123 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Bottom

2014 Toyota Corolla Altis Club Malaysia, 1st batch may on the on the way now

chin5331
post Apr 14 2014, 06:50 AM

18 posts

I m old man thinking, I want a car can last longer, don't breake down on the road, service is easy.
But I think if got VSC is better, I got 2 time 140 cornering can feel the car Buang a bit.

QUOTE(armadasaxon @ Apr 12 2014, 06:28 PM)
Hi..im planning  to get altis or civic..I want to know y u guys choose altis?2.0v is definitely out as its ripped off.
Both design also I like..so nonit talk about that.
Where else to me..altis got good n bad.
Good is cabin super quiet.
Bad...last time interior use wood.sofa material oso not nice.dashboard so high.muz sit up n straight.no vsc n traction ctrl..no push start..3 year limited mileage...

hkspower
post Apr 14 2014, 12:59 PM

357 posts

QUOTE(DannyMc @ Apr 7 2014, 11:08 PM)
Hey Chin,

I didn't get it as I can't confirm whether the key re-programming method provided by taobao seller is working on our model. My car is expected to arrive next week, will see how the key knocking will annoy me.
go install keyless entry security with push start, no more knocking
cybermaster98
post Apr 14 2014, 01:26 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(King Peter @ Apr 13 2014, 04:56 PM)
Dear Altis owner and all,

I am considering the 2014 Altis as one of the choices for my new car.

One of the biggest confusion (I am sure with a lot others as well), is the justifications of buying 2.0 model vs the 1.8 variant.
2.0G is about RM 9k more, but what are the benefits?

1)  Is it really true that the 2.0 is 0.2 seconds slower from 0 - 100km/h and 5km/h lower top speed? How can that be?
1.8 - 139PS at 6400 rpm, 173 NM of torque at 4000rpm
2.0 - 145 PS at 6200 rpm, 187 NM of torque at 3600rpm.

2.0 litre has higher HP and torque, both achieved at lower RPM, it is hard to understand why it has slower acceleration and lower top speed? Is the figures from 2.0V? How much heavier is the car compared to 1.8? The slightly heavier weight (I assume less than 50kg) and 17 inch wheel and slightly wider wheel really had such a huge impact on the power and Torque gain??

So....my point is, 2.0 being slower than 1.8 yet more expensive? The price penalty is for more equipment only?
[COLOR=red]
2) Does the 2.0 G or V has more sound insulation materials compared to 1.8 variant? In bonnet or trunk area or Engine wall?
How is the NVH or 2.0 compared to 1.8? Is it similar or noticeably better?
From test drive reviews, found the comment that 2.0 is very smooth and quiet, how does it compare to 1.8?
If anything, I mean 1.8 gets same level of sound insulation material, I would expect road noise in 1.8 to be less due to smaller tires.
3) Are the three Altis variants (2.0V vs 2.0G vs. 1.8) using exactly same suspension spring rates and same absorber?
If that is the case, I would expect the 1.8 to have more comfortable ride at the expense of handling due to its more forgiving tires.
4) Can anyone help me with understanding these gear ratios?
Quote -
"As for forward ratios, the 1.8 litre model’s gearbox has gear ratios of 2.480 to 0.396 with a 5.356 final drive, while the 2.0 litre engine’s gearbox specs are 2.396 to 0.428 with a 5.182 final drive. "

How does that translate? I don't understand the numbers.
2.0 model has more relaxed ratio for highway cruising? So that explains why it is slower in acceleration compared to 1.8?[COLOR=red]

Anyway, I don't understand totally how CVT works.

Can anybody share what is the cruising rpm of Altis 1.8 at 140km/h vs 2.0 at 140km/h.

