20 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestions Thread V4

Minecrafter
post Jan 1 2014, 10:33 AM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(chocobo7779 @ Jan 1 2014, 10:27 AM)
Erm... It's the way around... sweat.gif
If your system unit demands 300W, and if your PSU has 80% efficiency, it will draw 375W from the wall socket... sweat.gif
Oh wow,thanks. notworthy.gif
I thought it was about that if it's in example a 80+ gold 650W,then it draws like 600-650W from it.. tongue.gif
But thanks for posting that,now ik what efficiency of PSU is about. smile.gif
Minecrafter
post Jan 1 2014, 11:43 AM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(toomanyrulez @ Jan 1 2014, 11:40 AM)
You meant the FSP hexa 500w? So many recommend this psu, I guest maybe it is good after all biggrin.gif
So I guess I have to stretch budget a bit for a better psu.. smile.gif
It only cost RM149..phew that the price didn't rise,which happened to RAM. cry.gif
Minecrafter
post Jan 1 2014, 11:47 AM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(toomanyrulez @ Jan 1 2014, 11:44 AM)
so RAM price increases huh? Hmm, don't know that.. Planning to get x1 8GB RAM..
Its now at RM239,1 week ago was at RM229..corsair 8GB DDR3 1600Mhz is a few RM cheaper than Kingston,it's priced at RM234 while kingston's is at RM239

This post has been edited by Minecrafter: Jan 1 2014, 11:49 AM
Minecrafter
post Jan 1 2014, 01:28 PM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(Ladidumdum @ Jan 1 2014, 01:16 PM)
Are these compatible?

CPU: Intel i5 4440
GPU: GAINWARD GEFORCE GTX 660 2GB GDDR5
RAM: CORSAIR VENGEANCE CMZ8GX3M1A1600C9
MOBO: MSI B75A-G43
PSU: CORSAIR CX SERIES CX500M
HDD : WD Caviar Black 1TB
Casing : Aerocool Templarius Telum White Edition
First of all,what is your budget?
It's useless of getting a Perfomance RAM unless you are a heavy OCer.Overprice HDD.

CPU:Intel Core i5 4570 3.2 Ghz RM619
MOBO:Asrock B85M Pro4 RM279
GPU:Leadtek GTX760 2GB DDR5 RM849
RAM:Corsair 8GB DDR3 1600Mhz RM234
HDD:WD Caviar Blue 1TB RM189
PSU:FSP Hexa 500W RM149
Casing:CM K380 RM149
Total:RM2468
Prices from Viewnet.

I'd recommend that if your budget is 2.5K.
Minecrafter
post Jan 1 2014, 01:35 PM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(miejot @ Jan 1 2014, 01:19 PM)
Happy new year all,

Can any sifus here provide me the list of hardware for a new gaming rig ?

[Budget] - 3k

[Purpose] - Gaming

[Hardwares that will be re-use] - none

[Monitor resolution] - reused samsung monitor 1680 * 1050

[Games & softwares that use frequently] - dota2 , CoH2 , all heavy duty games

[Personal preferences] - 2TB HD ( mix of SSD and HD ) ,

[Location] - Melaka , i can COD KL.
Mix of HDD and SSD eh

CPU:Intel Core i5 4440 3.1 Ghz RM569
GPU:Leadtek GTX760 2GB DDR5 OC RM949
SSD;Plextor M5S 128GB RM319
PSU:Seasonic S12II 80+ Bronze 620W RM299
Total:RM2987
Prices from Viewnet.
It's kinda hard to get 2TB with mix of HDD and SSD since i can't see any 1.5TB HDD and 512 GB SSDs cost around RM1000.. sweat.gif

Anyways,happy New Year! smile.gif
Minecrafter
post Jan 1 2014, 01:50 PM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(Ladidumdum @ Jan 1 2014, 01:40 PM)
Is there a different PSU and nicer looking casing?  tongue.gif Willing to spend a bit more for that haha, and will all 500w PSU's work?
The FSP hexa 500W i recommended is enough to power an i5 and GTX760 rig. smile.gif
Nice looking casing?You can try Cooler Master Storm Scout II RM309-319 from Viewnet. brows.gif
Minecrafter
post Jan 1 2014, 03:19 PM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(miejot @ Jan 1 2014, 03:10 PM)
Thanks minecrafter for the prompt reply.

if my budget is up to 3.5k ,

first,

what's the best gpu to upgrade that cost around 1,5k ?

