[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestions Thread V4

chocobo7779
post Jan 19 2014, 11:04 AM

Power is nothing without control
14,673 posts

QUOTE(dragonblayde @ Jan 19 2014, 11:02 AM)
Yep I have a 22inch monitor already, HP W2072a..should i opt for better monitor ? Thanks for reply btw  tongue.gif
You want keep first and buy later? or new one straight away? brows.gif
I'm still rocking an 18.5 inch monitor with a HD7950... laugh.gif

This post has been edited by chocobo7779: Jan 19 2014, 11:05 AM
chocobo7779
post Jan 19 2014, 07:36 PM

14,673 posts

QUOTE(jakuraz @ Jan 19 2014, 07:34 PM)
hi guys, looking to build a desktop. help me  wink.gif

[Budget]
RM2k (without monitor).

[Purpose]
Gaming and watch movies at high settings

[Hardwares that will be re-use]
Mouse, keyboard, monitor.

[Games & softwares that use frequently]
Dota2, Aura Kingdom, Photoshop

[Personal preferences]
i5
gpu can support dota2 max setting at 120fps (i might opt for 120hz monitor later on)
wireless N card
small chasis - as small as possible that can suit the hardwares

[Location]
Selangor-KL.
You are asking a bit too much... Consider getting a Haswell i5, along with a B85M-ITX board, and consider a 650Ti Boost. Note that you may need to reduce the settings for 120FPS. Also note that a small chassis isn't cheap... (consider the Silverstone SG05 if you really want small sized cases)
chocobo7779
post Jan 20 2014, 08:33 AM

14,673 posts

QUOTE(Minecrafter @ Jan 19 2014, 08:56 PM)
CPU:AMD Athlon II X2 270 3.4 Ghz RM179
GPU:Sapphire R9 270 2GB GDDR5 RM679
RAM:Corsair 8GB DDR3 1600Mhz RM239
HDD:WD Caviar blue 1TB RM189
PSU:FSP Hexa 500W Rm149
Casing:CM K380 RM149
Total:RM1584
Prices from Viewnet,while the CPU is from jayacom.
Btw,your friend could've just build a Intel build if he didn't bought the mobo... biggrin.gif
That CPU... It might be better to find a Phenom II x4/Athlon II x4.... sweat.gif
Otherwise, sell off the board and switch to Intel...
chocobo7779
post Jan 20 2014, 01:03 PM

14,673 posts

QUOTE(jakuraz @ Jan 19 2014, 07:44 PM)
chasis Silverstone SG05 rm449...is it much different in spec than Bitfenix Prodigy rm269?
Much smaller size (SG05- 10.8 litres, Prodigy- 26 litres)
Note that the SG05 only accepts SFX power supplies, which is provided when you buy the case.
chocobo7779
post Jan 20 2014, 01:07 PM

14,673 posts

QUOTE(seinjuki @ Jan 20 2014, 11:13 AM)
hi guys , i need some pro-help here .

i need to build custom micro-ATX pc since my room become smaller .
can u help me suggest the best and latest .
my budget is for the tower only w/o monitor , etc . (RM2.5k or less)
Usage? For starters, take a look of those mATX cases:
1. Silverstone TJ08-E
2. Bitfenix Prodigy M/Phenom microATX
3. Fractal Design Arc Midi R2
4. Cooler Master N200....
chocobo7779
post Jan 20 2014, 09:02 PM

14,673 posts

QUOTE(jakuraz @ Jan 20 2014, 08:57 PM)
ic..thx for the reply.
can consider the SG05 too since no need to buy psu separately also  biggrin.gif
Note that SFX PSU isn't cheap to start with... tongue.gif
chocobo7779
post Jan 21 2014, 08:34 AM

14,673 posts

QUOTE(seinjuki @ Jan 21 2014, 08:30 AM)
usage ? of course for medium/hard/core gaming and multi-tasking .
casing ? hmmmm , not sure . but im surely pick case that will produce less heat and suit for medium room environment (im a smoker)
CM N200... brows.gif
chocobo7779
post Jan 21 2014, 09:45 AM

14,673 posts

QUOTE(anuar_mlk001 @ Jan 21 2014, 09:28 AM)
Hello sifu, can u give me the best gaming pc that suite my budget (2.2k), want to play game battlefield, call of duty, creed assasin, need for speed on medium to high setting.

for now,i'm planning to buy this spec :-

-Processor AMD FX6300 RM445
-ASRock 980DE3/U3S3 AM3+ ATX RM219
-2x4gb ddr3 ram 1600 RM260
-1TB HDD 7200rpm RM190
-Amd HD7790 1GB ddr5 RM420
-Aerocool Strike X 500W RM165
-Aerocool V3X Casing RM100
-DVD Writer RM60
-keyboard and mouse RM25
-Philips LED 18.5inch RM265
TOTAL : RM2149.00 (price from feiton computer)

is this good for gaming or u have better recommendations for 2.2k budget..
TQ very much sifu rclxms.gif
Horrible PSU, and AMD builds here can be more expensive than some Intel builds.

