Mechanical Keyboard Thread V19

imbibug
post Dec 6 2013, 06:05 PM

1,697 posts

QUOTE(Human10 @ Dec 6 2013, 05:48 PM)
The sad things about them is they included too much gimmicks + the over design and also over branding.

Those kept most of us away...
What were the gimmicky parts/over design that you don't like about the CM keyboards? And the branding logos on their kb isn't that bad, just 2 logos (one on the side) I think.
What I kept me away was the reports of the keys like the alt key in the lower left quadrant dying. I think they changed their oem for the newer tk model.
imbibug
post Dec 7 2013, 10:54 AM

1,697 posts

QUOTE(Human10 @ Dec 6 2013, 06:06 PM)
So far, no other models beaten this yoh!!!
https://www.google.com/search?q=cm+quickfir...0&bih=752&dpr=1

But luckily, they had fix it partially by reducing it in new batches. But again, their rubber coating... rolleyes.gif

Not to mention their new board like the mech... Over design level over 9000.

I don't think they had changed their OEM for TK. Cause their newer boards like mech still under the same OEM. A new OEM normally will accompanied with a change in the modifiers layout or even stabilizers types.
Ok thats 4 logos if we don't count the win keys but at least they aren't too obtrusive on a matte surface except for the red-black version. I think that CM/Corsair are less interested in making plain jane looking keyboards since they are gaming brands anyhow and their intended customers probably don't mind the garish logos and non-standard keycap sizes. I think mechanicals for gaming companies are just a way of creating a more lucrative product line without any real benefit for gamers anyway. Modders are just a small proportion of users and will never be able to dictate to those companies on what their designs should be like.

What was the cause of the QFR problem? was it the pcb itself like the traces/soldering or was it lack of proper support (bending) on that side of the keyboard?
imbibug
post Dec 7 2013, 01:34 PM

1,697 posts

QUOTE(Human10 @ Dec 7 2013, 11:17 AM)

BTW, what QFR problem you toking bout? So far, I hadn't heard of QFR specific issue?
The faulty (dying) keys especially the left alt key.
imbibug
post Dec 7 2013, 08:37 PM

1,697 posts

QUOTE(quovadis123 @ Dec 7 2013, 01:37 PM)
You must be talking about this  smile.gif
http://geekhack.org/index.php?topic=39219.0
This is a QA issue of the manufacturing. If the dppm is very low, not a concern to the manufacturing.

Just RMA it if certain key not functioning for common people. smile.gif
For mkb guru, they just fix this by resolder, just a small problem to them.
Still this i a very good mkb. biggrin.gif
Yes thats the one. So it looks like it was a combination of cheaper pcb with no through hole solder pad and poor alignment of the pcb with the metal plate. So it doesn't look like a QA thing. Got to consider that the alt key isn't frequently used as well.

Returns are always an ass and users typically expect mkb to last much longer than typical warranty periods. Soldering is only a small problem for people who like to tinker around and don't mind the loss of time. I think CM and other newer brands are probably facing teething issues.
imbibug
post Dec 9 2013, 09:15 PM

1,697 posts

QUOTE(Powet @ Dec 9 2013, 06:08 PM)
mouse is required  whistling.gif
btw filco majestouch keyboard in mYR berape 1? i rmb pretty expensive  ohmy.gif

curious question: why filco no distributor in msia geh  hmm.gif
I saw them before in one of the big LY shops and Czone. Give them a call for stock check.
imbibug
post Dec 14 2013, 03:47 PM

1,697 posts

Need help guys.. What does this mean in Mandarin:
黑轴无冲版

I can see that it means black switch then what does the 'no red/rush version' actually mean?
imbibug
post Dec 16 2013, 10:13 AM

1,697 posts

QUOTE(quovadis123 @ Dec 15 2013, 07:29 PM)
Last time I bought keycool white pbt key caps fits nice on Ducky, but not Filco stem.
Maybe not universal enough to fits all nicely.
Got another marketplace for keycaps
http://www.keycapsdirect.com/marketplace.php
Whats the other website for keycaps?
imbibug
post Dec 16 2013, 10:29 AM

1,697 posts

QUOTE(chrischiang @ Dec 15 2013, 03:26 PM)
guy really need some recommendation... 2 keyboard in my mine now...

1) ducky zero
2) RK-9000
which to choose with?? read some review on the internet... ducky zero many ppl say that it may not so quality as OEM change to china...
There is an issue with the old rk-9000 with the weak mini usb socket loosening or breaking off. The newer model fixed that by gluing the socket to the pcb which is still not that ideal. All this to save 5cents by cutting out the usual plastic connector and wires to the socket. The included usb cable is thick and inflexible which puts more stress on the socket connection. I would use a cheap thin usb cable instead of the included one
imbibug
post Dec 16 2013, 10:31 AM

1,697 posts

QUOTE(hmwgbworld @ Dec 16 2013, 10:24 AM)
quite a few, u can check on the first page.
Right, I must've missed it.
imbibug
post Dec 16 2013, 11:36 AM

1,697 posts

QUOTE(quovadis123 @ Dec 16 2013, 11:09 AM)
Not a heartbreaker since the issue can be fix.
Thanks for the info.  biggrin.gif
I can't remember if it was you or someone else who said that it was an easy fix with resoldering the broken connections. I disagree, resoldering is not the type of work someone should put in for a supposedly more reliable mechanical keyboard and its beyond the capabilities of most users.
imbibug
post Dec 16 2013, 12:04 PM

1,697 posts

QUOTE(quovadis123 @ Dec 16 2013, 11:51 AM)
Not me. You may always ask the soldering service from sifu from this thread, if your keyboard is broken.
But somehow, is that resoldering is learnt from school day?
In the product manufacturing line, there is something called dppm(defects per part million), if you are unlucky, you will get the product that have defects.
Sadly, to say, this is unavoidable.
You can choose to RMA  biggrin.gif
Somehow, for people know how to fix, they will like hassle to RMA since it takes few weeks to process. So, they will try to solve by themselves aka DIY.

