4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

LYN - Subaru AWD (xv/forester) Owners Discussion, *plan to get subaru? ask the owners!*

kevin613
post Nov 5 2014, 05:23 PM

2,236 posts

New subaru owner reporting in, driving an 2009 impreza sedan 2.0rs manual.
anyone knows where to duplicate the remote key for subaru at reasonable price?
asked at a few shops, and all are either shaking their head and say "cannot do", or quoting 4 digits price..
kevin613
post Nov 6 2014, 10:00 AM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(sleepwalker @ Nov 6 2014, 09:02 AM)
Who did you ask to get this done? Try to look for AE and see if they know anybody who can do it cheaper.
hmm.. i've tried asking a few random shops in Kajang and KL area when i happen to walk past, and none of them seems to have any idea..

if it's really 4 figure cost, then i'll rather just go back to Motor Image SG to have it done.. they quoted me S$420 for a new remote key + reprogramming my ECU to disable the lost key.

am also considering to just forgo the OEM whole remote, and go with 3rd party security like viper systems, which may cost around the same price.. any idea?

This post has been edited by kevin613: Nov 6 2014, 10:04 AM
kevin613
post Nov 6 2014, 10:07 AM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(sleepwalker @ Nov 6 2014, 10:04 AM)
Motor Image MY can't help? They'd most probably get from Motor Image SG too.
I'm based in SG, and the car is sold by Motor Image SG.. tongue.gif
just trying my luck to see if there's any cheaper alternative in malaysia..
kevin613
post Nov 6 2014, 10:30 AM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(sleepwalker @ Nov 6 2014, 10:12 AM)
Then MI SG would be your best bet. That's one of the bad thing about having OEM imobilisers. Anything wrong and it's back to manufacturer.
double edge sword..
it also means it'll be harder to bypass, should the thief chose to target your car.. biggrin.gif
kevin613
post Nov 18 2014, 09:04 AM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(religionx @ Nov 18 2014, 02:20 AM)
is this real? can anyone clarify this?

thank you.
which part? the bank loan or the boxer sound?

if you're talking about the boxer sound, there's a good writeup here..

http://www.subaruclubsg.com/topic/27273-ex...pbopbopupdated/
kevin613
post Nov 20 2014, 09:59 AM

2,236 posts

dunno bout u guys, but i do feel a difference when i pump 98 in SG(most of the time), vs 97 in MY(when i travel back to MY)... no doubt that the engine can handle both and retard/advance the ignition timing accordingly when lower RON petrol are used, please correct me if i'm wrong, but i think the retardation happens faster than advancement when u switch petrols, so if you've been pumping 95 all along, and suddenly change to 97 for 1 tank, u may not feel the difference... but if u've been pumping 97 all along, and suddenly change to 95, u'll feel the hit..

besides, the pro-scooby workshop boss that i sent my car for servicing have adviced me to stick with 98, so i'll heed his advice..

This post has been edited by kevin613: Nov 20 2014, 10:44 AM
kevin613
post Dec 21 2014, 09:56 PM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(Beebeej @ Dec 21 2014, 04:54 PM)
Guys ... take a drive up to Genting n feel the AWD difference !! its awesome !!
i felt that the handling goodness of subarus are contributed more by the low centre gravity of the boxer instead of AWD, at least not in the XV, nor the plain jane impreza that i'm driving, as none of these have any LSD in the front nor rear diffs, which should help further in cornering. The WRX can handle better as it has LSD at the back, and STi have it in both front and rear diffs.
kevin613
post Dec 21 2014, 10:08 PM

