Working for PETRONAS V2, How to get a job, benefits, culture etc

msismail
post Apr 16 2014, 02:15 PM

297 posts

QUOTE(azraeil @ Apr 16 2014, 02:12 PM)
Wow, if that is the case, you may have to take out a personal loan to pay for the bond.
I suggest go for EPF Account 2. but try to nego first. they'll be tough at first but just play along. I managed to get installment plan suit to my financial.

the good thing is, there's no interest imposed.
msismail
post Apr 17 2014, 10:09 AM

297 posts

QUOTE(sojurn @ Apr 17 2014, 02:00 AM)
But how did they calculate how much you "owe"?

I assume pro-rata is a given. Any further discounts on top of that?

Some of my friends that left claim that they only had to pay a relatively small amount. Just wondering what your experience was.
My case is a bit diff. I didn't get an offer after grad since that was during the low period (2009 - they don't hire as many as they used to).

So, there were about 20pax of us (from Australia) need to pay flat rate 90k (installment) or 70k lump sum (the total amount spent range is from 300k to 400k).

they'll give a letter on how much u owe them.

Or, u might want to go thru your offer letter.
msismail
post Apr 24 2014, 11:14 AM

297 posts

QUOTE(Boyz88 @ Apr 23 2014, 09:28 PM)
Hi every one. Is it true that petronas always hired sum1 that have 'cable' and petronas scholar? It's so hard for public being recruited by petronas. Feel free to leave ur comments. Thanks.
I did have that tot before. I even didn't attend any mock interviews for I always think that PETRONAS would hire scholars. rclxm9.gif But then, I didn't get hired (even the SI during my final year was cancelled). - received letter of release, means no more connection/privilege as a scholar. period. sad.gif

But, last month, I've got an interview call, not even applying for any positions... icon_rolleyes.gif

so, it's kinda tricky. rclxub.gif

the best way is to plan ur career path that suits eventually, PETRONAS interest. for example, if u work for O&G company, it's likely for u to get hired. experienced personnel is preferred. thumbup.gif
msismail
post May 7 2014, 09:18 AM

297 posts

QUOTE(fafaliq @ May 7 2014, 09:41 AM)
When did u applied? U need to bear in mind that there are tons of Pet scholar in every batch, n they all entitled to SI. Each year got three batch. So, u just need to be better than them to get their attention  biggrin.gif Plus, 2014 shows some sour operation in OnG. so, not much job posting compare to last year. some of them even closed down their business (newfields etc)  sad.gif
Now not every scholar got the chance for an SI. They've already screen based on final year results (at least this is for overseas scholar, not sure for UTP tho)
msismail
post May 7 2014, 09:51 AM

297 posts

QUOTE(vox9802 @ May 7 2014, 10:25 AM)
even if you have cable or know someone, you have to meet their criteria and pass all the interview stages.
yeap, definitely which always makes me wonder, how come some of them passed all the stages? (having to know quite a number of them..heh)

ps: I was a scholar for overseas programe, didn't get the SI (cancelled dt downtime period, 20pax of us - 2009), got TA invitation and passed, also got the SI (but have to resch dt personal interest)

all in all, cable or no cable, it's the best for each of us. one thing is PETRONAS is not the only "in-thing". just chill...heh icon_idea.gif
msismail
post May 11 2014, 08:54 AM

297 posts

QUOTE(JusticeDeserves @ May 10 2014, 05:03 PM)
Interview with Petronas on the 14th.Already working for WorleyParsons. Interested in Process Safety Role if available by Petronas. Anyone knows if Petronas deals with Process Safety or do they outsource it to other companies?
another RWP pal here..ahaks
msismail
post May 14 2014, 02:09 PM

297 posts

QUOTE(BlurTV @ May 14 2014, 12:01 PM)
So, are there always vacancies in PETRONAS?
You can't see shit in their website though.
there will always be vacancies, no doubt.
msismail
post May 14 2014, 02:17 PM

297 posts

QUOTE(BlurTV @ May 12 2014, 01:44 PM)
How often does PETRONAS organize Structured Interviews (SI)?
It is really upon their planning. but just a few slots to mention:

1. during GRADUAN (in Melbourne) - yearly - not sure about other places
2. end of semester (local and abroad) - Scholars get direct invitation. non-scholar can always apply.

those 2 are for fresh-grads...

