Hi, can anyone recommend a modest 3-3.5k set up? 5.1 ch
Your Home Theater Setup.. v2, Let's share..
Jul 27 2017, 11:34 AM
57 posts Joined: Sep 2008 From: KL |
Hi, can anyone recommend a modest 3-3.5k set up? 5.1 ch
Jul 27 2017, 05:11 PM
4,522 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
QUOTE(msian @ Jul 27 2017, 11:34 AM) New? Impossible. The ringgit is too shitty to have that kind of privilege.Second or third hand, possible. But you're going to have to hunt quite hard for it. Get a receiver for around 1k, get 5 speakers for 1.5k, get a fart box for 1k. Difficult to recommend any and don't expect a great audio experience. My suggestion, forget 5.1. Put all your money into 2.0 and be happy until you have funds to add more speakers: - RM1.4k for a Yamaha v383 - RM2k for Klipsch RP150 or Q Acoustics Concept 20 or Elac Debut B6. If you have the space and want towers, Sony SS-CS3 towers aren't too bad for the price (around RM1.5k). |
Jul 27 2017, 09:46 PM
8,738 posts Joined: Aug 2009 |
Jul 31 2017, 05:39 PM
198 posts Joined: Jul 2013 |
QUOTE(SSJBen @ Jul 27 2017, 05:11 PM) New? Impossible. The ringgit is too shitty to have that kind of privilege. Hi bro, I'm a beginner in this stuff and thinking to get a 5.1 also..Second or third hand, possible. But you're going to have to hunt quite hard for it. Get a receiver for around 1k, get 5 speakers for 1.5k, get a fart box for 1k. Difficult to recommend any and don't expect a great audio experience. My suggestion, forget 5.1. Put all your money into 2.0 and be happy until you have funds to add more speakers: - RM1.4k for a Yamaha v383 - RM2k for Klipsch RP150 or Q Acoustics Concept 20 or Elac Debut B6. If you have the space and want towers, Sony SS-CS3 towers aren't too bad for the price (around RM1.5k). Can you please advise me on the combination to achieve a decent and good audio quality. Appreciate if you could also estimate the cost for these stuffs. Thanks sifu.. |
Jul 31 2017, 06:32 PM
QUOTE(kinggerrard @ Jul 31 2017, 05:39 PM) Hi bro, I'm a beginner in this stuff and thinking to get a 5.1 also.. The very bare minimum where I would consider a not-pointless setup for HT purposes (does not apply to HiFi music):Can you please advise me on the combination to achieve a decent and good audio quality. Appreciate if you could also estimate the cost for these stuffs. Thanks sifu.. Sony SS-CS5 Bookshelfs L/R = RM700 Sony SS-CS8 Center = RM500 Sony SS-CS5 Bookshelfs surround = RM700 Klipsch R10sw sub = RM1.8k Yamaha RXV-383 AVR = RM1.4k or SVS Prime Satellite 5.1 package = RM5.3k (SRP, actual price is quite a bit lower - ask htkaki/maxx audio to check) You could go cheaper and pick up some second or third hand speakers for even cheaper, but that depends on luck and your willingness to hunt for them. That goes the same for the receiver, you can look at hifi4sale to see if anyone is selling off their 1 or 2 year old receivers, could find something worthwhile there. I think this serves a baseline (in Msia at least) for a new set of speakers on a 5.1 setup that doesn't sound like shit. Beyond this budget (say if you have around 8-10k), then your horizons open up to SVS subs, Q Acoustics Speakers, KEF Q speakers, Jamo C90 series speakers, SVS Prime series speakers, Rega speakers, or Klipsch RP series speakers for example. Not going to list out every range of setups, better for you to list your budget first instead. This post has been edited by SSJBen: Jul 31 2017, 07:04 PM |
Aug 1 2017, 09:15 AM
Thanks for your tips. Wow! Looks like playing HT audio really need to have deep pocket. Actually my budget is around RM5-6k only. Maybe I'll have to save some money to go for SVS subs as I saw many good reviews.
