Fiio X5 review, earfisensation.blogspot.com

dokidoki
post Jan 27 2014, 12:00 PM

I am not War machine~
4,630 posts

QUOTE(un_id @ Jan 27 2014, 11:51 AM)
aiya, doesn't make sense la if SQ like the XZ phones.. my XZU sounds not good leh.. sad.gif for a DAP priced almost RM3k, don't tell me the SQ is just mediocre, Sony!..  vmad.gif

will have to auditioned it first see how
u try audition X5 first..then u audition xz1~ smile.gif
un_id
post Jan 27 2014, 12:06 PM

music is soul's food
7,106 posts

QUOTE(dokidoki @ Jan 27 2014, 12:00 PM)
u try audition X5 first..then u audition xz1~ smile.gif
ya ya, wonder where can find a loaner unit laugh.gif
dokidoki
post Jan 27 2014, 02:09 PM

I am not War machine~
4,630 posts

QUOTE(un_id @ Jan 27 2014, 12:06 PM)
ya ya, wonder where can find a loaner unit  laugh.gif
for msia..your best bet is to ask E1...or the KL/Selanagor reviewer Lespectraal....
phillip88
post Jan 27 2014, 02:19 PM

Sound of Silence
1,062 posts

yes, IINM ZX1 got line out.

http://www.amazon.com/FiiO-L5-Line-Cable-W...n/dp/B003UCI2CI

http://www.fiio.com.cn/products/index.aspx...enuID=105026015

dokidoki
post Jan 27 2014, 02:25 PM

I am not War machine~
4,630 posts

QUOTE(phillip88 @ Jan 27 2014, 02:19 PM)
only particular brand have it..cannot get the custom 3.5 to 3.5 ... sad.gif
phillip88
post Jan 27 2014, 02:44 PM

Sound of Silence
1,062 posts

Correct too ... Not as flexible as iPod LOD...
or i think got la. many ppl mod custom LOD for it... Just that it's full set AFAIK. Not the adapter only.
Enilyks34
post Jan 27 2014, 04:34 PM

263 posts

When this launches in March/April I guess stocks would be very limited considering all the hype and anticipation the consumer mass are having now.

Normally which LYN seller would bring in FiiO products first? Planning to pay a deposit first to secure my unit. Or am I being paranoid about the whole limited X5 units thingy?
dokidoki
post Jan 27 2014, 04:45 PM

I am not War machine~
4,630 posts

QUOTE(Enilyks34 @ Jan 27 2014, 04:34 PM)
When this launches in March/April I guess stocks would be very limited considering all the hype and anticipation the consumer mass are having now.

Normally which LYN seller would bring in FiiO products first? Planning to pay a deposit first to secure my unit. Or am I being paranoid about the whole limited X5 units thingy?
so far i only know E1 personal audio will bring in for MY and SG..
TSnoobandroid
post Jan 27 2014, 04:46 PM

Audiophile
11,836 posts

QUOTE(Enilyks34 @ Jan 27 2014, 04:34 PM)

first batch is always scarce, wait for few batches and supplies will be sufficient
jchue73
post Jan 27 2014, 06:07 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(un_id @ Jan 27 2014, 08:01 AM)
Below 2.5k I can consider. 2.5k my cut off limit.. If below 2k confirm buy laugh.gif hope Sony will produce storage vvariants, not just 128gb
I think it's fixed at 128GB.

BTW, how to be less than 2k when overseas is already selling around 2.3k?

QUOTE(un_id @ Jan 27 2014, 11:43 AM)
who need lineout if the internal amp is really very good as what Sony claimed... to me, the whole point of getting an audiophile grade DAP is to avoid clinging another bulky external amp, to be ultra portable.. thus why i sold off my X3, due to i still use an amp with it.. do you need more than 128gb storage? wow, my music library is less than 100gb only (not includes the crap mp3s la)
If your collection is mainly MP3s, the ZX-1 is a little overkill and will sound just marginally better than say a DX50.

Anyway, users claim that the ZX-1 is best paired with the PHA-2.

QUOTE(un_id @ Jan 27 2014, 11:51 AM)
aiya, doesn't make sense la if SQ like the XZ phones.. my XZU sounds not good leh.. sad.gif for a DAP priced almost RM3k, don't tell me the SQ is just mediocre, Sony!..  vmad.gif

will have to auditioned it first see how
From user feedbacks, a lot of people prefer the ZX-1 better than the AK120.

QUOTE(phillip88 @ Jan 27 2014, 02:44 PM)
Correct too ... Not as flexible as iPod LOD...
or i think got la. many ppl mod custom LOD for it... Just that it's full set AFAIK. Not the adapter only.
Yup. You don't see a lot of custom WMPort cables around.
un_id
post Jan 27 2014, 06:55 PM

music is soul's food
7,106 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Jan 27 2014, 06:07 PM)
I think it's fixed at 128GB.

BTW, how to be less than 2k when overseas is already selling around 2.3k?
If your collection is mainly MP3s, the ZX-1 is a little overkill and will sound just marginally better than say a DX50.