SI is a mandatory stage for new recruits. for experienced, there might be a Technical Assessment (TA) plus SI or str8 to SI - depends on position level and department.

from my experience for the past 2 months, they actually held SI for like every week. those are for the experienced who passed the TA in Feb/Mar.

tips: just fill up the discoverpetronas website n wait for the call. no high hopes eh... sweat.gif
msismail
post May 14 2014, 04:39 PM

297 posts

QUOTE(BlurTV @ May 14 2014, 04:18 PM)
Thanks for the info!
I'm quite surprised to learn that they hold SI every week.
On their website, there seems to be no vacancies for entry level positions though so I just created an account, updated my profile, uploaded my CV, registered my interests and released it. I'm just wondering how you get picked up by the HR if you don't apply for anything.  nod.gif

I'm not really hopeful. This is just to satisfy my curiosity.  cry.gif
i did fill up the discoverpetronas once (sometimes end of last yr just for fun). but the call that i got was not the one that i applied for. i, myself puzzled.

most of my juniors (non-scholar) told me that they also filled up the website. so, it's really 50-50 perhaps. it's good to just park ur cv there. if it's the best for u, u'll get it eventually.
msismail
post May 15 2014, 09:20 AM

297 posts

QUOTE(vox9802 @ May 15 2014, 06:25 AM)
Thanks for the infor.

Done with your SI? How was it? Mind to share your SI experience?
Nope, they haven't set a new date (not really expecting sooner tho. Just welcomed my newborn baby boy last 2 weeks icon_rolleyes.gif and I also mentioned my availability is after June during the TA).

msismail
post May 15 2014, 01:24 PM

297 posts

QUOTE(vox9802 @ May 15 2014, 12:17 PM)
congrats on your newborn!  rclxms.gif
tengs! hahaa... rclxm9.gif
msismail
post May 18 2014, 08:38 AM

297 posts

QUOTE(hussain.isma @ May 18 2014, 12:30 AM)
Fuhhh. Queue kat Petronas paling long at Graduan Aspire fair just now. Second is Shell, and both side by side rclxms.gif

Eh, one question, driller kat PETRONAS paling high pay for fresh grad kah? PETRONAS beritau driller paling valuable..
not sure specifically for drillers. but E1 tier is the highest paid la, esp bonus...

where r u? Melbourne?
msismail
post May 18 2014, 09:09 AM

297 posts

QUOTE(elijah3art @ May 16 2014, 11:05 PM)
Actually yes. like how people should not try to topple the government and voice their frustration. as if that's gonna change things. in fact, i also lazy to talk on stuff like this, i'm triggered by an earlier bro here who voiced the same concern. the HR process and discoverpetronas thingy looks like a gimmick to us. in fact i wonder if they ask us to fill in our details during those fairs is to check in their system whether this person had already applied and if he does, there's nonid to consider another of his application as not to waste time and energy.

With my experience, I'm as good as to be considered as fresh grad except that i applied for two years with no news. not even phone intv, chit chat, let alone SI n a job. U got in, ur qualified, congratulations. But even then, how i notice some of my friends working in 'lower level' segment but they are actually good, and being looked down upon by the other upstream people. i myself nvmla, sudah biasa looked down and misunderstood on. when i see this, memangla this made me damn angry when i see so many acuh x acuh students also can enter petronas.
i got more angry bcuz as time prolongs, those people are just going to live better and for us people in "lower" segments, we worked like dog and seen as dogs except we don't get good bones as compensation.