i3 4130-RM374
ASRock H81M-DGS-RM179
1x8GB Corsair Value RAM-RM239
WD Caviar Blue 1TB-RM190
Sapphire R9 270-RM679
FSP Hexa 500W-RM149
Case of your choice-RM110
LiteOn DVD Writer-RM60
KB/MS of your choice-RM25
AOC E2060SW 20 inch-RM274

Total: RM2149

You might consider adding some budget for a better PSU, or a better monitor... tongue.gif
chocobo7779
post Jan 21 2014, 09:46 AM

14,673 posts

QUOTE(rav3n82 @ Jan 21 2014, 09:44 AM)
Intel Core i3 4130 - RM379
Asrock H81M-DGS - RM179
Corsair Value Ram 8GB DDR3 1600MHz - RM239
WD Caviar Blue 1TB HDD - RM189
Gigabyte GZ series casing - RM69
FSP Hexa 500W PSU - RM149
Leadtek GTX 650 Ti Boost 1GB GDDR5 - RM499
Lite-On 24x DVDRW – RM59
Viewsonic VX2370S 23" monitor - RM499

Total - RM2261 (prices are from Viewnet)
Personally I'd get a better case... A better case would give TS more room for upgrades... laugh.gif
...and I don't think you can get the 650Ti Boost anymore... Idealtech told us that the 750Ti Maxwell GPU will be released... tongue.gif
chocobo7779
post Jan 21 2014, 09:52 AM

14,673 posts

QUOTE(rav3n82 @ Jan 21 2014, 09:50 AM)
Yeah, something like CM K380 (RM149) would definitely be better. But kinda hard to squeeze everything under the tight budget, so compromise a bit. tongue.gif

The 750 Ti Maxwell? Rumored to have worse performance than a 660. Come to think of it, maybe it's near a 650 Ti Boost performance also. sweat.gif
Actually the 650Ti Boost is already close to a 660... tongue.gif (Not very close though)
chocobo7779
post Jan 22 2014, 12:21 PM

14,673 posts

QUOTE(casio17 @ Jan 22 2014, 12:10 PM)
raven, may i ask, 7790 vs 7850? which one is better? is 7850 available in market now?
Only the HD7850 2GB variant is available... The HD7850 is quite a bit faster than the HD7790...
chocobo7779
post Jan 23 2014, 09:59 AM

14,673 posts

QUOTE(rav3n82 @ Jan 23 2014, 09:39 AM)
Apparently, the OEM for that series of PSU was made by Great Wall. I have no idea on their reputation. tongue.gif Summon chocobo7779
Great wall... The OEM behind Sparkle PSUs... Not exactly a bad OEM after all, though their capacitor selection should be better...
Check out their Sparkle Gold Class 1250W PSU. They use Teapo main caps, but it's a shame that they should have fitted Japanese capacitors on a unit of such calibre... tongue.gif

On the CS M series units however, the main caps are indeed Japanese (Matsushita, aka Panasonic) caps, though the secondary caps were second-tier Teapo caps... The build quality isn't half bad, but the CS M units isn't a good buy as there are far superior alternatives (like the Rosewill Capstone 650M, which retails at RM399, or the Seasonic S12G 650W, and if you need the modular cabling, there's the Seasonic G-650). The Seasonic S12G is the non-modular version of the G series units. tongue.gif

The Rosewill units were made by Super Flower, and they use full Japanese caps on the Capstone (Nippon Chemi-con). tongue.gif Though there's no MOV (metal oxide variator) on that PSU (which is common across Super Flower units), which mean you may consider using the power supply along with a surge protector. However, the lack of a MOV doesn't mean a poor performing unit. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by chocobo7779: Jan 23 2014, 10:04 AM
chocobo7779
post Jan 23 2014, 10:05 AM

14,673 posts

QUOTE(Clem1982 @ Jan 23 2014, 10:03 AM)
+1, lucky that its the CS650M and not the RM series, HardOCP hit them hard recently with the RM750 missing the mark

http://www.hardocp.com/article/2013/11/13/...supply_review/9
Note that HardOCP tend to push their power supply units in a hard way... sweat.gif
Though the RM and CS M units were overpriced... tongue.gif
chocobo7779
post Jan 23 2014, 10:07 AM

14,673 posts

QUOTE(bingding @ Jan 23 2014, 10:02 AM)
but i bought already, so is that psu ok for my aforementioned rig or do i nid to change
If it's new, consider changing one...
Otherwise, just keep them... tongue.gif (Teapo caps aren't bad, and they are much better than some cheap-grade Chinese caps like Asia-X and JunFu)... tongue.gif
chocobo7779
post Jan 23 2014, 10:12 AM

