Income Tax Issues v3, Anything related to Personal Income Tax

LostAndFound
post Jan 11 2014, 10:32 AM

6,264 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Jan 11 2014, 09:23 AM)
Which clause you think it can be fit?
I think he asking whether buying books in USD (example Amazon) can.
LostAndFound
post Jan 15 2014, 09:17 PM

6,264 posts

QUOTE(kcp3333 @ Jan 14 2014, 10:48 PM)
I got the stupid question here.

I recently get the penalty from LHDM for late submission. They send me the assessment forms and ask me to paid in 4 separate installments otherwise court action will be taken.

If I choice to ignore it, then what will happen? They won't take action for small amount right?

I didn't paid my car saman also nothing to me. tongue.gif

Maybe LHDM is different. Please share your view.
Why take the risk? If someone bad mood then you get charged 100% more for tax, worth it?

Last time that happened to me (non-declaration because not working a few years while studying) I just went to their office to rayu and all settled without paying anything. Rather than ignore...
LostAndFound
post Jan 16 2014, 10:32 AM

6,264 posts

QUOTE(kcp3333 @ Jan 16 2014, 09:52 AM)
1) The amount comes up to around RM800.00. Is the pain in the ass. I didn’t commit any crime, why penalise me so much to this crony’s government?
No comment on the politics, but submitting late still has penalty. Its considered a form of tax evasion. Its not a crime, that's why no jail time.

2) I also read it somewhere in the forum that someone go there to rayu his penalty but end up paying additional taxes because they checked back his/ her previous years records and found out additional discrepancies in his/her previous year tax return. That’s why I think twice first before going to LHDM.
Are there issues with the earlier years for you? If so then better just to pay up. Doesn't mean you won't be audited later though.

3) Are you sure they can charge 100% penalty to us? I tot they have the guideline to follow. Cannot simply hentam one right?
They have. Have you read it? I don't have the details, but when I first started paying income tax I read through the laws and regulations I recall basically any false/late declaration will be charged at 100% minimum.

Basically you are saying 'don't pay' as if they'll forget about it. This is LHDN not DBKL or whatever. They won't forget, and they can come after you any time unless you can leave the country. Go and settle, or go and rayu. Don't ignore.
LostAndFound
post Jan 16 2014, 12:52 PM

6,264 posts

QUOTE(kcp3333 @ Jan 16 2014, 10:43 AM)
Thanks for sharing.

By chance you worked for LHDM or government's Tax related Department?
No, if I working there sure people curse me one =)
LostAndFound
post Jan 20 2014, 04:55 PM

6,264 posts

QUOTE(wrb7878 @ Jan 20 2014, 03:34 PM)
Hi All,

Just want to check have any 1 here able to deduct the amt from EA form under salary income? Eg EA state salary income is 100K.

Then you only fill 90K in BE form?
A few of my friend have do this, deduct 10K from EA as part of the expenses related to work(eg petrol/toll from home to office). and they also check and confirm with income tax officer on this matter, they no problem.

Any ideas?
Of course everyone will deduct, but there's specific categories and comes with proof. Petrol/toll can deduct if its allowances given by your company.
LostAndFound
post Jan 20 2014, 05:09 PM

6,264 posts

QUOTE(wrb7878 @ Jan 20 2014, 05:00 PM)
Yea i understand the company allowance.
But he deduct because he need to spend own pocket of money to come to work..so i dont think this is allow rite?
To my understanding no.

Most of us spend our own money to come to work, so if this is allowed sure we all want to claim. But cannot simply deduct, everything must be justified and according to various regulations.
LostAndFound
post Feb 5 2014, 10:55 AM

6,264 posts

QUOTE(zeese @ Feb 5 2014, 10:41 AM)
Hi!
If husband/wife file income tax separately..  i believe husband can get a tax relief for wife (RM3K).

As for the wife, when she files her own income tax, can she also get the Rm3k tax relief for having a husband?
If separately there's no category for tax relief from having spouse. It used to be (think still is) RM8k, but only if file jointly.
LostAndFound
post Feb 20 2014, 07:45 AM

6,264 posts

Question - the RM5k deductible for parent's medical expenses can it be used for buying prescription medication (e.g. those for cholesterol etc)? How to prove (i.e. what evidence should I file away)?
LostAndFound
post Feb 22 2014, 09:53 AM

6,264 posts

QUOTE(penangmee @ Feb 20 2014, 09:57 PM)
Receipts & doctor's precription
Thanks, that makes sense then.
LostAndFound
post Mar 1 2014, 09:50 AM

6,264 posts

EA form came di, just logged in to e-filing.

