Having a pump die on you and not knowing strips your system of its cooling loop.
Think of the pump as the heart.
Lowyat.Net Watercooling Club V7, Your WCed rigs, discussions, ideas & etc
Feb 26 2014, 02:16 PM
2,808 posts Joined: Jan 2009 From: Subang Jaya |
Having a pump die on you and not knowing strips your system of its cooling loop.
Think of the pump as the heart. |
Feb 26 2014, 02:43 PM
QUOTE(Lucassss @ Feb 26 2014, 02:22 PM) There there. It's only temporary. LolQUOTE(azilazwa @ Feb 26 2014, 02:25 PM) Any of u guys here ever experience this before? the pump dies without knowing? hmm, whats gonna happen if the pump dies? If the pump dies, water stops flowing so heat transfer is severely affected.» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « QUOTE(azilazwa @ Feb 26 2014, 02:28 PM) By reliability u mean how much water can the pump push (the pressure) or the durability (how long; eg how many hours)? Reliability is rated as MTBF on pumps. The higher the number, the better the reliability. Reliable is also in the sense that the pump will take anything normal that is thrown at it.QUOTE(Lucassss @ Feb 26 2014, 02:39 PM) If you're going to cool just your CPU, I think a DDC pump will suffice. But if you're to upgrade in the future, D5 is the way to go. A DDC or D5 will take a CPU and GPU just fine. I think you can load a full loop (mobo ram etc) on a single DDC and it'll still be ok.You can't go wrong with these two pumps, so pick base on your budget and future plans. This post has been edited by pristine: Feb 26 2014, 02:43 PM |
Feb 26 2014, 10:25 PM
QUOTE(llk @ Feb 26 2014, 07:00 PM) But when you start with something that's already great, you rarely find a reason to just top up to something better because it's all in the same tier. QUOTE(azilazwa @ Feb 26 2014, 07:00 PM) Change part different story. That one is coz have to keep up with the times. haha. But rarely anyone changes out their radiator or pump or reservoir unless something spectacular comes along. |
Feb 26 2014, 11:04 PM
QUOTE(killerkamote7 @ Feb 26 2014, 10:45 PM) Guys, can i ask is it worth to buy xspc ex240 (or maybe armageddon gf600 which is xspc's oem kit) OR should i go for custom kit (buy part by part). Im new to this and want to make the wc setup simple, not too expensive and reliable. Thank you. Pls don't buy Armageddon's version. It's nothing like the XSPC EX240 kit. The reason we don't recommend any Armageddon kits here is coz that kit is running obsolete parts. XSPC EX240 kit runs newer, better performing parts.Edit: proc wc only for now, my case (lvl10gt snow ed) got ok air flow for gpu If you want to make the setup simple not expensive and reliable I would highly recommend buying a Swiftech H220 or H320 depending on your case. Install it and call it a day. It'll be just like installing a regular cooler. The XSPC kit requires some extra work. You'll need to install everything yourself, even route the tubing. With the Swiftech H-series, all you need to do is mount the CPU block, install the rad and fans and you're good to go. |
Feb 27 2014, 11:37 AM
QUOTE(killerkamote7 @ Feb 27 2014, 10:50 AM) I see, but AIO wc are abit boring and unchallenging, cause its basically just plug and play lol. But then on the other end, custom wc will require more maintenance and care. True, but in terms of AIOs, the swiftech AIO allows for future add-ons. Plus it's got a better pump than any AIO on the market.Is there any GPU wb compatible with EX240 kit? If for now, I only require to wc my proc, but down the line I may opt to wc my gpu also, Do i need to change whole kit or just insert a wb on the line? Any GPU WB will be compatible with the XSPC kit or the H-series coolers. You just need to get fittings and tunings for the block add on. QUOTE(ijatneda @ Feb 27 2014, 11:15 AM) 5-6 month plus,just recently dismantle the loop because got problem. How much biocide did you put?Once the tube is dry it become cloudy. The wb also trap some thing look like dry moss. |
Feb 27 2014, 05:09 PM
QUOTE(ntw @ Feb 27 2014, 12:12 PM) may I know what are the TIMs u guys are using? and when i reapply the TIM for gpu, do I necessarily need to change the thermal pads too? Personal favourites are noctua and prolimatch stuff. Still waiting for gelid extreme. Don't have to change the pads unless they're damaged. QUOTE(ijatneda @ Feb 27 2014, 02:45 PM) 1/2 3/4 only got xspc high flex. Which is pretty good if you like soft tubing. |
Feb 27 2014, 06:10 PM
QUOTE(ijatneda @ Feb 27 2014, 05:12 PM) From what I've heard, yeah pretty plasticiser resistant.QUOTE(llk @ Feb 27 2014, 05:16 PM) The gelid extreme is it the one come together with EK Supremacy waterblock? Its performance better than Noctua NT-H1? Currently i'm using Noctua for both CPU & GPU, if gelid extreme better then i will use it for next when i dismantle the setup. Yeah it is. Supposed to be, haven't tested for myself yet so I can't say for sure. |
Feb 28 2014, 12:33 AM
QUOTE(kizwan @ Feb 27 2014, 08:31 PM) Not anymore unfortunately. EK now include EK Ectotherm TIM with their water block. Using this new TIM on my 290's waterblock. I don't impress with their performance though. I'm going back to Shin-Etsu G751. Yeah, ECOTherm is standard with regular blocks. Only the higher end EK blocks come with Gelid GC Extreme. I didn't read anything about them dropping GC Extreme so I can't be 100% sure whether it's a batch thing or they really dropped it.Gelid GC-Extreme should be good but I've never use it myself. I've used G751. Cheap and good. I use it for sticking my thermal pads and other regular stuff since it's rather viscous. |
