132 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Bottom

USA Stock Discussion v5, Investment,Trader,Financial Ratios,HUAT?

danmooncake
post Jan 30 2014, 03:41 AM

Market Up, Market Down...Wheee..
10,123 posts

QUOTE(yok70 @ Jan 30 2014, 03:20 AM)
I guess the slowly 10b reduce per meeting can be expected if economy continues slowly recover like it did recently. Fed has no gut to cut sharply as to be blamed and cursed by the world if they did. As bond yield has already up to reflect the QE reducing situation, a mild rate hike (although many think that it will be unlikely to happen this year or even next year) may not be as deadly as it might be.  biggrin.gif
You know.. $65bln/month of money printing still a lot. The wall street crooks may think not enough, but since 2008 recession, the Fed already pumped around $3T to the market.

At some point in time, the patient needs to get off the drugs.. and recover on his/her own. nod.gif

yok70
post Jan 30 2014, 03:59 AM

12,698 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Jan 30 2014, 03:37 AM)
I don't know about KO fundamentals but the chart is ugly.
You may want to wait unless you're hoping for a quick bounce play?  hmm.gif
no rush on this one, unless it goes really cheap. since i still do not feel comfortable of the business with 70% revenue coming from soft drinks. Although, the growing middle class in emerging economies will need to take at least 5 years and above to follow advance economies that reducing in consuming soft drinks. If the number reach 50%, I'd be much more optimistic on it. hmm.gif
yok70
post Jan 30 2014, 04:41 AM

12,698 posts

1750 coming... brows.gif
danmooncake
post Jan 30 2014, 04:55 AM

10,123 posts

QUOTE(yok70 @ Jan 30 2014, 04:41 AM)
1750 coming... brows.gif
1650 is my price... brows.gif
yok70
post Jan 30 2014, 05:22 AM

12,698 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Jan 30 2014, 04:55 AM)
1650 is my price...  brows.gif
wow.... drool.gif
danmooncake
post Jan 30 2014, 05:47 AM

10,123 posts

QUOTE(yok70 @ Jan 30 2014, 05:22 AM)
wow.... drool.gif
Don't hold your breath.. I mean, that's what I like to see for better pull back and PE compression after
the taper set in and the Emerging market sells off.

Downside to 1650 (or 1550 worst case scenario) is actually healthy!

I think US economy will slowly resume back to normal if the Fed gets out of the way of manipulating the market.

The market gains 25% last year.. but revenue grew 7%, you know that means market got ahead of itself.
So, must give 10%~15% back for normalization. brows.gif

After hours earnings report:

LVS missed earnings, shares tanked AH. (boo! shakehead.gif )
EPS: 0.72 vs 0.85
Revenue: 3.66 bln vs 3.71 bln

FB surpassed expectations, shares surged AH. rclxm9.gif
EPS: 0.31 vs 0.27
Revenue: 2.59 bln vs. 2.35 bln

This post has been edited by danmooncake: Jan 30 2014, 06:03 AM
jerrychoo2004
post Jan 30 2014, 09:12 AM

1,633 posts

Chantek la....tonight should see fb at 60 liao
TSnetmask8
post Jan 30 2014, 12:51 PM

Validating
1,525 posts

DJIA Year to Date = ( - 5.05% ) , S n P 500 Year to Date = ( -4.01 )
and Nasdaq Year to Date = ( - 3% ) . VIX = 17.35 ( slightly bullish, not in fear mode index)

Get ready yr Ang Pow (Lai See) 1st.. IMHO, not yet reach bargain 40-50% discount per 2013 high..

To Chinese LYN trader/investors/etc here, HAPPY CHINESE NEW YEAR 2014.. MAY year of
WOODEN HORSE brings good health, wealth and prosperity to you and your family. nod.gif
To other, Have a great festive holiday ahead. laugh.gif

Hope that ALL LYN Members fatt fatt huat huat from stock market .. thumbup.gif
mikehwy
post Jan 30 2014, 10:23 PM

17,100 posts

To all dearest punters,
Happy Chinese Year / Holidays.
May the new year brings the best of predictions.
...well, tonight SURE go up la ??
danmooncake
post Jan 30 2014, 10:49 PM

10,123 posts

Happy CNY!

GDP report is good, UE is slightly bad. So market up.
Nothing for me tonight, just waiting here for Friday evening and see how it goes.

I still think we will go down another level before settling in.

Still too high of valuation. PE needs to be 11/12 for it to be cheap again. laugh.gif

foosh
post Jan 31 2014, 01:37 AM

168 posts

happy CNY to all US kaki!
yok70
post Jan 31 2014, 03:20 AM

12,698 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Jan 30 2014, 10:49 PM)
Happy CNY!

GDP report is good, UE is slightly bad. So market up.
Nothing for me tonight, just waiting here for Friday evening and see how it goes.

I still think we will go down another level before settling in.

Still too high of valuation. PE needs to be 11/12 for it to be cheap again.  laugh.gif
Thanks man and Happy CNY to everyone!! rclxm9.gif
bfoot
post Jan 31 2014, 03:58 AM

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Jan 30 2014, 03:41 AM)
You know.. $65bln/month of money printing still a lot. The wall street crooks may think not enough, but since 2008 recession, the Fed already pumped around $3T to the market.

