Edit : 2x posted
This post has been edited by sai86: Jan 21 2014, 04:24 PM
Travel South Korea V5, Seoul & Surroundings
Jan 21 2014, 04:24 PM
4,934 posts Joined: Sep 2008 From: Setapak |
Edit : 2x posted
This post has been edited by sai86: Jan 21 2014, 04:24 PM |
Jan 21 2014, 11:54 PM
77 posts Joined: May 2005 |
Hey yall,
Will be travelling to Seoul for 10D/9N in early June. Will arrive in Seoul. Plan to spend 6D in Seoul and 3D in Jeju and back to Seoul for 1D before back to KL. Just wondering if 6 days in Seoul and 3 days in Jeju do-able with moderate pace? Will be travelling with parents (60s) and 2 small kids (age 4). i have not worked out the detail itinerary yet though. Pls advice. Thanks! This post has been edited by setheo: Jan 21 2014, 11:54 PM |
Jan 22 2014, 09:28 AM
253 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: KL/Kajang |
Hey to all those that has visit Korea before, just for confirmation, for Malaysians to go to Korea, do we need to apply for Visa?
Jan 22 2014, 09:36 AM
22 posts Joined: Nov 2012 |
Jan 22 2014, 09:47 AM
22 posts Joined: Nov 2012 |
QUOTE(setheo @ Jan 21 2014, 11:54 PM) Hey yall, 3 days in jeju is not enough.. at least 5 days min.. lots of place to visit in jeju.. distance between each places min 30 to 40 km.. you will spending a lots of time on the road.. Will be travelling to Seoul for 10D/9N in early June. Will arrive in Seoul. Plan to spend 6D in Seoul and 3D in Jeju and back to Seoul for 1D before back to KL. Just wondering if 6 days in Seoul and 3 days in Jeju do-able with moderate pace? Will be travelling with parents (60s) and 2 small kids (age 4). i have not worked out the detail itinerary yet though. Pls advice. Thanks! |
Jan 22 2014, 10:34 AM
5 posts Joined: Oct 2010 |
QUOTE(setheo @ Jan 21 2014, 11:54 PM) Hey yall, Will be travelling to Seoul for 10D/9N in early June. Will arrive in Seoul. Plan to spend 6D in Seoul and 3D in Jeju and back to Seoul for 1D before back to KL. Just wondering if 6 days in Seoul and 3 days in Jeju do-able with moderate pace? Will be travelling with parents (60s) and 2 small kids (age 4). i have not worked out the detail itinerary yet though. Pls advice. Thanks! QUOTE(jet.chin @ Jan 22 2014, 09:47 AM) 3 days in jeju is not enough.. at least 5 days min.. lots of place to visit in jeju.. distance between each places min 30 to 40 km.. you will spending a lots of time on the road.. In my opinion 3 days is okay but thats because i didn't want to and did not go to the museums.i mostly visited the natural sightings (sunrise peak, seopjikoji, lava estuary, jongbang waterful, folk village, islet bridge etc) and managed to do so at a relaxed pace. but if u're planning to actually go to museums or love land, etc then u probably should add a few more days. |
Jan 22 2014, 12:09 PM
77 posts Joined: May 2005 |
QUOTE(cherrypop @ Jan 22 2014, 10:34 AM) In my opinion 3 days is okay but thats because i didn't want to and did not go to the museums. Thanks @jet.chin and @cherrypop..i mostly visited the natural sightings (sunrise peak, seopjikoji, lava estuary, jongbang waterful, folk village, islet bridge etc) and managed to do so at a relaxed pace. but if u're planning to actually go to museums or love land, etc then u probably should add a few more days. Since I have kids with me, I will skip the Love Land, else daddy and mommy will have tough time explaining to them! We are more to sightseeing only... not really into museum, and lava thingy. Will rent a car when in Jeju though. Hopefully will come out with a draft plan this weekend! Cheers! |
Jan 22 2014, 04:07 PM
5 posts Joined: Oct 2010 |
QUOTE(setheo @ Jan 22 2014, 12:09 PM) Thanks @jet.chin and @cherrypop.. hahahaha i can imagine having to explain to kids about that Since I have kids with me, I will skip the Love Land, else daddy and mommy will have tough time explaining to them! We are more to sightseeing only... not really into museum, and lava thingy. Will rent a car when in Jeju though. Hopefully will come out with a draft plan this weekend! Cheers! |
Jan 22 2014, 04:41 PM
8 posts Joined: Sep 2011 |
Hehe. Until v5 also still got a lot of people asking about the itinerary meh. Actually you can find almost everything in the 1st page. Kesian weh have to repeat everytime. Let's do the homework first shall we
