125 Pages « < 106 107 108 109 110 > » Bottom

Plan to buy a NEW/USED car?(V2), ASK HERE for recommendation.

xxxJOxxx
post May 17 2016, 03:41 PM

160 posts

QUOTE(danes007 @ May 17 2016, 03:39 PM)
Corolla Altis 2008 1.8G

Price: 52K
Mileage: 83k (odometer display)
One Onwer

http://www.carlist.my/used-cars/2812858/20...e-vip-1018.html

Proton Preve 1.6 CFE Turbo 2013
Mileage: 30-35 K
One Owner

http://www.carlist.my/used-cars/2735115/20...8-air-bags.html

I don't know which one to choose. Any valuable input?
Looking for stylish, easy to maintain, decent Fuel Efficiency & reliable car.
For me i'll choose Altis rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif
danes007
post May 17 2016, 03:45 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(xxxJOxxx @ May 17 2016, 03:41 PM)
For me i'll choose Altis  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif
Even if Toyota is presumed to be more reliable than proton, but the car has been used since 2008, 5 years older than the Preve, will it still be more reliable than a 2013 car?
lsm1991
post May 17 2016, 06:03 PM

309 posts

danes007 for 50k i would look for an inspira.... assuming u want a sporty car which is decent is most ways. spare parts also easy.
danes007
post May 17 2016, 07:21 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(lsm1991 @ May 17 2016, 06:03 PM)
danes007 for 50k i would look for an inspira.... assuming u want a sporty car which is decent is most ways. spare parts also easy.
Hey, thanks was considering inspira but heard the spare parts are very expensive plus roadtax, FC all more costly?
lsm1991
post May 18 2016, 12:19 AM

309 posts

QUOTE(danes007 @ May 17 2016, 07:21 PM)
Hey, thanks was considering inspira but heard the spare parts are very expensive plus roadtax, FC all more costly?
parts exp, well compared to altis, some bits more exp, some bits cheaper (plus side, lots of performance parts available)
roadtax, ofclah, 2.0 vs 1.8, no question there, fc, yes also higher by alittle bit, where performance goes the more powerful your car, generally the more fuel it drinks.... on the plus side... where the altis is bouncy and handles more 'whaleishly' the inspira is more planted.... only downside of this car is the damned badge, the p1 there degrades what it is (no offence p1 supporters, proton has its up sides too)
nexus2238
post May 19 2016, 03:17 PM

4,195 posts

1. Brand - thinking of Nissan Serena Hybrid, but will consider any good recommendation
2. Budget - less than RM130k
3. New/Used/Unreg - New or Used
4. Specs - as much safety feature (airbags, ABS, VSC, parking sensors ...) as possible
5. Transmission - No preference
6. NA or FI - No preference
7. Type - MPV
8. Remarks - must have rear sliding doors (due to the parking spaces driver will go through daily). Mostly town / city driving (schools, market, etc).

This post has been edited by nexus2238: May 19 2016, 04:37 PM
lsm1991
post May 19 2016, 03:31 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ May 19 2016, 03:17 PM)
1. Brand - thinking of Nissan Serena Hybrid, but will consider any good recommendation
4. Specs - as much safety feature (airbags, ABS, VSC, parking sensors ...) as possible
7. Type - MPV
8. Remarks - must have sliding doors (due to the parking spaces driver will go through daily). Mostly town / city driving (schools, market, etc).

no comment other than.... driver door will still swing open @_@

you will need these
nexus2238
post May 19 2016, 04:32 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(lsm1991 @ May 19 2016, 03:31 PM)
no comment other than.... driver door will still swing open @_@

you will need these
No. I meant rear sliding door smile.gif
There is pillar at one of the parking space that block the rear door from fully swinging open.

Anyway, any sifus has any good recommendation?
z1lch
post May 19 2016, 06:13 PM

172 posts

Need some comments over here!

