damn this is sexy, but the layout I don't think I'll get use to it sad.gif
I'm more of a one button one function guy. I can get used to living without my numpad, but I will never press more than one button to get to F2 (edit cell in Excel). I guess I don't type as much as I should.
dadudeneverabides
post Feb 7 2014, 01:55 PM

1,105 posts

I wonder if anyone ever made Topre custom before...
dadudeneverabides
post Feb 7 2014, 02:04 PM

1,105 posts

QUOTE(0168257061 @ Feb 7 2014, 01:57 PM)
F104 has 7 level brightness and also breath mode.
If u can get seller to add led for u that is much cheaper.100rmb.
mine expensive. But I can help you replace anytime if rosak.
Sounds exactly like my itik kosong bersinar.

Semi-off-topic; I'm still considering your vintage black as long as it has white LEDs. Gonna have to get me some LED changers soon. tongue.gif
dadudeneverabides
post Feb 7 2014, 04:42 PM

1,105 posts

QUOTE(diaBoliQu3 @ Feb 7 2014, 03:55 PM)
Tak kan satu position saja. Tak try position lain? laugh.gif
Like 016 said, it's more ergonomic for fingers to press only one button for a commonly used function (like F2, cuz 99% of my excel godliness comes from spotting idiot errors and changing formula). Since I use excel a lot, I also need my numbers. Typing in functions more than actual numbers is the reason why I can live without the numpad (I have monkeys clerks for that).

Compression of the 6-key cluster above the arrows (Del-Home-End-PgUp-PgDn) are used a lot for quick navigation between worksheets. Example; Ctrl+PgUp to change tabs, and then Ctrl+Home to got to cell A1 in a pinch. Or even F2 then Ctrl+Home to get to first character in formula.

QUOTE(0168257061 @ Feb 7 2014, 03:59 PM)
Moving left hand to F2 is less convenient than press FN+2  tongue.gif
That only explains a minute part of how I work.

QUOTE(quovadis123 @ Feb 7 2014, 04:03 PM)
I think it's still ok. I convert all my function keys (F1 to F10 to numerical no.).
Eg F2 become 2.
After a while, can able to adapt. But, indeed minimalistic keyboard like 60% is very good. smile.gif
Not to bash on anyone's keyboard preference, but the smallest I would go is 75% because I need my function keys separate (actually, come to think of it I only use F2 and F4 mostly) but most important of all is the Ins-PgDn cluster for navigation.
dadudeneverabides
post Feb 7 2014, 05:25 PM

1,105 posts

QUOTE(quovadis123 @ Feb 7 2014, 04:52 PM)
It's ok, since everyone use their keyboard for different purposes.
I do not use it for excel.
Most of my keys has been keymapped, like caplock to backspace.
Backspace to CTRL+R, function keys to numerical keys, numerical keys to symbols. Right Shift to =.  laugh.gif

Last time during i use excel, normally navigate using mouse, and type some simple formulae like vlookup, if else etc.  nod.gif

Definitely different usage different layout.  thumbup.gif
Bwahahaha. Because of people like you, I still have a job. Should be thanking you for your excel "skillz".

QUOTE(diaBoliQu3 @ Feb 7 2014, 05:16 PM)
I'm just kidding mate. No hard feeling... I work excel spreadshit once a week and it's trouble some too. But I'm more like a guy with lowered car, except it's not GTR. Haha...
I'm so stealing spreadshit. No hard feelings at all. biggrin.gif
dadudeneverabides
post Feb 7 2014, 05:49 PM

1,105 posts

QUOTE(quovadis123 @ Feb 7 2014, 05:39 PM)
laugh.gif  laugh.gif
Not too understand what you mean because of people like me, you still have a job...
Can explain? Don't worry, I no use excel anymore, you can give your honest answer. brows.gif  brows.gif
Easy:

Anybody can use excel. But nobody uses excel like an accountant with some coding background and common sense.

If you use Excel everyday, chances are you are the "clerk-like" type who uses it like some gigantic notepad.

If you only use Excel once a month, either you don't work in finance, or you are just developer who finish project then dump it on users.

Either way, nobody knows bow to combine vlookup, sumif and pivots at the same time to come up with a robust report that can analyze 60,000 lines of data into an easy to understand and workable sheet. Even if they know that much, they'll pengsan when they see multiple nested if statements. When they look over my shoulder when I do stuff, all they see is my fingers flying around hitting shortcut buttons and copy-pasta formula. Pengsan again.

Combine all of this, you have 2 types of excel users:

1. Office worker.

2. Dev people.

Either way, they can't connect because #1 dun have the logic of #2, and #2 never understand the actual requirements of #1. I can do both (to an extent of course).

It's at this spot that I insert myself. It's a niche I carefully cultivated over my entire career, and this job can never be replaced by a robot.

Hope I dun sound too lansi, but I'm proud of my work tongue.gif
dadudeneverabides
post Feb 7 2014, 07:01 PM

1,105 posts

QUOTE(quovadis123 @ Feb 7 2014, 06:03 PM)
Haha.. You're right.  biggrin.gif
Actually because last time I already created automation for my work, so I really less to use excel. Use only for simple calculation.

My case actually is, I do use VBScript and batch files(batch files for other purposes) and run all my oracle sql(run in vbs) to query the data from database, and compute it in excel.
Then graph everything plotted, and schedule to send the files in email to big bosses.
Vbs used as external rather than internal vba.
Daily, weekly, monthly report are same, so just create a bot to do.  sweat.gif

In the end, more and more executives lost their jobs after my automation project was done.  laugh.gif
I also retired from the field too.  thumbup.gif
Big boss then asked Senior Software Engineer ported it to full line, then headcount massacre happened afterwards.

