Travel South Korea V5, Seoul & Surroundings

sheng291
post Sep 26 2014, 01:45 PM

455 posts

QUOTE(lcyeap90 @ Sep 25 2014, 11:08 PM)
anyone can guide me on travelling to jeju island?
just broken up with my gf and the couple trip now became solo trip. cry.gif
Going Seoul coming Monday. Was planned to have all 7 days in Seoul.
Now need to change plan as i'm going solo.
google up will giv u a lot of tips and experiences, especially from china n taiwan blogger..
seoul wise quite standard la, dongdaemun,nandaemun, jingfu palace, hongdae, sancundong, gangnam, itaewon
there is a travel guide with map in the seoul tourism office, n normally available in your guesthouse too, grab that and only plan oso no big deal
jeju wise a bit troublesome, but the standard place are ilchubong, niudo, green tea farm, hallasan, beach..o u can try olle road if you like adventure..
nvm la, get a korean gf there brows.gif
sheng291
post Sep 26 2014, 01:46 PM

455 posts

QUOTE(AIAF @ Sep 25 2014, 12:13 AM)
Majority of the time will be at Seoul, but will spend a little time at for Searoksan, then Gwangju and Busan.

Yea I think I'll not rent/reserve an egg. Worse case scenario I'll get those one day internet passwords from their convenient stores (read about that).  laugh.gif
woo, why are you heading to gwangju? Eventhough I was in gwangju for quite some time, I can't think of place worth to travel so far to visit XD
If you depart from sokcho, u can try drop by gyeongju or daegu, and head to busan later on
wj91
post Sep 26 2014, 05:52 PM

57 posts

may i ask something about the 3 days pass for the KTX ticket.

if i use it on day1 (26th) evening 5pm, isit caluclate 72hrs (until 29th 5pm) or until day3 (28th) only?
outsider
post Sep 26 2014, 07:01 PM

~ get out ~
1,270 posts

[quote1,Sep 26 2014, 05:52 PM]

if i use it on day1 (26th) evening 5pm, isit caluclate 72hrs (until 29th 5pm) or until day3 (28th) only?

[/quote]
They calculate by day not by hours
wj91
post Sep 26 2014, 07:24 PM

57 posts

[quote=outsider,Sep 26 2014, 07:01 PM]
[quote1,Sep 26 2014, 05:52 PM]

[/quote]
They calculate by day not by hours

[/quote]

oh..too bad...hav to change my plan for seoul..
AIAF
post Sep 26 2014, 11:55 PM

272 posts

QUOTE(sheng291 @ Sep 26 2014, 01:46 PM)
woo, why are you heading to gwangju? Eventhough I was in gwangju for quite some time, I can't think of place worth to travel so far to visit XD
If you depart from sokcho, u can try drop by gyeongju or daegu, and head to busan later on
You mean there's nothing in Gwangju? Nothing much, just look see some parts and stuff.

To be honest I feel like whenever I suggest any other place other than Seoul one of you guys will say that there's nothing there hahaha. But I still appreciate all the advices. thumbup.gif

I guess I don't mind just chilling and sight seeing la XD

Gwangju rough itinerary:

Gwangju - Day 1
Bulguksa Temple
Daeneungwon
Anapji pond

Gwangju - Day 2
Gyeongju City Tour Bus

gzg
post Sep 27 2014, 06:01 AM

17 posts

QUOTE(lcyeap90 @ Sep 25 2014, 11:08 PM)
anyone can guide me on travelling to jeju island?
just broken up with my gf and the couple trip now became solo trip. cry.gif
Going Seoul coming Monday. Was planned to have all 7 days in Seoul.
Now need to change plan as i'm going solo.
Sorry to hear that lcyeap90. I used to live in Seoul, its an amazing city. If the breakup is still abit raw for you - some part of Seoul might be abit painful for you, 'couple' culture pretty big over there. Avoid the traditional couple spots like Nami, Namsan (at night), Parks on the Han River, etc.