2011 accord 2.0 full spec L about 50k mileage at about 85k, condition is great - but is it still overpriced?
2009 accord 2.4 about 90k mileage at about 66k

there is a good 19k difference there, how to decide..?
zenix
post May 20 2016, 09:48 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(kokunat @ May 11 2016, 11:45 PM)
I don't think a Kelisa would be a safe car if you're going to be on the highway a lot because that car is meant more of a city car scooting around between traffic lights where even accidents are low speed fender benders. At highway speeds an accident can be fatal. Look at the kind of damage 50kmh can do to such a car (Older Daihatsu Sirion is similar to Kelisa but with a bigger backside)

Frontal Impact takes place at 64 Km/h, 40% of the width of the car striking a deformable barrier. In the side impact, a mobile deformable barrier impacts the driver's door at 50 km/h. In the pole test, the car tested is propelled sideways at 29km/h into a rigid pole.

2006 Proton Gen2 - I think something like this would be better for your purpose, although it doesn't have alot of fancy safety equipment like Japanese and Conti cars nowadays it is still much better than what you get in a Kelisa. Firstly, it is a bigger car with more crumple zone to absorb accident impact, secondly it has airbags, and thirdly Gen2 was designed as a next generation vehicle compared to Kelisa-era vehicles thus it has more safety aspects built into the chassis which you cannot see. No doubt it is a bigger car with twice the engine capacity thus it drives better on the highway with more power to spare for overtaking. Of course maintenance is going to be higher than keeping a Kelisa expect each schedule maintenance to be between RM100-200 depending on the part quality.

2006 Proton Wira SE - if you think you cannot afford to maintain a Gen2 then a cheaper option would be to go for a Proton Wira, although there are cheaper ones in the market I chosen this one to show you because it looks like it is in good condition and the special edition batch were mostly free of build quality issue which had plagued Proton's in the previous decades. It is a car from the same era as Kelisa so it doesn't have too much fancy safety stuff except for it being bigger to protect you but it is much much cheaper to maintain.

Since you're going to be on the highway alot might as well choose the safest one you can afford.

QUOTE(spacelion @ May 12 2016, 01:02 PM)
im more tempted by the turbo one
QUOTE(dycod @ May 14 2016, 07:07 PM)
2011 Proton Inspira 2.0 with paddle shift - Being a rebadge of the Mitsubishi Lancer GT you don't need to worry about being locked in to only buy parts from proton at prices proton set, you can get compatible/oem/original Lancer parts to fit in this car as well. You can expect Japanese C-segment saloons to cost you each schedule maintenance anything from RM200-300 depending on the parts quality chosen -- e.g. semi-syn engine oil or fully-syn, OEM or original fuel filters, etc. One way to lower your maintenance cost is to buy the parts yourself especially those common ones like brake pads, engine oil, fuel filters, etc. then just bring to your trusty neighborhood mechanic to do the dirty work the charges are usually anywhere between RM50-80. Join the car clubs know where to get cheaper parts or quality parts are a better price, e.g. manufacturer original brake pads would cost your RM400 for a pair such money can be used to buy a really good pair of after market performance brake pads or OEM's for around half that price. I think your other requirements on handling and comfort are met with a car like this, it is a C-segment car which has plenty of space for passenger and luggage for outstation trips.

2013 Nissan Latio Hatch 1.8 - still within your budget and newer, it doesn't look as handsome overall as the Inspira but with bodykit on it doesn't look half that bad. Maintenance cost would be about the same between them as their engine capacity are quite similar. Performance and fuel consumption is also quite similar. A Latio might not handle as well as a Lotus-tuned Inspira but it does have very comfortable interior and seats -- there are people that would buy Nissan over others purely just based on the comfort level of the drive, plus usually better handling usually means a harsher ride.

