[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestions Thread V4

Minecrafter
post Jan 10 2014, 09:15 PM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(light20 @ Jan 10 2014, 09:03 PM)
Hello sifus. Can anyone suggest me a rig for gaming. Budget 2k including monitor.
CPU:Intel Core i3 4130 3.4 Ghz RM374
MOBO:Asrock H81M-DGS RM179
GPU:MSI Radeon HD7790 1GB DDR5 RM399 or if it's no longer selling,can consider MSI GTX650 1GB DDR5 OC RM379
RAM:Corsair 4 GB DDR3 1600Mhz RM129
HDD:WD Caviar Blue 1TB RM189
PSU:FSP Hexa 500W RM149
Casing:CM K280 RM129
Monitor:Dell S2240L 21.5' RM489
Total:RM2037/2017
Prices from Viewnet.
Minecrafter
post Jan 10 2014, 09:20 PM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(fakhrul.fahmi @ Jan 10 2014, 09:02 PM)
part use - Intel Core i5-3470 processor + Asrock B75 Mobo .

upgrade for gaming purpose and online only. :3  many thanks.
CPU:(reuse)
MOBO:(reuse)
GPU:Sapphire R9 280X Vapor-X 3GB DDR5 RM1199
RAM:Corsair 8GB DDR3 1600Mhz RM239
PSU:Seasonic S12II 80+ Bronze 620W RM299
Casing:CM K380 RM149
Total:RM2075
Prices from Viewnet.
If you can't go past 2K,can consider Sapphire R9 280X 3GB DDR5 OC RM1099 instead. smile.gif
Minecrafter
post Jan 10 2014, 09:22 PM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(teranun @ Jan 10 2014, 08:26 PM)
Guys CM 690 II, 690III, storm enforcer, n500, n600, centurion 6,

Best for future dual r9 290 tri x?

Plus future addition of ssd,

Or any other casing with good cooling without the need expensive coolers?
CM 690 II is able to support CF for R9 290 Tri-X iinm.
If u are worried about the temperature,can just get 1-2 fans installed. tongue.gif
Minecrafter
post Jan 10 2014, 09:36 PM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(teranun @ Jan 10 2014, 09:28 PM)
Sifus please have a look... criticize something or suggest a better part or price or something...

CPU:      i7 4770           or     i7 4770K
Mobo:   asrock z87 extreme4
Ram: not sure if 2x4gb or 1x8gb or should go to 16gb
HDD: 1tb blue 7200rpm
GPU: sapphire r9 290 tri x 4gb DDR5 future dual tri x
PSU: should i go now for CM V1000? Or CM V850 is already enough for dual r9 290 tri x? (Future upgrade)
Chasis: i don't know yet... posted a question above...
Cooler: if i7 4770 not getting this, if 4770k i'll get CM Hyper 212x
ODD: best or better.
OS... i dont have it yet, dont know if how much....
If no overclock plus cooler idealtech price maybe around rm4400. If i7 4770K plus cooler around rm4600.

Can you check any bad item and suggest another?
CPU, GPU, and MoBo is fixed....i think smile.gif but still thinking if overclock build or non overclock build sad.gif what is better...
And sifus please add a good monitor that will utilize the gpu's strength. 18-23"..... budget idk maybe around rm400 to rm650?
Are you going to OC the CPU?
If yes,then get i7 4770K for CPU,Asrock Z87 Extreme4 for MOBO,get 2x4GB for RAM,about the PSU,Im not sure if V850 has come out,but to be safe,i'd go with V1000.. sweat.gif
Monitor,you can get Dell U2312HM 23' RM629 if it's still selling,if not,can consider Dell S2340L 23' RM539
About casing,i replied to your question,but you can wait for sifus to answer it,since i consider myself as a "Rookie Recommender" whistling.gif
Also,if u OC your CPU,there's differences..sometimes no big differences...but again,im not so experienced in OC part yet. sweat.gif
P.S.Check the link that i sended to you as a answer to your question a few hours ago whether there is a big differences if u OC CPU.