Good on you for wanting to visit Jeju - Jeju is definitely worth a trip. I recommend getting a rental car - that will give you greater access to the east west and southern parts of the island (as well as Halasan). There are lots of local rental car companies at Jeju airport, so there is alot of scope to negotiate a price (if you know abit Korean). I got a decent deal on a Hyundai Accent for 14,000 won a day, I took up the optional comprehensive insurance for 20,000 won a day. If you don't know Korean it might be better to go with a Hertz (more expensive). note: Fuel is abit more pricey outside of Jeju city at over 1,800won/litre.

Where you should go is dependent on what you like doing (hanging out on the beach, visiting cultural sights, eating, etc). Here is 5 quick generic touristy suggestions:
1, Iho Beach
2, Cheonjiyeon Waterfall
3, Seongsan Ilchubong
4, Hallim Park
5, Halasan (goes without saying)

Good luck and Enjoy!
sheng291
post Sep 27 2014, 09:07 AM

455 posts

QUOTE(AIAF @ Sep 26 2014, 11:55 PM)
You mean there's nothing in Gwangju? Nothing much, just look see some parts and stuff.

To be honest I feel like whenever I suggest any other place other than Seoul one of you guys will say that there's nothing there hahaha. But I still appreciate all the advices. thumbup.gif 

Gwangju rough itinerary:

Gwangju - Day 1
Bulguksa Temple
Daeneungwon
Anapji pond

Gwangju - Day 2
Gyeongju City Tour Bus
ar~ my friend, the place you're refering is GYEONGJU, not GWANGJU ,

please write it down and show to the staff when u wanna buy ticket, else you might go different place..hahaha
gyeongju is a historical city, I went there once..bulguksa temple quite far from the city, Daereungwon inside basically is a tomb only,,anapji night go only nice...
SUSY.J.S
post Sep 27 2014, 11:32 PM

MLM
1,353 posts

stimix

Hi hi just read your thread and wanna ask some questions.

I will be travelling to seoul around 16th of October.

I haven't book the tickets because my friends haven't confirm with their parents.

I wanna ask is it worth using expedia to book flight + hotel packages?

5 nights in Hotel Robero Myeondong (not sure bout the spelling) cost around RM3.1k, flight is airasia with baggage , am I doing wrong?

After that, what to do in Incheon once arrive?

Although your first post is informative for ADULT TRAVELER it is definitely not helpful for underage students like me, 16 y/o.

I really like attractions like Wolmido amusement park.

Anymore attractions similar to my style? Exciting and adventurous.

I hope to go somewhere like universal studio. I do not like palace or museums at all.

Tyvm for any replies icon_rolleyes.gif
TSstimix
post Sep 28 2014, 09:19 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(Y.J.S @ Sep 27 2014, 11:32 PM)
stimix

Hi hi just read your thread and wanna ask some questions.

I will be travelling to seoul around 16th of October.

I haven't book the tickets because my friends haven't confirm with their parents.

I wanna ask is it worth using expedia to book flight + hotel packages?

5 nights in Hotel Robero Myeondong (not sure bout the spelling) cost around RM3.1k, flight is airasia with baggage , am I doing wrong?

After that, what to do in Incheon once arrive?

Although your first post is informative for ADULT TRAVELER it is definitely not helpful for underage students like me, 16 y/o.

I really like attractions like Wolmido amusement park.

Anymore attractions similar to my style? Exciting and adventurous.

I hope to go somewhere like universal studio. I do not like palace or museums at all.
Tyvm for any replies icon_rolleyes.gif
Super expensive.. Too late to get budget fair.. My return ticket per pax only ~RM400 back in 2010 (When Air Asia started offering the promo trip there) and now probably promor ~RM800 return/pac. For hotel, average motel is ~RM150-RM200./night unless you want 3 stars & above?..I book Namsan park hotel which is in between Myeondong & Namdaemun.. Within walking distance to both areas. smile.gif Only ~RM140/night

For amusement park I'm not really keen.. u probably wanted to visit Lotte World or Everland or something?
SUSY.J.S
post Sep 28 2014, 02:30 PM

MLM
1,353 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Sep 28 2014, 09:19 AM)
Super expensive.. Too late to get budget fair.. My return ticket per pax only ~RM400 back in 2010 (When Air Asia started offering the promo trip there) and now probably promor ~RM800 return/pac. For hotel, average motel is ~RM150-RM200./night unless you want 3 stars & above?..I book Namsan park hotel which is in between Myeondong & Namdaemun.. Within walking distance to both areas.  smile.gif  Only ~RM140/night

For amusement park I'm not really keen.. u probably wanted to visit Lotte World or Everland or something?
Yeah some amazing places.