Say around RM8-10k, what would you recommend for the setup 5.1? I think won't go for used HT because as a noob in HT, I don't know how to assess them whether still in good condition or not. Appreciate if you could also recommend me where should I go to buy those stuffs. Is it Desa Home Theatre still the best place to visit? Thanks bro QUOTE(SSJBen @ Jul 31 2017, 06:32 PM) The very bare minimum where I would consider a not-pointless setup for HT purposes (does not apply to HiFi music): Sony SS-CS5 Bookshelfs L/R = RM700 Sony SS-CS8 Center = RM500 Sony SS-CS5 Bookshelfs surround = RM700 Klipsch R10sw sub = RM1.8k Yamaha RXV-383 AVR = RM1.4k or SVS Prime Satellite 5.1 package = RM5.3k (SRP, actual price is quite a bit lower - ask htkaki/maxx audio to check) You could go cheaper and pick up some second or third hand speakers for even cheaper, but that depends on luck and your willingness to hunt for them. That goes the same for the receiver, you can look at hifi4sale to see if anyone is selling off their 1 or 2 year old receivers, could find something worthwhile there. I think this serves a baseline (in Msia at least) for a new set of speakers on a 5.1 setup that doesn't sound like shit. Beyond this budget (say if you have around 8-10k), then your horizons open up to SVS subs, Q Acoustics Speakers, KEF Q speakers, Jamo C90 series speakers, SVS Prime series speakers, Rega speakers, or Klipsch RP series speakers for example. Not going to list out every range of setups, better for you to list your budget first instead. |
Aug 1 2017, 05:27 PM
QUOTE(kinggerrard @ Aug 1 2017, 09:15 AM) Thanks for your tips. Wow! Looks like playing HT audio really need to have deep pocket. Actually my budget is around RM5-6k only. Maybe I'll have to save some money to go for SVS subs as I saw many good reviews. Go thank the you-know-who finance minister. Say around RM8-10k, what would you recommend for the setup 5.1? I think won't go for used HT because as a noob in HT, I don't know how to assess them whether still in good condition or not. Appreciate if you could also recommend me where should I go to buy those stuffs. Is it Desa Home Theatre still the best place to visit? Thanks bro For 8-10k, I can only give you some recommendations - the most important thing is that you will have to go listen to them to get an idea of how they sound. Do keep in mind that room acoustics plays a major role, so what you hear in a demo room may not be what you hear in your own space. Example setup: Klipsch RP150 = RM1.9k Klipsch RP450c = RM2.5k Mission VX-S Sattellites = RM900 SVS PB1000 = RM3.6k Yamaha RXV383 AVR = RM1.4k Alternatively; SVS Prime Satellite 5.1 package = RM5k Marantz SR5011, Denon x2300w or Yamaha v683 AVR = RM2.5k You could then sell the SB1000 sub if it's not enough output for you for a bigger SVS sub like the PB1000 or better yet a PB2000 or PC2000. Alternatively, you could also add another SB1000 to make it a multi-sub setup, which in most cases is significantly better over a single sub setup simply due to better room response (gives you more even/linear bass over multiple seats instead of just one sweetspot), a bigger headroom and some SPL gain (not much though). Of course, choosing a sub depends entirely on the room dimensions and location you are putting it in. The prices here are SRP, so ask around and you may get lower prices (especially the subs). |
Aug 1 2017, 08:36 PM
Thanks for your advice bro. You're really professional in HT setup. I'll visit some of the retails and survey for the setups as recommended by you. Cheers!