Are the 1.8 or 2.0 engine has enough torque or power that it can still "cruise" at relaxed low RPM manner at speeds of 160km/h and above? Or at such speed, the CVT will have to alter the ratio to keep the engine speed very high due to insufficient power or torque of the engine?
Looking forward to your response, sorry for the long list of questions. Hope  you guys can help me with some good info
I somehow find it weird that you would go into such minute detail to help you choose between the 2.0V and the 1.8G and yet you dot touch on the Stability Control function? Shouldnt safety be at the top of your list? This is the problem with Malaysians. We dont give enough emphasis on safety which is why car manufacturers like Toyota are able to still offer us cars with 2 airbags and no stability control on the C segment models and still Malaysians buy them. This has been highlighted by Paultan many times and yet we are still more driven by resale value than safety.

I really hope the day comes when Malaysian wake up and ask themselves why Toyota doesnt dare offer cars with anything less than 4 airbags and VSC as standard across all their models in the US but they dare to offer us empty tin cans here. And until that day comes, Toyota will continue to rake in millions in profit at the expense of safety.

http://paultan.org/2012/06/27/esp-stabilit...-in-their-cars/

This post has been edited by cybermaster98: Apr 14 2014, 01:28 PM
hawnauk
post Apr 14 2014, 02:29 PM

208 posts

ok, apart from the difference of RM9000 to choose the 2.0G over 1.8E, personally I think it's not worth to pay that amount just to get a 2000cc and multimedia screen for a C-segment sedan.

the biggest mistake is that UMW Toyota omit the VSC and push start despite offering biggest CC, the new Altis in Thailand and Taiwan only offer 1.8, while in Singapore only 1.6

for me I will get the 1.8E, if want then pay additional to install the multimedia screen.

Just my 2 cents biggrin.gif
hkspower
post Apr 14 2014, 03:49 PM

357 posts

get 2.0g, more powderful n smooth 6spd but not 2.0V need 13k++ more just for stupid gps, keyless, projector, leather seat...
sct
post Apr 14 2014, 07:08 PM

get only 1.8 now. If really want 2.0, have strong feeling UMW will add VSC, push start or what not later when new Sylphy & Civic FL join the war.
armadasaxon
post Apr 14 2014, 10:45 PM

488 posts

Ya juz get 1.8 better..2.0g got the nicer rims..and the optiron meter..I feel toyota really cheapskate playing with all this small things..meter oso wan to difference leh..shit man.

2.0g should not compromise on the vsc. Even though got the 7inch player..but it is without navigation.
FuNks
post Apr 14 2014, 11:29 PM

F z N
2,812 posts

But 2.0v also doesn't come with navigatio. Need topup lollll
King Peter
post Apr 15 2014, 06:57 AM

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Apr 14 2014, 01:26 PM)
I somehow find it weird that you would go into such minute detail to help you choose between the 2.0V and the 1.8G and yet you dot touch on the Stability Control function? Shouldnt safety be at the top of your list? This is the problem with Malaysians. We dont give enough emphasis on safety which is why car manufacturers like Toyota are able to still offer us cars with 2 airbags and no stability control on the C segment models and still Malaysians buy them. This has been highlighted by Paultan many times and yet we are still more driven by resale value than safety.

I really hope the day comes when Malaysian wake up and ask themselves why Toyota doesnt dare offer cars with anything less than 4 airbags and VSC as standard across all their models in the US but they dare to offer us empty tin cans here. And until that day comes, Toyota will continue to rake in millions in profit at the expense of safety.

http://paultan.org/2012/06/27/esp-stabilit...-in-their-cars/
VSC is a nice to have, but not really the top of my priority. Maybe its because I don't fully understand how it works in "real life" situations.
After reading the Paultan article, yeah its important for safety in a situation out of your control. This is provided that the VSC is really as effective as the one mentioned in the article.
Maybe the car driven by Paultan is a BMW or something like that?

I mean, yes like what the article mentioned, a truly effective VSC could save life, we are all crying to get VSC, I say good thing.
Next thing, we actually need to do is to question the VSC put in our normal budget cars, are they "good enough". This is a question nobody would know the answer, unless it is tested in "real life" scenarios by professional drivers.