My EA form jumlah potongan doesn't match (is lower than) the amount which is shown on e-filing (which is calculated by LHDN). Why the discrepency? I don't have my individual payslips with me to doublecheck, but will do so Monday.
LostAndFound
post Mar 9 2014, 09:20 PM

6,264 posts

QUOTE(royalz @ Mar 9 2014, 08:31 PM)
Guys ..if I had submitted online e-filing and realised I missed out something. Any way I can re-submit or modify? thanks

also..for all the tax deduction or tax relief..we do not have to upload a scan copy of the receipt? how can they verify if its true then? sorry newbie here thanks
They don't verify now, but later on you may randomly kena audited, then they'll just ask you to provide proof.

Meaning there's a chance if you never get audited that you can get away with lying.

But check the rules on what happens if you're caught eh, not worth it.
LostAndFound
post Mar 15 2014, 11:22 PM

6,264 posts

QUOTE(kevinlmw @ Mar 15 2014, 10:14 PM)
any sifu here willing to enlighten me? i having some trouble

1.this 2 look same to me, is there any diferent?
2.does this 2nd and 6th row applies to me as a child if i spend for my disabled mom? or just meant only for my dad since it's for my mom.

2nd row
Perbelanjaan rawatan perubatan, keperluan khas dan penjaga untuk ibu bapa (keadaan kesihatan disahkan oleh pengamal perubatan)
Medical treatment, special needs and carer expenses for parents (certified by medical practitioner)

6th row
Perbelanjaan perubatan bagi penyakit yang sukar diubati atas diri sendiri, suami/isteri atau anak
Medical expenses on serious diseases for self, spouse or child

thanks for help.
One is for parents, one is for self, spouse, and child.

If you spend for mom you claim.

Your dad also can claim for mom. But double claim same receipt is not allowed.
LostAndFound
post Mar 17 2014, 11:38 AM

6,264 posts

QUOTE(Puteih @ Mar 17 2014, 10:22 AM)
Hi guys, need advice. Do I need to declare my income tax even if my monthly salary is <2k ?If I'm not mistaken I read somewhere that you need to earn at least 2.5k then only you're taxable.

And do I need to request EA form from my company?

Sorry for the noob questions, still new in this world tongue.gif
Yes
LostAndFound
post Mar 20 2014, 04:34 PM

6,264 posts

QUOTE(7up @ Mar 20 2014, 03:41 PM)
not sure if this has been asked before. I have been working overseas since 2013. So i have no malaysian income for 2013. do I still need to submit anything?

If my malaysian income is zero, can I still claim rebate for anything?
Yes, just logon and submit 0 income. If a few years you never submit they'll investigate you, then you have to go over to their office to rayu (happened to me while doing post-grad studies), waste time only.

No point to claim rebate as taxable income won't ever go lower than 0 (so you won't get free money).
LostAndFound
post Mar 24 2014, 07:21 AM

6,264 posts

QUOTE(pisces88 @ Mar 24 2014, 12:29 AM)
lets say a sole proprietorship gives a incentive in form of item like laptop , tablet or watch (non-cash item), is it deductible? if yes, can file under which part of borang B? and does that employee need declare that item in his tax?
No cash value means you don't get taxed for it. How to deduct some more?
LostAndFound
post Mar 24 2014, 01:55 PM

6,264 posts

QUOTE(jonjie @ Mar 24 2014, 12:24 PM)
"Kalau pembayar menggunakan e-filing, kami akan memproses bayaran balik dalam tempoh 30 hari. Sebenarnya kami boleh memproses dalam masa satu hari sahaja. Tempoh 30 hari hanya sebagai petunjuk, iaitu selewat-lewatnya 30 hari," katanya.

Source: http://www.bernama.com/bernama/state_news/...=1021240&cat=ut

So it's at least 30 days now instead of 14 business days in the past.
'Selewat-lewatnya 30 hari' means worst case scenario of at most 30 days, why you translate become at least 30 days?
LostAndFound
post Mar 27 2014, 07:45 AM

6,264 posts

QUOTE(pisces88 @ Mar 26 2014, 01:18 PM)
I'm on basic + commission scheme. I just need to convert the commission to allowance, then I can save on tax and won't affect my bonus smile.gif

Company also save on epf. Win-win situation.
If company save on EPF meaning you're getting less money.... EPF is your money, and gets higher interest than any bank account savings/FD you have.
LostAndFound
post Mar 27 2014, 03:22 PM

6,264 posts

QUOTE(pisces88 @ Mar 27 2014, 10:53 AM)
Epf 10+%

My tax 20+%

Might as well don't want the epf blush.gif
Ah, big earner and kiam siap company. My company's EPF is 17% =p and my tax not yet reach 20+.
LostAndFound
post Apr 8 2014, 12:26 PM

6,264 posts

Submitted 21st March, also got today
LostAndFound
post Apr 22 2014, 08:24 AM

6,264 posts

QUOTE(aylwyn paul @ Apr 22 2014, 08:22 AM)
once you decide the mode of claim of chlid relief . you apply consistenly
You mean consistently year-on-year or that within same year cannot both claim same child?

0.0501sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 10:11 PM