other companies ? right. tell me how many other companies provide a road for fresh grad ? job in O&G for degree holder is so scarce except engineering and even then it's not a niche thing so it's only reasonable. principles are easily understood all the time but because i truly experienced those hardships, i "feel". Not to say to join O&G for money, money is never a great concern to me, but i just need to cari makan but sadly, my qualifications limit me to O&G. outside of O&G, i'm being treated as a criminal of having work in O&G because they can never brain why i find jobs in HR, marketing , IT and i can't even get a diploma job in those areas without experience and a relevant degree. and now i must make u understd why i keep applying for petronas. Shell dun even lend an eye to me. I even applied those what uzma, intelek whatsoever malay associated smaller companies, and it's not surprising as to they don't bother me as well regardless of my relevant qualifications.

woo woo..hold ur horses man.. rclxub.gif

1. I was once a PETRONAS scholar (just saying..lol)
2. Yeap, people might get swayed by ur 1st post - y don't they? the post was like a mile long and is very negative.
3. I do (apparently) understand ur points; good scholar is OK, but not bad scholars plus cables - right?
3.1 what i'm puzzled is that, y r u so overwhelmed by the fact of the whole system works? y not just focus on urself. I noticed u've put effort into it but if it's not meant for u, then it's not. as simple as that...

Surely petronas is not the only company out there. in fact, o&g is not the only thing out there too. i might as well just sell my butt.

u might want to get some fresh air...it's ok to vent tho... brows.gif cool2.gif
msismail
post May 18 2014, 09:14 AM

297 posts

QUOTE(reconnaissance @ May 16 2014, 07:22 PM)
I know you're frustrated, but there is really no point for you to take it out on Petronas scholars. To be really honest, I can guarantee you that those scholars are multiple times better than most regulars on LYN, and therefore deserved that place.

You posted as though those scholars are ultimately lucky, and landed upon the sponsorship without any trouble or stresses.
These scholars obtain the sponsorship through
1)  minimum SPM requirements which bordered on excellence (7A+, with Add Math and Sciences such as Physics, Chemistry for technical sides) with extracurriculars of leadership values.
2) interviews that include personal interview, case study and group discussion (sounds familiar? These are similar to the ones graduates are doing but they are merely high school graduates),
3) written examinations that include General Ability Test (Raven's Progressive Matrices), Chemistry, Physics and Add Math,
All those in one day. Don't you forget that they are merely high school graduates, and aside from those, compete against a larger pool of applicants nationwide.
See do you fit those criteria above first; if you say those doesn't matter because high school has long passed, then visualize that they can do well since high school, why can't you?

Now, after the sponsorship, they are posted to pre-u for their intended countries; these are ADP or A-Levels. Now, to be able to proceed, they must get an offer from Top 10-20 universities of their fields based on the Gourman Report. Otherwise, a breach of contract and you'll have to pay all of it back.
Now, have you gotten an offer from that?

After the offer, they'll have to maintain a CGPA of 3.5 in their pre-u. Else, their offer is wasted and have to try for one last time the next year as a transfer student which has much lower admission rate, aside from the fact that the schools must be Top 10-20. They have to individually score on international tests such as the SAT, SAT Subject Tests, A-Level, IELTS or TOEFL.
Now, did you maintain a CGPA of 3.5 at your pre-u? This is not MARA, so don't think these scholars can so easily negotiate for a waiver if they did not obtain 3.5. Have you even tried the SAT and at least two SAT Subject Tests?

Once they're there, they have to maintain a CGPA of 3.0. Now, I'm not sure about the other countries, but I'm the USA, most schools apply the 93-95 A, 90-92 A- 85-89 B+ strict grading. This makes it a little more difficult in maintaining 3.0 CGPA aside from the stresses of culture shock and new systems.
Now, did you obtain at least 3.0 in your engineering degree throughout with such a grading and external pressure?
Remember that a breach of contract constitutes a repayment of 100% of the expenditure they spent on you.

After all that, yes, they'll have a priority in getting the interview but going through the interview is the same process. You can say they may have an unofficial priority, but looking back to all the amazing feats they sustained, why wouldn't they? I can bet that any of those scholars can speak, debate and pitch better in English and BM than most. Otherwise, how can they score on their SAT, IELTS and TOEFL, and mandatory English classes in university, or in the first place, their SPM Eng and BM?

