Mercedes W211 E200K, Good used car to own??

TSchinkw1
post Jan 10 2013, 01:52 PM, updated 13y ago

3,156 posts

Hi All,

W211 E200K has elegant design and power wise is quite good for the 1.8L super charged engine.

1. Can this car runs well on RON95 fuel?
2. Rear wheel drive car?
3. Maintenance wise, will it be very much higher than let say Camry ?
4. Local or Re-Cond better ?

This post has been edited by chinkw1: Jan 10 2013, 02:14 PM
Dorifuto
post Jan 10 2013, 02:35 PM

QUOTE(chinkw1 @ Jan 10 2013, 01:52 PM)
Hi All,

W211 E200K has elegant design and power wise is quite good for the 1.8L super charged engine.

1. Can this car runs well on RON95 fuel?
2. Rear wheel drive car?
3. Maintenance wise, will it be very much higher than let say Camry ?
4. Local or Re-Cond better ?
1. Can this car runs well on RON95 fuel? Yes! But better use ROn 97
2. Rear wheel drive car? yes! Ofcoz is FR cars
3. Maintenance wise, will it be very much higher than let say Camry ? yes!
4. Local or Re-Cond better ? BUATAN TEMPATAN thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by Dorifuto: Jan 10 2013, 02:42 PM
huaren1978
post Jan 10 2013, 05:32 PM

good choice.
TSchinkw1
post Jan 11 2013, 12:12 AM

3,156 posts

QUOTE(huaren1978 @ Jan 10 2013, 05:32 PM)
good choice.
Some re-cond models states Transmission is BOTH (means auto and manual) ar ?
Means in one car you can drive using Auto and Manual transmission?

E200K is rear wheel drive, heard has better control leh..smile.gif
amaja14
post Jan 11 2013, 12:55 AM

if you would like to buy a Mercedes i strongly recommended to you to get CBU, it got more specifications and i believe it's better than the local assembled
bizness
post Jan 11 2013, 12:57 AM

✓ Always Closing
1,562 posts

QUOTE(chinkw1 @ Jan 11 2013, 12:12 AM)
Some re-cond models states Transmission is BOTH (means auto and manual) ar ?
Means in one car you can drive using Auto and Manual transmission?

E200K is rear wheel drive, heard has better control leh..smile.gif
Its called Tiptronic Transmission bro. IINM, all E200k comes with the Tiptronic transmission.

Basically its a automatic transmission but allowing you to downshift and upshift manually. Below is an example of the W211 E200k gear :

Notice the - and + sign beside the Drive sign? Go test drive one and figure it out. tongue.gif
angrysnail
post Jan 11 2013, 07:17 AM

SuperStars
1,413 posts

1.this car even can run RON 91 as min
2.Rear Wheel drive,Unless u get the 4matic..that will be 4WD.
3.Maintenance should be high as it is the conti car.
4.This model come with ckd and cbu(recond)..better take ckd that have good service history record..

Pls consider that come with ABR..SBC is mostly for old model and problematic after sometime..allocated your CGW,check fuel tank sleeve,fuel pump seal coz it tends to leak,prepare some $ for cam adjuster worn out and partial load leak that cause the engine to lights on especially car more than 100k mileage.
riezzien
post Jan 11 2013, 08:31 AM

107 posts

Yup this model is well known for its sBC pump issue.
When the notification pops out, better bring to authorised sc asap for them to do the resetting.
If its broken, cost to change 1 is about RM5k. pain!
sengasdf
post Jan 11 2013, 05:25 PM

492 posts

1. Can this car runs well on RON95 fuel? Yes
2. Rear wheel drive car? Yes
3. Maintenance wise, will it be very much higher than let say Camry ? Yes, much higher
4. Local or Re-Cond better ? Local
WIZ WIZ
post Jan 12 2013, 09:30 AM

try E240 Avantgarde b4,
transmission not very smooth,
tiptronic respond slower, maybe it's the best at W211 time gua...
But, V6 sounds very chun and looks also not bad...

and yeah, SBC is an issue that need to be concern.
Maintenance sure higher ma, Continental car ma...
for avangarde, more electronic component = more problem lo

previously run it on RON97, but, too expensive, now using RON95.
so far, no problem yet...

