36 Pages « < 30 31 32 33 34 > » Bottom

Your Home Theater Setup.. v2, Let's share..

sonerin
post Aug 11 2020, 07:55 AM

8,739 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Aug 10 2020, 09:11 PM)
for me, yes, it's a better route if you just wanna stick to 5.1/7.1 as ddrc88 is limited to 8 channels. it exists in the era before atmos/dtsX. you can have 2 units of ddrc88 but it's more like a band-aid solution currently. too late to join the party.
Using AVR with minidsp and using pre-pro with minidsp has big difference in sound. The end result will be pre-pro still win by a lot. I had use the top end model of Yamaha avr and switch to the processor, the improvement is significant. Is up to you to decide
sonerin
post Aug 11 2020, 07:55 AM

8,739 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Aug 10 2020, 09:50 PM)
biamp. not point going back single wire, i didnt try 1HF 1LF
This is totally useless. Don’t bother
sonerin
post Aug 12 2020, 09:40 AM

8,739 posts

QUOTE(yjen @ Aug 12 2020, 07:26 AM)
bro,
can share more on the minidsp.. is the minidsp 2X4 or 2X4HD or which model should go? need the UMIK-1 ?
will it difficult for beginner to tune ourself by use the REW?

Thank you very much.
I am currently using minidsp 2x4HD which I will recommend. UMIK-1 works well with minidsp but not necessary. If you have even better mic than by all means can use it as well. Actually is not that completed but by just reading the manual it can be very confusing. If you interested I can show some quick and easy way to do this. You can PM me on this.
sonerin
post Aug 15 2020, 10:54 PM

8,739 posts

QUOTE(invest2229 @ Aug 15 2020, 04:11 PM)
I'm actually downloading from YouTube as MP3 and play from USB stick is great as well.
Using such low res file, I really doubt you will really know anything is good or bad
sonerin
post Aug 16 2020, 06:00 PM

8,739 posts

QUOTE(invest2229 @ Aug 16 2020, 04:41 PM)
Thanks for comment. BTW, what will be the right format for high quality music or song other than from physical audio CD ?
Go search around in internet for sample high res. There many sites that provide 1-2 songs for demo purpose or best to use CD
sonerin
post Aug 18 2020, 07:50 AM

8,739 posts

QUOTE(JustCheeze @ Aug 17 2020, 04:08 PM)
Thankd very much for the pointers. I have already ask my electrician to pull as many outlet as possible since that what you guys advice. Also ask him to use minimum 4mm wires, is that right?

Over the weekend I went to few places to audition some speakers and setups. So far I do like KEF Q series speakers and seem to be in my budget. Any opinion on them?
Other speaker I try are Q acoustics 3000 series (I think that's the name?) and some Tannoy speakers, forgot what they are called. Have not went and audition svs sub yet.

About snake oil, I don't know. I'm still so new to this and I cannot tell what is snake oil and what isn't. I went to one shop, the sales there told me in all his years most of his customers are very happy after making an upgrade on their power cable and power socket. He said something like the power socket, the plug used and the cable is all the blood line of audio. As long as I get that right, any speaker I use would sound its best. It's like no bottlenecking the speaker or something, at least that is what I understood from him.
Q acoustics or KEF both are great speakers. I personally is using KEF as well. Electric supply it is the lifeline of your system. If you don’t have proper electric going into your hardware than you already loose out a lot. So good power cable with good wall receptacle is important.
sonerin
post Aug 18 2020, 07:51 AM

8,739 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Aug 18 2020, 12:48 AM)
Yes 4mm is fine, the important thing is that you tell the electrician to at least use pure copper and not the cheap shit like CCA.
Which KEF Q did you listen to? The older Q or the recent Qx50 series? I think they're alright speakers though. But always keep in mind that how speakers sound in a demo room could often sound different in your room due to room acoustics.
As for this:
Well, there you go. Told you there's a lot of dishonesty in this industry and it's not surprising that you even got an advice like that. There is no fault in buying expensive cables if all you are into is how they look, they're jewelry just like watches. A RM200 watch isn't going to tell time any better than a RM20k watch. But if you're buying cables solely based on "improving sound", then my opinion is that you're going to end up looking like an idiot IMO.