I have been a somewhat consultant to other students so I do know what does it feel like for them.
If you're the above, congratulations! You deserve the job and the interviewers are idiots.
But if you don't, try not to constantly quote them as though they are lucky bastards who do not deserve their place. Be grateful.
great explanation. as a scholar myself, I see the difference. in general, PETRONAS scholars are more outspoken. not to say that non-PETRONAS scholars are any less (in fact some of them are way better), thus "in general" term.
msismail
post May 19 2014, 09:05 AM

297 posts

QUOTE(phyzoul @ May 18 2014, 09:29 PM)
kalau dah ditetapkan rezeki olehNYA tak kan kemana...
betol tu...but the thing with most people is that, seeing PETRONAS as a company yg glemer and segalanye mmg x dpt disangkal, thus, the frustration...

once get the bigger picture, it will not be the same...
msismail
post May 20 2014, 01:52 PM

297 posts

QUOTE(elijah3art @ May 20 2014, 04:05 AM)
Its ok. my butt should be quite marketable. Keke biggrin.gif
and what is that supposed to mean? sweat.gif

anywy, this cable, racial connotation to me is rather shallow minded la...sorry if u (and anyone else) terasa ke ape. but, we shouldn't emphasize/point onto this in comparing or highlighting issues. just be professional and man up.

like u said, if someone is good and fated, then akan dapat la. what with all the fuss? accepting fact and ironically keep rambling, mcm conflicting tahap dewa u know? hahaha....

I used to be part of PETRONAS and now am working for PETRONAS (as in my client). I know and met many of them; long time friends to technicians. there r some who I used to think "how come this fellow dapat masuk?", but eventually it came to me that, even if we see him/her is not competent enuf, it is fated and the best for them, so y bitter? just because they got higher pay, it doesn't deprive ours, so even la...

that is my tots...jgn touching2 aa..

This post has been edited by msismail: May 20 2014, 01:54 PM
msismail
post May 21 2014, 02:51 PM

297 posts

QUOTE(BlurTV @ May 21 2014, 03:33 PM)
After a 2 year wait, I've just been told that I've been shortlisted for SI.  rclxm9.gif

So, the waiting game begins now?  rclxub.gif

Patience is something of a luxury to me right now because my current company is looking to bond me for 5 years.  cry.gif
I simply don't put high hope on that. sadly, PETRONAS still think that people are badly nak masuk. thus, the waiting game. so, just chillex, enjoy. if call up for the SI, then prepare, layan je...don't put high hope, but do ur best. at least u've satisfied urself, that was what I did.

congrats tho! thumbup.gif
msismail
post May 21 2014, 02:51 PM

297 posts

QUOTE(phyzoul @ May 21 2014, 08:43 AM)
IMO bonus yg u dapat still okey if your basic is high  tongue.gif
ok, that is so complex to digest...luls drool.gif
msismail
post May 21 2014, 02:55 PM

297 posts

QUOTE(zest4life @ May 21 2014, 02:05 AM)
I have worked in Petronas before,If we take into account only Malaysians..... when people from 1 particular ethnicity account to about 90%-95% shakehead.gif .
You just k-n-o-w something is very wrong somewhere  icon_idea.gif
that 5%-10% must be very terer then... flex.gif
msismail
post May 21 2014, 03:36 PM

297 posts

QUOTE(hussain.isma @ May 21 2014, 04:24 PM)
but ppl memang badly wanna masuk. Lol
Line kat Graduan Aspire fair panjang giler. Resumes everywhere. laugh.gif
3 long queues in front of touchscreen tablets nak register on the spot.. And itu pula pukul 12pm, oni satu jam from opening.
I used to be like that once. biase la, less exposure, no harm...
bile dah start kije, then they know, there's more than PETRONAS.

btw, u haven't answered me la...graduan aspire ni kat Melbourne ke?

15 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0314sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 08:27 PM