2014 Toyota Corolla Altis Club Malaysia, 1st batch may on the on the way now

chin5331
post Apr 8 2014, 09:59 AM

18 posts

i see their chip is G and our one is H.
not sure it work or not.
i think need to break the original chip and install on new key.

丰田芯片注册方法:(老款带圆点芯片可以自己匹配 新款带G的不能哦)

如果您的钥匙上刻有G字,则是新款丰田遥控钥匙系统(2010年后才有的),G字的防盗芯片都必需要解码仪匹配才能使用,也都必须解码仪匹配才能使用。所以买前您得咨询好能匹配的地方再买。(一般在开锁公司,汽修厂,4S店有这种匹配仪器。

QUOTE(DannyMc @ Apr 7 2014, 11:08 PM)
Hey Chin,

I didn't get it as I can't confirm whether the key re-programming method provided by taobao seller is working on our model. My car is expected to arrive next week, will see how the key knocking will annoy me.
This post has been edited by chin5331: Apr 8 2014, 11:23 AM
chin5331
post Apr 8 2014, 10:31 AM

18 posts

This is awesome.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4VQxNxs1ZRU

This post has been edited by chin5331: Apr 8 2014, 11:22 AM
DannyMc
post Apr 8 2014, 12:02 PM

197 posts

awesome!
I just want a good looking bodykit, aerokit not available and not ETA at this moment....

Guys, have you installed the 3rd party bodykit? I would drive all way down to KL to get it install smile.gif
chin5331
post Apr 8 2014, 01:27 PM

18 posts

Thailand got Esport and TRD.
not sure for malaysia

QUOTE(DannyMc @ Apr 8 2014, 12:02 PM)
awesome!
I just want a good looking bodykit, aerokit not available and not ETA at this moment....

Guys, have you installed the 3rd party bodykit? I would drive all way down to KL to get it install smile.gif
kesh1003
post Apr 9 2014, 01:28 PM

QUOTE(chin5331 @ Apr 8 2014, 01:27 PM)
Thailand got Esport and TRD.
not sure for malaysia
rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

Vernons Wonderland
post Apr 9 2014, 09:39 PM

QUOTE(FuNks @ Apr 6 2014, 08:36 PM)
Warranty will go void or not? Coz cut wire wo
no cut rolleyes.gif
FuNks
post Apr 10 2014, 10:35 AM

F z N
2,812 posts

wow very nice, i would install the TRD front, rear and side skirt + Aerokit rear spoiler.
DannyMc
post Apr 11 2014, 10:19 AM

197 posts

Just asked one of the shop in Penang, picture showed looks like Aerokit and cost about RM1.5-1.6K. Need to wait for another month...
hkspower
post Apr 12 2014, 11:57 AM

357 posts

what plug came stock with 2.0g ?? normal type or oem iridium ??
armadasaxon
post Apr 12 2014, 06:28 PM

488 posts

Hi..im planning to get altis or civic..I want to know y u guys choose altis?2.0v is definitely out as its ripped off.
Both design also I like..so nonit talk about that.
Where else to me..altis got good n bad.
Good is cabin super quiet.
Bad...last time interior use wood.sofa material oso not nice.dashboard so high.muz sit up n straight.no vsc n traction ctrl..no push start..3 year limited mileage...

armadasaxon
post Apr 12 2014, 07:04 PM

488 posts

1.8 got foglight?andnis the rims same as 2.0?
FuNks
post Apr 13 2014, 10:18 AM

F z N
2,812 posts

QUOTE(armadasaxon @ Apr 12 2014, 07:04 PM)
1.8 got foglight?andnis the rims same as 2.0?
Foglamp should be same.
Rims are diff with the 2.0v spec.
How much is civic.high spec?
armadasaxon
post Apr 13 2014, 12:06 PM

488 posts

QUOTE(FuNks @ Apr 13 2014, 10:18 AM)
Foglamp should be same.
Rims are diff with the 2.0v spec.
How much is civic.high spec?
Civic high spec is arpund rm 136 as altis 2.0v..
But civic audio gps is a nono..so damm ugly and their leather is cheap leather.
cavynz
post Apr 13 2014, 12:23 PM

367 posts

QUOTE(armadasaxon @ Apr 12 2014, 06:28 PM)
Hi..im planning  to get altis or civic..I want to know y u guys choose altis?2.0v is definitely out as its ripped off.
Both design also I like..so nonit talk about that.
Where else to me..altis got good n bad.
Good is cabin super quiet.
Bad...last time interior use wood.sofa material oso not nice.dashboard so high.muz sit up n straight.no vsc n traction ctrl..no push start..3 year limited mileage...