This post has been edited by Minecrafter: Jan 10 2014, 09:40 PM
Minecrafter
post Jan 10 2014, 09:56 PM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(fakhrul.fahmi @ Jan 10 2014, 09:48 PM)
i just buy that part. so i only hv 1.5k more for other part. can u giv other quote? thnks sifus smile.gif
GPU:Sapphire R9 270X Dual-X 2GB DDR5 RM739
Casing:CM K380 Rm149
Total:RM1465
Prices from Viewnet.
There you go. smile.gif
Minecrafter
post Jan 10 2014, 09:59 PM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(teranun @ Jan 10 2014, 09:53 PM)
Thanks sifu ^^, uhmm not sure if i need overclock since i will only use it to learn music, video, and photo editing. And of course high ultra setting gaming happy.gif

It is said that there are minor and some are major differences in speed processing but i'm afraid it will have a consequence on the reliability of its computing power....

But i7 4770 is already good at around mid range cpu right?

And what is better screen? Ultrasharp like u2312 or FHD IPS screen??
If you are not OCing,drop down to i7 4770 or Intel Xeon E1230 V3 3.3 Ghz RM779,change Mobo to Asrock H87 Pro4 RM319.
I don't consider i7 4770 as a midrange CPU.... tongue.gif
Im not sure which Monitor is FHD IPS,ik that U2312HM is 1080P IPS... sweat.gif
Minecrafter
post Jan 10 2014, 10:22 PM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(teranun @ Jan 10 2014, 10:18 PM)
Aw ok well bettee see it for my self hehe...

I think i will consider CM 693 III

If i7 4770 is not mid range so it is where on your range?
Lookin' at Wikipedia,it says the Intel Pentium/Celeron,Intel Core i3 and Intel Core i5 is considered Mainstream and Intel Core i7 is considered Perfomance.
From my thought:Intel Pentium/Celeron(Mainstream),Intel Core i3("EntryLevel"Midrange),Intel Core i5("HighEnd"Midrange),Intel Core i7(Perfomance)
It all depends actually,some people say i5 and i7 perfomance,few people say i3 mid-end. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Minecrafter: Jan 10 2014, 10:23 PM
Minecrafter
post Jan 11 2014, 05:39 PM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(kenshin84 @ Jan 11 2014, 01:10 PM)
Hi there,
I have some delima of choosing some part in order to upgrade my rig in order to perform with dual monitor or more, my current rig as listed below:

Current Rig
Proc:  AMD Phenom II 955 BE 3.2GHz
Mobo:  M4A88T-V EVO/USB3
Cooler: CM hyper 101
RAM:  Kingston Hyper X (2X2GB 1600MHz)
HDD:        500GB WD blue, 2X1TB WD green
Casing: CM Elite 370 (window ver)
ODD: Asus DVD writer/burn
GC:  Asus HD 6870 Direct CU
PSU:        CM GX series 650 W

My future part

Proc:  I5 4670K or I7 4770K
Mobo:  Asus Z87-A
Cooler:    Seidon 120M or 120XL
PSU:        GX II 750W or CM V700 W