2,236 posts

read more about the variance about Subaru's Symmetrical AWD systems here:

http://www.cnet.com/news/not-every-subaru-...-created-equal/

and here:

http://www.awdwiki.com/images/SubaruSymmetricalAWD2.doc
kevin613
post Jan 22 2015, 09:53 AM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(jianxi @ Jan 22 2015, 09:20 AM)
Maybe.., i not sure wat they did, as long as problem solve..haha..but turns out the ground sound become louder especially cruise at 100km/h & above sad.gif , maybe due to the ground space... anyway now hunting for new tires.. any bros here got good recommendation? of coz those "peng-leng-zeng" 1  biggrin.gif
i found this "Rovelo Sport A1" it seem very affordable compare to others...
probably because windnoise is now lower, so you start noticing the road noise... common symptom of sound proofing only 1 part, which in the end becomes a never-ending game.. sound proofed the roof, then hear road noise, sound proof the floor the hear engine noise, sound proof the hood, then hear traffic noise.. hahaha..

in the end, the most effective way is buy earbud.. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by kevin613: Jan 22 2015, 09:54 AM
kevin613
post Jan 22 2015, 01:03 PM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(pai3355 @ Jan 22 2015, 11:11 AM)
i need earbud at home so cant hear any sound from Home Minister tongue.gif
better make sure that your "home" minister is not reading this forum, or she's gonna plug a mic to your earbud, so you can hear nothing except her voice... hahaha
kevin613
post Jan 30 2015, 12:43 PM

2,236 posts

i kenot join...
kevin613
post Feb 13 2015, 05:19 PM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(anykti @ Feb 13 2015, 05:11 PM)
interested in the thule box, may i know how much did you got it for?
and is it model specific, as in will it work for other models of cars?
kevin613
post Feb 22 2015, 10:06 PM

2,236 posts

I've visited Howie in October last year to install viper security system. Price might be on the high side, but his workmanship is top notch, very very tidy work.
kevin613
post Mar 10 2015, 10:24 AM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(sleepwalker @ Mar 10 2015, 10:17 AM)
Unfortunately OEM Performance Upgrades are now becoming a bodykit upgrades instead and STi falling victim to the latest marketing gimmick. STi used to stand for real performance upgrade but now they slap on a few pieces of bodykit on the XV and call it STi. I don't mind if they are like BMW can call it sports package but the STi moniker means a lot more than just bodykit.

Is it worth the bodykit? Only need to consider 2 things...  the kit is not available outside yet and you have to purchase it with the car and the other thing is whether you like it or not. It's still a huge premium to pay.

Edit: Also note that these kind of promotions are sometimes limited to the dealer only. You might not be able to get the same price across the board for all dealers.
Exactly what I felt, but afraid it might offend those that bought the sti version.. Lol.
Whatever special edition, when reach our shore, becomes bodykit upgrade only. Look fast, but cannot go faster.
kevin613
post Mar 16 2015, 11:08 AM

2,236 posts

the stock Subaru branded HU aren't fantastic(they're clarions, btw), i'm using one.. the only good ones i know are those in previous legacy, where they came preinstalled with McIntosh ICE.

This post has been edited by kevin613: Mar 16 2015, 11:10 AM
kevin613
post Mar 23 2015, 02:27 PM

2,236 posts

by logic should be cheaper after GST kicks in, but whether the tax savings will be passed down to end consumer or not is still a big question mark.
tax saving for manufacturer, distributor, reseller may not necessarily translate to lower selling price. it could also be used to fatten their margin.

kevin613
post Mar 28 2015, 11:04 AM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(Cynox @ Mar 28 2015, 10:21 AM)
Just sent my XV for 20k service last Saturday at JB SC.  The WRX STI display is no longer there, dun know grab by which lucky guy.

All 3 version of XV is on display and I notice the small square hole in the rear bumper of the Sports and Premium version has the red colour (reflector or another light?) like the overseas version.  Is it a reflector or a fourth brake light or something else?  Eager to fix it as adding a red colour thingy on the rear of my white bumper should be quite nice.  biggrin.gif
Rear fog lamp?
kevin613
post Mar 28 2015, 11:51 AM

2,236 posts

Is it in the middle or on the sides?
kevin613
post Apr 1 2015, 12:36 PM

2,236 posts

BRZ STi?

can see it parked beside the orange WRX STi at the upcoming New York Auto Show