5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Your Home Theater Setup.. v2, Let's share..

Skylinestar
post Apr 22 2014, 08:20 PM

Mega Duck
10,476 posts

QUOTE(chingwooi @ Apr 21 2014, 09:18 PM)
guys need some opinion,

which one of the following would b the best choice

1) benq w1070
2) optoma hd25
3) old panasonic ae2000
hd25
Skylinestar
post Aug 22 2014, 09:59 PM

Mega Duck
10,476 posts

QUOTE(heart strings @ Aug 13 2014, 10:27 AM)
screen is draper from 106" fixed wall screen. took the screen and custom made the frame
can share more details on how you do it?
Skylinestar
post Jun 15 2015, 05:07 AM

Mega Duck
10,476 posts

QUOTE(Kerry1136 @ Jun 10 2015, 05:00 PM)
Need some advice,

I currently have a 50' Pana 50ST50 connected to a Denon AVR,
- SVS Subs
- Mission tower speakers with middle speaker

What else do you guys recommend to add more richness to the sound? a 5.1 setup?
I prefer not to drill holes though.
Add Dirac room correction
Skylinestar
post Jun 15 2015, 02:00 PM

Mega Duck
10,476 posts

QUOTE(Kerry1136 @ Jun 15 2015, 09:55 AM)
How to get it done for my TV / Home Theatre?
http://www.minidsp.com/products/dirac-series/ddrc-88a
Skylinestar
post Jun 16 2015, 03:53 PM

Mega Duck
10,476 posts

QUOTE(paskal @ Jun 15 2015, 05:59 PM)
U using Dirac?
Any significant improvement?
no.
wanna know that which will give a bigger wow impact.
dirac or atmos (more speaker count)
Skylinestar
post Sep 22 2015, 04:44 AM

Mega Duck
10,476 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Sep 21 2015, 10:54 AM)
Hi, does 6mm2/ 10awg speaker wire overkill for short distance connection? around 1m..  somebody recommended me this wire

http://my.rs-online.com/web/p/multicore-sp...-cable/7832804/

very high strand count, 777 strands.
10awg is definitely overkill tongue.gif
Skylinestar
post Aug 12 2016, 11:42 AM

Mega Duck
10,476 posts

In multi-channel audio, room correction is king as speakers interaction is a PITA to fix. If you think critical 2 speaker placement is tough, wait till you integrate 7 floor level speakers with bass management.

This post has been edited by Skylinestar: Aug 12 2016, 11:44 AM
Skylinestar
post Aug 13 2016, 10:00 AM

Mega Duck
10,476 posts

QUOTE(sherr127 @ Aug 12 2016, 08:51 PM)
Let's make it simple James.

How about a fair comparison,RM100k ht systems and RM100k hifi systems in a similar room size,which systems do u think is complicated to get the best excellent result?

I think u understand what i mean by excellent result..
If you're talking about RM100k HiFi with 2 speakers vs RM100k HT with 11 speakers, you know that there's serious compromise on the HT setup. It's not even a comparison.

Before you know it, your favorite track could be mastered on a pair of JBL Pro speakers.
Skylinestar
post Aug 27 2016, 01:04 PM

Mega Duck
10,476 posts

QUOTE(herojack41 @ Aug 27 2016, 01:50 AM)
guys...wonder how many hertz frequency u guys set for center speaker
typically, +40Hz the value mentioned in the spec sheet. if it says 40Hz-20KHz, set XO to 80Hz.
Skylinestar
post Aug 27 2016, 03:38 PM

Mega Duck
10,476 posts

QUOTE(herojack41 @ Aug 27 2016, 02:19 PM)
coz i also not sure what is the spec sheet of this old klipsch speaker
what's your klipsch speaker model?
Skylinestar
post Aug 27 2016, 03:39 PM

Mega Duck
10,476 posts

QUOTE(sonerin @ Aug 27 2016, 02:47 PM)
Well putting 80hz will not be wrong
it will be wrong if the driver can't handle it
Skylinestar
post Aug 27 2016, 10:25 PM

Mega Duck
10,476 posts

QUOTE(jamesleetech @ Aug 27 2016, 09:57 PM)
If the driver can handle 45 Hz, setting to 80Hz should make it easier to handle so why can't handle it? This is where I don't understand. Please help me clear my confusion or have I misunderstood you?
You have misunderstood. What I meant was the speaker can't handle the lower frequencies.
Skylinestar
post Aug 28 2016, 11:39 AM

Mega Duck
10,476 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Aug 27 2016, 11:11 PM)
-18 or -25 or -whatever doesn't actually mean anything you know.
-10 means nothing
It means relative to reference 0dB. Theater A 0dB is the same as Theater B 0dB. That is the purpose of calibration, so that there is a standard volume.

