2014 Toyota Corolla Altis Club Malaysia, 1st batch may on the on the way now

cybermaster98
post Jan 24 2014, 03:22 PM

4,440 posts

Its actually sad that Toyota Malaysia still hasnt made Stability Control a standard feature across all its models. Even the current Preve as it as standard. And the funny thing is that many Malaysians still do not even know what is VSC and its importance. They dont even bother than Toyota is now one of the few car manufacturers still stuck in giving 3 years warranty. So Toyota laughs all the way to the bank.
cybermaster98
post Apr 14 2014, 01:26 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(King Peter @ Apr 13 2014, 04:56 PM)
Dear Altis owner and all,

I am considering the 2014 Altis as one of the choices for my new car.

One of the biggest confusion (I am sure with a lot others as well), is the justifications of buying 2.0 model vs the 1.8 variant.
2.0G is about RM 9k more, but what are the benefits?

1)  Is it really true that the 2.0 is 0.2 seconds slower from 0 - 100km/h and 5km/h lower top speed? How can that be?
1.8 - 139PS at 6400 rpm, 173 NM of torque at 4000rpm
2.0 - 145 PS at 6200 rpm, 187 NM of torque at 3600rpm.

2.0 litre has higher HP and torque, both achieved at lower RPM, it is hard to understand why it has slower acceleration and lower top speed? Is the figures from 2.0V? How much heavier is the car compared to 1.8? The slightly heavier weight (I assume less than 50kg) and 17 inch wheel and slightly wider wheel really had such a huge impact on the power and Torque gain??

So....my point is, 2.0 being slower than 1.8 yet more expensive? The price penalty is for more equipment only?
[COLOR=red]
2) Does the 2.0 G or V has more sound insulation materials compared to 1.8 variant? In bonnet or trunk area or Engine wall?
How is the NVH or 2.0 compared to 1.8? Is it similar or noticeably better?
From test drive reviews, found the comment that 2.0 is very smooth and quiet, how does it compare to 1.8?
If anything, I mean 1.8 gets same level of sound insulation material, I would expect road noise in 1.8 to be less due to smaller tires.
3) Are the three Altis variants (2.0V vs 2.0G vs. 1.8) using exactly same suspension spring rates and same absorber?
If that is the case, I would expect the 1.8 to have more comfortable ride at the expense of handling due to its more forgiving tires.
4) Can anyone help me with understanding these gear ratios?
Quote -
"As for forward ratios, the 1.8 litre model’s gearbox has gear ratios of 2.480 to 0.396 with a 5.356 final drive, while the 2.0 litre engine’s gearbox specs are 2.396 to 0.428 with a 5.182 final drive. "

How does that translate? I don't understand the numbers.
2.0 model has more relaxed ratio for highway cruising? So that explains why it is slower in acceleration compared to 1.8?[COLOR=red]

Anyway, I don't understand totally how CVT works.

Can anybody share what is the cruising rpm of Altis 1.8 at 140km/h vs 2.0 at 140km/h.

Are the 1.8 or 2.0 engine has enough torque or power that it can still "cruise" at relaxed low RPM manner at speeds of 160km/h and above? Or at such speed, the CVT will have to alter the ratio to keep the engine speed very high due to insufficient power or torque of the engine?
Looking forward to your response, sorry for the long list of questions. Hope  you guys can help me with some good info
I somehow find it weird that you would go into such minute detail to help you choose between the 2.0V and the 1.8G and yet you dot touch on the Stability Control function? Shouldnt safety be at the top of your list? This is the problem with Malaysians. We dont give enough emphasis on safety which is why car manufacturers like Toyota are able to still offer us cars with 2 airbags and no stability control on the C segment models and still Malaysians buy them. This has been highlighted by Paultan many times and yet we are still more driven by resale value than safety.