Nvidia or AMD. anything would be okay .
The best GPU that costs 1.5K?It has to be Sapphire R9 290 4GB DDR5 RM1499 (INCLUDING BATTLEFIELD 4!),which is selling at IdealTech,it's selling at Viewnet too at the same price,but idk if it has the Non BF4...and i think it's the one with the reference cooler.. sweat.gif
If you up your budget to 1.7K for GPU,you can get R9 290 Tri-X (3 Fans) 4GB DDR5 OC (NO BF4) from IdealTech. brows.gif

This post has been edited by Minecrafter: Jan 1 2014, 03:22 PM
Minecrafter
post Jan 1 2014, 04:28 PM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(Human10 @ Jan 1 2014, 04:18 PM)
LOL, and I thought it reached a saturation point already... doh.gif

At this rate, need to consider import RAM from china or taiwan already...
http://global.pchome.com.tw/?mod=store&fun..._NO=DRAC21&tm=u
http://item.taobao.com/item.htm?spm=a230r....&id=35342012440
http://item.taobao.com/item.htm?spm=a230r....&id=35560177211

p/s: LOL, just noticed even the price in taobao also inflated within this month time... doh.gif
Every year things are getting more expensive...some becomes cheaper. biggrin.gif
Minecrafter
post Jan 2 2014, 07:04 AM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(noonies_naruto @ Jan 2 2014, 12:56 AM)
Hi guys. Am new in building a gaming rig for myself. So just now went to PC shop to check out these items based on staff recommendation (except for CPU which i personally chose)

CPU: AMD FX-8350 = RM679
GPU: Sapphire Radeon 7790 = RM488
RAM: Apacer 8gb x 1 = RM240
MOBO: Asus M5A78 = RM170
PSU: Coolermaster 550w = RM289
HDD : WD Caviar Black 1TB = RM199
Casing : Coolermaster something something = RM169

I do a very small amount of video editing. I'm much into gaming like Dota 2, Bioshock Infinite, L4D2, Skyrim. was very particular about spending too much money on pc rigs, until i felt my laptop was shit for gaming sweat.gif

For display, I've been thinking of using Toshiba HD READY LED LCD TV - 29P1300VM instead of a monitor. I realize that buying a tv is cheaper than the monitor itself :/ but what do u guys think about power consumption? And how about resolution? Im not that picky about how much detail u can have but would expect it to give enough justice for the GPU im using. thinking of using 1080p all the way.

and then, I was a bit surprised about price of windows 7 OS. It will cost rm400++. I wonder if there are better prices out there?
CPU:Intel Core i5 4670 3.4 Ghz RM679
GPU:Leadtek GTX650Ti Boost 2GB DDR5 RM599
PSU:FSP Hexa 500W RM149
Total:RM2278
Prices from Viewnet.

Since we all don't know your budget,i recommend you that instead cause it's is only around 200-300 difference with the one you chose.. tongue.gif

Intel i5 wins. http://www.cpu-world.com/Compare/371/AMD_F...i5_i5-4670.html
Minecrafter
post Jan 2 2014, 07:08 AM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(teranun @ Jan 2 2014, 06:04 AM)
And guys any reliable shop near genting highlands? Considering on building my rig on idealtech if they have a discount for whole set... but i'm not sure if they are close to genting...
Near Genting Highlands?I have no idea.Even IdealTech is located at Pandan Indah iinm. sweat.gif
Minecrafter
post Jan 2 2014, 07:15 AM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(teranun @ Jan 2 2014, 06:00 AM)
Guys this is my final set in my mind ..