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Aug 27 2016, 11:11 PM)
2) Some movies/content are just mixed too soft and there exists MANY movies like this.
True

QUOTE(hushymushy @ Aug 27 2016, 11:52 PM)
isn't most frequencies have a natural roll off on the low frequency???
Yes, but it can't handle that frequency well. Playing 40Hz on it gonna tax that driver.

QUOTE(jamesleetech @ Aug 27 2016, 11:58 PM)
Yes, I already understood that speakers can't handle all the various lower frequencies.
Your understanding of speaker is correct, just that you misunderstood my sentence because you keep on thinking about big towers (rated at 45Hz) with XO set to 80Hz. Start thinking the opposite. Imagine using a small satellite speakers (and most small bookshelf speakers) and set the XO to 80Hz. In this case, setting 80Hz is wrong because the driver can't handle the low frequency well.
Skylinestar
post Aug 28 2016, 06:39 PM

Mega Duck
10,476 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Aug 28 2016, 01:24 PM)
It is a common practice that many good speaker companies will have at least achieve 75db before the roll-off slope of a speaker. It's not an industry standard, but it's a widely accepted method where generally people will accept that say a speaker at 45hz will have 75db of volume output.
XO Hz is not 75dB. It's typically -3dB point.

Audyssey, YPAO, MCACC and (omg) AccuEQ can barely get the bass management settings correct half the time. How many times have you seen satellite speakers being set to Large? How many times have you seen satellite speakers getting a 40hz crossover?
Audyssey does not set the XO frequency or speaker size. It can't properly splice a main speaker with subwoofer because it doesn't measure the combine response sweep. Even Dirac can't. Maybe Dirac Unison can, but we have no news of it.

there is no set standard of what 0db on the pre/pro/AVR average volume is. Some people set their reference volume to be 75db, some 80, some 85 and some 90. Theater A 0db then is not the same as Theater B at 0db.
Are you sure there are people who set master volume to 75dB (as shown on the front panel/GUI display) ? That is impossible. What you see is 75 / 80 / 85 / 90 , definitely not in dB unit. That is in "absolute" display, which varies by manufacturer.
A quote from D&M manual:
Volume Display : Set how volume is displayed.
• Relative : Display ---dB (Min), in the range –80.5 dB to 18 dB.
• Absolute : Display in the range 0 (Min) to 99.

Reference level is a standard provided the system is calibrated correctly. That's the way a content is presented. Production 0dB = Theater A 0dB = Theater B 0dB
http://www.thx.com/consumer/thx-technology...eference-level/
Skylinestar
post Oct 28 2016, 01:41 PM

Mega Duck
10,476 posts

any recommendations for brackets that allow me hook up my bookshelf speakers to the ceiling (for atmos)?

each speaker weighs 6kg.
Skylinestar
post Oct 29 2016, 08:55 PM

Mega Duck
10,476 posts

QUOTE(Dickong @ Oct 29 2016, 03:33 PM)
The H/P Amp gain setting, u guys set to low, middle, or high.tq
from the manual:
Set the gain of the headphone amplifier. Set this according to the impedance of the connected headphones. It is recommended that this is set on the “Low” side if the headphones have low impedance and on the “High” side if they have high impedance.
Skylinestar
post Nov 22 2016, 10:00 PM

Mega Duck
10,476 posts

QUOTE(ammaraffandi @ Nov 22 2016, 10:23 AM)
is there a big different change stock cable to a good one? i mean the sound quality.
your money is better spent on acoustic treatment
Skylinestar
post Dec 12 2016, 06:18 PM

Mega Duck
10,476 posts

QUOTE(saitong09 @ Dec 11 2016, 07:44 PM)
This is my current 5.1 surround placement, red box
[attachmentid=8243242]
if the red box is your surround, that means the setup is the old conventional 5.1 setup.
Skylinestar
post Dec 12 2016, 06:21 PM

Mega Duck
10,476 posts

QUOTE(saitong09 @ Dec 12 2016, 12:30 PM)
How to position the surround at the back?
are you planning for 7.1?

This post has been edited by Skylinestar: Dec 12 2016, 06:23 PM
Skylinestar
post Dec 26 2016, 03:06 AM

Mega Duck
10,476 posts

QUOTE(Dickong @ Dec 25 2016, 11:25 PM)
Hi sifu, is it adviseable to use XLR cable from pre amp to power amp but cd player to preamp using rca cable.tq
No problem

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.1500sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 01:03 PM