125 Pages « < 25 26 27 28 29 > » Bottom

Plan to buy a NEW/USED car?(V2), ASK HERE for recommendation.

zenix
post Sep 4 2014, 01:12 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(H1nk @ Sep 3 2014, 12:07 AM)
Thx zenix! At the beginning, I was thinking bout getting a coupe perhaps a convertible car bcuz it looks cool when u can actually jump in ur car xD without opening the door haha unfortunately my budget only allows me to get Peugeot 206 convertible or Toyota celica but after I found dat a lot of problems experienced by the owners of Peugeot then I gave up the thought of getting a Peugeot as it has a high maintenance cost TT. Although Toyota celica is a nice car to drive and showing off XD but the price is quite high for a 14y old car even in 14' many of the dealers and owners still selling at 49k haizzz so I completely gave up the thought of getting a coupe...  Sifu zenix any advices on ford Fiesta and Honda jazz. Thx in advance
Jazz - the ones in your budget is GD, it is going to be 10 years old soon I don't really recommend it. Although looks still great with powerful yet economical engine. Alot of parts begin to fail around this point until most owners will just trade-in to get a new car instead of repairing. The famous CVT issue would be a big big item to replace, now the gearbox jerking when changing gears might not be a CVT issue maybe flywheel issue but that replacement would at least cost you RM800. The newer GE which just has been phased out by the latest model which is the GK would be getting into your price zone soon, newer but not always better, it is notorious for higher fuel consumption and lazy gearbox with not much oomph.

Celica - too old and cannot loan.

206CC - too expensive to maintain for you, i think.

Smart ForTwo - is in your price range and is a funky 2 seater, age is catching up on it and maintenance is a question mark.

Hyundai Coupe - the ones before tiburon around 2003-2005 would be in your range, but maintenance is a question mark.

QUOTE(andytan1984 @ Sep 3 2014, 12:16 AM)
dear sifus, pls advice which best used car in this budget..

1. Brand : not proton
2. Budget : RM20k-40k
3. New/Used/Unreg : Used
4. Specs : any
5. Transmission : any
6. NA or FI : -
7. Type : -
8. Remarks : my wira rosak ady, total lost hope at proton...
You should be able to get 2009/2010 Nissan Latio/Sentra with that budget.

Both would be C-segment but Latio is newer technology so more spacious and fuel efficient.
Sedan got 1.8 engine option but the hatch looks better.

QUOTE(weigie @ Sep 3 2014, 04:43 PM)
1. Brand : Any
2. Budget : RM80k
4. Specs : C or D segment
5. Transmission : auto
7. Type : -
8. Remarks : looking for an upgrade especially comfortable during long distance travelling.
2009 honda accord 2.0 - this one which will become the new perdana, expect maintenance to be dirt cheap if the perdana goes into full production later but of course people will think you driving a proton doh.gif

2007 Audi A4 1.8 TFSI - audi is in the same family as vw and skoda, but usually they will be the one to roll out the technology first and is better engineered overall. At this time while VW and Skoda still only having FSI engines Audi has already got the TSFI (turbo FSI) which later all the cars in the family would have. It has a 7 speed DSG but this one doesn't break like the one in the Golf/Jetta, you can do some further research online but this one should be superior. Maintenance wise it isn't that much more to maintain than any VW/Audi/Skoda cars but then of course that would depend on where you go as the parts are mostly swappable between the brands but if you goto an Audi service center you'll definately going to get chopped. Find a good specialist workshop outside that handles these brands most often cheaper by alot.

2008 BMW 320 - but then if you're going to be paying top dollar for a conti and have to deal with headaches of premium price for parts (or effort to shop around for cheaper parts to maintain it) then why not go for something with more prestige? So then of course I am talking about BMW's....it doesn't have the fun punch of a turbo but the 320's engine is no slouch if you can find a 323/325 it is even better but of course roadtax more expensive. This one will hold it's value better than the Audi when you resale it later which is a good/bad thing coz by then the new owner would need to buy it cash from you coz cars over 10 years cannot be loaned.