Mechanical keyboard in most people mind is, high repairability - that's why mechanical lasts for more than 10 years time and even 20 before you need to replace it.
Its dpm. And its not a small problem like you are implying, its quite common if you use the stiff cable which is not surprising looking at the very weak connection of the socket to the pcb. Soldering is not in the basic schooling curiculum and even if it was, its still a non trivial task for most users.

Rosewill should've spent 5cents and glued the socket to the case which would've solved the problem. People don't get mechanical keyboard so they have to waste time to fix problems like this. Swapping out switches after tens of millions of key presses is one thing, this broken socket problem is a proton saga level of flimsy design.
imbibug
post Dec 16 2013, 12:49 PM

1,697 posts

QUOTE(quovadis123 @ Dec 16 2013, 12:19 PM)

Indeed, people don't get mechanical keyboard and waste time fix it. True.
I think mechanical keyboard as my employee, if employee can't get to work, I have to help him.
Since, it's my trustworthy employee.

Edit: 1 of the real reason behind why products not so reliable because they want you to buy more.
For quite sometime, there is lacks of quality products in consumer markets. Too much cost-saving. sad.gif

"You pay for the price of margarine, never can get a butter."
See Rosewill wouldn't have to spent any money to fix the problem if they put in a plastic connector wired up to the socket (like most other keyboards) and saved money by not giving out 2 thick heavy usb cables (one ps/2 one usb) and just gave 1 thin cable plus the usual ps/2 connector.
imbibug
post Dec 16 2013, 03:25 PM

1,697 posts

QUOTE(justnits @ Dec 16 2013, 03:03 PM)
i'd go for plum hmm.gif someone here have a plum. forgot who d...lowyatguy or human10?
Is the plum morphling a 2kro keyboard?
imbibug
post Dec 17 2013, 10:34 AM

1,697 posts

QUOTE(quovadis123 @ Dec 17 2013, 02:01 AM)
Saw alot of people say that Vortex PBT keycaps is superb.  biggrin.gif
Will try to get it when they out for blank unprinted version. laugh.gif
I get distracted when I type on printed keycaps sad.gif
You mean to say the pad printed legends distract your fingers when you type?

This post has been edited by imbibug: Dec 17 2013, 10:35 AM
imbibug
post Dec 20 2013, 10:18 AM

1,697 posts

QUOTE(quovadis123 @ Dec 20 2013, 03:50 AM)
Recently, 1 of the forummer here with K70 , 1 led is not working and send the mkb back to RMA. True story, bro.
raymondtong94
Please refer to this page https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3055950/+460
Post no. 476
The K70 model has a problem with led's dying one by one. Its not an isolated issue. Not the higher end K95 though.
imbibug
post Dec 20 2013, 11:35 AM

1,697 posts

QUOTE(toomanyrulez @ Dec 20 2013, 10:51 AM)
Hey guys, I'm curious..
Why mkb are not availble widely, and not commonly known by people?
Is mkb still a new thing? hmm.gif
When I woke up earlier, this question popped into my head laugh.gif
Too expensive. For most people who don't type alot and just play videos and reply to emails a cheap membrane keyboard will do fine, or use a tablet. And good membrane keyboards are not made anymore and are hard to find nowadays do the only choice left for non-casual users are mkb.
imbibug
post Dec 20 2013, 01:10 PM

1,697 posts

QUOTE(Chew Yongxian @ Dec 20 2013, 11:55 AM)
Are you serious??? Wow. Maybe it's a bad batch? I mean when you come down to it, the K95 is just basically the same keyboard with extra short cut keys on a basic level. Shouldn't be such a huge difference in quality and build.
No idea why it doesn't seem to be as prevalent on the k95 but its a big issue on the k70. You can do a search on it and you'll get lots of hits.
imbibug
post Dec 20 2013, 07:15 PM

1,697 posts

QUOTE(PowerSlide @ Dec 20 2013, 07:06 PM)
white really nice, once you go white you wont go black  laugh.gif
Not for me it didn't. I'm happy black became the default color and I don't have to notice dirt and smudges.
imbibug
post Dec 21 2013, 10:31 AM

1,697 posts

QUOTE(Human10 @ Dec 20 2013, 11:51 PM)
One of the oldest mechanical keyboard brands out there, + it is a Japanese brand and OEMed by decent Taiwan OEM.
Its the best out there. The MJ2 has double sided pcb and the through holes are soldered all the way through and the pads are anchored on both sides. http://www.diatec.co.jp/en/det.php?prod_c=757
I think the pcb is also thicker which might give a different more solid feel. I'm curious to see how the keycool stacks up.

imbibug
post Dec 21 2013, 10:48 AM

1,697 posts

QUOTE(Human10 @ Dec 21 2013, 10:46 AM)
Though, contrary to that, most ppl actually believe gen 1, particularly blue switch is better to type on than gen2.

Also, F-104 also through hole copper plate design yo. brows.gif
There are exceptions but there seems to be this misconception that because something is made by costar (eg Rosewill/CM) its got to be the same quality as a Filco.

0.0194sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 04:35 AM