What I am trying to point out is that, in my old Vios, the anti-lock brakes are I think lousy. I thought the sensors reaction time are too slow. I mean, for example, I am braking hard for a corner, hit a small bump, ABS kicks into action .."tuk tuk tuk tuk",...I lose all my braking force and risk not making the corner. If I drive a car without ABS in same situation, I have no such problem.

If you get what I am trying to explain, I thought a really good system should have faster reaction time, that means allowing the brake to grip again much faster after initial anti-lock action kicks in.

This post has been edited by King Peter: Apr 15 2014, 07:07 AM
BravoZeroTwo
post Apr 15 2014, 07:53 AM

1,128 posts

QUOTE(King Peter @ Apr 15 2014, 07:57 AM)
VSC is a nice to have, but not really the top of my priority. Maybe its because I don't fully understand how it works in "real life" situations.
After reading the Paultan article, yeah its important for safety in a situation out of your control. This is provided that the VSC is really as effective as the one mentioned in the article.
Maybe the car driven by Paultan is a BMW or something like that?

I mean, yes like what the article mentioned, a truly effective VSC could save life, we are all crying to get VSC, I say good thing.
Next thing, we actually need to do is to question the VSC put in our normal budget cars, are they "good enough". This is a question nobody would know the answer, unless it is tested in "real life" scenarios by professional drivers.
What I am trying to point out is that, in my old Vios, the anti-lock brakes are I think lousy. I thought the sensors reaction time are too slow. I mean, for example, I am braking hard for a corner, hit a small bump, ABS kicks into action .."tuk tuk tuk tuk",...I lose all my braking force and risk not making the corner. If I drive a car without ABS in same situation, I have no such problem.

If you get what I am trying to explain, I thought a really good system should have faster reaction time, that means allowing the brake to grip again much faster after initial anti-lock action kicks in.
Your experience in that Vios was because it has no VSC based on your explanation. You need to read more about this important safety feature. If not, why Europe and North America it is a compulsory equipment for each and every car sold there since 2012.
DannyMc
post Apr 15 2014, 01:47 PM

197 posts

Got my car yesterday, no time to really enjoy the ride but so far so good for the acceleration. It is light and I just have the same feeling driving my ex-Yaris but of course more stable.

Thought of installing Aerokit/TRD + new RIMs , but after seeing my car I felt like I don't need any at this moment. Original is good enough.

Save my money for v-kool and coating(probably...not yet decided) better.

Regarding the key knocking issue, hmmm... I don't feel any, My leg open "kang kang" I guess tongue.gif . Will put some photos in this week.
hawnauk
post Apr 15 2014, 02:19 PM

208 posts

QUOTE(DannyMc @ Apr 15 2014, 01:47 PM)
Got my car yesterday, no time to really enjoy the ride but so far so good for the acceleration. It is light and I just have the same feeling driving my ex-Yaris but of course more stable.

Thought of installing Aerokit/TRD + new RIMs , but after seeing my car I felt like I don't need any at this moment. Original is good enough.

Save my money for v-kool and coating(probably...not yet decided) better.

Regarding the key knocking issue, hmmm... I don't feel any, My leg open "kang kang" I guess tongue.gif . Will put some photos in this week.
congrats on your new ride! mind to share yours is 1.8 or 2.0? any discount?

aerokit does looks cool but if I were you I will just throw in the trunk lid spoiler and stick to ori rims smile.gif
pablopabla
post Apr 15 2014, 02:38 PM

Booked my 1.8 in mid March and squeezed out a RM1k discount from the SA because have to wait till May for delivery.
hawnauk
post Apr 15 2014, 03:04 PM

208 posts

QUOTE(pablopabla @ Apr 15 2014, 02:38 PM)
Booked my 1.8 in mid March and squeezed out a RM1k discount from the SA because have to wait till May for delivery.
my guess is there will be more discount when new Nissan sylphy launch which is very soon.
DannyMc
post Apr 15 2014, 03:42 PM

197 posts

QUOTE(hawnauk @ Apr 15 2014, 02:19 PM)
congrats on your new ride! mind to share yours is 1.8 or 2.0? any discount?

aerokit does looks cool but if I were you I will just throw in the trunk lid spoiler and stick to ori rims  smile.gif
Mine is 1.8 , Grey Metallic . Discount RM1k , since I got a trade in car , so the potong nama stuff and the new car plate registration all FOC. My SA gave me a RM500 service voucher, no full tank tongue.gif I pump the first tank by myself.
This Friday gonna try it on highway , but I can't go fast as I got baby girl with me. Most likely will try to see how stable is the car at 110km/h...