I want i7 because i want to self study on music, video, and photo editing...and ofcourse hard core gaming... or no much difference on i5 4670k?
Or xeon setup?

Mobo.... planning to have a little overclock? Or can still overclock with B85M Pro4? Realy dont nid for sli/crossfire i guess....but considering to be more future safe for upgrades? Or am i wrong?

CPU: Intel Core I7 4770K RM1059
MOBO: ASrock Z87 Fatality Killer RM589
RAM: GSKill 1x8GB DDR3 1600mhz RM255
HDD: WD 1TB Caviar Blue HDD RM195
GPU: Sapphire R9 290 4GB DDR5 RM1499
PSU: Seasonic S12 II 620W PSU RM290
Chasis: CM K380 Casing RM145
ODD: Liteon 24x Sata DVDRW RM60

Now my problem is monitor...  what is cheaper? Monitor or led tv?

Sifus anymore ideas? Suggestions? Modifications?
I'd go with a bit cheaper Z87 MOBO like Asrock Z87 Extreme3 RM449 and get Seasonic S12G 80+ Gold 650W RM409 for the PSU.
Since Sapphire R9 290 Tri-X version is alraedy selling at IdealTech,you can get it if you pump 200 more for the GPU. icon_idea.gif
Monitor is cheaper.If your budget for monitor is around 650,i'd recommend you to get Dell U2312HM 23' RM629 but since i heard it's going to be gone for good,you can consider Viewsonic VX2370SMH 23' RM549.
Minecrafter
post Jan 2 2014, 09:37 AM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(wcypierre @ Jan 2 2014, 07:35 AM)
may as well as top up another 100+ and get e3 1230 v3 with 4 more threads rclxms.gif

@op, if your program utilizes a lot of integer based operation then amd would be a good choice.
That's possible if he change the MOBO to Asrock H81M-DGS RM179. tongue.gif
Minecrafter
post Jan 2 2014, 11:30 AM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(noonies_naruto @ Jan 2 2014, 11:05 AM)
ahh thanks! my budget is rm2000-2500.

How about using a TV instead of an actual monitor? whats ur take on that?
TV instead of Monitor? hmm.gif I'd prefer to use a Monitor since it's abit smaller,abit cheaper etc.
Also,if you want a better GPU,you can consider Leadtek GTX760 2GB DDR5 RM849 brows.gif
Minecrafter
post Jan 2 2014, 01:49 PM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(teranun @ Jan 2 2014, 01:07 PM)
Sir z87 extreme 3 is rm549... where is that price? Idealtech price is rm549 not 449....
And how to go to idealtech from genting?
QUOTE(toomanyrulez @ Jan 2 2014, 01:23 PM)
Can do it online?
The price i got is from Viewnet... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Minecrafter: Jan 2 2014, 01:49 PM
Minecrafter
post Jan 2 2014, 08:22 PM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(jimmy.soo @ Jan 2 2014, 08:15 PM)
Hi guys, want to ask if this 550 Watts PSU ST55F-G from silverstone is more than enough for the specs below?

CPU: Intel Core i5-4670
Motherboard: Asus H87I-PLUS
Memory: GSkill AEGIS 2x8GB DDR3 1600mhz
GPU: ASUS Nvidia GTX 770 2GB
Storage: Samsung 840 Pro Series 256GB 2.5" SSD
Storage: Western Digital Caviar Green 2TB Internal Hard Drive

Ooh!That's a 80+ Gold 550W PSU.I searched up and i saw someone using a i5 3570k with GTX770 with that PSU just fine! smile.gif

This post has been edited by Minecrafter: Jan 2 2014, 08:23 PM
Minecrafter
post Jan 2 2014, 09:18 PM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(noonies_naruto @ Jan 2 2014, 08:47 PM)
guys. can i just ask on graphic card specs.

