The Web Design / Development Industry, Filling up the black hole

ray9292
post Jan 7 2017, 11:50 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(Andyzz @ Jan 6 2017, 03:53 PM)
Fiverr is a good platform to start with
Hi thanks for reply. I did try Fiverr. Any other suggestions?

soR
post Jan 10 2017, 07:25 PM

1,140 posts

Hey i know this maybe off topic, i got a friend asked for help designing him 3 different stickers for his vape bottle(logo designed,other stuffs such as its flavour design) and its started to get serious and he wants to pay me, he ask me what are the prices, and i dont know how to price my designs at. anyone could help me?

TSetsuko
post Jan 11 2017, 12:18 AM

Spaced out person
4,210 posts

QUOTE(soR @ Jan 10 2017, 07:25 PM)
Hey i know this maybe off topic, i got a friend asked for help designing him 3 different stickers for his vape bottle(logo designed,other stuffs such as its flavour design) and its started to get serious and he wants to pay me, he ask me what are the prices, and i dont know how to price my designs at. anyone could help me?
Firstly, congratulations on doing work which your friend wants to pay you thumbup.gif

Secondly, do not be afraid to charge him like any other client. Friend is friend, business is business.

Thirdly, there isn't a standard rate. Some fellows charge RM500 (or less), and some charge RM1000++. How you should price your services is the value of your time at the level of experience you're at?

For example; if you're a designer with less than a year experience. Starting with RM10 or 15 per hour is alright. Then when you take into consideration the time utilized to conceptualize, design and etc, you'll get your estimate rate. But don't stop there, think about whether it really pays your bills - utility, petrol and others. If it doesn't, add on a little more before telling him/her what's your price.

Hope this helps.
Andyzz
post Jan 11 2017, 03:04 AM

Lost Kampung Boy
1,196 posts

QUOTE(soR @ Jan 10 2017, 07:25 PM)
Congrats. rclxms.gif rclxms.gif Some charge cheap, but some charge expensive. It all depends on what you think how much your time worth.

p/s: I need logo design too, PM me and we can nego biggrin.gif
soR
post Jan 11 2017, 07:44 PM

1,140 posts

QUOTE(etsuko @ Jan 11 2017, 12:18 AM)
Firstly, congratulations on doing work which your friend wants to pay you thumbup.gif

Secondly, do not be afraid to charge him like any other client. Friend is friend, business is business.

Thirdly, there isn't a standard rate. Some fellows charge RM500 (or less), and some charge RM1000++. How you should price your services is the value of your time at the level of experience you're at?

For example; if you're a designer with less than a year experience. Starting with RM10 or 15 per hour is alright. Then when you take into consideration the time utilized to conceptualize, design and etc, you'll get your estimate rate. But don't stop there, think about whether it really pays your bills - utility, petrol and others. If it doesn't, add on a little more before telling him/her what's your price.

Hope this helps.
Haha thank you, at the moment im just on the fence i dont want to charge too high and also too low thats gona harm me or any other fellow graphic designer. Thank you again

QUOTE(Andyzz @ Jan 11 2017, 03:04 AM)
Congrats.  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif Some charge cheap, but some charge expensive. It all depends on what you think how much your time worth.

p/s: I need logo design too, PM me and we can nego  biggrin.gif
tboxmy
post Feb 3 2017, 09:20 AM

478 posts

QUOTE(soR @ Jan 11 2017, 07:44 PM)
Haha thank you, at the moment im just on the fence i dont want to charge too high and also too low thats gona harm me or any other fellow graphic designer. Thank you again
I agree with etsuko, and with consideration for a generic design with very little effort, the RM500 (or less) range is about right. It reflects how much your time and skills is worth.
tianlong_2020
post Mar 10 2017, 04:48 PM

33 posts

I am looking for web design services. Anyone interested to take up my job?

Regards,
ngaisteve1
post Mar 13 2017, 04:12 PM

Software Engineer
6,779 posts

QUOTE(tianlong_2020 @ Mar 10 2017, 05:48 PM)

I am looking for web design services. Anyone interested to take up my job?

Regards,
Hi, my name is Steve Ngai.
What type of website you need?

Maybe can you provide me some content and images. Then I can send me the mock up sample of the website. icon_rolleyes.gif

Refuzed
post Mar 16 2017, 06:47 PM

265 posts

Can anyone help to integrate iPay88 as a Donation form into a Wordpress page / separate PHP page?