Depends on your priority criteria. Design? Comfort? Safety? Budget? Different people has different preference. List down your preference it will helps you to narrow down your choice to decide which is suitable for you. smile.gif
King Peter
post Apr 13 2014, 04:56 PM

Dear Altis owner and all,

I am considering the 2014 Altis as one of the choices for my new car.

One of the biggest confusion (I am sure with a lot others as well), is the justifications of buying 2.0 model vs the 1.8 variant.
2.0G is about RM 9k more, but what are the benefits?

1) Is it really true that the 2.0 is 0.2 seconds slower from 0 - 100km/h and 5km/h lower top speed? How can that be?
1.8 - 139PS at 6400 rpm, 173 NM of torque at 4000rpm
2.0 - 145 PS at 6200 rpm, 187 NM of torque at 3600rpm.

2.0 litre has higher HP and torque, both achieved at lower RPM, it is hard to understand why it has slower acceleration and lower top speed? Is the figures from 2.0V? How much heavier is the car compared to 1.8? The slightly heavier weight (I assume less than 50kg) and 17 inch wheel and slightly wider wheel really had such a huge impact on the power and Torque gain??

So....my point is, 2.0 being slower than 1.8 yet more expensive? The price penalty is for more equipment only?
[COLOR=red]

2) Does the 2.0 G or V has more sound insulation materials compared to 1.8 variant? In bonnet or trunk area or Engine wall?
How is the NVH or 2.0 compared to 1.8? Is it similar or noticeably better?
From test drive reviews, found the comment that 2.0 is very smooth and quiet, how does it compare to 1.8?
If anything, I mean 1.8 gets same level of sound insulation material, I would expect road noise in 1.8 to be less due to smaller tires.

3) Are the three Altis variants (2.0V vs 2.0G vs. 1.8) using exactly same suspension spring rates and same absorber?
If that is the case, I would expect the 1.8 to have more comfortable ride at the expense of handling due to its more forgiving tires.

4) Can anyone help me with understanding these gear ratios?
Quote -
"As for forward ratios, the 1.8 litre model’s gearbox has gear ratios of 2.480 to 0.396 with a 5.356 final drive, while the 2.0 litre engine’s gearbox specs are 2.396 to 0.428 with a 5.182 final drive. "

How does that translate? I don't understand the numbers.
2.0 model has more relaxed ratio for highway cruising? So that explains why it is slower in acceleration compared to 1.8?[COLOR=red]

Anyway, I don't understand totally how CVT works.

Can anybody share what is the cruising rpm of Altis 1.8 at 140km/h vs 2.0 at 140km/h.

Are the 1.8 or 2.0 engine has enough torque or power that it can still "cruise" at relaxed low RPM manner at speeds of 160km/h and above? Or at such speed, the CVT will have to alter the ratio to keep the engine speed very high due to insufficient power or torque of the engine?

Looking forward to your response, sorry for the long list of questions. Hope you guys can help me with some good info

armadasaxon
post Apr 13 2014, 06:58 PM

488 posts

QUOTE(King Peter @ Apr 13 2014, 04:56 PM)
Dear Altis owner and all,

I am considering the 2014 Altis as one of the choices for my new car.

One of the biggest confusion (I am sure with a lot others as well), is the justifications of buying 2.0 model vs the 1.8 variant.
2.0G is about RM 9k more, but what are the benefits?

1)  Is it really true that the 2.0 is 0.2 seconds slower from 0 - 100km/h and 5km/h lower top speed? How can that be?
1.8 - 139PS at 6400 rpm, 173 NM of torque at 4000rpm
2.0 - 145 PS at 6200 rpm, 187 NM of torque at 3600rpm.

2.0 litre has higher HP and torque, both achieved at lower RPM, it is hard to understand why it has slower acceleration and lower top speed? Is the figures from 2.0V? How much heavier is the car compared to 1.8? The slightly heavier weight (I assume less than 50kg) and 17 inch wheel and slightly wider wheel really had such a huge impact on the power and Torque gain??

