Mechanical Keyboard Thread V19

quovadis123
post Dec 15 2013, 07:29 PM

Keys
2,882 posts

QUOTE(Human10 @ Dec 15 2013, 07:23 PM)
See their drills, I dare not get.

Looks like too tight and may cause the switch stem to tercabut.
Last time I bought keycool white pbt key caps fits nice on Ducky, but not Filco stem.
Maybe not universal enough to fits all nicely.
Got another marketplace for keycaps
http://www.keycapsdirect.com/marketplace.php
SUSHuman10
post Dec 15 2013, 07:34 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(quovadis123 @ Dec 15 2013, 07:29 PM)
Last time I bought keycool white pbt key caps fits nice on Ducky, but not Filco stem.
If can fit ducky, I don't see why can't fit filco.

Btw, POM got problem cause POM tend to counteract more compared to abs, hence POM keycaps that use same mold as abs do will become too tight.
hmwgbworld
post Dec 15 2013, 07:43 PM

3,375 posts

QUOTE(Human10 @ Dec 15 2013, 07:34 PM)

Btw, POM got problem cause POM tend to counteract more compared to abs, hence POM keycaps that use same mold as abs do will become too tight.
need another type of keycap puller just for changing POM keycaps.
method of pulling keycaps also diff from what i saw in some post or taobao links.
SUSHuman10
post Dec 15 2013, 07:48 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(hmwgbworld @ Dec 15 2013, 07:43 PM)
need another type of keycap puller just for changing POM keycaps.
method of pulling keycaps also diff from what i saw in some post or taobao links.
Actually, it still cause the stem is too tight. A properly made POM won't have such problem.
quovadis123
post Dec 15 2013, 11:00 PM

Keys
2,882 posts

QUOTE(Human10 @ Dec 15 2013, 07:34 PM)

My mx brown stem on filco is bigger. All key caps feel tighter on filco.

Ducky mx blue stem are smaller. Non-standard.
I will try to get d measurement and see.
SUSHuman10
post Dec 15 2013, 11:12 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(quovadis123 @ Dec 15 2013, 11:00 PM)
My mx brown stem on filco is bigger. All key caps feel tighter on filco.

Ducky mx blue stem are smaller. Non-standard.
I will try to get d measurement and see.
That's something new, post it up here when you get the comparison picture.
TS0168257061
post Dec 16 2013, 01:49 AM

EimiFukada
14,242 posts

QUOTE(tWice @ Dec 15 2013, 12:10 AM)
any second hand or new TKL keyboard wanna sell?
damn, im waiting for my tkl ducky shine 3, but then, still postpone to jan next year!!!!!!!!!!!! arghhhhh
Wait FMJ TKL Case.
Wait OTD TKL Case.
Wait Sprit Lambor TKL Case.
quovadis123
post Dec 16 2013, 02:35 AM

Keys
2,882 posts

QUOTE(Human10 @ Dec 15 2013, 11:12 PM)
That's something new, post it up here when you get the comparison picture.
This MX Brown stem from Filco Majestouch 2,

This MX Blue stem from Ducky Shine 2,
Another stem,

As you can see, Filco MX Brown stem is a little different from Ducky MX Blue.
Ducky 1 easy fit for many of keycaps even keycool keycaps, but my Filco can't fit keycool coz too tight.

Edit: stem measurement are same for both, only differences is the cutting of the plastics as show in the picture.
I also dunno that cut area is what name, "bump" ? biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by quovadis123: Dec 16 2013, 02:44 AM
Powet
post Dec 16 2013, 03:52 AM

709 posts

For submarines, please check my siggy whistling.gif
quovadis123
post Dec 16 2013, 04:03 AM

Keys
2,882 posts

QUOTE(Powet @ Dec 16 2013, 03:52 AM)
For submarines, please check my siggy whistling.gif
Hmm... Your siggy added few more games ~ thumbup.gif
hmwgbworld
post Dec 16 2013, 09:12 AM

3,375 posts

QUOTE(0168257061 @ Dec 16 2013, 01:49 AM)
Wait FMJ TKL Case.
Wait OTD TKL Case.
Wait Sprit Lambor TKL Case.
Not mainstream enough user posted image
imbibug
post Dec 16 2013, 10:13 AM

1,697 posts

QUOTE(quovadis123 @ Dec 15 2013, 07:29 PM)
Whats the other website for keycaps?
hmwgbworld
post Dec 16 2013, 10:24 AM

3,375 posts

QUOTE(imbibug @ Dec 16 2013, 10:13 AM)
Whats the other website for keycaps?
quite a few, u can check on the first page.
imbibug
post Dec 16 2013, 10:29 AM

1,697 posts

QUOTE(chrischiang @ Dec 15 2013, 03:26 PM)
guy really need some recommendation... 2 keyboard in my mine now...

