Shall we have a diet/workout post?, To Help Each Other.
kurtkob78
Aug 12 2008, 09:35 PM
got some question about carbonated drink. Is the label on the carbonated drink correct. It say the total amount of carb is around 12g for 1 can. This is the same as the carb content of milk.
Kyoyagami
Aug 12 2008, 09:49 PM
KyoYagami-myed
Dun be fooled by the carbs. the sugar is also an important factor.
This post has been edited by Kyoyagami: Aug 12 2008, 09:49 PM
kege
Aug 12 2008, 10:08 PM
hey i wanna upload a pdf report about cholesterol. its abt 2mb. how come i cant seem to add it ? i browse the file and click 'add this attachment' then nothing happens after that.
This post has been edited by kege: Aug 12 2008, 10:12 PM
kurtkob78
Aug 13 2008, 02:07 PM
QUOTE(Kyoyagami @ Aug 12 2008, 09:49 PM) Dun be fooled by the carbs. the sugar is also an important factor. actually it stated on the carbonated can .. : Total carbohydrate - 6g -sugar - 6g Is this real.
Kyoyagami
Aug 13 2008, 02:53 PM
KyoYagami-myed
QUOTE(kurtkob78 @ Aug 13 2008, 02:07 PM) actually it stated on the carbonated can .. : Total carbohydrate - 6g -sugar - 6g Is this real. It is pretty much real, but the sugar intake is more than u need. Too much sugar causes ur body to pump out too much of insulin to regulate the activities in the body. When there's too much, sumthing will definitely go wrong. Google out on having too much insulin. Can't remember in detail the real full effect of having too much insulin at one go.
kurtkob78
Aug 13 2008, 05:19 PM
actually 6g of sugar is only 1.25 teaspoon of sugar. 2 tablespoon of milo also contains about 20.1g carb. So better to drink carbonated drinks
4Rings
Aug 13 2008, 07:50 PM
QUOTE(jamis @ Aug 11 2008, 11:44 AM) i m confuse as well, tats y hehe. *protein - energy at the same time. by the way, for example when we comes to oat meal 100g of oat meal consist of 300 cals, 16g of protein , 60g of carbs and fat?.. 3g maybe? (6g to be precise)so if i m eatting the oat alone i will be consuming 300 + (16*4) + (60 *4) +(3*9) = 631 OR the stated calories is the total?? i have roughtly calculated my daily nutrition intake protein - 180g -220g Carbs - 250 - 300g fat -100 - 140g by the way i m 93kg. i still need to adjust my food intake. So any idea? Based on your macro ratio, your diet is more towards Zone Diet which is also a low carb diet. If you are gaining fat, just reduce some of the carbs.
jamis
Aug 14 2008, 09:42 AM
QUOTE(4Rings @ Aug 13 2008, 07:50 PM) Based on your macro ratio, your diet is more towards Zone Diet which is also a low carb diet. If you are gaining fat, just reduce some of the carbs. thx 4ring for the information, i just came across the zone diet with 40/30/30 (protein/carbs/fat) calories diet ratio. I m sticking with this diet, although my weight is still remain the same since last month, but my guts is getting smaller and able to see some outline of my upper abs and more define upper chest as well.
4Rings
Aug 14 2008, 07:34 PM
That's good. You're on the right track. BTW Zone Diet is 40/30/30 (Carb/Protein/Fat)
This post has been edited by 4Rings: Aug 14 2008, 07:35 PM
Kyoyagami
Aug 15 2008, 09:24 AM
KyoYagami-myed
I've got a problem though rite now. During lunch, i'd normally choose from: 1. Chicken Breast grilled with butter 2. Hot Dogs (The Farm's Best brand) 3. Ramly Burger 4. Tuna 5. Beef stir fryed with soy sauce. Now since I've taken out tuna and ramly burger, I'm not sure how I should replace these two lunches. Since I take a little amount of time to cook in the morning, what would you suggest I take for lunch substituting the 2?
yeahs4.1
Aug 15 2008, 10:23 AM
why choose processed meat products like hotdog and ramly burger? i'd rather eat real meat. somehow i still prefer tuna although i do aware about the mercury poisioning.
can replace with some hard-boiled eggs? scambled eggs?