So....my point is, 2.0 being slower than 1.8 yet more expensive? The price penalty is for more equipment only?
[COLOR=red]
2) Does the 2.0 G or V has more sound insulation materials compared to 1.8 variant? In bonnet or trunk area or Engine wall?
How is the NVH or 2.0 compared to 1.8? Is it similar or noticeably better?
From test drive reviews, found the comment that 2.0 is very smooth and quiet, how does it compare to 1.8?
If anything, I mean 1.8 gets same level of sound insulation material, I would expect road noise in 1.8 to be less due to smaller tires.
3) Are the three Altis variants (2.0V vs 2.0G vs. 1.8) using exactly same suspension spring rates and same absorber?
If that is the case, I would expect the 1.8 to have more comfortable ride at the expense of handling due to its more forgiving tires.
4) Can anyone help me with understanding these gear ratios?
Quote -
"As for forward ratios, the 1.8 litre model’s gearbox has gear ratios of 2.480 to 0.396 with a 5.356 final drive, while the 2.0 litre engine’s gearbox specs are 2.396 to 0.428 with a 5.182 final drive. "

How does that translate? I don't understand the numbers.
2.0 model has more relaxed ratio for highway cruising? So that explains why it is slower in acceleration compared to 1.8?[COLOR=red]

Anyway, I don't understand totally how CVT works.

Can anybody share what is the cruising rpm of Altis 1.8 at 140km/h vs 2.0 at 140km/h.

Are the 1.8 or 2.0 engine has enough torque or power that it can still "cruise" at relaxed low RPM manner at speeds of 160km/h and above? Or at such speed, the CVT will have to alter the ratio to keep the engine speed very high due to insufficient power or torque of the engine?
Looking forward to your response, sorry for the long list of questions. Hope  you guys can help me with some good info
hi bro..me oso wan to get..and done alot of comparison.the difference betqeen 1.8 n 2.0g is the engine, touchscreen player,optiron meter...thats all..question 2.3.4..nobody will answer u..inside is quiet because of the acoustic windscreen..go test drive it...those gear ratio things ia not important as u r not racing..2.0 eat more petrol as its more powerful..

This post has been edited by armadasaxon: Apr 13 2014, 07:01 PM
King Peter
post Apr 13 2014, 09:54 PM

QUOTE(armadasaxon @ Apr 13 2014, 06:58 PM)
hi bro..me oso wan to get..and done alot of comparison.the difference betqeen 1.8 n 2.0g is the engine, touchscreen player,optiron meter...thats all..question 2.3.4..nobody will answer u..inside is quiet because of the acoustic windscreen..go test drive it...those gear ratio things ia not important as u r not racing..2.0 eat more petrol as its more powerful..
For me, I still wish to get the answers 2,3, and 4,...as I do believe it helps me understand whats the value of 2.0 over 1.8.

I mean, if I have to pay RM 9k more, for same NVH (engine equally smooth, both equally quiet, both having exactly same absorber and ride quality),...so whats the point of paying extra RM9k then without any performance advantage? .....That's normally the case in most cars,...higher engine capacity main advantage is better performance (in addition to better equipped)

I am the type of buyer who values comfort (as in NVH and ride quality, and seating comforts) and performance (as in acceleration,...I don't care so much about handling as I am not a racer). I am the type who don't care so much on touch screen,...push starts,...VSC / traction controls.

One more question, both 1.8 and 2.0 sound system exactly the same?

Gear ratios in normal auto, I find quite important when you look at highway cruising (not only for racing), is the highest gear ratio tall enough for relaxed cruising, maybe the 2.0's extra torque at lower revs allows a more relaxed cruising...
But in CVT, I don't quite understand how it translates.

This post has been edited by King Peter: Apr 13 2014, 09:56 PM
armadasaxon
post Apr 14 2014, 12:58 AM

488 posts

Good luck..the sa wont know either
chin5331
post Apr 14 2014, 06:36 AM

18 posts

Those question are very technical for toyota owner(at least me). I think u should ask SA and go test drive ur self, Then u will know. That's few Toyota showroom at Klang vally just go book the time and test drive as many as u can, that is FOC.Tdsp

This answer can easily get when u test drive.
chin5331
post Apr 14 2014, 06:39 AM

18 posts

If not mistake, it should be iridium. I did ask SA before but I forgot already.

QUOTE(hkspower @ Apr 12 2014, 11:57 AM)
what plug came stock with 2.0g ?? normal type or oem iridium ??

123 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0242sec    0.95    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 02:30 PM