125 Pages « < 42 43 44 45 46 > » Bottom

Guitars ~ LYN Guitar Phreaks Club ~ V3!, Guitars, Girls and other G type things!

TSblacktrix
post Jul 29 2006, 06:33 PM

Scott Pilgrim Vs The World!
13,063 posts

YAY! He uses his Epiphone Bullseye apparently!
*glee*!!!!

Right now...... I want to get a Talk box..... but I read that you need a head/cab setup to use it sad.gif

This post has been edited by blacktrix: Jul 29 2006, 06:45 PM
hydrogen
post Jul 29 2006, 08:14 PM

au contraire
1,516 posts

full Zakk Wylde interview here.
his gear:
rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
evo.com
post Jul 29 2006, 09:30 PM

2,234 posts

you're almost there blacktrix.... just the amp and 3 more pedals thumbup.gif

lol
noisetrigger
post Jul 29 2006, 09:54 PM

687 posts

QUOTE(hydrogen @ Jul 29 2006, 06:28 PM)
Zakk: All Marshalls, JCM 800s, 2203s. I've got 6550 Groove Tubes in them. That's the only thing I've done to them. Outside of that they're stock. I've got the cabs loaded up with 200-watt EV speakers. As far as pedals go, it's all Jimmy Dunlop stuff because I worked with Jim designing the distortion pedal. I've got his chorus pedal, wah-wah, and then I use a rotovibe. I've got a phase 90. That's about it man. I use Monster cable and GHS strings. And of course, the Zakk Wylde Epiphone and Gibson Les Pauls, man.
He will say he uses Kotex if he gets paid enough tongue.gif

Everdying
post Jul 29 2006, 11:27 PM

Two is One and One is None.
30,735 posts

ah i finally found a use for this old crappy neck i have lying around.
gonna use it to practice levelling and recrowning, since tham wont be free for next 2 weeks to work on my guitars.
led_zep_freak
post Jul 30 2006, 12:18 AM

5,231 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Jul 29 2006, 12:44 PM)
ahh just got another interesting bootleg, hendrix AND BB king together in a bootleg called "the king's jam".
BB king was obviously drunk, hendrix no need to say tongue.gif
I had that but didn't listen to it because the whole recording sounds weird, fade ins & outs here and there... but the jam wasn't too bad as far as I could remember.

Though, the Albert King and Stevie studio jam was way better... thumbup.gif

Your main influences?
Zakk: Let's see. Black Sabbath, Led Zeppelin, Elton John,. Lynyrd Skynyrd, Allman Brothers, Neil Young, Rolling Stones, Beatles and everybody.
Wow, didn't know he's also a fan of the Allman Brothers. thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
TSblacktrix
post Jul 30 2006, 01:50 AM

13,063 posts

Fan??? He was PLAYING for the Allman Brothers!!!!

Everdying
post Jul 30 2006, 02:23 AM

30,735 posts

QUOTE(led_zep_freak @ Jul 30 2006, 12:18 AM)
I had that but didn't listen to it because the whole recording sounds weird, fade ins & outs here and there... but the jam wasn't too bad as far as I could remember.

Though, the Albert King and Stevie studio jam was way better... thumbup.gif
i think you got a different one? but the tracks dont segue into one another smoothly.
the one i have has 8 tracks, 1 of them has BB introducing paul butterfield, hendrix and he forgot the rest cos he was drunk.
2 songs, and 5 tracks called blues jam #1, #2, #3...pt1, pt2 etc.
a total of almost 1h15m, and sounds pretty ok, almost like a soundboard recording.

This post has been edited by Everdying: Jul 30 2006, 03:31 AM
MetalZone
post Jul 30 2006, 03:34 AM

2,515 posts

QUOTE(Criptonox89 @ Jul 29 2006, 05:33 PM)
metal zone...

which area u're from?

if possible.....i'll take a chance to meet with you after SPM....
I'm from buntong jaya... in ipoh that is...
but now i'm in puchong, selangor.
I'm no pro ler! lol...
hydrogen
post Jul 30 2006, 07:17 AM

au contraire
1,516 posts

Your main influences?
Zakk: Let's see. Black Sabbath, Led Zeppelin, Elton John,. Lynyrd Skynyrd, Allman Brothers, Neil Young, Rolling Stones, Beatles and everybody.

sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif
i got nothing to say...
its just like discovering that Blacktrix is a Hilary Duff fan.
so contradicting.. haha doh.gif
TSblacktrix
post Jul 30 2006, 08:44 AM

13,063 posts

Why so surprising about Elton John??? Don't forget..... back in the days.... he wrote some GREAT rock tunes.
Pix
post Jul 30 2006, 09:43 AM

Tube Glower Phreak
2,918 posts

blacktrix is always backing up ANY thing that Zakk is saying laugh.gif

My sister asked me to play guitar in a church for her wedding. My other sister and I are gonna play an acoustic version of "somewhere over the rainbow / what a wonderful world" (norah jones version), She'll be singing, I'll be playing smile.gif

Is a folk guitar (steel string) is loud enough to be heard in a mid-sized church full of people ? Or shall I plan to amplify it (it's electro-acoustic) ? So many of you guys go to church, you must have an idea wink.gif

By the way, this Norah Jones song is really great. The guitar is very simplistic, but the voice is totally stratospheric ! And the best part is when the bass kicks in in the middle of the song : the way it is played is fantastic. Very modern rock style, a bit "red hot chili peppers" on the edge !