It is a good idea to have trunk lip spoiler but so far entire market tak lak stock for complete bk, the latest new is 1 month later. Check with the shop in Penang a week ago. Looks like Aerokit , will cost RM1.5-1.6k.

I am still thinking whether I should add on another layer of tint since Toyota already have Ecotint tinted to the car.
armadasaxon
post Apr 15 2014, 08:17 PM

488 posts

I c altis from the side.looks like maserati
pablopabla
post Apr 15 2014, 10:15 PM

QUOTE(DannyMc @ Apr 15 2014, 03:42 PM)
Mine is 1.8 , Grey Metallic . Discount RM1k , since I got a trade in car , so the potong nama stuff and the new car plate registration all FOC. My SA gave me a RM500 service voucher, no full tank tongue.gif I pump the first tank by myself.
This Friday gonna try it on highway , but I can't go fast as I got baby girl with me.  Most likely will try to see how stable is the car at 110km/h...

It is a good idea to have trunk lip spoiler but so far entire market tak lak stock for complete bk, the latest new is 1 month later. Check with the shop in Penang a week ago. Looks like Aerokit , will cost RM1.5-1.6k.

I am still thinking whether I should add on another layer of tint since Toyota already have Ecotint tinted to the car.
I also booked 1.8 grey metallic. According to SA, the Toyota fellas in Thailand wrongly estimated the demand for white colours. Almost 60% production of white colours and the rest in smaller numbers. However, customers are buying more of the grey metallic than white. This is why there is a long waiting list.

I also enquired about the aero kits but was informed that it is not available at this moment.

I think the Ecotint should be good enough as it is the security film. They display the specs of the tint at the showroom. Just use it for a while and see if it is good enough for you before splashing cash.

This post has been edited by pablopabla: Apr 15 2014, 10:15 PM
DannyMc
post Apr 15 2014, 10:20 PM

197 posts

QUOTE(pablopabla @ Apr 15 2014, 10:15 PM)
I also booked 1.8 grey metallic.  According to SA,  the Toyota fellas in Thailand wrongly estimated the demand for white colours. Almost 60% production of white colours and the rest in smaller numbers. However, customers are buying more of the grey metallic than white. This is why there is a long waiting list.

I also enquired about the aero kits but was informed that it is not available at this moment.

I think the Ecotint should be good enough as it is the security film.  They display the specs of the tint at the showroom.  Just use it for a while and see if it is good enough for you before splashing cash.
Yep, I heard the same story from my SA too. I could get my car a month earlier if I picked white. I placed my order on February.
SA told me if I missed this window(April) I will probably need to wait till June. Guess it is almost similar for your case. However , it is worth waiting for wink.gif
pablopabla
post Apr 15 2014, 10:36 PM

QUOTE(DannyMc @ Apr 15 2014, 10:20 PM)
Yep, I heard the same story from my SA too. I could get my car a month earlier if I picked white. I placed my order on February.
SA told me if I missed this window(April) I will probably need to wait till June. Guess it is almost similar for your case. However , it is worth waiting for wink.gif
Definitely similar. My colleague is waiting for her 2.0V grey metallic. Purchased in March in Klang and should arrive in early May.
kinjiokia
post Apr 15 2014, 11:57 PM

226 posts

I will get a 1.8E + DVD-AVN Package + Aerokit Package. + (Pearl White)
look abit stunning~

This post has been edited by kinjiokia: Apr 15 2014, 11:58 PM

123 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0288sec    1.03    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 06:19 PM