Anyway, users claim that the ZX-1 is best paired with the PHA-2.
From user feedbacks, a lot of people prefer the ZX-1 better than the AK120.
Yup. You don't see a lot of custom WMPort cables around.
What's the point of having high end DAP but stuff in crap MP3s.. laugh.gif My fav collection is mostly FLAC or at least 320p.. That's just below 100gb only. Songs that I frequently listened to enough to aaccommodate 64gb SDcard.. Other than that just listened on desktop la.. Never tried AK120, but if user claimed that ZX1 is better, i guess tthat's pretty promising
jchue73
post Jan 27 2014, 07:03 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(un_id @ Jan 27 2014, 06:55 PM)
What's the point of having high end DAP but stuff in crap MP3s.. laugh.gif My fav collection is mostly FLAC or at least 320p.. That's just below 100gb only. Songs that I frequently listened to enough to aaccommodate 64gb SDcard..  Other than that just listened on desktop la.. Never tried AK120, but if user claimed that ZX1 is better, i guess tthat's pretty promising
If you're gonna play FLAC, then ok lah.

For me, I'm actually undecided. AK120 is out of reach. I'm looking more into AK100 Mk2. I'm tempted with the ZX-1. I like the sleek metal design and the fact that it runs Android but it's still expensive and not to mention a little more bulky than the AK100 / AK120. If I'm gonna use an amp, it's only limited to their PHA-2. sad.gif
Lego Warfare
post Jan 27 2014, 07:23 PM

4,676 posts

QUOTE(un_id @ Jan 27 2014, 06:55 PM)
What's the point of having high end DAP but stuff in crap MP3s.. laugh.gif My fav collection is mostly FLAC or at least 320p.. That's just below 100gb only. Songs that I frequently listened to enough to aaccommodate 64gb SDcard..  Other than that just listened on desktop la.. Never tried AK120, but if user claimed that ZX1 is better, i guess tthat's pretty promising
QUOTE(jchue73 @ Jan 27 2014, 07:03 PM)
If you're gonna play FLAC, then ok lah.

For me, I'm actually undecided. AK120 is out of reach. I'm looking more into AK100 Mk2. I'm tempted with the ZX-1. I like the sleek metal design and the fact that it runs Android but it's still expensive and not to mention a little more bulky than the AK100 / AK120. If I'm gonna use an amp, it's only limited to their PHA-2.  sad.gif
Honestly speaking most of the the head-fiers are very biased towards AK due to their pricing. So best if you decide for yourselves wink.gif
There are a few who said the F886 is sonically similar to ZX1, so go figure. I've tested the F886, and i'm sure you can too if you visit some Sony Centres. And to me there wasn't anything special in the SQ. Mind you this was in a shopping mall using their stock sample songs, so my impression doesn't count. Would be glad to try it again with my own stuffs in a quieter environment. However the UI is very very nice, that is the one thing which was quite tempting =P

*Most have commented on the weak amp in ZX1, so if you're planning to drive harder to drive cans, prepare to get an amp.

Btw, with Wifi capability internal storage isn't much of an issue if you have apps/devices which allows you remote streaming from home. (providing you have wifi)
This gives you almost unlimited storage depending on how many hard disks you have =D

ClieOS
post Jan 27 2014, 08:44 PM

In-Ear Addict
1,101 posts

I always wonder what is it so special about ZX1, or even F886 that make people go out and buy them? I mean the output power is comparable to Clip+ and 24/192 in itself isn't anything new. Touch screen is nice but I already have my smartphone. For the huge price tags they don't really do anything out of the ordinary. If I were to spend that much money, I would have expect at least a solid amp section to begin with. Well, that's pretty much the same rant I have with AK100. Beside sleekness, I see very little value in it.
dokidoki
post Jan 27 2014, 09:00 PM

I am not War machine~
4,630 posts

QUOTE(Lego Warfare @ Jan 27 2014, 07:23 PM)
Honestly speaking most of the the head-fiers are very biased towards AK due to their pricing. So best if you decide for yourselves wink.gif
There are a few who said the F886 is sonically similar to ZX1, so go figure. I've tested the F886, and i'm sure you can too if you visit some Sony Centres. And to me there wasn't anything special in the SQ. Mind you this was in a shopping mall using their stock sample songs, so my impression doesn't count. Would be glad to try it again with my own stuffs in a quieter environment. However the UI is very very nice, that is the one thing which was quite tempting =P

*Most have commented on the weak amp in ZX1, so if you're planning to drive harder to drive cans, prepare to get an amp.