Jan 23 2014, 11:18 PM
3,395 posts Joined: Dec 2007 From: 서울, South Korea |
QUOTE(crayonistacloset @ Jan 16 2014, 02:02 PM) btw. when arrive airport, travel to seoul by arex train or bus cheaper? but now arex got promo (3000-8000won) till end of the year. and can i use the t-money card to ride arex? The consideration that you need to factor is the proximity of your accommodation to Arex or Bus. Bear in mind if you were to take Arex then you still need to continue your trip either on foot, another train or even taxi. And there are technically 2 types of Arex - the Express version or the multiple stop version. In both cases, the end destination is the Seoul Station. Arex Express version (Right side if you are walking from the main terminal) cannot use TMoney and the multiple stop version (Left side if you are walking from the main terminal) can use TMoney. Some Airport Limo (this is what they call the bus) have stops which are nearby to certain accommodation. So ... it is not about cheaper or not. I'd advise to consider the distance of those stops to your accommodation. Now there are travellers in here who would bring their folks who are elderly people. Please remember that Seoul and some parts of Korea are very hilly. It is very much different than in Malaysia where the buildings are built according to the shape of the geographical contours vs. Malaysia way of just cutting away the hills to make way for development. Almost all of their subways do not have escalator access from the main street. What does this means ? Some effort in walking is required. I recommend those thinking to bring old folks to ensure they are fit to tackle the occasional hilly terrain and the many stairs. (Can very very steep in certain locations) Consider this ... back in the days where the tram up to the Namsan cable car was non existent, you could easily see elderly Korean walking up the steep hill (gradient of more than 50 degrees) without breaking a sweat or stopping. I'll stop here but you could figure out what I mean. |
Jan 24 2014, 10:20 AM
2 posts Joined: Apr 2013 From: Selangor |
QUOTE(hye @ Jan 23 2014, 11:18 PM) The consideration that you need to factor is the proximity of your accommodation to Arex or Bus. Bear in mind if you were to take Arex then you still need to continue your trip either on foot, another train or even taxi. And there are technically 2 types of Arex - the Express version or the multiple stop version. In both cases, the end destination is the Seoul Station. Arex Express version (Right side if you are walking from the main terminal) cannot use TMoney and the multiple stop version (Left side if you are walking from the main terminal) can use TMoney. hi! tq for the advise! i will reconsider. i know seoul do need some/lot walking.. but travel is about walk n explore right? haha. btw ur advise is much appreciated! p/s if my english is bad Some Airport Limo (this is what they call the bus) have stops which are nearby to certain accommodation. So ... it is not about cheaper or not. I'd advise to consider the distance of those stops to your accommodation. Now there are travellers in here who would bring their folks who are elderly people. Please remember that Seoul and some parts of Korea are very hilly. It is very much different than in Malaysia where the buildings are built according to the shape of the geographical contours vs. Malaysia way of just cutting away the hills to make way for development. Almost all of their subways do not have escalator access from the main street. What does this means ? Some effort in walking is required. I recommend those thinking to bring old folks to ensure they are fit to tackle the occasional hilly terrain and the many stairs. (Can very very steep in certain locations) Consider this ... back in the days where the tram up to the Namsan cable car was non existent, you could easily see elderly Korean walking up the steep hill (gradient of more than 50 degrees) without breaking a sweat or stopping. I'll stop here but you could figure out what I mean. |
Jan 24 2014, 05:25 PM
76 posts Joined: Jan 2011 |
does anyone know if we can drive in korea with our msian driver license? or need to convert to international license?
