Mechanical Keyboard Thread V19
quovadis123
Dec 17 2013, 03:50 PM
QUOTE(nadeng1987 @ Dec 17 2013, 03:47 PM) That is one nice lookin QFR! Mind telling what type of keycaps you use? Did you buy in local store or ship from overseas? Too bad i have the black base of QFR. Would have preffered the grey ones just like yours tho. His case more like metallic to me. Painting?
pristine
Dec 17 2013, 03:53 PM
QUOTE(quovadis123 @ Dec 17 2013, 03:50 PM) His case more like metallic to me. Painting? Yeah. Got rid of the soft touch and painted mine.
nadeng1987
Dec 17 2013, 03:57 PM
QUOTE(pristine @ Dec 17 2013, 03:50 PM) I got my keycaps from our friends here on the forums. Vortex and Ducky PBTs, plus some Signature Plastic double shots. I painted mine silver. If you look closely, the bottom part of my case is still black. And the plate inside is red. Only the red switch one has a red plate. Mine are clear switches though. Had it modified.  So you've changed all the switches to clear ones? Not fancy a linear switch I reckon? Well I've been looking at garage sales for keycaps bulk sale or such, couldnt find one atm. But good to know that Vortex and Ducky keycaps can actually fit in QFR. Guessed ive to start searching at international online stores for them.
pristine
Dec 17 2013, 03:59 PM
QUOTE(nadeng1987 @ Dec 17 2013, 03:57 PM) So you've changed all the switches to clear ones? Not fancy a linear switch I reckon? Well I've been looking at garage sales for keycaps bulk sale or such, couldnt find one atm. But good to know that Vortex and Ducky keycaps can actually fit in QFR. Guessed ive to start searching at international online stores for them.  Yeah, swapped my board for ergo clears and ghetto greens. The QFR can pretty much take any keycap you throw at it. Look for hmgworld and our TS. They both have keycaps to sell.
justnits
Dec 17 2013, 04:00 PM
QUOTE(nadeng1987 @ Dec 17 2013, 03:57 PM) So you've changed all the switches to clear ones? Not fancy a linear switch I reckon? Well I've been looking at garage sales for keycaps bulk sale or such, couldnt find one atm. But good to know that Vortex and Ducky keycaps can actually fit in QFR. Guessed ive to start searching at international online stores for them.  i hear u looking for keycaps?
nadeng1987
Dec 17 2013, 04:02 PM
QUOTE(justnits @ Dec 17 2013, 04:00 PM) i hear u looking for keycaps?  That escalated quickly! Yeah I do bro. What have you got for my stock QFR? Need some recommendations tho.
TS0168257061
Dec 17 2013, 04:02 PM
QUOTE(pristine @ Dec 17 2013, 03:59 PM) Yeah, swapped my board for ergo clears and ghetto greens. The QFR can pretty much take any keycap you throw at it. Look for hmgworld and our TS. They both have keycaps to sell. Boss, can't wait to see my plate and case  let me see some sneak peek  whatsapp
pristine
Dec 17 2013, 04:04 PM
QUOTE(0168257061 @ Dec 17 2013, 04:02 PM) Boss, can't wait to see my plate and case  let me see some sneak peek  whatsapp Haha. Will do when I have more time to do it. Working now. Curi masuk forum for a bit.  Also, this whole week no water.
TS0168257061
Dec 17 2013, 04:06 PM
QUOTE(pristine @ Dec 17 2013, 04:04 PM) Haha. Will do when I have more time to do it. Working now. Curi masuk forum for a bit.  Also, this whole week no water.  The place I live no kena.  Well try ur best. Hopefully this Sunday can liao.
nadeng1987
Dec 17 2013, 04:08 PM
 This actually looks cool IMO THe white keycaps look amazing in the black base QFR
justnits
Dec 17 2013, 04:09 PM
QUOTE(nadeng1987 @ Dec 17 2013, 04:02 PM) That escalated quickly! Yeah I do bro. What have you got for my stock QFR? Need some recommendations tho. if u look at my signature, u'll find the link  u'll be able to see pictures, see if it suits to your taste. these are PBT thick doubleshot. expect high durability key quality.
nadeng1987
Dec 17 2013, 04:12 PM
QUOTE(justnits @ Dec 17 2013, 04:09 PM) if u look at my signature, u'll find the link  u'll be able to see pictures, see if it suits to your taste. these are PBT thick doubleshot. expect high durability key quality. I just did. Hmmmm. It's rather tempting! So by having a PBT caps, I dont have to worry about letter fading/wear or keycap shine do i? Anyhow, do you happen to have the normal font ones?
justnits
Dec 17 2013, 04:14 PM
QUOTE(nadeng1987 @ Dec 17 2013, 04:12 PM) I just did. Hmmmm. It's rather tempting! So by having a PBT caps, I dont have to worry about letter fading/wear or keycap shine do i? Anyhow, do you happen to have the normal font ones? PBT keycaps won't shine as fast as ABS. and it's doubleshot. meaning the legend will not fade away even if it's ABS. this are the only ones i'm letting go
nadeng1987
Dec 17 2013, 04:27 PM
QUOTE(justnits @ Dec 17 2013, 04:14 PM) PBT keycaps won't shine as fast as ABS. and it's doubleshot. meaning the legend will not fade away even if it's ABS. this are the only ones i'm letting go  Damn it. This is really tempting. We should discuss more in Private i guess haha
rexaizat
Dec 17 2013, 05:33 PM
hello everyone.. im new here.. i want to change my keycap on my keyboard.. where usually i can find a cool keycap??
SUSHuman10
Dec 17 2013, 05:35 PM
QUOTE(nadeng1987 @ Dec 17 2013, 04:12 PM) I just did. Hmmmm. It's rather tempting! So by having a PBT caps, I dont have to worry about letter fading/wear or keycap shine do i? Anyhow, do you happen to have the normal font ones? Fixed, PBT (material) increase the durability to become worn out and oily shining of keycaps, but not the printings/fonts on it. Doubleshot (printing method) make the font never gone/worn. Thus, a combination of PBT with doubleshot make a really durable keycaps.
SUSHuman10
QUOTE(rexaizat @ Dec 17 2013, 05:33 PM) hello everyone.. im new here.. i want to change my keycap on my keyboard.. where usually i can find a cool keycap?? taobao, geekhack, originative This post has been edited by Human10: Dec 17 2013, 05:35 PM
quovadis123
QUOTE(rexaizat @ Dec 17 2013, 05:33 PM) hello everyone.. im new here.. i want to change my keycap on my keyboard.. where usually i can find a cool keycap?? First page of this thread of "More extra information about mechanical keyboards, parts, switches, key caps...etc". You will find some interesting place to get it.
c2_lover
Dec 17 2013, 05:43 PM
QUOTE(amirinz @ Dec 17 2013, 03:01 PM) 1. Been looking for a tkl. 2. Backlit like a ducky shine. 3. Price could be cheaper than a ducky shine. 4. Has local distributor in malaysia eases in warranty matters. 5. Also that layout. It looks like a good choice in my eyes. that is the same reason i have too... maybe i can finally get one to change with my quickfire TK...
toomanyrulez
Dec 17 2013, 05:58 PM
Hello guys, it's me again  If i wanna buy the mkb, with full 104 keys at taobao.. which one is ok?