What is your top choices of attractions in Seoul?
maryshaw
post Sep 28 2014, 02:56 PM

145 posts

how much is the estimated budget for a 8D7N trip ? including from ticket flight + etc for a budget backpacker trip ? do guide me for those whose has been experienced !
kamsahamnida !
TSstimix
post Sep 28 2014, 05:07 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(Y.J.S @ Sep 28 2014, 02:30 PM)
Yeah some amazing places.

What is your top choices of attractions in Seoul?
As per pg 1 & depending on your likings. I hv summarised and even having googlemaps link to those places
TSstimix
post Sep 28 2014, 05:14 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(maryshaw @ Sep 28 2014, 02:56 PM)
how much is the estimated budget for a 8D7N trip ? including from ticket flight + etc for a budget backpacker trip ? do guide me for those whose has been experienced !
kamsahamnida !
You hv to wait till aax big promo & grab the cheapest tickets. Normally 6 mths ahead or even a year ahead. Normally during promo, you can even find crazy return ticket of ~rm500 to Rm700. Theteafter, goto booking.com, agoda, & etc look for budget acc. For budget, sometime u cam get ad low as 30k won or Rm120/night for a simple motel wth attached bathroom. Thereafter, budget 5000won/meal or 15k won/ day for food. Transport budget ~20k won/ day. And u get your budget dy.
SUSY.J.S
post Sep 28 2014, 09:50 PM

MLM
1,353 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Sep 28 2014, 05:07 PM)
As per pg 1 & depending on your likings. I hv summarised and even having googlemaps link to those places
In case you've missed it, some links are broken and the attractions stated are very boring especially those palaces sleep.gif

The places I wanna go
-Everland
-Wolmido theme park

To be affirmed with other spots nod.gif
yvonnesoo
post Sep 29 2014, 11:36 AM

Wanderluster
2,169 posts

QUOTE(AIAF @ Sep 26 2014, 11:55 PM)

Gwangju rough itinerary:

Gwangju - Day 1
Bulguksa Temple
Daeneungwon
Anapji pond

Gwangju - Day 2
Gyeongju City Tour Bus
err?? your Gwangju attractions that u listed above is not in Gwangju u know.. it's in Gyeongsangbuk-do, Gyeongju-si.. sweat.gif

yvonnesoo
post Sep 29 2014, 11:44 AM

Wanderluster
2,169 posts

QUOTE(Y.J.S @ Sep 28 2014, 09:50 PM)
In case you've missed it, some links are broken and the attractions stated are very boring especially those palaces sleep.gif

The places I wanna go
-Everland
-Wolmido theme park
To be affirmed with other spots nod.gif
i rather you go to Lotte World than Wolmido.. cause the theme park nothing to shout about. probably only their viking ride hmm.gif
AIAF
post Sep 29 2014, 08:08 PM

272 posts

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Sep 29 2014, 11:36 AM)
err?? your Gwangju attractions that u listed above is not in Gwangju u know.. it's in Gyeongsangbuk-do, Gyeongju-si..  sweat.gif
Oops, meant Gyeongju XD
SUSY.J.S
post Sep 29 2014, 09:05 PM

MLM
1,353 posts

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Sep 29 2014, 11:44 AM)
i rather you go to Lotte World than Wolmido.. cause the theme park nothing to shout about. probably only their viking ride  hmm.gif
Guys anyone please show some travelogues here

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3363024/+40#bottom
joeylny
post Sep 29 2014, 09:45 PM

555 posts

I will be attending the Busan International Film Festival.. Anyone here going there too? I only have 4 days in Busan of which one day will be for BIFF..
So the rest i tot of going

Gimcheon Culture Village
Taejongdae
Apec house
Heundae
Spaland
Jalgalchi seafood market
Bermeosa temple
busan tower..

136 Pages « < 32 33 34 35 36 > » Top