At some point in time, the patient needs to get off the drugs.. and recover on his/her own.  nod.gif
It is the quantitative easing that is pumping the asset bubbles outside of USA. I *think* the first few things will happen when the fed stops the quantitative easing, the bubbles will burst -- slowly depends on the asset class. Financial markets are most liquid, it will go first. It will get to real estate eventually. If you think your million dollar properties can continue going up in price, think again.

Once Fed starts to raise interest rates, it will be ugly I think. I don't think it will happen that soon -- the earliest is likely end of 2014. Likely mid to end of 2015. Liquidity will disappear in emerging markets quickly unless interest rate is raised. If central bank decides to raise interest rates, all in the sudden your cheap loans are more expensive to service. Real estate price will come down. I don't think this will happen overtime -- but slowly.

I have to admit that I'm biased against real estate. I witnessed what happened to my dad during the financial crisis in 97/98. At one point he has over 20 properties. He kept buying. He once told me if anything happens, he could sell a few properties to pay off all the loans if need to. When the crisis hit, he waited a few months and then started trying to sell a few properties. Nothing was moving at that time. He couldn't sell but at the same time he couldn't afford to service the debts. Banks are forcing the sales at super discount. Selling a few are not enough to pay back all the properties he owned. Eventually we lost ALL. Sorry for the grim story on CNY.

Happy CNY.
danmooncake
post Jan 31 2014, 04:32 AM

10,123 posts

QUOTE(bfoot @ Jan 31 2014, 03:58 AM)
It is the quantitative easing that is pumping the asset bubbles outside of USA.  I *think* the first few things will happen when the fed stops the quantitative easing, the bubbles will burst -- slowly depends on the asset class.  Financial markets are most liquid, it will go first.  It will get to real estate eventually.  If you think your million dollar properties can continue going up in price, think again. 

Once Fed starts to raise interest rates, it will be ugly I think.  I don't think it will happen that soon -- the earliest is likely end of 2014.  Likely mid to end of 2015.  Liquidity will disappear in emerging markets quickly unless interest rate is raised.  If central bank decides to raise interest rates, all in the sudden your cheap loans are more expensive to service.  Real estate price will come down.  I don't think this will happen overtime -- but slowly.   

I have to admit that I'm biased against real estate.  I witnessed what happened to my dad during the financial crisis in 97/98.  At one point he has over 20 properties.  He kept buying.  He once told me if anything happens, he could sell a few properties to pay off all the loans if need to.  When the crisis hit, he waited a few months and then started trying to sell a few properties.  Nothing was moving at that time.  He couldn't sell but at the same time he couldn't afford to service the debts.  Banks are forcing the sales at super discount.  Selling a few are not enough to pay back all the properties he owned.  Eventually we lost ALL.  Sorry for the grim story on CNY. 

Happy CNY.
Thanks for sharing. 97/98 asia financial crisis? Don't remind me.. I was there working at forex desk, saw Ringgit dive to 2.50 to 4.5..Golly. doh.gif

This is a grimm reminder to us that better not over leverage. I think this is unfortunately what is happening now in Malaysia. Property prices are soaring since the last 3-4 years and it is still going up as if it is the last piece of property that they will ever build.

It will be really interesting to see how it will eventually come crashing back down to earth. When it hits, real estates price can come down pretty hard because no wants to buy and the loan payment have to continue - no matter what. The banks do not care..they just want their money back. nod.gif

mikehwy
post Jan 31 2014, 11:06 AM

17,100 posts

yes. 1997/8 were the most 'memorable' periods of punting.
many absconded without paying, running away from bank loans, thinking ways to commit suicide ... and i ws one of them. sigh. then came the tech bubbles to put a nail on the coffins in 2000. damn!

BigMan123
post Jan 31 2014, 01:02 PM

2,470 posts

QUOTE(mikehwy @ Jan 31 2014, 11:06 AM)
yes. 1997/8 were the most 'memorable' periods of punting.
many absconded without paying, running away from bank loans, thinking ways to commit suicide ... and i ws one of them. sigh. then came the tech bubbles to put a nail on the coffins in 2000. damn!
Dow looking good last night. Lets hope it continues to gallop till bursa reopens next tuesday.
mikehwy
post Jan 31 2014, 08:27 PM

17,100 posts

futures looking real bad....-130+
buy apple la?
danmooncake
post Jan 31 2014, 10:07 PM

10,123 posts

QUOTE(mikehwy @ Jan 31 2014, 08:27 PM)
futures looking real bad....-130+
buy apple la?
Good, but wake me up when we get to SP500 1725. yawn.gif
yok70
post Feb 4 2014, 01:29 AM

12,698 posts

it's coming...1755.... brows.gif
danmooncake
post Feb 4 2014, 01:58 AM

10,123 posts

QUOTE(yok70 @ Feb 4 2014, 01:29 AM)
it's coming...1755.... brows.gif
Yawn.. I'm still taking holiday mood here.. yawn.gif

Hopefully, tomorrow HKSE opens, they get a big scare and another run down,
cause futures to sell off again, we'll go to 1725 when US market opens again for Tues evening.

I got guns powder ready to fire if 1725 comes in. tongue.gif

132 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Top

0.0289sec    0.55    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 05:49 PM