Travel South Korea V5, Seoul & Surroundings

joeylny
post Sep 23 2014, 04:45 PM

555 posts

Hi
i am going to Busan next week. Its a last minute trip .
1-4th october.
1)4d3n Will it be enuf to cover major attractions or should i extend my stay? 6d5n ?
2)Must rent phone in korea? Cannot buy new sim card?
3)Is there a touch n go card n what issit called?
4)What are the major attractions ?
5) Anyone can recommended cheap strategic location hostels?
6)Anyone have a itinery for busan which i can take a look .
7)Is taxi very expensive in korea n how is the traffic?
8)Any local busan tour package ?

If anyone can answer any of my question very much appreciated.
joeylny
post Sep 23 2014, 07:17 PM

555 posts

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Sep 23 2014, 05:48 PM)
Hi
i am going to Busan next week. Its a last minute trip .
1-4th october.
1)4d3n Will it be enuf to cover major attractions or should i extend my stay? 6d5n ? enough to cover major attractions
2)Must rent phone in korea? Cannot buy new sim card? can either buy or rent a sim card if you opt not to rent a phone or egg
3)Is there a touch n go card n what issit called? u mean this ---> Hanaro card or Mybi??
4)What are the major attractions ? you may need to do some homework n research. there are plenty of information on the web
5) Anyone can recommended cheap strategic location hostels? stay near Nampo dong
6)Anyone have a itinery for busan which i can take a look . none
7)Is taxi very expensive in korea n how is the traffic? tourist taxi is expensive. use subway or buses is cheaper
8)Any local busan tour package ? you may find it online or some guesthouse/hotel they will provide tour package

If anyone can answer any of my question very much appreciated.
Thanks for the reply.
So far i am reading blogs n all so manage to list down some major attractions such as
-Gamcheon Cultural village
-Busan Tower
Haeundae Beach
Gwangan Bridge
Jagalchi market
busan tower
Younggungsa
Shopping in Nampodong
Spaland
Beomosa temple
busan aquarium
SHinsegae centun city

Found that the touch n go card is called T Money? Cheaper rates using this card for subway n bus.

I will be staying in nampo dong for first 3 nights then i will have to find my own accomodation so is there any hostel u guys have stayed in nampo dong that can recommend?

btw Is vegetarian food hard to find in korea. anyone went wif any vegetarian friends?

This post has been edited by joeylny: Sep 23 2014, 07:18 PM
joeylny
post Sep 23 2014, 09:28 PM

555 posts

QUOTE(outsider @ Sep 23 2014, 05:34 PM)
1) If u wanna explore every temple and place of interest.  It is not enough. If travel for relax and beachs sightseeing. Yes.. it ia enough.. cos only 2 main beach and u can explore 1 temple n taejedong
2) u either rent wifi or rent phone or sim.. pls refer to page 30
3) yes.. i use Tmoney..but it is not really good la.. cos if u buy day pass only 4000 won. I stupid and miss this day pass n travel with TMoney.. it cos cost 1500 won each station. The day pass is for mrt. Bus i not sure cos i use tmoney
4) major attractions. . Gwangali beach (rainbow bridge nice for night time sitting there drink coffee and see ppl pass by with beautiful bridge). I spent 2 nights at there
jalgachi market.. wet market for seafood.
Piff zone - like jalan petaling or night market.. selling thing
gamcheon village - santorini korea.. destination for photographer
beomosa temple - temple with lantern
haeudae beach - beach
shinsagae department store - shooping complex
another temple but i forgot the name...
taejedong - sightseeing

and some shopping complexs
5) a lots guesthouse. . Can find in agoda.com depend on ur criteria u needed
6) i done ittenary but i didnt follow cos not enough time.
7) i heard it expensive. But i not sure.. walking in busan quite comfortable because even it sunny but it windy and cold like genting weather
8) yes but i went to place of interest with public transport, map and mrt.
I just back from busan yesterday.  Now in seoul.
Thank you so much for the reply.. yeah i think i might go for day pass also..seems more worth it

joeylny
post Sep 23 2014, 09:34 PM

555 posts

QUOTE(sheng291 @ Sep 4 2014, 08:10 PM)
Try EG Sim
http://www.egsimcard.co.kr/
quite suitable for you
sim card value 20000 korean won
meaning sim card alone cos 20k won?
Or there is 20k won credit inside?
how much does it cost per minute for local calls or calls to malaysia?
joeylny
post Sep 23 2014, 10:40 PM

555 posts

QUOTE(outsider @ Sep 23 2014, 10:07 PM)
I spend 3 days in busan. I landing on incheon then strait to busan by ktx. Ktx u must book on internet(refer back to page 28 or 29 if i not mistaken, other forummer share the link)

Once i arrive seoul station i take my 3 days pass with the printed ticket that i booked at information counter.They will check ur passport and giv u 1 card.then u need go to ticket counter and get ur ktx ticket.  Ktx to busan quite convenient. It like every 15 to 30 minutes got train to busan - seoul. It take 3 hours ride, go toilet before u get into train. Inside no toilet if i not mistaken. Free wifi inside the ltx too but u need to install their apps. Just install lo.. no harm.. inside train better check ur car and seat no. Dont ever changed seat if u c other unoccupied seat cos other terminal will hv other passengers come in n looking their no accordingly.

joeylny i try go in their website b4. The 20k is inside the sim but 5k is for buy the sim card. Actually it not worth la.cos busan got a lots free wifi places. Even Hauendae beach also got free wifi.

Plus if u rent olleh egg wifi. It about 8k won per day.. it cos a lots leh... maxis sms me 38 per day for unlimited data roaming on the first day
So 3 day pass KTX is bout RM250 but u can take train from busan and seoul unlimited times? n trip is only 3 hours? can travel to other places too?

joeylny
post Sep 29 2014, 09:45 PM

555 posts

I will be attending the Busan International Film Festival.. Anyone here going there too? I only have 4 days in Busan of which one day will be for BIFF..
So the rest i tot of going

Gimcheon Culture Village
Taejongdae
Apec house
Heundae
Spaland
Jalgalchi seafood market
Bermeosa temple
busan tower..

joeylny
post Oct 5 2014, 09:16 AM

555 posts

I just came back from busan..
Just a kind update to those going soon.
Its better to get a Subway day pass 4500 won so u can travel unlimited to many stations coz one way is oredi 1200.. Unless u only plan to travel two times then get the single ticket.

As for city tour bus in busan its 15000.

All the major attractions are easily reached by bus n subway n most doesnt have entrance fee which is good..

Anyway meal isnt as expensive as i tot..u can easily get a meal at 4000 won -8000 won. Comes with lotsa side dishes which is enuf to fill u up. Street food at 500won -2000 won each..

Jagalchi fish market meals.. about 30000 won and above.. unless u order ala carte..but very fresh seafood..

This post has been edited by joeylny: Oct 5 2014, 09:19 AM

0.0286sec    1.18    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 11:33 AM