Kyoyagami
Aug 15 2008, 10:40 AM
KyoYagami-myed
Well, i take eggs half boiled in the morning, then 3 boiled ones for post workout. And gotta jaga hati my parents. trust me, even though i've explained entirely about eggs, they don't wanna listen.  I could go for 3 days of eating chicken breast, but I want diversification, and to prove that bodybuilders don't eat boring meals.
yeahs4.1
Aug 15 2008, 11:12 AM
QUOTE(Kyoyagami @ Aug 15 2008, 10:40 AM) Well, i take eggs half boiled in the morning, then 3 boiled ones for post workout. And gotta jaga hati my parents. trust me, even though i've explained entirely about eggs, they don't wanna listen.  I could go for 3 days of eating chicken breast, but I want diversification, and to prove that bodybuilders don't eat boring meals.  lol, looks like we're having excatly same issues - eggs war with parents - clean meal variety
kurtkob78
Aug 15 2008, 11:18 AM
u can go for kfc. Take out the skin because it contain the flour and gravy during deep fry. But reading from the nutrition content in the KFC pamplet, 2 piece chicken only contains 9g carb. I donno if it's true or not.
Kyoyagami
Aug 15 2008, 11:19 AM
KyoYagami-myed
Yeah, very sad lah. But i do once in a while go for a little cheat. Sumtimes, i go for KFC snack plate. Some times, if my mother makes chicken rice, I'd take the chicken and then eat with a good portion of rice. Or be it Ayamas or the like. Sausage and burger, well, that's cuz my dad bought it, and they pester me to it. So, not really free in choosing my foods, but i do find how once in a while to take independent meals to work. Hoping that shopping at Carrefour tomorrow will bode well.  But still blank on other clean meats.
Kyoyagami
Aug 15 2008, 11:21 AM
KyoYagami-myed
QUOTE(kurtkob78 @ Aug 15 2008, 11:18 AM) u can go for kfc. Take out the skin because it contain the flour and gravy during deep fry. But reading from the nutrition content in the KFC pamplet, 2 piece chicken only contains 9g carb. I donno if it's true or not. 4rings once said to us that there' no point to eat KFC without the skin. Might as well go for some ayam goreng that you could get cheaper. Just think carefully on what in the snack plate or other combos that you feel like eating. Since I just ate mine 2 days ago.
yeahs4.1
Aug 15 2008, 11:35 AM
meh, you can go to tesco and get the whole chicken for below RM10. whole freaking chicken man, should serve you at least 2 meals.
maybe carefour has this kinda chicken also, not really sure
Kyoyagami
Aug 15 2008, 11:53 AM
KyoYagami-myed
Haha, I know. Maybe ok lah if I decided to go for 2 servings a week of grilled chicken breast. Not that I don't love chicken, just wanna be a chef.
4Rings
Aug 15 2008, 07:48 PM
QUOTE(Kyoyagami @ Aug 15 2008, 11:21 AM) 4rings once said to us that there' no point to eat KFC without the skin. Might as well go for some ayam goreng that you could get cheaper. Just think carefully on what in the snack plate or other combos that you feel like eating. Since I just ate mine 2 days ago.  Hey, I never said that.  It was somebody else. I said it is fine to eat chicken skin provided the chicken were not fed with antibiotics or drugs. Drugs and heavy metals are mainly stored in the organ meats and the fatty tissue. You can have mutton for lunch, fresh fish to replace canned tuna. Mackerel is good and cheap too. 1 fish (12" long) cost around RM2.50 at the supermarts. You can also have big prawns for your lunch.
Kyoyagami
Aug 15 2008, 08:55 PM
KyoYagami-myed
QUOTE(4Rings @ Aug 15 2008, 07:48 PM) Hey, I never said that.  It was somebody else. I said it is fine to eat chicken skin provided the chicken were not fed with antibiotics or drugs. Drugs and heavy metals are mainly stored in the organ meats and the fatty tissue. You can have mutton for lunch, fresh fish to replace canned tuna. Mackerel is good and cheap too. 1 fish (12" long) cost around RM2.50 at the supermarts. You can also have big prawns for your lunch. Owh really ah? sorry2. Perhaps I quoted the wrong person. Ouch... My bad.  Ah, that's nice. Ok, will try looking for them tomorrow. Thanks! We always could count on ya.