Btw, with Wifi capability internal storage isn't much of an issue if you have apps/devices which allows you remote streaming from home. (providing you have wifi)
This gives you almost unlimited storage depending on how many hard disks you have =D
have you own any recent sony hp?

for me..i am not 'wow' by xz1 interface as it seen like my sony xz hp interface..haha
un_id
post Jan 27 2014, 09:51 PM

music is soul's food
7,106 posts

QUOTE(ClieOS @ Jan 27 2014, 08:44 PM)
I always wonder what is it so special about ZX1, or even F886 that make people go out and buy them? I mean the output power is comparable to Clip+ and 24/192 in itself isn't anything new. Touch screen is nice but I already have my smartphone. For the huge price tags they don't really do anything out of the ordinary. If I were to spend that much money, I would have expect at least a solid amp section to begin with. Well, that's pretty much the same rant I have with AK100. Beside sleekness, I see very little value in it.
speaking of that, to me, main reason why i keep lurking for audiophile DAP, due to i want to possibly eliminate DAP+clinging interconnect+amp combination.. but hearing your rant, should we conclude that, for the time being, we still can't escape from a portable amp? well, honestly, i never try own a super expensive DAP such as the AK100/120 or C4 etc.. actually my first bet to audiophile DAP was the X3, and thats driven by many praises from what i read in forums.. but in reality, the X3 is far from capable to feed my portable music need (well i thought it could if i want to use it just for a move or very casual, but recently mu lust on music always want something "acceptable" to my ears, even for casual usage.. maybe i'm quite emotional recently.. lol).... in the end, still a Vestamp attached to it.. yeah i do agree, sleekness/outlook do attracts me, but at the end of the day, the sounds that matters most.. if i were to buy ZX1 just yet again to pair it with another amp, then i rather stick with my current ipod+porta tube set up..
ClieOS
post Jan 27 2014, 10:26 PM

In-Ear Addict
1,101 posts

QUOTE(un_id @ Jan 27 2014, 09:51 PM)
speaking of that, to me, main reason why i keep lurking for audiophile DAP, due to i want to possibly eliminate DAP+clinging interconnect+amp combination.. but hearing your rant, should we conclude that, for the time being, we still can't escape from a portable amp? well, honestly, i never try own a super expensive DAP such as the AK100/120 or C4 etc.. actually my first bet to audiophile DAP was the X3, and thats driven by many praises from what i read in forums.. but in reality, the X3 is far from capable to feed my portable music need (well i thought it could if i want to use it just for a move or very casual, but recently mu lust on music always want something "acceptable" to my ears, even for casual usage.. maybe i'm quite emotional recently.. lol).... in the end, still a Vestamp attached to it.. yeah i do agree, sleekness/outlook do attracts me, but at the end of the day, the sounds that matters most.. if i were to buy ZX1 just yet again to pair it with another amp, then i rather stick with my current ipod+porta tube set up..
X3 is probably one of the most power DAP there is (well, beside X5 anyway), but it does suffer from the warm sound. I reckon FiiO has gotten X5 to a very ideal place. It is totally neutral and it is more powerful than most portable amp. Of course it still won't drive 600 ohm headphone very well but I don't think there ain't that many people who carry those headphone for portable use any way. I was listening to X5 pairing with E12DIY yesterday and concluded that the benefit of carrying an extra amp is pretty much not there. As mush as I love the E12DIY (I have the MUSES02 in it), X5 is just as capable. It is one of the rare occasion where you have a DAP with good output, excellent SQ and yet doesn't cost an arm and leg. Color me impressed. Now why can't companies that charge double / triple the price design the some thing similar? I am not asking ZX-1 to be as powerful as an X5, but at least gives it a decent 50~100mW output which would have warranted the price tag
TSnoobandroid
post Jan 27 2014, 10:28 PM

Audiophile
11,836 posts

QUOTE(ClieOS @ Jan 27 2014, 10:26 PM)
X3 is probably one of the most power DAP there is (well, beside X5 anyway), but it does suffer from the warm sound. I reckon FiiO has gotten X5 to a very ideal place. It is totally neutral and it is more powerful than most portable amp. Of course it still won't drive 600 ohm headphone very well but I don't think there ain't that many people who carry those headphone for portable use any way. I was listening to X5 pairing with E12DIY yesterday and concluded that the benefit of carrying an extra amp is pretty much not there. As mush as I love the E12DIY (I have the MUSES02 in it), X5 is just as capable. It is one of the rare occasion where you have a DAP with good output, excellent SQ and yet doesn't cost an arm and leg. Color me impressed. Now why can't companies that charge double / triple the price design the some thing similar? I am not asking ZX-1 to be as powerful as an X5, but at least gives it a decent 50~100mW output which would have warranted the price tag
low power parts + high price tag + over described features and sound = cash cow
Lego Warfare
post Jan 27 2014, 10:44 PM

4,676 posts

QUOTE(dokidoki @ Jan 27 2014, 09:00 PM)
have you own any recent sony hp?

for me..i am not 'wow' by xz1 interface as it seen like my sony xz hp interface..haha
Haha not really a wow, but for a standalone audiophile DAP UI it's considered a wow tongue.gif

phillip88
post Jan 27 2014, 10:44 PM

Sound of Silence
1,062 posts

Honestly, the biggest point of not having to buy an expensive DAP is my own individual inability to hear/perceive any difference from one device to another.

Well, my point is, I admire those who can hear the difference. Haha XD

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0175sec    0.51    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 06:56 AM