127 Pages « < 24 25 26 27 28 > » Bottom

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 - Official v14, KitKat is Here But with Side Effects

allen6279
post Jan 16 2014, 08:16 PM

354 posts

From page 1, I understand that kit Kat cannot be flashed through mop as it needs new bootloader, so to flash it is by Odin, correct ?

After flashing it, yes we still can remain the virginity of Knox but without root, so easiest way to root it is CF auto root? Since tripping Knox is unavoidable....
gin&tonic
post Jan 16 2014, 08:17 PM

4,874 posts

QUOTE(allen6279 @ Jan 16 2014, 08:16 PM)
From page 1, I understand that kit Kat cannot be flashed through mop as it needs new bootloader, so to flash it is by Odin, correct ?

After flashing it, yes we still can remain the virginity of Knox but without root, so easiest way to root it is CF auto  root? Since tripping Knox is unavoidable....
Yup.
allen6279
post Jan 16 2014, 08:31 PM

354 posts

QUOTE(gin&tonic @ Jan 16 2014, 08:17 PM)
Yup.
So to fix for external SD is to flash or to follow the instructions provided in the link from first page?
waveweaver
post Jan 16 2014, 08:39 PM

★★Android & Apple★★
13,192 posts

QUOTE(allen6279 @ Jan 16 2014, 08:31 PM)
So to fix for external SD is to flash or to follow the instructions provided in the link from first page?
Both oso can.
One is to replace the platform.xml file
The other is to add the command in the platform.xml file.

Am using the second way.
gin&tonic
post Jan 16 2014, 08:39 PM

4,874 posts

QUOTE(allen6279 @ Jan 16 2014, 08:31 PM)
Yes or use the link below ( its the same link ).

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showpost.p...220087943598628
waveweaver
post Jan 16 2014, 08:41 PM

★★Android & Apple★★
13,192 posts

antt00 what firmware the SC flash for your phone..?
Old firmware or the latest one..?
TSantt00
post Jan 16 2014, 08:52 PM

RescuE
10,873 posts

QUOTE(waveweaver @ Jan 16 2014, 08:41 PM)
antt00 what firmware the SC flash for your phone..?
Old firmware or the latest one..?
MJ7 latest. dry.gif
joytest
post Jan 16 2014, 08:53 PM

Vox populi vox dei? Quot homines,tot sententiae
13,188 posts

Just in....Mobile Odin 4.00 can handle the Note3 4.4.2 bootloader

https://plus.google.com/1135173194774200524...sts/MPmRtxjxGgf
waveweaver
post Jan 16 2014, 08:55 PM

★★Android & Apple★★
13,192 posts

QUOTE(antt00 @ Jan 16 2014, 08:52 PM)
MJ7 latest. dry.gif
No rooting then... unless get Knox'ed blink.gif
TSantt00
post Jan 16 2014, 08:56 PM

RescuE
10,873 posts

QUOTE(waveweaver @ Jan 16 2014, 08:55 PM)
No rooting then... unless get Knox'ed blink.gif
I already rooted on kitkat. Knox long gone. Nice to have CWM and doing backup.
waveweaver
post Jan 16 2014, 08:59 PM

★★Android & Apple★★
13,192 posts

QUOTE(joytest @ Jan 16 2014, 08:53 PM)

Ooo..now can even flash the bootloader.
Optional of coz. hmm.gif
waveweaver
post Jan 16 2014, 09:01 PM

★★Android & Apple★★
13,192 posts

QUOTE(antt00 @ Jan 16 2014, 08:56 PM)
I already rooted on kitkat. Knox long gone. Nice to have CWM and doing backup.
When SC flash new firmware...they reset the Knoxy to 0x0..right..?
eszol
post Jan 16 2014, 09:02 PM

rules aren't always right
1,252 posts

Upgrading between Android revisions
It is not uncommon that if the you're upgrading to a new firmware with a new Android version that you need to flash bootloaders, trustzone, etc. before the firmware will boot. Mobile ODIN does not flash those partitions, so you need desktop ODIN for that.

A feature has been added to boot into download mode after the Mobile ODIN flash. You can use this to flash the new firmware (with EverRoot enabled), follow by a boot to download mode to flash a modified package with only the bootloaders (and trustzone and such, but not system), followed by a reboot to recovery to apply the CSC, finally followed by the full Android boot.

That way you can upgrade Android versions and bootloaders while staying rooted. Providing the new Android version doesn't actually break the included root, of course.

Yay! Can get KitKat with root icon_idea.gif
TSantt00
post Jan 16 2014, 09:05 PM

RescuE
10,873 posts

QUOTE(waveweaver @ Jan 16 2014, 09:01 PM)
When SC flash new firmware...they reset the Knoxy to 0x0..right..?
The had to change the whole board cos mine is unrecoverable so it would be knox 0x0

Plus even if they recover my board my knox had not been tripped also. tongue.gif
waveweaver
post Jan 16 2014, 09:17 PM

★★Android & Apple★★
13,192 posts

QUOTE(eszol @ Jan 16 2014, 09:02 PM)
Yay! Can get KitKat with root  icon_idea.gif
You need to have a separate bootloader file thou...hmm.gif
And the TriangleAway works perfectly now. Both my status is official with zero count brows.gif
benny888
post Jan 16 2014, 09:19 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

Pocketnow.com Michael Fisher comments on the Note 3 after 4 months :

waveweaver
post Jan 16 2014, 09:19 PM

★★Android & Apple★★
13,192 posts

QUOTE(antt00 @ Jan 16 2014, 09:05 PM)
The had to change the whole board cos mine is unrecoverable so it would be knox 0x0

Plus even if they recover my board my knox had not been tripped also.  tongue.gif
Oh ya..I forgot. Your phone goes hard bricked..!!
eszol
post Jan 16 2014, 09:28 PM

rules aren't always right
1,252 posts

QUOTE(waveweaver @ Jan 16 2014, 09:17 PM)
You need to have a separate bootloader file thou...hmm.gif
And the TriangleAway works perfectly now. Both my status is official with zero count brows.gif
am not flashing KitKat in near future, need to visit sc to change display and button first, always no stock there

later if flash KitKat kenot revert very sien
TSantt00
post Jan 16 2014, 09:28 PM

RescuE
10,873 posts

QUOTE(eszol @ Jan 16 2014, 09:02 PM)
Yay! Can get KitKat with root  icon_idea.gif
You can try but bootloader is something very tricky. May end up like me and solo total hard brick. tongue.gif Plus if with new bootloader flashed probably you knox will remain 0x0 only until factory reset or flashing the next rom.
Andrewtst
post Jan 16 2014, 09:29 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,779 posts

Great! Finally it fixed external SD card reading as well.

127 Pages « < 24 25 26 27 28 > » Top

0.0285sec    0.13    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 02:59 AM