2009 Merc C180 - this is a kompressor model so it has a supercharger which in theory is more powerful but it is more for moving the bulk of this car, it is a heavy car loaded with features, accessories, safety and luxury.....ain't something to be speeding around with like a BMW (but of course it is faster than most cars). Merc's usually are cheaper to maintain and parts easier to source than most conti's so if you want a conti on the cheap a merc is the way to go, but of course not as exciting to look at.

You might also find 2007 Passat (older ones, which doesn't look as sleek as the current ones) within your budget but of course same issues of owning conti require TLC. Effort on your side to find stockist with cheap parts and a workshop that won't chop you, or don't care about the cost just use original and send to service center. Passat IMHO less prestige than a 3-series for the same amount of headache. You might also find Skoda's the cheapest of the lot some even below 20k but although you can get it serviced here as engine and gearbox parts no issue since same group as VW/Audi but body parts like headlamps, bumpers, etc. aren't so easily found. Many drive their cars to Singapore to replace stuff but that is if the car is in running condition.

jianshen
post Sep 5 2014, 01:43 AM

18 posts

1. Brand : Anything continental
2. Budget : Around 250k
3. New/Used/Unreg : Doesn't matter
4. Specs : Full Spec
5. Transmission : Automatic
6. NA or FI : FI
7. Type : 2/4 seater
8. Remarks : Car meant for a driver young 20s
H1nk
post Sep 6 2014, 11:14 AM

39 posts

Hi zenix, sorry to bother u agn but I just got my budget increased to 55k so do u think mazda rx8 is a good choice?
Based on its maintenance cost and durability.
zenix
post Sep 7 2014, 12:50 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(jianshen @ Sep 5 2014, 01:43 AM)
1. Brand : Anything continental
2. Budget : Around 250k
3. New/Used/Unreg : Doesn't matter
4. Specs : Full Spec
5. Transmission : Automatic
6. NA or FI :  FI
7. Type : 2/4 seater
8. Remarks : Car meant for a driver young 20s
BMW 320 thumbup.gif

QUOTE(H1nk @ Sep 6 2014, 11:14 AM)
Hi zenix, sorry to bother u agn but I just got my budget increased to 55k so do u think mazda rx8 is a good choice?
Based on its maintenance cost and durability.
RX8 - not really, maintenance would kill you. i've a few friends owning 2008 or 2009 models, they're having a hard time selling it. one friend totally rebuilt the engine, another had to change the whole gearbox. abit of a glass car sweat.gif

Here are a few options if your parents are rich fags and wouldn't mind the higher maintenance. 2007 MG Rover TF 1.8 which is a rare beaute but parts aren't as cheap and easily available as say your common Toyota Vios. 2007 Merc CLK200 is a nice luxurious car but maintaining this one would be in the ballpark price range of maintaining a Toyota Camry. 2008 BMW 316 Coupe a quirky little car but also a rare gem, engine wise not much issues to maintain it - just as any other 3-series but don't get into any accident coz those body panels would be hard to replace and i don't think many chop shops would have them so get into any accident with this car which requires alot of parts replacements is most likely going to keep this car in the workshop for a month or more and the parts would probably be flying in from some other country (hopefully not germany coz its going to be expensive).

Most realistic would be a nice low mileage Latio hatchback with bodykit like this.
jianshen
post Sep 7 2014, 10:46 AM

18 posts

Hi zenix, thanks for your suggestion. However, mind explaining how you came to such a conclusion?
zenix
post Sep 7 2014, 05:12 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(jianshen @ Sep 7 2014, 10:46 AM)
Hi zenix, thanks for your suggestion. However, mind explaining how you came to such a conclusion?
in that range there are a few options i was kinda drained after explaining something so i left yours out...

VW Golf GTI - no doubt about its performance but you're not going to get the prestige of owning a Merc/Audi/BMW with this car eventhough it is faster than those cars, and it being a hatchback the luggage space is sacrificed, not really a do everything car more focus on performance.

