32 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Alienware Mothership V11, Intruder alert!

horns
post Dec 21 2013, 05:47 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(mansooriqbal @ Dec 21 2013, 04:43 PM)
yeah i know this one; everything is aio now biggrin.gif

horns
post Dec 22 2013, 06:50 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(mansooriqbal @ Dec 22 2013, 02:23 PM)
This is how good alienware is! see how quite everyone is biggrin.gif enjoying thr aliens biggrin.gif haha.
this is true. they are good.

QUOTE(dannygeni @ Dec 22 2013, 05:59 PM)
Anyone attach an external monitor to play games? Performance on screen will drop if 24in monitor?
yes i do, on a 27" (fhd). it's fine.

horns
post Dec 22 2013, 08:51 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(dannygeni @ Dec 22 2013, 08:29 PM)
Oh thanks. May get one monitor soon. Dell ultra sharp
play games with fhd (1920x1080) then it should be fine. for work purposes you should be able to use higher resolutions.

horns
post Dec 23 2013, 05:58 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(Aura @ Dec 23 2013, 09:43 AM)
I'm playing on a 2560x1080 resolution and I didn't see any problems with it. Performance still as good as 1920x1080. biggrin.gif
nice smile.gif

QUOTE(refnulf @ Dec 23 2013, 10:04 AM)
Received sms, the replacement Aw17 is being delivered  tomorrow. I'll have it for Christmas. Unfortunately I'm away for the holidays so will have to ask them to keep it till after the New Year. Just as well,  lots of work once I get it. Have to switch the drive,  reinstall the operating system, transfer the data from the second drive to the new second drive. Sigh. This machine better not be problematic.
another good news smile.gif) yeah it's always a tedious task to set things up for the first time. luckily i only need minimal setup to start working.

i think aw 17's a good one. you can observe that from the presence of complaints here (which is, well, almost none?).

QUOTE(mirhan3282 @ Dec 23 2013, 01:48 PM)
hopefully can uograde my gtx780m to gtx 880m
uh? why not?
horns
post Dec 23 2013, 08:54 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(refnulf @ Dec 23 2013, 08:23 PM)
I won't be upgrading to the 780. Will wait for 880 to be available then make the upgrade!
Just do whatever you feel feasible for now and near future. It's not that we must put everything highend to live smile.gif

I hope gpu computing is implemented in the apps i use. That way i can take advantage of the processing power also.

horns
post Dec 23 2013, 11:45 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(refnulf @ Dec 23 2013, 09:47 PM)
Yeah, busy with the PS4 right now anyway.
have fun smile.gif

QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Dec 23 2013, 11:02 PM)
if lets say, i buy a new Alienware with GTX880M next year, i will choose to upgrade to GTX1080 (or maybe other names) graphics card next 2 years. like horns said, its not necessary that everything must be high end to live.
haha gtx1080! nice codename biggrin.gif

yes.. if the upgrade cycle is too close, and you're upgrading something that are in the same range, then you might not feel the differences. swapping gpu from 660m to 780m is another story.
horns
post Dec 24 2013, 11:51 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

it's most probably due next year. (i think it is a good timing after my cpu upgrade smile.gif)
horns
post Dec 25 2013, 02:43 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

Kernkraft400, merry Christmas!

QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Dec 25 2013, 01:03 AM)
next year Q2/3 i suppose.
nice timing biggrin.gif

QUOTE(kaoru @ Dec 25 2013, 01:56 AM)
guys,

am having problems with my m17x R4 . Im using 660m , the discrete graphics is no longer detected in bios and device manager . All games now run on HD 4000 help sifus.

PSU 240
latest bios
reseat graphics card
oh what did you do? you should call dell and ask for assistance :/
horns
post Dec 26 2013, 12:25 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

i guess they will reply you that the replacement was subject to availability, and by the time of the transaction took place, 780m was unavailable that time, "unfortunately".

cutting all craps, yeah i think you should get a 780m too.

horns
post Dec 26 2013, 04:17 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(amin ali @ Dec 26 2013, 12:27 PM)
Hi guys, I need help, one of my friend is choosing between Alienware 17 and Razer Blade pro. So what do you all think? is it even fare to compare these two?
alienware 17 vs. razer blade pro. let's not go there. they are in different leagues all together. it's really an unfair comparison.

they should have defined a 'gaming notebook' properly :/ (it's becoming one of the worst marketing gimmicks these days)
horns
post Dec 26 2013, 08:18 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Dec 26 2013, 07:07 PM)
a gaming laptop must be thick and has plenty of airflow, not thin and weak airflow.

