Income Tax Issues v3, Anything related to Personal Income Tax

SUSDavid83
post Feb 6 2014, 09:24 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(penangmee @ Feb 6 2014, 08:23 PM)
BIK is NOT the same as allowance. Monthly bills paid by employer is considered BIK. Allowances are monies (cash) paid to you, it can be used for any reason-pay bills, buy char koay teow etc . To emphasis again Telefon/transport allowances are forms of cash allowances
Fixed allowance in the form of cash should be considered as part of income and hence, it's taxable.

Fixed allowance such as OT allowance, shift allowance, off site allowance and etc.
nevland
post Feb 11 2014, 10:19 AM

1,055 posts

http://www.thestar.com.my/News/Nation/2014...lan-starts-now/

good read for final tax..
samantha_yeanmee
post Feb 12 2014, 08:52 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(samantha_yeanmee @ Feb 3 2014, 07:20 PM)
Hi all,

I am currently doing some consultation work and receive income from a Singapore company (I am based in Malaysia).

My question is, can I claim the Capital Allowance for my "business income" although I did not set up a company?

What are others deductible expenses? e.g. rental, petrol, internet, utilities, car insurance & road tax, car repair?

Many thanks for your help biggrin.gif
Hi Sifus,

All thoughts to share? icon_question.gif
ronnie
post Feb 13 2014, 07:58 AM

Not enough stars
21,311 posts

These few days the Borang TP1 has been in limelight... Ensure you get your HR to process the TP1 as soon as possible, in order not to "overpay" your Monthly Tax Deduction (MTD/PCB)
nevland
post Feb 14 2014, 10:17 AM

1,055 posts

QUOTE(samantha_yeanmee @ Feb 12 2014, 08:52 PM)
Hi Sifus,

All thoughts to share?  icon_question.gif
it's better you set up a sole proprietorship, than maintain a proper accounting records. Then you can claim on any expenses related to discharging your consultation work.
the terms used in Income Tax Act is "wholly and exclusively" incurred in producing the income.
samantha_yeanmee
post Feb 14 2014, 12:43 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(nevland @ Feb 14 2014, 10:17 AM)
it's better you set up a sole proprietorship, than maintain a proper accounting records. Then you can claim on any expenses related to discharging your consultation work.
the terms used in Income Tax Act is "wholly and exclusively" incurred in producing the income.
Thanks for guidance notworthy.gif
jobok
post Feb 15 2014, 09:28 PM

188 posts

if claim like mileage....etc

appear in the payslip....

is it have to pay tax also?
wil-i-am
post Feb 16 2014, 11:24 PM

10,001 posts

QUOTE(jobok @ Feb 15 2014, 09:28 PM)

Is it stated in yo EA Form?
jobok
post Feb 17 2014, 12:06 AM

188 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Feb 16 2014, 11:24 PM)
Is it stated in yo EA Form?
not sure....

coz this is my 1st time at this company
ronnie
post Feb 18 2014, 12:05 AM

Not enough stars
21,311 posts

QUOTE(jobok @ Feb 15 2014, 09:28 PM)

Mileage claims shouldn't be taxable.... if it is, you better talk to your HR Dept.
jasmineh2y
post Feb 18 2014, 12:51 PM

Nothing
1,104 posts

e-filing for 2013 is not ready yet...
jayk8
post Feb 18 2014, 03:20 PM

108 posts

when is the e-filing for 2013 started ?
SUSDavid83
post Feb 18 2014, 07:08 PM

52,874 posts

1st March 2014 to 30th April 2014
tzxsean
post Feb 18 2014, 11:44 PM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

QUOTE(samantha_yeanmee @ Feb 14 2014, 12:43 PM)
Thanks for guidance  notworthy.gif
sometimes like petrol not wholly and exclusively for work

can apportion it into 1/3 for private and 2/3 for business

depending on ur ratio

and you must be able to prove it
samantha_yeanmee
post Feb 19 2014, 08:32 AM

57 posts

QUOTE(tzxsean @ Feb 18 2014, 11:44 PM)
sometimes like petrol not wholly and exclusively for work

can apportion it into 1/3 for private and 2/3 for business

depending on ur ratio

and you must be able to prove it
How to prove it? smile.gif
klthor
post Feb 19 2014, 03:46 PM

5,469 posts

QUOTE(samantha_yeanmee @ Feb 19 2014, 08:32 AM)
1/3 is the norm i guess, this 1 u dun have to prove the ration. if you wanna apportion 100% to business use only, then u have to prove it.
tzxsean
post Feb 19 2014, 09:01 PM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

QUOTE(samantha_yeanmee @ Feb 19 2014, 08:32 AM)
documentation and any justification that you can make

in case of audit by the IRB
LostAndFound
post Feb 20 2014, 07:45 AM

6,265 posts

Question - the RM5k deductible for parent's medical expenses can it be used for buying prescription medication (e.g. those for cholesterol etc)? How to prove (i.e. what evidence should I file away)?
SUSDavid83
post Feb 20 2014, 09:08 AM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(LostAndFound @ Feb 20 2014, 07:45 AM)
Question - the RM5k deductible for parent's medical expenses can it be used for buying prescription medication (e.g. those for cholesterol etc)? How to prove (i.e. what evidence should I file away)?
You have to book keeping the receipts.

This post has been edited by David83: Feb 20 2014, 09:08 AM
penangmee
post Feb 20 2014, 09:57 PM

633 posts

QUOTE(LostAndFound @ Feb 20 2014, 07:45 AM)
Receipts & doctor's precription

124 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0271sec    0.33    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 05:29 PM