VW Passat - the CKD passat is a good choice, it ticks all the right boxes.....performance, looks, price, practicality....however VW's will always fall short of BMW/Merc/Audi in terms of prestige so although its much better than anything from Japan prestige wise it ain't going to shock/impress people who are used to better. So if you need a car that also needs to impress people this isn't the one for you.

BMW 320i F30 - this is also CKD now that is why it is now probably the cheapest 320 in many years and very popular too because it does everything well, it has a good powerful engine and BMW now has turbo so those people whom wanted a turbo car but BMW always only offered NA would buy one too, it has good aggressive looks not boring uncle like a merc c200, practicality being a sedan, and of course the prestige of being a BMW. however the bad points are the RFT which are expensive and also probably too many 320's on the road so exclusivity is reduced.

BMW 316i F30 - a 30-40k cheaper option is a sub 200k budget entry point for BMW 3-series, there is only one trim level and you get almost everything the same as the 320 but the engine and some attention to detail will show the difference. If your budget is sub 200k and you want a BMW this is a good option, although the smaller 1.6 turbo might be a little lacking if you compare it with some cheaper options but you cannot have it all so performance takes abit of a hit but it is still a very fast car, it is a bmw and it is a sedan....so its a decent choice.

Merc C200 - the current model should be in your reach but when the new one comes it is going to be more expensive, very similar to the 320 in terms of practicality, size, prestige and performance the big differentiation is the looks....while the 320 looks youthful and aggressively sporty.....the c200 is matured and elegant......handling is also different as this is focus more on comfort. This one also doesn't require expensive RFT tires BMW uses.

Merc CLA - in a nutshell it is a baby s-class in terms of looks but is actually an A200 with a boot. Trying to make the A200 more practical with a boot but its flashy design does cost it somewhat in the space dept.....its roof line looks good but ain't going to be comfortable for tall adults. Good design, prestige, performance for its class but kinda small and not spacious enough so you feel as though you're driving around in a luxurious Persona at times. Did I also mention the waiting period for this car is nearly 1 year?

Merc A200 - same problems as the CLA but this is one is also minus a sedan boot being a hatchback.

berdorki
post Sep 7 2014, 11:49 PM

254 posts

May I know why mitsubishi mirage seems so unpopular? It looks pretty good and fuel efficient...
xaxier83
post Sep 8 2014, 05:43 PM

65 posts

1. Brand : Audi, Mini, BMW,
2. Budget : RM120000-140000
5. Transmission : Auto
7. Type : Sedan or coupe also fine at this point
8. Remarks: I hope sifus here can provide me some recommendation. Do tell me if it is worth to buy those brand at 2nd hand? I am worried about the spare parts and servicing. I was actually thinking of getting an Audi A4 (2009 model) but not sure if it is a good idea. Please do provide me some guidance here
zenix
post Sep 8 2014, 11:54 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(berdorki @ Sep 7 2014, 11:49 PM)
May I know why mitsubishi mirage seems so unpopular? It looks pretty good and fuel efficient...
not too sure, market forces i guess.
probably size wise.
malaysians typically don't care about efficiency.
they like big cars with small engines coz they think small engine is fuel saving coz how much petrol can a 1.3 engine burn?

that is why donkey's like avanza and its ilk are thriving.

QUOTE(mamachye30 @ Sep 8 2014, 03:12 PM)
hey peeps has anyone here ever  test drive or drive Golf b4? I do agree with Zenix comment here about  VW Passat cause my fren has test drive it before and also test  drive the golf and he is  crazy abt the car performance. I myself also plan to test drive this to experience it myself.
golf gti or tsi?

QUOTE(xaxier83 @ Sep 8 2014, 05:43 PM)
1. Brand : Audi, Mini, BMW,
2. Budget : RM120000-140000
7. Type : Sedan or coupe also fine at this point
8. Remarks: I hope sifus here can provide me some recommendation. Do tell me if it is worth to buy those brand at 2nd hand? I am worried about the spare parts and servicing. I was actually thinking of getting an Audi A4 (2009 model) but not sure if it is a good idea. Please do provide me some guidance here
why not consider a recon?