QUOTE(colourblindllama @ May 15 2016, 05:09 PM)
2015 Mitsubishi Mirage - if you want to avoid anything from Proton/Perodua then the cheapest Japanese brand car you can buy near your budget is this, yes it burst your budget abit. If you want something within your budget which is similar to this car that would be the Perodua Axia. This is an A-segment car which I think would be suitable for your normal usage of going to college and moving around town. It has seatbelts for 5 people though unless the back row is filled by small sizes ladies or kids I don't think 3 full sized adults would be comfortable at the back for a long drive. This particular model has earned the hearts of the public, you see many on the roads, this also means getting parts and maintaining it will not be an issue once the warranty is over. A small sized engine would be cheap to maintain and also very fuel economical.

2011 Proton Inspira 2.0 with paddle shift - if you're okay with a used car and want something bigger and more powerful then maybe consider a Proton Inspira. Being a rebadge of the Mitsubishi Lancer GT you don't need to worry about being locked in to only buy parts from proton at prices proton set, you can get compatible/oem/original Lancer parts to fit in this car as well. Parts and lower price for them isn't an issue, the issue however is upkeep is still going to be more expensive than a Mirage because the bigger engine demands more engine oil and also higher quality of engine oil and higher fuel consumption. Not to say the car isn't economical but comparing the two cars head to head it will make the Inspira an expensive option. Of course for all that extra expense you get paddle shifters, C-segment class size, powerful 2000cc engine, good for outstation and more.

QUOTE(yunghui @ May 17 2016, 04:28 AM)
2011 Toyota Avanza - for your budget range the newest MPV you can get is an Avanza. In terms of maintenance and parts prices this would fit the bill for your business use for low running cost and fuel consumption. However, it is best for in city use as deliverying stocks from (for example) KL to Penang isn't going to be a comfortable drive as the car isn't quite built for such usage. Please take note since this is a passenger vehicle not commercial vehicle (panel van) when you carry stocks remember. Since I am not too sure about your business nature so I think an Avanza can serve dual purpose as a vehicle to transport goods during work days and also family during the weekend.

2007 Nissan X-Trail - something which can do more but also cost you more is of course something like the X-Trail. It has a bigger 2000cc engine which is more capable for carrying more stocks and going outstation. That power doesn't come free as maintenance for it is of course higher than compared to an Avanza but being a Nissan parts and maintenance isn't a killer, but for budget minded you might want to consider the Avanza. You can read up the other attributes of the X-Trail I mentioned in my previous posts, this is just a comparison between the two for your requirements.
zenix
post May 20 2016, 09:59 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(Mrmr @ May 17 2016, 10:59 AM)
Want to ask if buy a 2nd hand car but if want to use new car plate number  , may I know need look for who and how?
you buy a new motorbike then trade number plates with that bike.
both have to be registered under your name.

QUOTE(danes007 @ May 17 2016, 03:41 PM)
When will continue?  sad.gif
continued.

QUOTE(danes007 @ May 17 2016, 07:21 PM)
newer car parts relatively more expensive
older car parts relatively cheaper

so you rather change more cheap parts than one expensive part? hmm.gif

older cars mostly can guarantee these things need to be changed
1. lower arms
2. rack ends
3. absorbers

zenix
post May 20 2016, 10:03 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

I think for that price you cannot get a better MPV which is new, a recon/unreg (used) Estima would be around that price range though but it would probably be year make around 2009/2010.

QUOTE(z1lch @ May 19 2016, 06:13 PM)
IMHO Accords after 2005 are all pretty good but the better one is usually with the 2.4cc engine because the 2.0cc although decent is slightly under powered, you'll feel this on full load or trying to overtake that road hogger going 110kmh then speed up to 140kmh innocent.gif
z1lch
post May 20 2016, 09:39 PM

172 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ May 20 2016, 10:03 AM)
I think for that price you cannot get a better MPV which is new, a recon/unreg (used) Estima would be around that price range though but it would probably be year make around 2009/2010.
IMHO Accords after 2005 are all pretty good but the better one is usually with the 2.4cc engine because the 2.0cc although decent is slightly under powered, you'll feel this on full load or trying to overtake that road hogger going 110kmh then speed up to 140kmh  innocent.gif
Oh but i guess 2.0cc is alright if i'm not travelling long distance a lot, more on city drive.