This rig is for some gaming and some engineering work such as programming and designing (java, solidwork, auto cad) in addition of some video editing. The gaming wise, I actually prefer more to strategic games, like dota 2, starcarft 2, command and conquer, racing game since i have a logitech Driving Force GT and football game. Another reason is that, I also want my rig can run with dual or more monitor since i will be doing some multi-tasking and one thing, I'm also a having downloader. Need you guys suggestion regarding my future build, regarding the budget I think is around 2k to 2.5k. I prefer going with the K series since Im planing to oc it later own...Many thanks for your time guys.... smile.gif
CPU:Intel Core i5 4670K 3.4 Ghz RM749
MOBO:Asrock Z87 Extreme3 RM449
GPU:Gigabyte GTX650TiBoost OC 2GB DDR5 RM599
PSU:Seasonic S12II 80+ Bronze 620W RM299
Total:RM2673
Prices from Viewnet.
That's a bit over the budget,if u wanna reuse your WD Caviar Blue 500GB,it'll be in the 2000-2500 price range. smile.gif
Minecrafter
post Jan 11 2014, 05:44 PM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(Tomtom. @ Jan 11 2014, 03:16 PM)
cn help me suggest gaming rig? purpose just for gaming. budget maybe around 2.5k , want to play bf4 or upcoming gta5 in ultra settings.
CPU:Intel Core i5 4440 3.1 Ghz RM579
MOBO:Asrock B85M Pro4 RM279
GPU:Zotac GTX760 2GB DDR5 AMP! RM899 (Cycom)
Total:RM2483
Prices from Viewnet,except for the GPU which is from Cycom. smile.gif
Minecrafter
post Jan 11 2014, 09:27 PM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(kenshin84 @ Jan 11 2014, 09:20 PM)
oo i see i see...thanks thanks for your suggestion  thumbup.gif ..
I forgot to put the CPU Cooler,u can get CM Hyper 212 Evo that's somewhere around RM100-200 iinm.u can sell some parts of your older rig to get better specs or just to save money... tongue.gif
Minecrafter
post Jan 12 2014, 03:53 AM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(Chew Yongxian @ Jan 12 2014, 03:26 AM)
Uh guys, fair bit of warning here. RAM and Hard Disk Drive prices have gone up SIGNIFICANTLY. Both have increases of up to RM100 or worse for higher end models. WD Red 1TB is now past the RM300 mark and in some cases up to RM380. T.T
cry.gif That is bad...i can't see the RAM prices dropping to a extremely low price like early last year...
WD Red 1TB some at RM380?! o.o This is extremely bad! cry.gif
Minecrafter
post Jan 12 2014, 12:46 PM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(kenshin84 @ Jan 12 2014, 09:57 AM)
It would be great if DDR4 price will be only slightly higher than DDR3,but i doubt that it would.... cry.gif Maybe it will be in example 8GB DDR3 1600Mhz is currently at RM239 (Corsair),maybe somewhere around RM300 for DDR4 8GB? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by Minecrafter: Jan 12 2014, 12:49 PM
Minecrafter
post Jan 12 2014, 01:19 PM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(teranun @ Jan 12 2014, 01:16 PM)
So building now is like building something great on this timelne... and it will stay there forever because upgrading to DDR4 will be changing cpu mobo and possibly even other components due to socket changes... is that so? Its kinda like its better to get a gaming laptop first before setting up a rig... T_T
Sometimes iinm,you can't really compare Laptops and Desktops because 1.Their Proccesors and GPUs are like different.Laptop's a Mobile CPU example like i5 4200U comparing with i5 4570,of course the desktop's wins.GPUs in laptops are like small version of the Desktop's GPU.
2.You can't really upgrade laptop. 3.Even a RM2000 desktop is better than RM2000 laptop.

This post has been edited by Minecrafter: Jan 12 2014, 01:20 PM
Minecrafter
post Jan 12 2014, 05:56 PM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(fakhrul.fahmi @ Jan 12 2014, 05:41 PM)
Proc - amd fx 4300 and mobo msi gaming is it okay? Can u quote some with budget around 2.5k using amd and msi gaming.?
Intel is better for this budget.
CPU:Intel Core i5 4440 3.1 Ghz RM579
MOBO:Asrock B85M Pro4 RM279
GPU:Zotac GTX760 Dual Fans AMP! 2GB GDDR5 RM899 (Cycom)
RAM:Corsair 8GB DDr3 1600Mhz RM239
HDD:WD caviar blue 1TB RM189
Total:RM2483
Prices from viewnet except for the gpu which is from cycom.
Do you need monitor?Also,the Asrock MOBO and Intel i5 is the best for 2.5K.. smile.gif
Minecrafter
post Jan 12 2014, 06:10 PM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(fakhrul.fahmi @ Jan 12 2014, 06:00 PM)
But can u quote some with amd fx 4300 + msi gaming mobo. Look intersting quote from other seller at lowyat here plus 2.5k actually with monitor.
I'll quote but even if other sifus recommend,they would recommend intel cpu and asrock mobo for 2.5k build instead..anyways.

CPU:AMD FX4300 3.8 Ghz RM399
MOBO:MSI 970-A G43 RM279
GPU:Gigabyte GTX650Ti Boost OC 2GB DDR5 RM599
RAM:corsair 8Gb 1600Mhz RM239
HDD:WD caviar blue 1TB RM189
Monitor:Dell S2240L 21.5' RM489
Total:RM2492
Prices from viewnet.