2010 mini cooper s - is within your price range and isn't that much older than the new one although you're buying the pre-facelifted model, the key is you're buying the top spec model at about the same price as buying a Toyota Altis G-spec.
xaxier83
post Sep 9 2014, 12:43 AM

65 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Sep 8 2014, 11:54 PM)
not too sure, market forces i guess.
probably size wise.
malaysians typically don't care about efficiency.
they like big cars with small engines coz they think small engine is fuel saving coz how much petrol can a 1.3 engine burn?

that is why donkey's like avanza and its ilk are thriving.
golf gti or tsi?
why not consider a recon?

2010 mini cooper s - is within your price range and isn't that much older than the new one although you're buying the pre-facelifted model, the key is you're buying the top spec model at about the same price as buying a Toyota Altis G-spec.
Hmm, yea, the Mini sounds good but A4 seem to be a good deal as well. Any comment about the 1.8 2009 Audi A4? In term of maintenance and any known issue about this car?
zenix
post Sep 9 2014, 08:34 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(xaxier83 @ Sep 9 2014, 12:43 AM)
Hmm, yea, the Mini sounds good but A4 seem to be a good deal as well. Any comment about the 1.8 2009 Audi A4? In term of maintenance and any known issue about this car?
for that money i wont buy used, i will buy recon.
chan1485
post Sep 9 2014, 12:54 PM

Hi Zenix,

1. Brand : Toyota Wish, Honda Stream
1a. Year: 2009, 2010
2. Budget : RM100000-110000
3. New/Used/Unreg : Unreg
4. Specs : Any
7. Type : MPV
8. Remarks: Maintenance? Which one better? Please do provide me some guidance here
zenix
post Sep 10 2014, 12:32 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(chan1485 @ Sep 9 2014, 12:54 PM)
Hi Zenix,

1. Brand : Toyota Wish, Honda Stream
1a. Year: 2009, 2010
2. Budget : RM100000-110000
3. New/Used/Unreg : Unreg
7. Type : MPV
8. Remarks: Maintenance? Which one better? Please do provide me some guidance here
2014 Ssangyong Stavic @ 115k - in your search you might come across this model and you might be wondering if it is any good, off the bat i'm going to tell you i don't know alot about these cars, the previous generation of Ssangyong cars were mostly rebadged mercedes with tech which is one/two generation(s) older than what mercedes have on the market. Nowadays, they do alot more in-house development like the engine which is supposedly designed and manufactured in-house. It is a real value buy considering you get a ton of accessories and it is an 11 seater. Resale value and maintenance wise this is still an unknown factor as this car is still very new but if more people buy it because of its great value then maintenance and resale value in the long run will be quite good -- this was true for Naza Citra which wasn't a great car but it really sold in numbers and with the economics of scale parts and maintenance became much easier and cheaper.

Toyota Wish - you're going to have to choose wisely. A recon Wish would be round 80-120k depending on spec but the engine is always going to be a 1800cc lump, while recon 2000cc variants are available they start at 120k always. You'll be able to find a used 2000cc which can be a local unit from UMW or ex-recon for under 100k, however I never recommend such a high purchase price for any used car it is never going to be worth it so a near new 1800cc recon would be the best option for your budget. Recon cars would usually get 6months to a year of warranty from the seller, the most famous recon/import car seller is of course Naza but they're usually more expensive. Usually, good recon/import car dealers have all their cars sitting under canopy's so the sun doesn't destroy the interior -- don't buy from those dealers with 1-4 recon cars and the cars are baking under the sun. One of the biggest differenciator between the Wish and the Stream is the driving dynamics and setup, while the Wish feels more like a MPV with higher ride height, suspension is on the comfort side and comes with rear aircond vents -- the Stream feels more like a wagon with rear seats.