Don't even bother with any fancy cables for now even if you're into the looks of it. You're off to a good start, so continue along.
Sifu don’t believe in cables 🤣
sonerin
post Aug 18 2020, 04:07 PM

8,739 posts

QUOTE(JustCheeze @ Aug 18 2020, 03:45 PM)
Wow! That's a bit harsh but opened a can of worm for me. But I think I agree with your analogy of the watches, didn't think about it that way.

I will tell electrician to use pure copper. Will check before he pull the wires.

The KEF I listened to are the Q550 tower I believe, they also have the matching center. Not sure what the model number is for that one. I quite like it, sound like the soundstage sweet spot is very wide. Allows me to sit anywhere on the sofa but dialog still sound like from the middle of the screen. I really like that.

Do you have any other recommendation? I will try and audition as much as possible before deciding. The room acoustic thing is also something that is making me confuse and nervous. Keep thinking what if I buy good speaker then sound bad in my room? Would that not be money wasted?  sweat.gif
Which KEF model you use?

When you keep say use proper electric, does that mean have to spend thousands for those power cable? You say one thing, then ssjben say another. I dont know who to listen to?  rclxub.gif
Ouch!! That is a very harsh video to watch but he make a lot of sense. So it mean cable is not as important as people think after all?
Like I said before , the more you listen the more you confuse. Power cable can be very cheap like made in Malaysia type which is very good quality. What I can say is that believe with your own ears. The KEF I am using is the R11.
sonerin
post Aug 18 2020, 08:37 PM

8,739 posts

QUOTE(JustCheeze @ Aug 18 2020, 08:10 PM)
So do you think I should replace the power cable right away if I buy a new pre pro and external amp now? Mean don't use the stock cable they give? I just want to get the power right first so I dont have to keep thinking about it when watching movie or listening to music. I will have anxiety attack.

Oh R11. That is high end model of KEF right?
Ya I know it is a choice to use expensive cable or not. But I'm in a dillema now because either I put more money into better speaker or set aside some to upgrade the stock cables from day 1. I just don't want to be watching or listening to stuff not knowing that I'm "bottlenecking" my system because of power.
Just use the stock cable first than when you get familiar with the setup the sound than we can slowly move into those cables as this will alter the sound, good or bad that will know listening to it. Is better to invest into speaker or avr first than only cables. Unless you have really sensitive hardware upgrading cables might not be noticeable and definitely not going to be bottleneck for now.
sonerin
post Aug 20 2020, 03:21 PM

8,739 posts

QUOTE(dirk_diggler @ Aug 20 2020, 11:28 AM)
100% for movies, but I see the PB-4000 is crazy big, deeper than my TV console and it's space behind. It will stand out, doesn't blend in aesthetically. But like you mentioned, the bass. Decisions, decisions.
Maybe you should consider smaller subs but use 2 subs. It will be better than just 1 big sub. Also can consider to mix SB and PB, it will give you some good mix
sonerin
post Aug 21 2020, 07:02 AM

8,739 posts

QUOTE(dirk_diggler @ Aug 20 2020, 09:18 PM)
Woo, that's the next atas level. Okay, will try to go that route one day.
Is not hard, I can show you how to do it in just less 30 mins
sonerin
post Aug 22 2020, 08:04 AM

8,739 posts

QUOTE(JustCheeze @ Aug 21 2020, 07:08 PM)
Oh so small room mean must use bass trap? Why? And what is room mode?
I think I prefer to DIY most of the system myself. At least get to learn something along the way, eventhough is very confusing. Sometime I think just get high end soundbar enough edi...  sweat.gif
Don’t ever do room treatment before knowing what is the problem. Simply treat the room will cause issue to the audio
sonerin
post Aug 24 2020, 04:18 PM

8,739 posts

QUOTE(JustCheeze @ Aug 24 2020, 03:57 PM)
Oh damn. Even more headache now. I don't even know how or what it means to measure the room. Use what to measure and how can I interpret the results? rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif

Damn this HT project is quite complicated.
Don't think too much yet. Just do all the basic first and can add on.
sonerin
post Aug 30 2020, 08:50 AM

8,739 posts

QUOTE(JustCheeze @ Aug 29 2020, 11:11 PM)
Ok so today I went and purchased 2x KEF LS50 + 1x KEF R2C as the LCR. This was what I auditioned at the hoe huat shop and I really like this combination. I hope I didn't make the wrong choice!  sweat.gif

As for receiver, I think I will be getting Denon X4700h as that what was recommended to me today too. It is within my budget and seem to be suited for the number of speakers I want to put in my room. The 4700h is good right?