This post has been edited by WIZ WIZ: Jan 12 2013, 09:31 AM
angrysnail
post Jan 12 2013, 10:00 AM

SuperStars
1,413 posts

QUOTE(WIZ WIZ @ Jan 12 2013, 09:30 AM)
try E240 Avantgarde b4,
transmission not very smooth,
tiptronic respond slower, maybe it's the best at W211 time gua...
But, V6 sounds very chun and looks also not bad...

and yeah, SBC is an issue that need to be concern.
Maintenance sure higher ma, Continental car ma...
for avangarde, more electronic component = more problem lo

previously run it on RON97, but, too expensive, now using RON95.
so far, no problem yet...
E240 with 112 engine,V6 SOHC engine,precise combustion with 2 sparkplugs for each camber(all 6 cylinders make 12 sparkplugs in total) more reliable engine..you might wanna try E230 or E280 with AMG package..the pulling,so damn stronger but this 272 engine well known with balancer shaft wear out and engine no power after sometimes due to intake variable shaft break off..
Travies
post Jan 12 2013, 11:05 AM

1,048 posts

E200 recommend fuel is RON95. can support RON91 also. So there is no neccessary using RON97.
jeffayn
post Jan 12 2013, 11:32 AM

67 posts

ok ... first of all. if you are so concern over the 95 97 RON, then you should stop before even thinking owning a mercedes... because the overall maintenance is going to cost you much higher (specifically speaking, exponential higher) than your average camry....

If you can afford a brand new one.. then why still consider a re-cond unit.
brand new = warranted, and you know is brand new
re-cond= you know is definitely used, so luck play big part here
Alan
post Jan 12 2013, 06:27 PM

413 posts

w211 still looks more elegent to me compare to w212. I read online about the face-lifted w211 (2006 onward) has replaced the SBC to adaptive brake... Besides the SBC, is there any other major issue (besides higher cost in wear and tear parts)?
angrysnail
post Jan 12 2013, 08:19 PM

SuperStars
1,413 posts

QUOTE(Alan @ Jan 12 2013, 06:27 PM)
w211 still looks more elegent to me compare to w212. I read online about the face-lifted w211 (2006 onward) has replaced the SBC to adaptive brake... Besides the SBC, is there any other major issue (besides higher cost in wear and tear parts)?
E280 with AMG sport package is the last batch of W211 and most of the major problem has been fix..
AMG
post Jan 13 2013, 01:38 AM

28 posts

Generally, its maintenance is lower than the bmw and audi of similar categories
WIZ WIZ
post Jan 15 2013, 08:33 AM

QUOTE(Alan @ Jan 12 2013, 06:27 PM)
agreed. W211 with AMG body kits, or real E55 AMG is my favourite...
replymela
post Jan 15 2013, 10:40 AM

39 posts

QUOTE(Dorifuto @ Jan 10 2013, 02:35 PM)
1. Can this car runs well on RON95 fuel? Yes! But better use ROn 97
2. Rear wheel drive car? yes! Ofcoz is FR cars
3. Maintenance wise, will it be very much higher than let say Camry ? yes!
4. Local or Re-Cond better ? BUATAN TEMPATAN  thumbup.gif
FR? hmm.gif u mean german DE car right..

to ts
cars from overseas are tuned to run on euro 5 fuel. if u get local, they already tuned it to our low standard of fuel. if you buy imported one, engine might not be able to take it
Dorifuto
post Jan 15 2013, 08:26 PM

QUOTE(replymela @ Jan 15 2013, 10:40 AM)
FR?  hmm.gif u mean german DE car right..
to ts
cars from overseas are tuned to run on euro 5 fuel. if u get local, they already tuned it to our low standard of fuel. if you buy imported one, engine might not be able to take it
FR = REAR WHEEL DRIVE doh.gif
angrysnail
post Jan 15 2013, 10:27 PM

SuperStars
1,413 posts

deleted

This post has been edited by angrysnail: Jan 15 2013, 10:32 PM
angrysnail
post Jan 15 2013, 10:31 PM

SuperStars
1,413 posts

QUOTE(replymela @ Jan 15 2013, 10:40 AM)
FR?  hmm.gif u mean german DE car right..
to ts
FR=FRONT ENGINE REAR WHEEL DRIVE
FF=FRONT ENGINE FRONT WHEEL DRIVE
RR=REAR ENGINE REAR WHEE DRIVE
MR=MID ENGINE REAR WHEEL DRIVE
sidmeyer
post Jul 17 2013, 11:49 PM

QUOTE(angrysnail @ Jan 15 2013, 10:31 PM)
FR=FRONT ENGINE REAR WHEEL DRIVE
FF=FRONT ENGINE FRONT WHEEL DRIVE
RR=REAR ENGINE REAR WHEE DRIVE
MR=MID ENGINE REAR WHEEL DRIVE
Hello, well i've always been interested in owning a Merc and have fancied the E200 for some time now. Especially the w210 and w211 models. But i've been told that these models with kompressor engines have problems with the super charges? I've had my eye on a few lately mainly dating from 2005-2008 models. What would be your recomendations, in to go for it or not.? And if yes, what should i change or look out for?
Kirie
post Jul 18 2013, 10:55 AM

icon_question.gif

This post has been edited by Kirie: Jul 18 2013, 10:55 AM
zainorin
post Sep 1 2014, 12:14 AM

I plan to buy mercedes w211 E200 avantgarde year 2004 CKD, would appreciate advice, anyone has manual? Is 85k price siund reasonable?

0.0214sec    0.56    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 02:02 PM