Stream - Similar headache about the recon vs local/used. About the driving dynamics again the stream was developed from a sedan car platform thus it rides lower and handles better if you do not want to sacrifice d-segment sedan-like handling -- however the trade-off is you ride lower so visibility is of course similar like a sedan not high like an MPV and suspension is a tad harder when you drive it on uneven roads which makes you think it can corner really well but then later find out that its suspension feels hard but it goes spaghetti like the Wish when you gun down a corner. If you're a young couple with kids and do not want an "old uncle ministry of transport" written on your face this is the car for you since the car is lower kids can get in and out easier.....but usually for older people they bump their heads going into cars of such height which is why people that ferry alot of old folks have higher MPV's like Alphard/Serena.

2011 Mitsu Pajero Sports - this is an idea, it is second hand but it is a very new and low mileage top spec car. The latest in turbo technology is VGT (variable geometry turbo) which in a nutshell means you do not need two turbo's (one for low speed, another for top end) as VGT allows it to be variable to the engine conditions and thus delivers power with minimal turbo lag and more fuel efficient -- this tech is on the newest Porsche's but surprisingly it is also available on a humble pickup but only this top spec version. Interior wise it is a simple 7 seater setup nothing really fancy like MPV's with folding and swiveling seats. It rides higher because of the 4 wheel drive, this can be a benefit if you're not a city slicker or your job requires you to go places with imperfect roads like site visits, etc. So it is a good bargain.

my5412
post Sep 10 2014, 09:29 AM

60 posts

Hi Sifu,

Please advise me which car should i buy

2. Budget : RM80,000-100,000
3. New/Used/Unreg : New
7. Type : sedan/suv (as long good for family car)
8. Remarks: 1. Good resale value after 3-5 years.
2. Maintenance, fuel consumption.

Thank you in advance. smile.gif
kabyss87
post Sep 10 2014, 04:14 PM

785 posts

1. Brand : Anything except P1 and P2
2. Budget : <RM 45,000
3. New/Used/Unreg : Used (B segment and above)
5. Transmission : Manual
7. Type : preferable hatchback variant
8. Remarks : Adequate power with good stock handling.. for used car, anything >Yr 2008 preferable.

Currently looking @ Latio hatch.. but only sedan has manual variant (correct me if i'm wrong)

Normal suzuki swift all auto = swift sport over budget...

Jazz - all manual

Fiesta = Only the 1.4LX version is manual..

the only sedan i might consider is inspira 1.8mt or latio sedan 1.8mt...

Is there any other manual hatch back that i've missed? XD please advice rclxms.gif

kaimanpro
post Sep 11 2014, 02:27 AM

111 posts

Hi. I am confused whether to get a new persona sv, Used preve 11/12 or used honda city 2009 . Prefer auto. Budget would be 50k+ is there any problem in terms of engine/suspension etc from the three car above. I heard campro engine is not Good but I am not Sure.

Remarks:driving alone normally. Family of five thrice or twice per year for trip.

Pls advice. Thanks

maxhoop89
post Sep 11 2014, 08:01 AM

Hi Sifu, 

2. Budget :less than RM100k
4. Specs : full spec
5. Transmission : -
7. Type :prefer hatchback ...sedan also not bad
8. Remarks: wanna upgrade from myvi 1.0...recently looks at almera and fiesta...Any recommend for others car??

Thank you in advance. 
zenix
post Sep 12 2014, 12:00 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

going to do a quick reply coz sick liao, need details please quote me again. yawn.gif

QUOTE(my5412 @ Sep 10 2014, 09:29 AM)
Hi Sifu,

2. Budget : RM80,000-100,000
7. Type : sedan/suv (as long good for family car)
8. Remarks: 1. Good resale value after 3-5 years.
                  2. Maintenance, fuel consumption.