I really hope the day comes when Malaysian wake up and ask themselves why Toyota doesnt dare offer cars with anything less than 4 airbags and VSC as standard across all their models in the US but they dare to offer us empty tin cans here. And until that day comes, Toyota will continue to rake in millions in profit at the expense of safety.

http://paultan.org/2012/06/27/esp-stabilit...-in-their-cars/

This post has been edited by cybermaster98: Apr 14 2014, 01:28 PM
cybermaster98
post Apr 17 2014, 10:00 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(pablopabla @ Apr 17 2014, 08:00 AM)
2 airbags is enough comfort for thought. Airbags alone will not save you if you are speeding. Better to drive at a safe and reasonable speed. My Waja doesn't have airbags. Neither does it have VSC but I have no problems. As always, drive safe.
Sorry but this is the kind of foolishness & mentality that car companies like Toyota bank on to ensure they keep supplying Malaysians with crap cars which would otherwise be rejected by Europe, America, Australia and New Zealand.

Just because you managed to drive for 20 yrs without accident so im sure i will never be in an accident ever. Typical Malaysian mentality. You have no problems not having more airbags or stability control because you have never been in a situation which required one. Plus u have never fully understood the importance of stability control.

And thats the problem with Malaysians in general. They always wait for something to happen before they realise the importance. The phrase 'prevention is better than cure' is non existent. They always assume that just because they drive slow and carefully then they are 100% safe. If thats the case then why bother wearing a seatbelt? Most of thse ppl fail to realise that many accidents happening these days are because of someone else's fault or mistake. Did Karpal Singh die this morning because if his mistake? Think!

Its really sad to see how we have placed COST above SAFETY. We spend thousands on our handphones & entertainement and yet we cant spend an extra few hundred a month in loan repayments to afford a better equipped car.

I drove for 21 years without being in any accident. In 2012 i was overtaking a trailer on the NSE (dual lane) when my rear tyre completely blew apart. If not for the Stability Control on my car, i wouldnt be here telling u the story. Did my 21 year clean track record save me? No.

Read this article from Paultan and understand why Malaysians need to change and change NOW:

http://paultan.org/2012/06/27/esp-stabilit...-in-their-cars/

Stop putting your life and the lives of your loved ones on the line just because of some track record. We should prepare for that ONE accident which may cost us more than the money in our pockets. We can always repair a car but we can never pay to get a life back.
cybermaster98
post Apr 18 2014, 10:58 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(pablopabla @ Apr 17 2014, 10:46 AM)
Thank you for your guidance and confirmation that I am foolish.

Is life truly in one's hands? No. It's in God's hands. We can prepare for everything but when time is up, it's up.

Anyway, thank you for your discourse and passion in this subject. We can agree to disagree. It's just that my priorities and considerations are different from yours.
Yes your life is in God's hands but only when YOU HAVE DONE YOUR BEST FIRST. You didnt prepare for everything so dont claim such. You have a choice to get something with a better safety feature but YOU CHOSE NOT TO so dont blame God and dont try to put that responsibility on God.

So your priorities are not safety? Your life? The lives of your loved ones? The other road users? Not a priority? Dont let stupidity rule.
cybermaster98
post Apr 18 2014, 11:01 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(pai3355 @ Apr 17 2014, 11:28 AM)
Thats absolutely correct, i wrote a few times in this forum about airbags because working in media industry i have seen a lot of car crash photos.

Almost all of the photos we can see no airbags pop out. Its just like the text SRS airbags on steering wheel and dashboard are gimmicks only.
Really? Can you specifically point out which car model was involved? Show the pics maybe?

The reason i ask is because many people dont know how an airbag works. Many ppl dont realise that even in serious accidents the airbags dont always deploy because deployment is based on the POINT OF IMPACT.

