36 Pages « < 29 30 31 32 33 > » Bottom

Your Home Theater Setup.. v2, Let's share..

sonerin
post Jul 14 2020, 04:31 PM

8,739 posts

More power is always better at least you have room to go further. You don't have to turn on the volume too loud.
sonerin
post Jul 20 2020, 07:26 AM

8,739 posts

Your plaster ceiling is better to use wood as frame rather than the usual aluminium. After that fill the inside of the plaster ceiling with rock wool. That will be all done. Of course if have budget is best to do entire wood ceiling and no plaster ceiling
sonerin
post Jul 20 2020, 04:07 PM

8,739 posts

QUOTE(dex-brz @ Jul 20 2020, 01:33 PM)
oh yeah, my aluminum frame (plaster ceiling) rattles like mad..when bass hits it (eg Blade Runner 2049 opening scene, War of the Worlds aliens scene, Interstellar spaceship scene  rclxm9.gif )

any easy DIY solution to fix it? (eg putting small sand bags inside? biggrin.gif )
Anything that have some weight to hold it down, even books will work.
sonerin
post Jul 20 2020, 04:43 PM

8,739 posts

QUOTE(dex-brz @ Jul 20 2020, 04:23 PM)
thumbsup.gif
Down light is also another that will vibrate

sonerin
post Jul 21 2020, 02:20 PM

8,739 posts

QUOTE(dex-brz @ Jul 20 2020, 04:52 PM)
well i guess nothing is perfect unless we have a dedicated AV room (built for the purpose)

and at the same time, also need to worry about the bass/vibration affects our neighbors (link houses)  sweat.gif  rolleyes.gif
Oh no worries too much about it. Even non link house won't escape from bass as low freq wave length is just too long. tongue.gif
sonerin
post Jul 29 2020, 04:30 PM

8,739 posts

QUOTE(JustCheeze @ Jul 27 2020, 05:00 PM)
Any yamaha pre pro owner here? Got some questions.
Yeah I have a yamaha CX5200
sonerin
post Jul 30 2020, 07:47 AM

8,739 posts

QUOTE(JustCheeze @ Jul 30 2020, 02:09 AM)
How is it so far? YPAO good?
As Kevin said is about the same but YPAO is not so good when comes to bass management
sonerin
post Jul 30 2020, 05:38 PM

8,739 posts

QUOTE(JustCheeze @ Jul 30 2020, 03:38 PM)
I am using Audyssey now, but only the ordinary XT version. Looking to either go for x3600H or x4700h now with XT32. I read before some sifu said on this thread YPAO is way way worse than Audyssey in bass EQ though..?  hmm.gif
Do you use the multi angle boomerang thing to calibrate also? What does that really do?
The purpose of the stand is for multi location and also for atmos calibration. No doubt Audessey is better for bass management but still just relying on auto calibration for bass management is still not enough
sonerin
post Jul 31 2020, 12:24 AM

8,739 posts

https://www.minidsp.com/products/minidsp-in.../minidsp-2x4-hd
sonerin
post Aug 2 2020, 09:14 PM

8,739 posts

QUOTE(JustCheeze @ Aug 2 2020, 04:36 PM)
I find yamaha receiver quite confusing to set up. Need some Yamaha sifu to assist.
Which part is confusing ?
sonerin
post Aug 3 2020, 06:10 PM

8,739 posts

QUOTE(JustCheeze @ Aug 3 2020, 04:16 PM)
Why Yamaha claim good bass EQ when they only have 4 band of EQ in their bass EQ? Why their auto EQ only go down to 30hz but manual allow you to go down to 16hz but there is not enough bands to use? This is confusing to me.
YPAO is only able to do down to 30hz. Anyway, it is a limitation. I won’t rely on this only for bass management. Not just for Yamaha but any brand of AVR is still not really enough to manage the bass. Will recommend you go with like minidsp for proper bass management
sonerin
post Aug 3 2020, 09:41 PM

8,739 posts

QUOTE(JustCheeze @ Aug 3 2020, 07:50 PM)
So pay over 10k for this pre pro CX5200 but cannot even do bass EQ properly? Btw why you mention bass management? I thought bass management is just to set crossover which is any basic receiver can do?