I think those heavily use excel or data crunchers need the numpad. It's convenient for them. brows.gif
I'm eyeing on 60% keyboard(certain MX cherry switch), wait see who want sell cheap cheap. Then I grab.
Nice. I still do automation, but at most is VB inside excel only. Can't afford to delve into programming. Got other hobbies tongue.gif
dadudeneverabides
post Feb 7 2014, 08:02 PM

1,105 posts

QUOTE(0168257061 @ Feb 7 2014, 07:49 PM)
Yeah. Everyone here got one already.
Those who didn't get just grab ur chance now.
Original price RM500+++
dont bother to look for FAKE cherry mx switch.
See liao u also haih.
Main problem would be the reliability. I heard (can't remember where) that the switches koyak after a few months.

YMMV
dadudeneverabides
post Feb 7 2014, 08:15 PM

1,105 posts

QUOTE(justnits @ Feb 7 2014, 08:14 PM)
pay beratus-ratus for imitation is very sadding...no offence to all those who own armageddon without knowing that >.<
Is gaming board!

LEDs!!

MECHANICAL LIKE YOUR FAVOURITE DOTARD/HONTRASH/LOLFAG PLAYA!
dadudeneverabides
post Feb 7 2014, 11:29 PM

1,105 posts

QUOTE(quovadis123 @ Feb 7 2014, 11:27 PM)
Exactly. Don't waste money on this keyboard.
It's really up to preference of you. If you want buy gaming keyboard, we are ok too. It's your money, not mine.
In this thread, you will be exposed to the gimmicks and low quality of gaming keyboard.
I know programming is fun. It's ok if you think numpad is good. laugh.gif
Numpad really for heavy numerical data entry and calculation use. Normally, you seldom use in programming.
For example, in those programming language .NET, sql, etc.
The best keyboard with numpad, i think is itik bersinar, coz got extra 4 keys on the top(I remapped it to other keys) drool.gif
EH... the itik kosong can remap or not?
dadudeneverabides
post Feb 7 2014, 11:40 PM

1,105 posts

QUOTE(quovadis123 @ Feb 7 2014, 11:35 PM)
I used software remap. Not hardware. Every keyboard can be remapped.
The bad point of itik is, the fn key can't be remap to other keys. smile.gif  Only 1 key is non-remapable. Since software do not detect the address of that fn key.
Other keys like media keys, etc are ok.
Remapping software : Autokey for Windows, KeyRemap4Macbook for Mac
Cheh. i thought is hardware. NVM I also got.
dadudeneverabides
post Feb 8 2014, 12:45 AM

1,105 posts

QUOTE(0168257061 @ Feb 8 2014, 12:31 AM)
you are more like a pure typist.
same here. no fancy fancy.
21st century secretary
dadudeneverabides
post Feb 8 2014, 12:25 PM

1,105 posts

QUOTE(0168257061 @ Feb 8 2014, 11:45 AM)
cry.gif  even executive saturday have to work also  cry.gif
Time to change jobs.

I just woke up tongue.gif
dadudeneverabides
post Feb 9 2014, 03:49 PM

1,105 posts

QUOTE(quovadis123 @ Feb 9 2014, 02:38 PM)

The making of doubleshot.
Signature plastics keycaps injection molding using first shot.
I was taking off pants while watching this...
dadudeneverabides
post Feb 9 2014, 05:44 PM

1,105 posts

impossible for me to get used to custom :|

TKL is smallest I can take biggrin.gif
dadudeneverabides
post Feb 9 2014, 05:49 PM

1,105 posts

QUOTE(justnits @ Feb 9 2014, 05:48 PM)
what u mean impossible for u to get used to custom?

this is a tkl custom...can get used to it?  tongue.gif
[attachmentid=3845824]
Addendum: impossible for my wallet to get used to the light feeling. Better?
dadudeneverabides
post Feb 9 2014, 06:34 PM

1,105 posts

QUOTE(0168257061 @ Feb 9 2014, 05:50 PM)
Because you think custom = 60% that's why it is impossible for you to take custom. doh.gif
Last time duckminiv2 was 275us.
so about 300us or less ?  laugh.gif
99% of custom shown here is 60%

If I ever go custom I'll get ergodox

QUOTE(0168257061 @ Feb 9 2014, 05:50 PM)
Custom =/= light feeling lar bro.
Custom = custom anything u like.
Ergodox Case + PCB + electronics ~ 600 bucks

Doubleshot keycaps ~ 200+

Switches ~ 100

Total ~ 1,000

Investment = one shot use soldering iron + solder ~120

TOTAL COST EXCEED 1K, TQVM
dadudeneverabides
post Feb 9 2014, 06:46 PM

1,105 posts

QUOTE(0168257061 @ Feb 9 2014, 06:41 PM)
1k is very normal tongue.gif
I think a lot of fella is posting tkl custom here.
60% also got.
Prepare 1.5k can one.
QUOTE(quovadis123 @ Feb 9 2014, 06:43 PM)
Custom is like double price of normal mechanical keyboard.
There are a lot tkl custom. smile.gif
No. If I ever go custom, I will save money until can afford ergodox. No compromise.

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0474sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 03:21 PM