many thanks in advance! |
Jan 24 2014, 06:18 PM
1,422 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: 192.168.0.100 |
QUOTE(kakaakajes @ Jan 24 2014, 05:25 PM) does anyone know if we can drive in korea with our msian driver license? or need to convert to international license? you need to apply International Driving Permit (IDP) at JPJ.. very easy: ask for IDP form, fill it up, then pay rm150 with 2 passport picture.. can be done less than 1 hour..many thanks in advance! http://www.jpj.gov.my/web/eng/international-driving-permit |
Jan 28 2014, 09:14 PM
421 posts Joined: Aug 2005 From: Kepong |
May I know if anyone has recommendation for accomodation in Busan? And where would you recommend me to stay in Busan? I've read that Seomyeon is more convenient due to its central location, Gwangalli and Haeundae beach for near seaside. I'm looking for guesthouse or budget hotel thats near to subway station. Just want to hear some reviews if anyone here has been to Busan and stayed there. Thanks!
Jan 29 2014, 08:34 AM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
52,874 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(eksk86 @ Jan 28 2014, 09:14 PM) May I know if anyone has recommendation for accomodation in Busan? And where would you recommend me to stay in Busan? I've read that Seomyeon is more convenient due to its central location, Gwangalli and Haeundae beach for near seaside. I'm looking for guesthouse or budget hotel thats near to subway station. Just want to hear some reviews if anyone here has been to Busan and stayed there. Thanks! I stayed near to Busan KTX station and if you take the city tour bus (whole day 10k won), you no need to worry about transportation to tourist attractions. The ticket valid for the whole day with unlimited usage and frequency is roughly 30 minutes for each bus shift. |
Jan 29 2014, 09:22 AM
0 posts Joined: Jun 2009 |
I would like to ask my flight coming back to KL from Incheon Airport is at 9:50am. What time should should I leave my hotel (staying in myeongdong)? Should I take taxi or train? |
Jan 30 2014, 07:22 AM
3,395 posts Joined: Dec 2007 From: 서울, South Korea |
QUOTE(shadowgirl @ Jan 29 2014, 09:22 AM) Hi, Please leave at least 3 hours before the departure time. Via bus, it'll take you about 1 hour to the airport and taxi about 45-50 mins. Alternatively you could travel to Seoul Station and take the Arex to the airport. Arex journey time is 43 minutes but you need to factor in the travelling time to Seoul Station.I would like to ask my flight coming back to KL from Incheon Airport is at 9:50am. What time should should I leave my hotel (staying in myeongdong)? Should I take taxi or train? |
Jan 30 2014, 08:43 AM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
1,818 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(shadowgirl @ Jan 29 2014, 09:22 AM) Hi, you can check the subway train's schedule on their website or download the MetroHD apps. They have the train departure & arrival timetable, and also the duration from you departure station to the destination station. If flight is at 9.50, you can use the subway to go there.. subway starts as early as 5.30am..I would like to ask my flight coming back to KL from Incheon Airport is at 9:50am. What time should should I leave my hotel (staying in myeongdong)? Should I take taxi or train? |
Jan 30 2014, 12:32 PM
248 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
Dear all, i am planning to go Jeju island for 5d4n but not sure if my itinerary below too packed. Appreciate if anyone can give your advise:
Day 1 - Arrival to Jeju Day 2 - Mysterious Road - Loveland - Yongduam Rock(Dragon Head Rock) - Gimnyeong Maze Park - Jusangjeoli Coast Rock ( Optional) - Cheonjeyon Waterfall ( Optional) Day 3 - Trick Art Museum - Haenyo Museum - Sunrise Peak - Udo Island ( Optional) - Manjang Cave ( Optional) Day 4 - Mount Halla Day 5 - Depart from Jeju Thanks in advance. I will post actual itinerary once i back from Jeju, hopefully can be reference for others. ps: will be renting a car |
Feb 4 2014, 02:25 PM
15 posts Joined: Nov 2007 |
If I am planning to visit these places in Busan, is 3d2n sufficient?
Or do I need 4d3n? Haedong Yonggung Temple Beomeosa Temple Taejongdae Gwangalli Beach (night bridge) Haeundae Beach and Market BIFF Square (Busan International Film Festival) Busan Tower APEC Naru Park (night) Geumjung Mt. fortress Gwangbokro Culture and Fashion street Jagalchi Market Gukje Market (shopping) This post has been edited by muaxs: Feb 4 2014, 02:26 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0647sec
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 03:43 AM |