So please do share your info with me. I would really like to know how you came to the conclusion that airbags might just be gimmicks.
cybermaster98
post Apr 18 2014, 11:05 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(DannyMc @ Apr 17 2014, 01:42 PM)
Ah....Airbags always the arguing point when it comes to discussion of any cars especially Toyota. Looks like most people will put priority to airbags than the car reliability/outlook/performance/comforts/maintenance...... 

My point is, if you are not happy with the car, just don't buy it. Why come to the specific car club territory and shoot the owner? It seems like a kid carrying Burger King's burger to McD and yelled:" McD sucks .....! "
Simply because eating a Burger King burger over a McD wont cost you your life. But driving across a message that STABILITY CONTROL IS A MUST FOR ALL VEHICLES might just save a life in future. I aint bothered too much with airbags. Im more interested in active safety features that can help prevent an accident.

But if you want to equate YOUR life to a burger then go right ahead. biggrin.gif
cybermaster98
post Apr 18 2014, 11:47 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(pai3355 @ Apr 18 2014, 11:32 AM)
It is almost like a gimmick, i cant say it is a gimmick because the airbag is there, somewhere hidden in the car. But as you said earlier airbags wont deploy until something hit its point of impact.

However, even with many airbags it doesnt mean we are safe. Better buy a car which gives you few airbags and more other equipment and nice accesories, it will be good enough.

If u asking and need my opinion, i will always say dont believe on airbags  smile.gif
Did i talk about airbags or STABILITY CONTROL SYSTEMS? doh.gif
cybermaster98
post Apr 18 2014, 01:52 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(Bfsam999 @ Apr 18 2014, 01:38 PM)
Mazda 3 is really cool~~ but Toyota engine and gearbox is really a good 1...
Toyota gearbox is really good? Sure la its 'good' because they keep using the same 4 speed auto gearbox for the Vios that has been in existance since before 2003 and yet ppl continue to buy.

Thats why even though their flagship Toyota Camry failed the crash test in 2012, ppl still continued to buy:
http://www.leftlanenews.com/best-selling-t...crash-test.html

So yes, great car for sure. rclxms.gif
cybermaster98
post Apr 18 2014, 02:36 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(armadasaxon @ Apr 18 2014, 02:19 PM)
Today I went to c..drool..after u c this mazda..altis v spec is like wtf..summore its cbu..free 3 years service..lol..and without leather is rm136k..the interior like holy mama..sorry I shiok myself..
QUite true.
cybermaster98
post Apr 21 2014, 10:36 AM

4,440 posts

Seems the new Nissan Sylphy 1.8L high spec is good value for money at RM 125K. Better features, specs, safety, comfort, spaciousness, improved internal and external design, etc.
cybermaster98
post Apr 21 2014, 11:16 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(armadasaxon @ Apr 21 2014, 11:06 AM)
Nissan ah pek car..lol
Dont think so. The previous version yes but not the current. I think the current looks quite mature.

http://paultan.org/2014/04/18/dnew-nissan-...t-drive-report/

cybermaster98
post Apr 21 2014, 11:30 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(hawnauk @ Apr 21 2014, 11:26 AM)
even the entry level specs 1.8E (with VSC & 6 airbags) are way better than altis 1.8E lor  cry.gif
Yes Toyota seems to be among the worst in providing value for money cars these days. Many other car manufacturers have surpassed them. Just look at how Honda has changed their game with VSC, 5 years warranty and 6 times alternate free servicing. Im seeing more and more new Civics, Accords and the new City on the road.

This post has been edited by cybermaster98: Apr 21 2014, 11:31 AM
cybermaster98
post Apr 28 2014, 11:43 AM

4,440 posts

I did a test drive of both the 1.8 and 2.0V Altis over the weekend. Rough roads in TTDI plus high speed dash on the Penchala Link via Damansara Perdana.