Minecrafter
post Jan 12 2014, 08:37 PM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(keretapir @ Jan 12 2014, 06:27 PM)
hi guys! just wanted some suggestion from you guys, since i am building my 7th PC iteration this year (somewhere in April-May perhaps). setting a budget of RM4k this time around (except for monitor, speaker, mouse, keyboard, platter HDD, BD-RW drive).

the few main things i expected to get would be:
a SSD for my O/S
at least 6 core/6 thread CPU
not gonna OC anything, leave it to stock with built-in boost
single GPU, not gonna SLI/crossfire
a semi/fully modular PSU

Try this.
CPU:Intel Xeon E1230 V3 3.3 Ghz RM779
MOBO:Asrock H87 Pro4 RM319
GPU:Sapphire R9 290 Tri-X OC 4GB GDDR5 RM1699 (IdealTech)
SSD:Plextor M5S 128GB RM319
PSU:CoolerMaster V650 Semi Modular 80+ Gold 650W RM369
Total:RM4062
Prices from Viewnet..except for the GPU which is from IdealTech.
The CPU has 4 Cores and 8 Threads but that's still good enough,What's your usage actually?
Also,if you do want a 6 cores/6 threads CPU,u can get AMD FX8320 3.5Ghz RM559 and get MSI 970-A G43 RM279.

This post has been edited by Minecrafter: Jan 12 2014, 08:52 PM
Minecrafter
post Jan 12 2014, 08:43 PM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(fakhrul.fahmi @ Jan 12 2014, 06:35 PM)
Is that gpu balance with the proc :3 they say the gpu is more powered than proc and it will create unbalance rig? Is that true sad.gif
hmm.gif I don't think it will bottleneck the GPU unless u are going for high ends iinm.Also,here's some info on why it's better to go for intel build for this price range... tongue.gif http://www.cpu-world.com/Compare/349/AMD_F...i3_i3-4130.html
If u are changing to Intel Core i3 4130,it's priced at RM374 iinm and get Asrock B85M Pro4 RM279 MOBO.
Prices from Viewnet. smile.gif
Minecrafter
post Jan 12 2014, 09:29 PM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(Kent93 @ Jan 12 2014, 09:24 PM)
Sapphire R9 280X toxic 3GB DDR5

vs

gtx 770

which you guys think its better
Sapphire R9 280X Toxic 3GB GDDR5 wins this.
Why don't u search up on google? sweat.gif
Minecrafter
post Jan 12 2014, 10:27 PM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(tomsulliven @ Jan 12 2014, 09:56 PM)
Budget around RM1500
CPU:Intel Core i3 4130 3.4 Ghz RM374
MOBO:Asrock H81M-DGS RM179
RAM:Corsair 4GB DDR3 1600Mhz RM124
GPU:Leadtek GTX650Ti Boost 1GB GDDR5 RM499
Casing:CM K280 RM129
Total:RM1643
Prices from Viewnet.
If you can't get past 1.5K,can consider MSI HD7790 1GB GDDR5 RM399 IF it's still selling...if not,just get MSI GTX650 OC 1GB GDDR5 RM379.
Minecrafter
post Jan 13 2014, 07:12 PM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(keretapir @ Jan 13 2014, 06:49 PM)
thanks for the quote. looks like i can actually slash off that HDD since i won't be needing a new one then (got lots of them already on my current PC)
seems like more ppl recommending me R9 290 instead of any nvidia cards...but the one you recommend me is a bit excessive on the price. well, time to hunt for better priced ones laugh.gif
anyway, is Xeon actually better than those on Haswell socket?
and would 650W be actually enough then to power up all these..?
Intel Xeon E1230 V3 and i7 4770/4770K is better than the i3 than the i5 because 1.It's better than i3 because i3 only have 2 cores/4 threads,it's better than i5 because i5 has 4 cores/4 threads while i7/Xeon has 4 cores/8 threads.
2.Intel Xeon E1230 V3 it's a i7 in disguise,only .1 ghz slower and no iGPU,but it'd cheaper than i7 4770 like around 100-120 ringgit cheaper.. tongue.gif

And answering to the PSU question,yes,it's enough. smile.gif

20 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0559sec    0.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 10:07 AM