and totally agree with you, they are not defining a gaming laptop properly. Razer should just continue their gaming accessories business, not laptop.
yeah.. :/ cooling is key for high-performance gaming laptops. to have efficient heat dissipation, you need good fans, larger heat sinks, but most if not all, plenty of space to have good airflow and to house a better cooling system.

horns
post Dec 27 2013, 10:54 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

weird stuff: w8.1 activation seems unstable. when you put the laptop to sleep for some times then wake it up, sometimes it shows that w8.1 is not activated. you can observe that the windows version and build number at the lower right corner of your desktop.

once you're connected to the internet, it's back to the activated status.

again, you can back up the activation tokens with atm after w8.1 activation WITH PHONE (must be activated with phone; it doesn't work with online activation; this is for w8.1 only). the best practice to me is to install a fresh copy of w8.1; install all drivers; activate through phone; back the tokens up.

Edit: if you wanna have bios windows fastboot working, stick to w8. w8.1 fastboot doesnt work well in my case even if i had a13 bios.

This post has been edited by horns: Dec 27 2013, 11:03 AM
horns
post Dec 27 2013, 05:06 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(mansooriqbal @ Dec 27 2013, 01:20 PM)
thanks for suggestions. I still haven't updated to windows 8.1 lol. I might do it after 2 months or 3. Super busy these days.
i have only one machine upgraded to 8.1. the rest are still 8.

QUOTE(amin ali @ Dec 27 2013, 04:51 PM)
Yes, I think the same,  as always Alienware rocks.  thumbup.gif Just wanted to show him, it's not just me. thanks for the help.  smile.gif
oh. you asked the question here. maybe he thought that we are fanbois so the replies are biased totally biggrin.gif

we are not fanbois, by the way. Aura is right. specs wise aw 17 is the winner hands down.
horns
post Dec 27 2013, 11:46 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

m15x has only one hdd bay. maybe you can replace the dvdrom drive to hdd caddy to house the new hdd.
horns
post Dec 28 2013, 01:13 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

you can get silverstonetek's ts09, http://silverstonetek.com/product.php?pid=387

i bought them at lyp.

also, there are some sellers having the similar products at garage sales.
horns
post Dec 28 2013, 01:29 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

i think it's viewnet, near the psu section. it's 12.7mm.

http://forum.notebookreview.com/alienware-...6k-warning.html

from the above both work.
horns
post Dec 29 2013, 12:13 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

ah typical :/

there are parts sold online. you can check out taobao. (damn good. i have gotten many parts from there)

This post has been edited by horns: Dec 29 2013, 12:14 AM
horns
post Dec 29 2013, 12:53 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Dec 29 2013, 12:17 AM)
i think those technicians used the wrong tool to pry. they should pry it with hard plastic, not with screwdriver.
maybe they also pry at the wrong places :/

QUOTE(EmperorScorpion @ Dec 29 2013, 12:20 AM)
But I don't think they sell that part because it's not removable if I'm not mistaken, correct me if I'm wrong. Yeah although it's a little **** up but still Alienware is our beauty baby  cry.gif
[attachmentid=3790079]
if it's not removable, it will come in one piece. which part is that exactly? with electronic parts or not?

QUOTE(EmperorScorpion @ Dec 29 2013, 12:23 AM)
Yeah I don't know why are they so cow it's so logic that it can't be open up like that -.-! with a screwdriver. Anyway I didn't really check on the shop because it's so crowded and I went back checking and I FOUND OUT that my Alienware had be hardcored. T.T
they will never learn that. i wonder if they have at least checked out the service manual of m15x :/

horns
post Dec 29 2013, 11:30 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(EmperorScorpion @ Dec 29 2013, 01:13 AM)
Your help is appreciated. Don't know if they still only this part lol don't even know what it called.
kaoru found it smile.gif

here are taobao's listings:

http://item.taobao.com/item.htm?spm=a230r....&id=19319825276
http://item.taobao.com/item.htm?spm=a230r....&id=19856201692
http://item.taobao.com/item.htm?spm=a230r....&id=17246462362

your other option is to talk to putochip123. maybe you should also contact dell.

QUOTE(Aura @ Dec 29 2013, 02:07 AM)
Anyone here experiencing sluggish performance during playing games on the Alienware 17's matte display? I believed that the refresh rate on this is uber slow. Performing worse than my 29" monitor.

Solution, change to 3D screen. Problem, the price is IMBA. Any "lobang" for good price for 3D panel? Thanks.
uh? the screen is really that under-performing?

putochip123 got "lobang" biggrin.gif he has a 120hz screen without 3d functions to offer.

This post has been edited by horns: Dec 29 2013, 11:30 AM
horns
post Dec 29 2013, 04:10 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

it's better you ask for help from the agents at https://forum.lowyat.net/ServicesNoticeboard

32 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0225sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 06:01 PM