QUOTE(SSJBen @ Aug 1 2017, 05:27 PM) Go thank the you-know-who finance minister. For 8-10k, I can only give you some recommendations - the most important thing is that you will have to go listen to them to get an idea of how they sound. Do keep in mind that room acoustics plays a major role, so what you hear in a demo room may not be what you hear in your own space. Example setup: Klipsch RP150 = RM1.9k Klipsch RP450c = RM2.5k Mission VX-S Sattellites = RM900 SVS PB1000 = RM3.6k Yamaha RXV383 AVR = RM1.4k Alternatively; SVS Prime Satellite 5.1 package = RM5k Marantz SR5011, Denon x2300w or Yamaha v683 AVR = RM2.5k You could then sell the SB1000 sub if it's not enough output for you for a bigger SVS sub like the PB1000 or better yet a PB2000 or PC2000. Alternatively, you could also add another SB1000 to make it a multi-sub setup, which in most cases is significantly better over a single sub setup simply due to better room response (gives you more even/linear bass over multiple seats instead of just one sweetspot), a bigger headroom and some SPL gain (not much though). Of course, choosing a sub depends entirely on the room dimensions and location you are putting it in. The prices here are SRP, so ask around and you may get lower prices (especially the subs). |
Aug 1 2017, 09:54 PM
Aug 2 2017, 03:14 PM
628 posts Joined: Apr 2010 |
QUOTE(kinggerrard @ Aug 1 2017, 08:36 PM) Thanks for your advice bro. You're really professional in HT setup. I'll visit some of the retails and survey for the setups as recommended by you. Cheers! good luck on your search too,you are about to enter the world of never ending upgrading/spending This post has been edited by bad2928: Aug 2 2017, 03:15 PM |
Aug 3 2017, 10:06 PM
10,469 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Sarawak |
Aug 4 2017, 12:41 AM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
14,193 posts Joined: May 2005 From: Sbn / KL |
Aug 4 2017, 07:25 AM
10,469 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Sarawak |
Aug 4 2017, 01:19 PM
2,221 posts Joined: Apr 2008 |
Aug 4 2017, 01:37 PM
2,221 posts Joined: Apr 2008 |
QUOTE(djazmy @ Jul 14 2017, 10:09 AM) Hi, sorry noob question here, where to get samsung speaker cable for home theatre? been searching everywhere online, closest i get is from ebay which is too expensive if including the postage That's the problem of home theatre in a box system. Different brands and sometimes different models have their own speaker wire connectors. It is costly to buy the spare parts. Perhaps you can search from the second hand market.This post has been edited by winner: Aug 4 2017, 01:44 PM |
Aug 10 2017, 11:20 PM
3,845 posts Joined: Aug 2005 |
Folks, need your help here, do you know where I can find adjustable speaker stand or custom made.
I need about 4-4.5ft stand that can withstand 7kg speaker. Tried couple of place, most of them has 2-3ft only Thanks |
Aug 11 2017, 06:55 AM
8,738 posts Joined: Aug 2009 |
Aug 11 2017, 11:51 AM
Aug 11 2017, 04:18 PM
QUOTE(VeeJay @ Aug 10 2017, 11:20 PM) Folks, need your help here, do you know where I can find adjustable speaker stand or custom made. Like this?I need about 4-4.5ft stand that can withstand 7kg speaker. Tried couple of place, most of them has 2-3ft only Thanks https://www.mrhaudio.com/studio-monitor-spe...o-monitor-stand https://www.mrhaudio.com/studio-monitor-spe...9-speaker-stand |
Aug 11 2017, 05:39 PM
QUOTE(SSJBen @ Aug 11 2017, 04:18 PM) Like this? yup similar to this...this is only model I manage to find from herehttps://www.mrhaudio.com/studio-monitor-spe...o-monitor-stand https://www.mrhaudio.com/studio-monitor-spe...9-speaker-stand https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3783168/all Still hunting for a better presentable look Thanks abundle...if you do find any other model to let me know....really susah in Msia. Also, I was looking for a vertical stand rack as well, so far nil |
| Change to: | 0.0206sec
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 08:14 PM |