I noticed some of the modals have the word "accord" at the back and some not, any idea why is that? Are they different?
therain01
post May 20 2016, 10:33 PM

256 posts

7. Type - MPV
8. Remarks - must have rear sliding doors (due to the parking spaces driver will go through daily). Mostly town / city driving (schools, market, etc).

What about Korean car. Hyundai starex . Rm140k for year 2015 stock. Less than rm100k for a 3-4 years old car.

zenix
post May 21 2016, 09:01 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(z1lch @ May 20 2016, 09:39 PM)
Oh but i guess 2.0cc is alright if i'm not travelling long distance a lot, more on city drive.

I noticed some of the modals have the word "accord" at the back and some not, any idea why is that? Are they different?
some people just like to remove it cause when u wash ur car sometimes the decals cut your hand laugh.gif
lsm1991
post May 21 2016, 12:25 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(z1lch @ May 20 2016, 09:39 PM)

well, small cc, large heavy body. its not really as 'nice' to drive, and its fc would probably be higher in start stop traffic
lsm1991
post May 21 2016, 07:30 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(PuDing92 @ May 21 2016, 07:17 PM)
hi guys

http://www.mudah.my/Mercedes+Benz+W211+E23...cs-46092685.htm

anyone wanna review this car W211 year 2009

any problem with this unit ?
tanky car, generally reliable, handles like any large luxury car, thats all
maintenance, merc, so, ofc on the high side, which is expected i guess....

some stuff for u
stuff_1
stuff_2stuff_2
William82
post May 22 2016, 04:54 PM

Hi all,
Please advise, i'm considering to buy a used car. Below are some information.
1. Brand: Honda City 2008
2. Budget: Around 30k
3. New/Used/Unreg: Used
4. Specs: 4 door car
5. Transmission: Both are fine.
6. NA: NA
7. Type: Sedan
8. Remarks. I'm actually considering Hyundai Accent 2012 or 2013, it is the range of 30k on the road.
Please advise.
Regards
zenix
post May 23 2016, 09:20 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(PuDing92 @ May 21 2016, 07:17 PM)
hi guys

http://www.mudah.my/Mercedes+Benz+W211+E23...cs-46092685.htm

anyone wanna review this car W211 year 2009

any problem with this unit ?
2010 Merc C180 CGI - want a cut price merc why not consider this unregistered recon going for Toyota Altis price brows.gif
zenix
post May 23 2016, 09:31 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(William82 @ May 22 2016, 04:54 PM)
Hi all,
Please advise, i'm considering to buy a used car. Below are some information.
1. Brand: Honda City 2008
2. Budget: Around 30k
3. New/Used/Unreg: Used
4. Specs: 4 door car
5. Transmission: Both are fine.
6. NA: NA
7. Type: Sedan
8. Remarks. I'm actually considering Hyundai Accent 2012 or 2013, it is the range of 30k on the road.
Please advise.
Regards
2010 Nissan Sentra SG - around that price range why not consider a car like this. Sentra is a C-segment while the City is only a B-segment, so you get a bigger car for around the same price. Maintenance wise the Sentra would be about the same as the City as 1600cc vs 1500cc not much difference in terms of part prices and engine oil requirements, and generally both cars are common on the roads thus getting parts and getting them cheap isn't an issue. The City has a very good CVT type gearbox which gives you power and fuel efficiency in a small package but buying a used car this can be an issue as some people never do maintenance and take care of the gearbox it can be half dead by the time it reaches your hands, ballpark prices for repairs are usually around the RM5000 range -- Sentra doesn't have this issue as it is a very simple slushbox type of gearbox less likely to breakfown due to wear/tear and poor maintenance.

125 Pages « < 106 107 108 109 110 > » Top

0.0354sec    0.36    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 06:59 AM