I read abit on minidsp. Seems like a good device, but I cannot understand why must spend even more when already paying for premium model pre pro.
Bass management is not just as simple as setting cross over. There many more things into. This is not premium at all. Premium will be like Lyndorf, Datasat, Storm....etc will suggest you go to search a bit more in YouTube to learn some basic bass management
sonerin
post Aug 4 2020, 03:27 PM

8,739 posts

QUOTE(JustCheeze @ Aug 4 2020, 03:19 PM)
Then why yamaha advertise like they are the best? Scam and bullshit?

I will research more on bass EQ.
I heard people say use good power cables and speaker cables is better instead of spending so much on room treatment which look ugly. This is what one shop told me. Is that true?

Seems like Audyssey is very popular tho.
What ever brand is also say they are the best. Which company in their right mind will say their product is not good. Maybe Yamaha is not right for you than can go to Marantz AV8805 which uses Audyssey which is very popular. Every component is important for audio doesn't matter is Room treatment, cables, hardware. Best you get something to experience yourself.
sonerin
post Aug 5 2020, 07:53 PM

8,739 posts

QUOTE(JustCheeze @ Aug 5 2020, 07:29 PM)
Ya I understand that every company will advertise their product as being the best, that's is quite obvious. But why continue to advertise something that doesn't work eventhough it is already proven? To mislead blind people?

I know to get something to experience. But I need to know what to get first. Cannot be I just blindly go buy, test, don't like then throw away right?  doh.gif
I have search up some pretty decent looking room treatments so my comment before was wrong, I stand corrected.

Regarding the power and speaker cable, can you recommend any? I am going to rebuild my setup from scratch.

I see the Lyngdorf, looks pretty cool and their specs sound pretty nice. RM40k is above my budget tho.  sweat.gif
Actually I'm only still using old Yamaha A850. The YPAO here is only RSC, bass EQ does almost nothing that's why I was asking if CX5200 is any better but it seems like the answer is no.
Seem you have high expectations for processor. You will get disappointed unless you going for those like Lyndorf
sonerin
post Aug 6 2020, 08:33 PM

8,739 posts

QUOTE(JustCheeze @ Aug 6 2020, 07:49 PM)
Unfortunately that is above my budget because I need to factor budget into renovating my room also. You use minidsp with your yamaha?
But why is speaker cable important if resistance is low enough for the current being sent to the speaker without any loss? I also don't understand the power cable part, I read silver is best conductivity followed close by copper, but copper is much much cheaper. But why you mention gold? I thought gold is way less conductive than either copper or silver?

I am rebuilding my setup because I finally have an extra room to make a mini home theater. Is not a big room but it gives me the opportunity to pull all the new cable to the room, so I want to at least get this part right the first time. I've been doing a lot of reading and so far, all I know is that as long as the cables are proper size, the sockets are correct and the MCB is high enough amperage, then I should be fine, right? Goal is to have maybe 2 subwoofer in the room, but I'm not decided yet on what subs to buy.

Where as I did read before on this thread by some sifu saying cable is snake oil. But then there are people like you and sonerin who say it can have a difference. So I'm confused who to listen to now.  rclxub.gif

My target is a setup for 70% movie, 30% music. Something like that, give or take. My A850 currently only powering 3 speaker, LCR. They are the old pioneer andrew jone speaker which I am going to sell off and get something else. I think my room can only accomodate 5.1.4 max, because I read need at least 2-3 ft behind sofa to have 7 channels on the floor right?
For room treatment so far I think I will use carpet for the floor then maybe get those fiberboard that seem to look quite nice. You have experience with the fiberboard?
Yes I am using my Yamaha with the minidsp. Doing electrical for the room is definitely the right thing to do. If is possible to have a dedicated phase to your room. Not sure if your house is 3 phase electric. Than have a proper DB box to have good MCB like hager. 6mm cable to be use for the DB box. Than at least 4mm for each power socket on the wall. Find some good brand cables and you will be surprise how good it can be. Try something like Fajar or Mega cables. Have as many wall sockets as possible all around the room. You may not know when you might need it and is painful once is done. There many more things. Is just too much to explain in words. If you seriously want to know more perhaps you can PM me. Don’t worry I am not any reseller or anything. Just being hobby and passion to share
sonerin
post Aug 7 2020, 05:51 PM

8,739 posts

QUOTE(JustCheeze @ Aug 7 2020, 03:41 PM)
So you use minidsp for sub only? How you bypass the yamaha YPAO?