Feb 28 2014, 01:13 AM
QUOTE(kizwan @ Feb 28 2014, 12:57 AM) New blocks now come with Ectotherm TIM. I don't think my blocks are regular though. That quite sucks. Should have at least maintained GC Extreme for the upper tier blocks.http://www.ekwb.com/news/351/19/EK-FC-seri...h-enclosed-TIM/ Shin-Etsu G751 is pretty good. Better than famous TIM out there. I've tested few TIMs & this came out on top. Yeah, G751 is good stuff. Wouldn't argue with you. |
Feb 28 2014, 10:21 AM
Mar 4 2014, 01:42 PM
Mar 4 2014, 06:46 PM
QUOTE(gxthelord @ Mar 4 2014, 06:12 PM) lol was it really that bad >< Haha. I don't know how much your friend paid, but if it's anywhere near 500 then yes, very bad. Coz that kit is obsolete. ohh I tried that d it only removes the front panel Old pump, old water block. The basic xspc kit uses a raystorm and a much newer version of the pump in the Armageddon kit. |
Mar 4 2014, 07:01 PM
Mar 4 2014, 11:47 PM
QUOTE(Lucassss @ Mar 4 2014, 07:13 PM) I know right, makes me wonder why people wouldn't just top up a little and get the XSPC kit with a D5 pump. Or skimp and save money and buy a regular XSPC kit or H220.QUOTE(gxthelord @ Mar 4 2014, 11:37 PM) Btw Pristine Lucasssshave you guys ever use something like this to mount the res directly behind the res/fan? Never used one myself, but I've seen it being used before. Bitspower has something similar as well. It's great if you don't have many panels/walls or places to put a reservoir and still want a tube reservoirhttp://www.frozencpu.com/products/8797/ex-..._Fan_Mount.html |
Mar 4 2014, 11:48 PM
QUOTE(gxthelord @ Mar 4 2014, 11:45 PM) >< cuz the res supposed to be above the pumps right to ensure it doesn't dries ups. Not necessarily above the pump. Doesn't even have to be anywhere near the pump. It just has to be the source where the pump gets water. Simply put, it has to be anywhere before the pump, and in a higher position than the pump. |
Mar 5 2014, 12:12 AM
QUOTE(Lucassss @ Mar 4 2014, 11:55 PM) Now that we're on the topic of pumps, I know I've asked this like 3 billion times. But would my little pump be able to handle my CPU block, RAM block, reservoir, GPU block and external radiator? I'd buy a Apogee Drive II, plug in a 35x, and call it a day.I'm so tempted to just grab a DDC pump with an aquacomputer pump top but I have no space for it at all. QUOTE(gxthelord @ Mar 4 2014, 11:56 PM) The Concept should be similar like this. Will cut the tubes shorter length later on. Or it's safe to just leave it there like that without anything to secure the res? :/ My idea was kinda like this QUOTE(gxthelord @ Mar 5 2014, 12:10 AM) ohhh I see. Will have a look into it too. You can either use a male/male, male/male rotary or a d-plug or mini d/plug. |
Mar 5 2014, 12:33 AM
QUOTE(gxthelord @ Mar 5 2014, 12:18 AM) pristine haha that's why kinda experimenting. Seriously against the whole balancing act with acrylic tubes. Anything can go wrong and the tubes are secured by o-rings, meaning that any damage or distortion to the o-rings will result in a leak. Also, if your tubes crack for any reason, bye bye.Lucassss those acrylic and fittings are from my previous build lol. So kinda wasted if left there un-used might as well use it for something like this that's why. QUOTE(Lucassss @ Mar 5 2014, 12:18 AM) Already bought a new Aquacomputer CPU block. That's why you should sell the aqua cpu block and buy an apogee drive ii. lol.I was having a crazy German shopping spree with Mr. Chew the other day. I want to get a 35X but I don't have space for it! QUOTE(gxthelord @ Mar 5 2014, 12:22 AM) haha moving around I dun think so laa it only sit at the corner of my table. Use 7/16 5/8 if you're short on space. Smaller tubes will give you more room to work.QUOTE(Lucassss @ Mar 5 2014, 12:24 AM) Phobya DDC pump tops are the bomb. One FAT chunk of brass, eh qwe13 |
Mar 5 2014, 12:42 AM
QUOTE(Lucassss @ Mar 5 2014, 12:35 AM) You might as well just ask me to get a 450ml Aquacomputer Aqualis with the pump base + D5 pump and mount it all behind my radiator. You think I print money? Actually, make that the Aquacomputer Aqualis Pro with nano coat and water lever indicator sensor + D5 pump top + aquacomputer D5 + aquaero 5 or 6. That would bleed you. Like, really, really bleed you. |
Mar 5 2014, 12:50 AM
QUOTE(Chew Yongxian @ Mar 5 2014, 12:48 AM) Who ask you buy so expensive reservoir for what. Get the cute tiny reservoir you like so much, mount in on a cheaper DDC pump and you're done. Then attach both on the UN designs mount on your rad. No need pump top. And fits into your 240mm rad space. I cannot be held responsible if your pocket cannot be repaired. And btw, aqua has released a pump top that will allow the aqualis to fit with a DDC too. Doesn't have to be a D5 anymore. I like the sound of that reservoir. Future res next year. |
Mar 5 2014, 01:00 AM
QUOTE(Chew Yongxian @ Mar 5 2014, 12:57 AM) Pocket already ripped to shreds already. Going 300% over original budget now anyways. Even has a pump ready version. Reservoir + top combo. Just add pump. Comes even in Pro version with nano coat. Whoa awesome. No rush. I'll get that pump top with the res next year. At least wallet got 12 months to recover. |
| Change to: | 0.0468sec
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 09:12 AM |