Do you know other version of this song ? (except the "Israel" guy's one ?)
Everdying
post Jul 30 2006, 11:59 AM

30,735 posts

well your sis will be using a mic right?
so its best you amplify your guitar too.
whoevers in charge will be able to balance the sound.
Pix
post Jul 30 2006, 12:13 PM

Tube Glower Phreak
2,918 posts

yeah, that's right. Said like this, it's obvious smile.gif she should go through the speaker mic, so on my side i have to find a cable to connect the guitar to the PA system.. i hope it's possible.
led_zep_freak
post Jul 30 2006, 12:28 PM

5,231 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Jul 30 2006, 02:23 AM)
i think you got a different one? but the tracks dont segue into one another smoothly.
the one i have has 8 tracks, 1 of them has BB introducing paul butterfield, hendrix and he forgot the rest cos he was drunk.
2 songs, and 5 tracks called blues jam #1, #2, #3...pt1, pt2 etc.
a total of almost 1h15m, and sounds pretty ok, almost like a soundboard recording.
Yup it's the same one. There are a few fade outs here and there, doesn't seem to go well with each other.
Anyway that 'BB King' doesn't sound like him at all, maybe he really that drunk lol.

QUOTE(hydrogen @ Jul 30 2006, 07:17 AM)
sweat.gif  sweat.gif  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
i got nothing to say...
its just like discovering that Blacktrix is a Hilary Duff fan.
so contradicting.. haha doh.gif
Err... You can't deny that Elton John is a talented musician/songwriter.

QUOTE(Pix @ Jul 30 2006, 09:43 AM)

My sister asked me to play guitar in a church for her wedding. My other sister and I are gonna play an acoustic version of "somewhere over the rainbow / what a wonderful world" (norah jones version), She'll be singing, I'll be playing smile.gif

Is a folk guitar (steel string) is loud enough to be heard in a mid-sized church full of people ? Or shall I plan to amplify it (it's electro-acoustic) ? So many of you guys go to church, you must have an idea wink.gif

By the way, this Norah Jones song is really great. The guitar is very simplistic, but the voice is totally stratospheric ! And the best part is when the bass kicks in in the middle of the song : the way it is played is fantastic. Very modern rock style, a bit "red hot chili peppers" on the edge !

Wow, great song choice. thumbup.gif Since it's wedding, it's gonna be recorded right? wink.gif wink.gif

Anyway if you have an acoustic amplifier, you can go plugged in and then mike up the guitar... I think it would sound huge this way, but I never tried it before. If no amp, then just mike it uplar, you have nothing to lose. biggrin.gif

Damn, I'm a Norah Jones fan but I never heard of the song... where did you get it? tongue.gif
I've heard of Eva Cassidy's Over The Rainbow, which is just beautiful... just acoustic and her powerful voice, I think you'ill love it. thumbup.gif
Everdying
post Jul 30 2006, 12:31 PM

30,735 posts

wonder when will zakk cover over the rainbow.
led_zep_freak
post Jul 30 2006, 12:32 PM

5,231 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Jul 30 2006, 12:31 PM)
wonder when will zakk cover over the rainbow.
With his Ozzy-like voice??? My ears will bleed. biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

New Dream Theater DVD :

Youtube link : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Sm49PFQ0stw

This post has been edited by led_zep_freak: Jul 30 2006, 12:40 PM
Everdying
post Jul 30 2006, 12:40 PM

30,735 posts

what ozzy like voice?
layne staley like tongue.gif

if you want ear bleed, i got.
jeff walker ex-carcass vox, with his country-messed-up-god-knows-wtf-drugs-he-took playing supergroup feat. (ex)members of napalm death, faith no more, anathema, carcass, HIM, paradise lost etc doing weird songs like 'the end of the world'.
why does the sun go on shininggg....
why does the sea reach to shoree...arghhh.grrrrr tongue.gif

blast beats on a kenny rogers song, growling on johnny cash...
yea, but its still jeff walker...one of my fav vox tongue.gif

album is called 'welcome to carcass cuntry', by jeff walker und die fluffers.

and, uhh well just go check this out.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AbndgwfG22k

This post has been edited by Everdying: Jul 30 2006, 01:37 PM
TSblacktrix
post Jul 30 2006, 01:56 PM

13,063 posts

Well... there is the Me First And The Gimmie Gimmie's version of Somewhere Over the Rainbow......

But to me, I would prefer to play Rainbow Connection..... that's just me....

And if it's for a Church (or worse, a Cathedreal), the acoustics in it is going to suck. Lots of echo and reverb everywhere. No matter what guitar you use, if it ain't miked/amped, there's no way you're going to be heard. And even if you do amp/mike it..... like I said, beware of the reverb.
hydrogen
post Jul 30 2006, 02:44 PM

au contraire
1,516 posts

Somewhere over the Rainbow? Cool!
shouldn't the church already have a PA system? all the churches i go to have PA system already set up, and just plug it in lor. If worse comes to worse, just use a mike!

don worrie lar - in my experience, most of the focus would be on the vocalist, and only guitarists will watch the guitarist. haha - unless u make a mistake!
choi choi

i have this punk cover of it, done by NewFound Glory if i'm not mistaken. but definitely not suitable for weddings, (traditional weddings, anyway) my wedding will have metal tunes.. haha icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by hydrogen: Jul 30 2006, 02:49 PM

125 Pages « < 42 43 44 45 46 > » Top

0.0247sec    0.45    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 03:57 PM