My comments as follows:

1) Transmission was smooth thanks to the CVT
2) Adequate power from the CVT compared to the crap Honda CVT. But initial acceleration is sluggish because of the CVT rubber band effect.
3) Good NVH. Minimal road noise intrusion into cabin. Michelin PS3 tyres were sufficiently quiet.
4) Good suspension. Soaked up all the bumps and rough roads in TTDI and Dsara Perdana.
5) Handling is average. Steering is not speed sensitive and too light at higher speeds.
6) Brakes are not the best. Needs slightly longer stopping distance. Quite surprised with this.
7) Dashboard design is a negative. Old fashioned, too high and flat faced.
8) Dashboard quality is good with soft felt material compared to the crap Civic.
9) Leather seats is the cheaper kind. Looks quite cheapo actually.

Overall, a good car and a worthy buy but only for the 2.0V model since it has stability control.

Note:
When you talk about tyres, you cannot get comfort with handling. They dont go hand in hand. You need to sacrifice something. Michelin tyres that are quiet are the Energy XM2 or Primacy 3ST but with average handling and road grip but still better than most mid spec tyres out there. The tyre profile and rim size plays a big role in generating noise. I use Michelin Pilot Super Sport 225-45-R18 and the noise is still there despite these tyres being the most expensive tyres in the Michelin stable (RM 1150 per piece). But Toyota gives you Michelin PS3 for the 2.0V which is quite good and fit for purpose.

This post has been edited by cybermaster98: Apr 28 2014, 11:50 AM
cybermaster98
post Apr 28 2014, 01:30 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(Choo SG @ Apr 28 2014, 01:24 PM)
Nice review and thanks for the advice.

Look like first step is to change the crap Dunlop tyre to Michelin first..
Yes. If your tyres fail you, no amount of car safety will save you. The Michelin PS3 is a good tyre.
cybermaster98
post Apr 29 2014, 10:57 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(pablopabla @ Apr 28 2014, 03:18 PM)
I wonder how much will it cost to trade-in the Dunlops for Michelins
Go to the Tyre Review thread and ask. There are some shops in Klang which give good trade in prices.
cybermaster98
post Apr 29 2014, 05:51 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(kentlhk @ Apr 29 2014, 05:09 PM)
Jetta CKD and sylphy is out...
hmm.. altis, sylphy or jetta...?
Why Jetta CKD is out?
cybermaster98
post Apr 30 2014, 09:40 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(kentlhk @ Apr 29 2014, 05:55 PM)
sorry I mean Jetta CKD and sylphy is just launch...
now thinking altis, sylphy or jetta...
Jetta CKD advantages:

1) 21K cheaper price now compared to CBU model. Now RM 135K (OTR with insurance) compared to 157K before.
2) Supercharged & turbocharged 1.4TSI engine (160PS, 240Nm torque)
3) Cheaper road tax
4) 7 speed DSG gearbox (updated with new software to reduce problems)
5) Superior ride and handling thanks to a very good chasis design
6) Top class safety specs
7) 5 year unlimited mileage warranty
8) Service intervals is 15,000km and servicing costs are about RM500 each time

cybermaster98
post May 5 2014, 02:07 PM

4,440 posts

Did another test drive on the Altis 2.0V. I must say the seats are quite average quality. Toyota has really cut down costs in this aspect. I would say poorly designed ergonomically as well.
cybermaster98
post Jul 11 2016, 11:44 AM

4,440 posts

Hey guys, just wana know your thoughts regarding the new Honda Civic in the market. Seems to be a really good buy.
cybermaster98
post Jul 12 2016, 04:12 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(cedyy @ Jul 12 2016, 12:25 AM)
does look like a good buy over the altis. would have bought it if had been launched last year. well, i'll bear with my Altis for next few years...
Yes. I think it beats the Altis all round in terms of:

1) Specifications - remote start, walk away auto door lock, digital displays, cruise control, dual zone aircon, electric driver seat, reverse camera, etc
2) Safety - 6 airbags, Electronic Stability Control
3) Ride and handling
4) NVH

0.0597sec    0.93    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 02:16 PM