The SVS sub, you think I should go for the port model instead? I think I should be able to fit 2x PB2000 in my budget.
2x PB2000
sonerin
post Aug 31 2020, 08:22 PM

8,739 posts

QUOTE(gobiomani @ Aug 31 2020, 06:20 PM)
Yeah, the evo 4.2 is a new thing for me with the amt tweeters and dome midrange but my worry is because I haven't heard either of them before.
I have an AVR and power amp so not worried about power and I also have a large living room but more concerned about which will be better for me. Other than movies i also listen to flac files from my NAS.
Will suggest to go Tannoy
sonerin
post Sep 1 2020, 07:55 AM

8,739 posts

QUOTE(gobiomani @ Aug 31 2020, 10:43 PM)
Oh, the unable to demo was the shop one. Used one haven't ask to demo yet. If demo also still can't compare with Evo 4.2.
I almost never demo when buying. Just to have trust yourself sometimes. I had never regret it
sonerin
post Sep 1 2020, 05:58 PM

8,739 posts

QUOTE(gobiomani @ Sep 1 2020, 11:53 AM)
I don't really understand this part, while I get that due to the room affecting the sound what we hear at a shop floor will not be the same as in our home. But how to decide and buy something without listening to it at all? How do you actually choose the speakers then, based on the recommendation of others? Reviews?
Based on my own liking. I bought 2 pair of speakers so far without audition it. Listen to your heart
sonerin
post Sep 1 2020, 06:00 PM

8,739 posts

QUOTE(JustCheeze @ Sep 1 2020, 03:34 PM)
Any external amplifier to recommend?
I think I will be doing 50/50 movies and music. I like both. Yes the PB2000 pro is in my budget, but I am thinking should I get like sealed double SB3000 since both added up together is quite similar in price.
Will that be too much for my small room? Is only 11ft x 14ft x 9ft.
They no have R series bookshelf or tower. I asked, they said that one need to pre order and they don't keep it at the showroom.

Oh thanks, learned something new again. Didn't know power is relate to distance of seating position and room size. It never occur to me. I think me as laymen just always look at the box 200w x 7 = 1400w means very powerful already. To think back, that does sound very stupid.  sweat.gif
2 x smaller subs is always better than 1 big sub
sonerin
post Sep 1 2020, 10:29 PM

8,739 posts

QUOTE(gobiomani @ Sep 1 2020, 08:55 PM)
Can clarify what you mean by own liking? What made you like the speakers, is it aesthetics?
When I pay for something, first I will consider the purpose. This case, I want the speaker to be use for music and second in home theater. So it has to be a big enough speaker stereo that don’t require sub. Than will be aesthetic, need to have some matching to my room and the rest of the setup. Than comes the sound which is subjective. I like British sound that is why I don’t mind brand like KEF, monitor audio, q-acoustics, B&W. Most of them will be close enough. Review or not is just more of fun fact for me to find out
sonerin
post Sep 2 2020, 12:03 PM

8,739 posts

QUOTE(gobiomani @ Sep 2 2020, 10:44 AM)
I think you are long enough in this hobby with lots of experience which allows you to make choices this way. I kind of understand your logic now. But for a relative newbie like me, still not sure of what I want due to lack of experience listening to many speakers. So far I only know that I like certain Monitor Audio, Tannoy, Wharfedales but don't like Klipsch, Polk Audio and Focal. This is based on my limited experience so I still like to listen to the sound signature before deciding to buy if possible. The only reason I dared to pre-book the Evo 4.2 was because I like Wharfedales in general and I think its a safe choice in that sense.
This should be good enough to go ahead. I bought my first pair of speaker without even knowing anything about audio and started off

36 Pages « < 30 31 32 33 34 > » Top

0.1176sec    0.74    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 05:37 PM