Thank you in advance.  smile.gif
There are better cars for that budget but if maintenance cost, fuel consumption and resale value are priorities (which is understandable in our economic climate) i'd suggest either Honda Jazz/Honda City/Toyota Vios the spec is up to you any would be good but although top spec easier to sell later on don't hope that the value would be very high usually when it comes to the used car market the difference between top spec and basic spec of the same car is a 4-8k difference eventhough purchase price there is a 5-15k difference.

Under 100k if I am not mistaken if you're going for new and Japanese the only choice is the Toyota Rush, which is basically a better accessoried 4WD toyota avanza, and unfortunately this model doesn't really hold its value that well, unlike most other Toyota/Honda except the hybrid ones.

QUOTE(kabyss87 @ Sep 10 2014, 04:14 PM)
1. Brand : Anything except P1 and P2
2. Budget : <RM 45,000
3. New/Used/Unreg : Used (B segment and above)
5. Transmission : Manual
6. NA or FI :  -
7. Type : preferable hatchback variant
8. Remarks : Adequate power with good stock handling.. for used car, anything >Yr 2008 preferable.
Currently looking @ Latio hatch.. but only sedan has manual variant (correct me if i'm wrong)
Normal suzuki swift all auto = swift sport over budget...
Jazz - all manual
Fiesta = Only the 1.4LX version is manual..
the only sedan i might consider is inspira 1.8mt or latio sedan 1.8mt...
Is there any other manual hatch back that i've missed? XD please advice  rclxms.gif
Latio - Yes. Latio Sedan has 3 variants. Latio Sedan 1.6 manual, 1.6 auto and 1.8 auto. So if you're going for manual only option then you need to choose the sedan. Nissan cars aren't known for good handling so for a spirited driver (which i think you are since you're looking for a manual) you'll need to upgrade the shocks/springs or both at some point.

Swift - Yes. Swift Sport is over your budget, and it is a good car nobody is going to sell it quickly as is the case for most performance models, but then it comes on the market you gotta be quick to buy it if not others would grab it. Don't be fooled, a real SS is manual with 1.6 engine, anything else is just a normal swift with bodykit.

Fiesta - This is abit of a shot in the dark for me as my only experience with Fiesta's are the automatics, can't say for sure the 1.4 with manual combo is any good, though I would say it is one of the better looking options within your budget.

Jazz - Manual units are rare and usually snap up pretty quickly. Click on this link it is a 2003 Honda Jazz 1.4 Manual, the 1.4 units are mostly from Japan as ASEAN production facilities in Thailand all start with 1.5 engines, there are also a few Jazz converted to manuals since across the north border manual Vios/Jazz/City are common.

You didn't miss anything for the budget given minus P1 & P2. Below are my suggestions for a fun car which isn't exactly to your desired spec but within budget.

2007 Nissan Sentra 1.8 Manual - do search around for other ads if you want cheaper/younger as this was the first one that pop-up from my search. Anyways, if you want fun and power you've gotta always go for the biggest stock engine capacity in this case the 1.8 lump, and with less power loss via manual gearbox it is quite a hoot to drive around, though as I've said before Nissan's aren't great in the handling department so after market shocks/springs would be needed if you really like to rempit at genting, other than that it should suffice for most usages. Cheap to maintain and good reliability too. Of course if you're not taking a loan and have 45k cash then do buy a Silvia/Skyline brows.gif

2011 Ford Focus Ghia 2.0 Auto - when looking at the focus got a few options lets go with the best bang for your buck a sedan which isn't too old (2011 car), C-segment, with a nice 2.0 lump but automatic within your price range. A real nice option if you want a good handling car which isn't too old and isn't a local one but sedan and automatic. 2005 Ford Focus 1.8 Manual is available but it is quite old, almost 10 year old car.

QUOTE(kaimanpro @ Sep 11 2014, 02:27 AM)
Hi. I am confused whether to get a new persona sv, Used preve 11/12 or used honda city 2009 . Prefer auto.  Budget would be 50k+  is there any problem in terms of engine/suspension etc from the three car above.  I heard campro engine is not Good but I am not Sure.
Remarks:driving alone normally. Family of five thrice or twice per year for trip.
Pls advice. Thanks
Persona would be okay, nothing special.