1) ducky zero
2) RK-9000
which to choose with?? read some review on the internet... ducky zero many ppl say that it may not so quality as OEM change to china...
There is an issue with the old rk-9000 with the weak mini usb socket loosening or breaking off. The newer model fixed that by gluing the socket to the pcb which is still not that ideal. All this to save 5cents by cutting out the usual plastic connector and wires to the socket. The included usb cable is thick and inflexible which puts more stress on the socket connection. I would use a cheap thin usb cable instead of the included one
imbibug
post Dec 16 2013, 10:31 AM

1,697 posts

QUOTE(hmwgbworld @ Dec 16 2013, 10:24 AM)
quite a few, u can check on the first page.
Right, I must've missed it.
quovadis123
post Dec 16 2013, 11:09 AM

Keys
2,882 posts

QUOTE(imbibug @ Dec 16 2013, 10:29 AM)
There is an issue with the old rk-9000 with the weak mini usb socket loosening or breaking off. The newer model fixed that by gluing the socket to the pcb which is still not that ideal. All this to save 5cents by cutting out the usual plastic connector and wires to the socket. The included usb cable is thick and inflexible which puts more stress on the socket connection. I would use a cheap thin usb cable instead of the included one
Not a heartbreaker since the issue can be fix.
Thanks for the info. biggrin.gif
imbibug
post Dec 16 2013, 11:36 AM

1,697 posts

QUOTE(quovadis123 @ Dec 16 2013, 11:09 AM)
Not a heartbreaker since the issue can be fix.
Thanks for the info.  biggrin.gif
I can't remember if it was you or someone else who said that it was an easy fix with resoldering the broken connections. I disagree, resoldering is not the type of work someone should put in for a supposedly more reliable mechanical keyboard and its beyond the capabilities of most users.
quovadis123
post Dec 16 2013, 11:51 AM

Keys
2,882 posts

QUOTE(imbibug @ Dec 16 2013, 11:36 AM)
I can't remember if it was you or someone else who said that it was an easy fix with resoldering the broken connections. I disagree, resoldering is not the type of work someone should put in for a supposedly more reliable mechanical keyboard and its beyond the capabilities of most users.
Not me. You may always ask the soldering service from sifu from this thread, if your keyboard is broken.
But somehow, is that resoldering is learnt from school day?
In the product manufacturing line, there is something called dppm(defects per part million), if you are unlucky, you will get the product that have defects.
Sadly, to say, this is unavoidable.
You can choose to RMA biggrin.gif
Somehow, for people know how to fix, they will like hassle to RMA since it takes few weeks to process. So, they will try to solve by themselves aka DIY.

Mechanical keyboard in most people mind is, high repairability - that's why mechanical lasts for more than 10 years time and even 20 before you need to replace it.
justnits
post Dec 16 2013, 12:02 PM

Mechanical Keyboard Addict
2,968 posts

this hobby brings out the mr.diy in me =.=
imbibug
post Dec 16 2013, 12:04 PM

1,697 posts

QUOTE(quovadis123 @ Dec 16 2013, 11:51 AM)
Not me. You may always ask the soldering service from sifu from this thread, if your keyboard is broken.
But somehow, is that resoldering is learnt from school day?
In the product manufacturing line, there is something called dppm(defects per part million), if you are unlucky, you will get the product that have defects.
Sadly, to say, this is unavoidable.
You can choose to RMA  biggrin.gif
Somehow, for people know how to fix, they will like hassle to RMA since it takes few weeks to process. So, they will try to solve by themselves aka DIY.

Mechanical keyboard in most people mind is, high repairability - that's why mechanical lasts for more than 10 years time and even 20 before you need to replace it.
Its dpm. And its not a small problem like you are implying, its quite common if you use the stiff cable which is not surprising looking at the very weak connection of the socket to the pcb. Soldering is not in the basic schooling curiculum and even if it was, its still a non trivial task for most users.

Rosewill should've spent 5cents and glued the socket to the case which would've solved the problem. People don't get mechanical keyboard so they have to waste time to fix problems like this. Swapping out switches after tens of millions of key presses is one thing, this broken socket problem is a proton saga level of flimsy design.

126 Pages « < 33 34 35 36 37 > » Top

0.0306sec    0.64    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 03:11 PM