MacBook Pro Retina User Thread, All you can feedback here and report in.
jumpstat
Nov 25 2014, 04:11 PM
With aluminium unibody, heat dissipation is also much much more efficient than plastic bodied notebooks. Even in my office, with the ac on, I don't even hear the internal fans moving.... But when I am at home, i do hear and feel a slight vibration.
neorage_x
Nov 25 2014, 08:39 PM
Just got myself my 1st Mac. I got myself rMBP13 / 256GB . Yay!!!
sembilan
Nov 25 2014, 11:22 PM
Hi, any MBP users experience issues with opening MS Office files from a thumb drive? It was quite weird as it was working fine a couple of days ago. It's working fine on Windows PC tho. Any help is greatly appreciated.
kayFX
Nov 26 2014, 11:03 AM
QUOTE(sembilan @ Nov 25 2014, 11:22 PM) Hi, any MBP users experience issues with opening MS Office files from a thumb drive? It was quite weird as it was working fine a couple of days ago. It's working fine on Windows PC tho. Any help is greatly appreciated. what kind of issues? before this my problem was the file was read only.. my solution copy the file and put on the desktop and can start editing back.. after finish i copy back the file to thumb drive and then no need to do the same again after that.. if other issues i don't know since this is the only issues i have.. hope this help..
neorage_x
Nov 26 2014, 09:55 PM
ah.. so stress. my new MacBook Pro... Cant open the camera... damn...
Pat89
Nov 27 2014, 08:38 AM
QUOTE(neorage_x @ Nov 26 2014, 10:55 PM) ah.. so stress. my new MacBook Pro... Cant open the camera... damn... A clean install of the OS might help....
neorage_x
Nov 27 2014, 01:50 PM
QUOTE(Pat89 @ Nov 27 2014, 08:38 AM) A clean install of the OS might help.... Will be sending it back to the store tomorrow .
calvincty
Nov 28 2014, 11:04 AM

has anybody know how much cost would be a PCI-e 240/250/256 SSD for Macbook pro RD mid-2014?
has checked out OWC Aura Pro, but it stated only for 2012/2013 machine.. Not sure if right now there's any aftermarket.
Configuration my new macbook pro 13 with 16GB, now thinking whether should I upgrade the SSD to 256 for RM 600 extra or I should grab the 128GB first and upgrade it later.
shankar_dass93
Nov 30 2014, 08:51 PM
QUOTE(NoKusshon @ Nov 25 2014, 08:38 AM) Hello shankar, Sorry to ask, but after you open those ms office, did you quit the apps before shut down ? Right click at the apps then quit, or open the apps click (CMD + Q). Before this I'm also face those situation, because I only click "x" button, when turn of my laptop, all those apps will pop out automatically.  Hi sorry for the late reply. Nah i never actually planned to quit those apps before shutting down. Only thing that i used to do was to save my files and close it. Would quit the app later and ill inform you if it works. Thanks for the help. This post has been edited by shankar_dass93: Nov 30 2014, 08:51 PM
CYawG
Nov 30 2014, 10:01 PM
Hi, I'm not quite sure is this a good time to get the MBPr13 (the i5 with 256GB model) or shall I wait for Red Friday. I've been wanting to get one since 2012 lol. I'm actually quite scare the MBPr will have another spec bump soon after the Red Friday sale. ps: This will be my first ever Mac lol. Kena poison by my friend's MBA lol
Townshend
Dec 1 2014, 10:22 AM
QUOTE(CYawG @ Nov 30 2014, 10:01 PM) Hi, I'm not quite sure is this a good time to get the MBPr13 (the i5 with 256GB model) or shall I wait for Red Friday. I've been wanting to get one since 2012 lol. I'm actually quite scare the MBPr will have another spec bump soon after the Red Friday sale. ps: This will be my first ever Mac lol. Kena poison by my friend's MBA lol They just bumped the specs last July, not sure if they will bump it again considering Broadwell will be released next year ? Rumors suggest updated Macs will arrive Mid 2015.
neorage_x
Dec 1 2014, 11:55 AM
Thank god. Got my replacement unit today and transfer my apple care as well. Now can finally enjoy my Mac. Yay!
dannykhoo17
Dec 1 2014, 12:36 PM
Hi guys, thinking to get the MBPr 13 inch lowest spec.. Can the laptop play games such as dota2 / csgo ? And normal college use
Townshend
Dec 1 2014, 12:52 PM
QUOTE(dannykhoo17 @ Dec 1 2014, 12:36 PM) Hi guys, thinking to get the MBPr 13 inch lowest spec.. Can the laptop play games such as dota2 / csgo ? And normal college use Sure, no problem. But don't expect to play most recent games in ultra/high settings. Links for your reference http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1672176http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1662978
dannykhoo17
Dec 1 2014, 01:24 PM
QUOTE(Townshend @ Dec 1 2014, 12:52 PM) Sure, no problem. But don't expect to play most recent games in ultra/high settings. Links for your reference http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1672176http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1662978thank you so much! do you know about student price for mbp ?
Townshend
Dec 1 2014, 01:39 PM
QUOTE(dannykhoo17 @ Dec 1 2014, 01:24 PM) thank you so much! do you know about student price for mbp ? Just minus the normal price with $320, then you will have education price. This applies to MBP/rMBP as for now.
omnimech
Dec 1 2014, 01:42 PM
No real issue with my MBPr .. only that when I use the charger without the extension cord, i feel some static on the aluminium body ..
looks like the charger is not grounded properly... using the extension cord which comes with the notebook solves this issue completely
quest_5692
Dec 1 2014, 09:41 PM
hi guys, i have the mc976b/a (mid 2012 i7 mbp15r), is it worth it/ good time to upgrade to the latest mbp15r i7 quad? how does performance and stuff differ between the machines? im not sure about the subtlety of the performance difference. can someone give me a quick comparison? the 2012 i7 is still giving me strong performance.
officeBoy
Dec 1 2014, 11:02 PM
Hey mates,
Just got my MBP15, may i know how long we need for the first charge?
officeBoy
Dec 1 2014, 11:09 PM
Btw, do you use power adapter while using the notebook? or unplug the cable when it is full charge?