Preve would be good too but I feel it is not worth the expensive used car interest rates.

09 City not really a very fuel efficient car but other than that is a good car.

If you're not a car guy i recommend not to go for anything wild and be content with either a nissan latio/honda city/toyota vios.....although cars like skoda octavia/ford focus/etc. are available for your price bracket and are great value buys for what they are.....maintenance might be a killer if you don't know how to shop around for a good workshop/stockist for parts as the usual service center route is an expensive one.

QUOTE(maxhoop89 @ Sep 11 2014, 08:01 AM)
Hi Sifu, 
2. Budget :less than RM100k
4. Specs : full spec
5. Transmission : -
7. Type :prefer hatchback ...sedan also not bad
8. Remarks: wanna upgrade from myvi 1.0...recently looks at almera and fiesta...Any recommend for others car??
Thank you in advance. 
2012 Suzuki Kizashi - if you think you can spend abit above your budget then this is something i really would wanna recommend you, it is brand new but stock clearance model so you still get new car loan benefits and warranty but at a heavily subsidized price. Looks good, performance good, accessories and safety top-notch (you'll only find such a package on higher spec Camry/Accord). It is a rare model so the looks surely a killer but also a bad thing because it is not so popular so parts that are unique to this car would be hard to find outside of suzuki's service center but of course for normal things like tire change, basic maintenance, etc. outside workshops can handle it but for serious accidents you've gotta bring it back to the suzuki service center as not all outside workshops would carry/have access to all parts needed for a major repair. However, that is in the event of a major accident which touch wood doesn't happen often so do enjoy your value buy d-segment car without hesitation you've earned it after spending so much time on a punny Myvi and believe me the upgrade to this car from the Myvi will feel like a million bucks notworthy.gif

Almera - would be a cheap option, good space (as big as c-segment car!) and value. Not a very powerful engine. So of course it's an okay choice and still an upgrade from a myvi but I feel still lacking something since you're going from B-segment to B-segment, and it is a model aimed for more budget consumers.

Fiesta - take your pick! The superb 1.0 ecoboost or the 1.5 engine they're all good. Fiesta has the looks, the handling and the performance to really give you an upgraded feel eventhough you're still within the same class. Fiesta's nowadays have good resale value compared with other fords and maintaince/parts are easy to come back and cheap, any workshop outside can handle this car fully nowadays no need to suffer at the service center beyond the warranty period but the package isn't bad.....5 years warranty and 3 years free maintenance if i remember correctly.

Focus - 100k + would get you a focus with a bit of haggling and discounts, a much better car than the Fiesta but not as common as the Fiesta so resale value might not be so good. Focus are mainstays in our market for sometime so no issues getting outside workshops to handle it when warranty over, I think same package as Fiesta too so you're covered for 3 years anyway wink.gif

Of course the boring and easy choice would be Honda Jazz/City/Vios laugh.gif
multisync888
post Sep 12 2014, 10:47 AM

Hi

Hyundai is offering 10k discount on Elantra 1.6HS (after discount, 88k or 91.8k for Sport version). Is this a good buy? Understand a FL is coming soon.

I am still undecided between an Elantra to Honda City V-spec. My budget is around 100k. I like Mazda3, but its off budget. Any idea when CKD version coming? Will there be a Mazda 1.5 ckd for our local market? I asked local bermaz salesman, but he looks clueless rclxub.gif

Appreciate for you advise

TQ
H1nk
post Sep 13 2014, 08:36 PM

39 posts

Hi! Zenix, it's me agn. I haven made up my mind yet.... Regarding ur previous suggestion about the Hyundai tiburon since it's a Korean car so many ppl criticize it as a 'kimchi' car... "soft and glass like" car, worse still Hyundai parts aren't easy to get from local workshop also. Does the maintenance cost a lot? smile.gif

125 Pages « < 25 26 27 28 29 > » Top

0.0360sec    0.75    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 09:13 AM