Ya I will be using fajar cables, my electrician also recommend the same. House is 3 phase, but a dedicated phase with its DB box on the 2nd floor which will be shared with my master bedroom and the media room. My bedroom other than wife's hairdryer, there is no other high power consumption item. I think it should be ok right? Thanks for the tip on multiple sockets though.
Isn't it as long as is OFC copper, that is all that matters?

Yes the minidsp mainly for bass management. I don't bypass the YPAO. I am using it together with minidsp.
As long as you don't have mix of electrical items in the circuit to reduce noise in electric which will go into your hardware.
OFC copper is really low quality type of copper. There are many different grade of copper. As you move up the grade the sound
will change quite a lot. Of course it can get to be very expensive even more than silver.
sonerin
post Aug 8 2020, 06:47 AM

8,739 posts

QUOTE(JustCheeze @ Aug 7 2020, 06:03 PM)
What is the highest grade of copper then?
Example like UPOCC
sonerin
post Aug 9 2020, 08:39 AM

8,739 posts

QUOTE(invest2229 @ Aug 8 2020, 02:05 PM)
have you tune it with your ypao?
( YES. After tune, the PEQ setting just like b4 where all the setting at equalizer frequency bar at center. Is this norm ? )

are you statisfy with current frequency response/bass?
(Looking at increasing the bass when listen to music from B.Ray player.)

what you are planning to do with ur GEQ with your speakers
(the question is should I tune this GEQ for better sound or when normally we should tune this ?)

Heard someone said Yamaha AVR RX-V385 is great for movie but not on music or song plays. Is this true ?
AVR is a multi purpose use. You cannot expect it to be good in everything. Even the higher end Aventage still won’t be much good as well. Is better to get proper amp for stereo usage
sonerin
post Aug 10 2020, 08:05 PM

8,739 posts

QUOTE(JustCheeze @ Aug 10 2020, 04:21 PM)
Thank you very much for the info. Learnt something.
No I don't think yamaha is premium, but I think for their flagship model their ypao should at least be able to do some decent EQ. What I read from most users is that ypao is quite poor, that's what leaves me scratching my head.

Ya I'm leaning towards reference over preference too. But many people including some on this thread keep saying everything is subjective for audio, including cables. It's quite a confusing topic reading so many opinions about this.
Can you elaborate more on the technology of cables? I thought at the end of the day, is still copper only? Long time ago people keep saying don't buy that monster brand cable because they bullshit with all their gas injection blah blah blah technology. But now people are saying different cables produce different sound?  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
you using this type of copper for your cables?
Yeah I am using UPOCC cables
sonerin
post Aug 10 2020, 08:13 PM

8,739 posts

QUOTE(JustCheeze @ Aug 10 2020, 07:30 PM)
I'm checking out the minidsp 88, it looks pretty interesting. Would you say that getting this 88A is a better route than buying an overpriced pre-pro?
The picture to me makes no sense at all. Why would a piece of plastic tube change how resistance in a cable work? The picture shows it's just shifting the copper cores to the edge, why would that... change the sound? Mind explaining the science? Maybe I'm too stupid to understand the picture.

1. I don't know if my ears can tell the difference because I have not even tried any cables yet. But I can't just go spend 10k on a variety of cables then choose which is best right?
2. Don't know, that's why I'm choosing the equipments to go with it now. But why does cable matching to speakers matter in the first place??
3. Right now I believe they are just bullshitting their product (like this audioquest or monster for example), but then there are so many people that swear by it and it makes a difference.
If no name cable is good enough, then that's good. Save me few thousand which I put in to speakers.
The more you read the more you will get confuse and finally when you made the purchase you will realised that you are still not getting it right.

36 Pages « < 29 30 31 32 33 > » Top

0.1295sec    0.30    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 06:51 PM