14,673 posts

QUOTE(bingding @ Jan 23 2014, 10:11 AM)
if it's new? its new released right?
Newly bought... brows.gif
chocobo7779
post Jan 23 2014, 10:16 AM

14,673 posts

QUOTE(rav3n82 @ Jan 23 2014, 10:15 AM)
I think the CM V650S series are good options also well? Seems slightly better priced compared to those Corsair M series. biggrin.gif

Also, is bulk caps considered the main caps is it? Seems like M series uses Chemi-Cons. Secondary side yes, are from Teapo.

http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/Corsair/CS650M/4.html
Enhance OEM... sweat.gif Though they are not bad when it come to some high end units... laugh.gif
The V650S isn't bad, though they used Su'scon caps... sweat.gif (FYI, Su'scon caps were found on CM GX series units)

Though the solder quality is.... sweat.gif

Yup, bulk caps are sometimes referred as main caps... nod.gif

This post has been edited by chocobo7779: Jan 23 2014, 10:20 AM
chocobo7779
post Jan 23 2014, 10:25 AM

14,673 posts

QUOTE(rav3n82 @ Jan 23 2014, 10:23 AM)
Su'scon caps. Sounds like "Sucks" caps. sweat.gif I am considering some cheaper range ~600 - 650W modular PSUs. So far I think M12 II and Antec HCG seems like my shortlisted choices, since both are basically based on the same platform.
Seasonic S12G? Rosewill Capstone? tongue.gif
The Antec HCG is a pretty solid choice as well... laugh.gif
chocobo7779
post Jan 23 2014, 10:31 AM

14,673 posts

QUOTE(rav3n82 @ Jan 23 2014, 10:29 AM)
Seasonic S12G / Rosewill Capstone not available in my local stores yet. biggrin.gif

Now I slowly understand why those Seasonic platforms have good reputation. Primary/secondary caps all also using Chemi-Con. Chemi-Con is considered one of the better ones available right?
Yup, Chemi-con is one of the best around... there are good ones apart from Chemi-con...

1. Rubycon
2. Matsushita
3. Nichicon... (used to be a bad capacitor manufacturer when a Chinese company leaked the formula of their P-50 caps... and the HM and HN series were known to be prone to failure, though that only applies to caps that were manufactured before 2005...)
http://www.jonnyguru.com/forums/showthread.php?t=6783

Though beware of fakes.... sweat.gif

This post has been edited by chocobo7779: Jan 23 2014, 10:33 AM
chocobo7779
post Jan 24 2014, 09:38 AM

14,673 posts

QUOTE(casio17 @ Jan 24 2014, 07:07 AM)
CPU: Intel Core I5 4440 RM589
MOBO :ASrock B85M-HDS RM245(which one is better build, M-HDS OR M-ITX?)
RAM: GSkill AEGIS 8GB DDR3 1600mhz RM265
HDD: WD 1TB Caviar Blue HDD RM195
CHasis: CM K350 Casing RM145
ODD: Liteon 24x Sata DVDRW RM60
PSU: FSP HEXA 500W PSU RM149
GPU: Leadtek 650 TI Boost RM529(if not available, go for r9 270 or gtx 660?)

pls help me smile.gif
The R9 270... Comes with BF4 for free...
Though you don't need expensive RAMs for starters...

The M-ITX requires you to get a miniITX case, and miniITX boards can limit your upgrade potential pretty significantly.
chocobo7779
post Jan 24 2014, 06:01 PM

14,673 posts

QUOTE(pali_5373 @ Jan 24 2014, 04:59 PM)
[Budget]3K max

[Purpose] Gaming

[Hardwares that will be re-use]
RAM G.SKILL SNIPER 1866MHZ 4GB X2
PSU CORSAIR AX1200I(I KNOW IT IS OP BUT I GOT EXTRA SO WHY WASTE ON NEW PSU)

[Monitor resolution]
1920X1080

[Games & softwares that use frequently]
-ALL LATEST GAME, I WANT TO PLAY ON ULTRA

[Personal preferences]
- I WANT AN AMD BUILD WITH SINGLE VGA AND ITX BUILD
[Location]
-LABUAN
Please, type in proper cases... It feels like you are shouting... sweat.gif
There's very few AMD boards with miniITX (none actually if you are counting the power-hungry AM3+ platform... ) sweat.gif
You will need to go with APU builds (i.e. FM2 socket), though their CPUs are woefully underpowered compared to Intel equivalents.
Also, your PSU is going to limit your choice in miniITX builds because of length limitations. I'd suggest you to sell it, and get a shorter, lower wattage unit.

Your PSU is a 20cm beast; i.e. no miniITX case would fit them in unless you are going to mod it.

8 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0643sec    0.59    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 12:53 PM