Please let me know. Thanks!
TSetsuko
post Mar 16 2017, 11:09 PM

Spaced out person
4,210 posts

QUOTE(Refuzed @ Mar 16 2017, 06:47 PM)
Can anyone help to integrate iPay88 as a Donation form into a Wordpress page / separate PHP page?

Please let me know. Thanks!
You can use WooCommerce and a donation plugin. iPay88 works with WooCommerce. smile.gif
xHj09
post Mar 22 2017, 03:22 PM

Your Friendly Neighborhood
1,615 posts

Hi, I'm a beginner..

I have already created 3 pages which includes home page, registration form and database (connected to Microsoft Access. I'm using Visual Studio Community 2017 btw.

How do I publish it? If I publish it, can I use the domain name for other website (if I design a better one), this current one I am only doing it as a training.

Thanks for the help. Which is a better web hosting site? Shinjiru or Exabyte? Both I can afford since they're both under RM100/year.

This post has been edited by xHj09: Mar 22 2017, 03:27 PM
ahumanisthere
post Mar 25 2017, 02:19 AM

20 posts

Anyone here experiencing being charged around 5figures for buy or build a website?
TSetsuko
post Mar 25 2017, 10:47 AM

Spaced out person
4,210 posts

QUOTE(ahumanisthere @ Mar 25 2017, 02:19 AM)
Anyone here experiencing being charged around 5figures for buy or build a website?
If you meant, "being charged XX,XXX to build a website" then yes. I've quoted clients in those amount of figures before, and it was because their project requirements were such.

By the way, buying a website for XX,XXX and building a website for the same amount are 2 different scenarios.

Unless you elaborate further and become specific of what you're really asking, it's difficult for us to jump in and let you know whether it's been priced fairly or not.
doraemonkiller
post Mar 31 2017, 12:29 AM

1,128 posts

I am looking for someone who can create a website for me, it include forum. PM me if you are the one.

Mico Sing
post Apr 5 2017, 04:28 PM

QUOTE(etsuko @ Apr 6 2006, 02:05 PM)
Since the old thread got removed, I decided to start a new one. This topic might stray or might not be in the right place for such a discussion however I'll leave that to the mods to decide. If the topic gets moved, my bad for not knowing which forum this kinda discussion should be belonged in. smile.gif

Anyway, I'll start by talking about the 6 months+ i've been working on my own as a freelancer and as a business.

It's been great with freedom working from home and relaxing when I want to. But there have been stressful times of managing hard impatient clients with demanding projects. The good news is that my patience has been at a higher level so managing clients of all levels has been not too difficult.

The work has been slow which means income hasn't been great and definetely it's difficult being in a country where not everyone understands websites today and other things involving this business. However, I still believe there's light to this business and I'll no matter what work on in my line of website design and consultation even if I have to work under a company and run this business to keep married life afloat in future. wink.gif

So to anyone who wants go their own way, make sure you've got a very good reason why and not just because you don't like your boss or your colleagues. If you want to work on your own, make sure it's of a higher calling like quality, exploration, experimentation, improvisation or just a time to break off from working as an employee for 10 odd years and it's time to do your own thing.

So let the questions, answers, discussions of this business get going once again. smile.gif
Hello,I'm looking for freelancer like you. Can you please drop me a text at 0169693969 please ?

Mico Sing
post Apr 5 2017, 04:29 PM

QUOTE(redhuan9 @ Jan 6 2017, 03:43 PM)
Hii..
Im designing web-database for my office..
Anyone can gv me idea where to start it..  🤔
Hello,I'm looking for freelancer like you. Can you please drop me a text at 0169693969 please ?
TSetsuko
post Apr 7 2017, 05:20 PM

Spaced out person
4,210 posts

QUOTE(Mico Sing @ Apr 5 2017, 04:28 PM)
Would you mind writing to me in a PM and I'll see how can I help you..
Mico Sing
post Apr 9 2017, 06:15 PM

QUOTE(etsuko @ Apr 7 2017, 05:20 PM)
Would you mind writing to me in a PM and I'll see how can I help you..
Noted
PlayPlayHa
post Apr 26 2017, 05:24 PM

56 posts

Hi guys. i'm doing web development job.

do PM me if you have any website to revamp or new website to develop~
ImbaJiet
post Jul 14 2017, 02:36 PM

60 posts

Hi looking for freelancer for 2 projects.
One is building a whole new e commerce website which i have drafted a document for the main features i need. ( big budget )
another one is just revamping of website. (small budget within thousand )
Please pm me and we'll talk about it .

53 Pages « < 47 48 49 50 51 > » Top

0.0359sec    0.53    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 04:24 PM