Whats the benefit of the following:-

1. 2GB vs 1GB

2. DDR5 vs DDRxxx

is there a lot of difference if we use 2GB and DDR5?
2GB ddr5 is faster than 1GB DDr1/2/3 since DDR5 is faster. smile.gif
It makes the GPU run a bit faster iinm. smile.gif
Minecrafter
post Jan 3 2014, 12:24 PM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(afag @ Jan 3 2014, 12:06 PM)
Hi! Lucky to find this thread.

[Budget] RM 4k max

[Purpose] Gaming

[Hardwares that will be re-use] None

[Monitor resolution] Please suggest. Maybe 21" or 23" display

[Games & softwares that use frequently] DOTA2, Diablo III, Crysis, etc.

[Personal preferences] NVidia GPU.

[Location] KL

Thanks!
CPU:Intel Core i5 4670 3.4 Ghz RM679
GPU:Leadtek GTX770 4GB DDR5 RM1349 or if u want RED Camp,can get Sapphire R9 290 4GB DDr5 RM1449 iinmfrom IdealTech. brows.gif
PSU:Seasonic S12II 80+ Bronze 620W RM99
Monitor:Dell U2312HM 23' RM629
Total:RM3807
Prices from Viewnet.

If the Dell U2312HM is nearing its end or maybe already gone so if it's no longer selling,can consider Viewsonic V2370SMH 23' RM549 from Viewnet. smile.gif

This post has been edited by Minecrafter: Jan 3 2014, 02:29 PM
Minecrafter
post Jan 3 2014, 12:44 PM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(jimmy.soo @ Jan 3 2014, 04:48 AM)
What if I change the GPU to Sapphire Tri-X R290 4GB GDDR5. How many Watts of PSU is recommended? And also can the GPU + PSU fits into Fractal Node 304 case?
Recap on the specs below:

CPU: Intel Core i5-4670
Motherboard: Asus H87I-PLUS
Memory: GSkill AEGIS 8GB DDR3 1600mhz
GPU: Sapphire Tri-X R290 4GB GDDR5
Storage: Samsung 840 Evo 250GB 2.5" SSD
Storage: Seagate Barracuda 2TB Internal Hard Drive

Any advice will be greatly appreciated.

Thank you.
I'd recommend Seasonic S12II 80+ Bronze 620W RM299 from Viewnet.
hmm.gif fitting the GPU and PSU into Fractal Node 304?I haven't heard of that casing before.... sweat.gif
It can accomodates ATX PSU as im looking at its website,and i saw on a review it can support a long GPU.
Im not sure though,maybe you can ask more expert sifus here,since i need to learn a bit more.. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Minecrafter: Jan 3 2014, 12:45 PM
Minecrafter
post Jan 3 2014, 02:22 PM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(Human10 @ Jan 3 2014, 01:23 PM)
CPU:Intel Core i5 4440 3.1 Ghz RM569
GPU:Leadtek GTX770 2GB DDR5 RM1299
PSU:Seasonic S12II 80+ Bronze 620W RM299
Monitor:Dell U2312HM 23' RM629

Total:RM3647

Prices from Viewnet. If you ever consider the Red camp, then swap out the 770 with either a 280x or a 290.

The extra remaining budget can be allocated to the below parts,
Keyboard
Mouse
Speaker
SSD
Wireless module
Optical drive
Thanks for putting that for the guy,i thought his budget was 3K... laugh.gif
Minecrafter
post Jan 3 2014, 02:32 PM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(afag @ Jan 3 2014, 02:28 PM)
wow, thanks.
may i ask something. I saw lots of suggestion for intel i5. why not i7 instead?
i7 only helps in video editing and rendering,photo editing and rendering.No perfomance increase on gaming.
P.S.Sorry about my recommendation,i thought it was 3K. smile.gif

This post has been edited by Minecrafter: Jan 3 2014, 02:32 PM

20 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.2424sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 01:54 PM